Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

This felt like a motel, great location, okay room, really nice staff.

Great location. Walking distance to Broadway. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We arrived early in the morning, well before check in, but they allowed us to access our room immediately and even told us we are still in time for breakfast.

I received 3 phone calls from the property, all while in an Uber and on my way to the hotel to check in at 2:30pm on Sunday the 20th. The first call simply stated that they were confirming my reservation. The 2nd call was to inform me that my card on file was not working. Because I booked through Orbitz, I was never given the option to review or put a card on file at all which I explained to them. They then called me a 3rd time to inform me that if I did not give them a card number over the phone right that moment, that my room may be given away. The stay itself was uneventful, however the property is old, dirty and not well maintained (towel racks and pictures falling off the walls, broken railing etc etc), and the staff could not have been more rude and unaccommodating. The front door was broken and only one side worked, and several times I struggled to get my luggage in or out while several staff members stood around and watched.

Older building and very small evelator but rooms and bed comfortable.

Room decor was shabby. The carpet had holes in it. Musty odor.

Ray greeted us so warmly and truly wanted our stay be good fun. Steph in the lounge was darling! The breakfast staff especially Vanessa were so helpful ! Thank you !!

The location and staff outweigh the poor excuse for breakfast. Soggy everything, bacon the pig was still looking for, blech. And, I have never ever written a comment before. I do also have to commend your photographer that did the pictures for promotional purpose. Absolutely put your best foot, and then some, forward!

Hotel and room was clean and comfortable. Check in was fast and easy. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Owen gave great customer servive.

We were in Nashville for one night only to attend a show at the Ryman (less than a 10 minute walk away!). Located close to the action, but, not, in the middle of, this hotel was the bomb. The staff was very friendly during our coming and goings (which were a few in the brief stay). The room was a nice size with a super comfortable King-sized bed. Yes, the hotel is a bit on the older side (one slow elevator to service the 5 flights) and we did have to enter from outdoors, but, the balcony is covered and shielded from the weather. Best to valet park you car and not worry about it. Walk, taxi, Lyft to places nearby. It's that easy. Would love to return with a few of our friends next. time.

Spent three nights at the hotel. Could walk to downtown. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was very good.However, It was very loud. Had a hard time sleeping at night. Loud bangs, construction during the day and a train the rolled thru quite often. Definitely one of the more economical choices for downtown but you have to take the good with the bad.

Place in downtown but very noise you can't sleep at all

If you're looking for a hotel that's close enough to Broadway without paying $400/night, listening to people screaming and partying until 3 am, or just want to be close enough but not too close to the action, this is a good choice. It's 100% a no-frills, place-to-rest-your-head at night kind of hotel. It's clean, but not very updated. All the staff are friendly and helpful. It's a motel-style outdoor access to your room and the elevator is very slow - use the stairs if you're up for the challenge! The other reviews are correct - for free, the breakfast is great. The coffee is delicious. The bartenders are chatty and welcoming and there are extra snacks for purchase in the lobby. It's not a 5-star hotel for a reason - you won't get anything extra other than a safe, clean room. If your focus is on budget more than amenities, choose the Capitol and walk the 3-4 blocks to Broadway (or the River, or the War museums, capital, Country Music Hall of Fame, Ryman, etc) and enjoy Nashville outside of your room.

We chose this hotel based on price and location. Lots of downtown hotels will run you over $300 per night so this is a great price for a hotel that's within walking distance of Broadway. I was very pleased with the cleanliness of the room and the comfort of the bed. BUT, it's not easy getting a good night's sleep as it can be pretty noisy, especially on weekends when other guests are stumbling in at 2am after a night on the town. The hotel is actually a cross between a motel and a hotel as far as the property setup goes. There's a lobby and an elevator like a hotel, but once you get to your floor the room entrances are outside. Anyone who's walking the outdoor "hallway" can easily be heard (stomping feet, voices, slamming doors, etc.) inside the rooms. Being a somewhat light sleeper, this really isn't the place for me. If you're on a budget but still want a short 15-minute walk to the honky tonks, and you're either a heavy sleeper or you can sleep with earplugs, then this is a pretty good option. The staff was very friendly. We went once for the free breakfast and options that day included sausage, bacon, eggs, pancakes, waffles, and several cold items such as bagels and muffins. It was OK but the southern style breakfasts in Nashville restaurants are worth going out and paying for. I did not have a car so I can't comment on parking. Uber/Lyft was there within 2-3 minutes every time we needed a ride, and rides around town were all under $10.

All the employees were extremely friendly and helpful. They made us feel at home.

Everything was wonderful, ice machine and bending on alternating floors. Bathroom had a weird set up with the toilet close to the shower. Was a bug in our bed the last night but we aren't sure if we brought it in with us or is it was the hotel's problem.

If you're looking for first class amenities then this isn't the place for you. But, if you're looking for a place to rest at night while you spend your days out on the town, this is perfect. The staff is welcoming and kind. Many Nashville attractions are within walking distance, including the farmers market, Capitol building, bicentennial park, Broadway, the Cumberland river, and Tennessee state museum, Johnny cash museum, Bridgestone, hall of fame, etc. Again, this is not high class but it's clean, affordable, and close, with friendly staff. We don't spend a lot of time in our room so average is a-ok for us. Make sure to visit Charles at the downstairs bar, great conversation and some of the cheapest prices in town. Oh and the breakfast is decent, too!

Hotel staff was very friendly. Valet guys were very quick and helpful. Walk to downtown was about 10 minutes, very convenient! Only complaint I had for this hotel was that the breakfast is horrible. The eggs are square pre-packaged and heated up in the microwave. The sausages tasted fake. We tried it twice and 3rd day went put to breakfast down the street

Great service and convenient location. Nice breakfast. Cons are slow elevator and additional parking fee.

Union Street Nashville TN

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Nashville Broadway and Tennessee State Capitol
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Fitness center

Located in Downtown Nashville, The Capitol Hotel Downtown, Ascend Hotel Collection is within a 5-minute walk of Tennessee State Capitol and within 15 minutes of other popular attractions like Ryman Auditorium. This 3-star hotel has 100 rooms and welcomes guests with a restaurant, free in-room WiFi, and a fitness center.


Dining

In addition to a meal at the onsite restaurant, you can also enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. You can sip a beverage at the coffee shop/café. Buffet breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 6:00 AM to 9:00 AM.


Rooms

All 100 rooms feature refrigerators, coffee makers, and free local calls. 32-inch flat-screen TVs come with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and pillowtop beds with premium bedding ensure a restful night. Other amenities include safes, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

At The Capitol Hotel Downtown, Ascend Hotel Collection, guests have access to a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and a business center. Valet parking is available for USD 18.00 per day, and there's also limo/town car service. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with securing valuables, dry cleaning/laundry, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include coffee/tea in a common area, free newspapers, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for The Capitol Hotel Downtown, Ascend Hotel Collection

Everyone (30) Couples (2) Students (1) Family (2)
3
Family Family

This felt like a motel, great location, okay room, really nice staff.

By on Dec 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 16, 2019

Thank you for being our guest. We are glad to know that you overall had a pleasant stay and loved our great location as well as courteous associates. However, we regret not meeting some of your expectations. We appreciate your business and hope to welcome you again on your next visit to our area so we can provide you with a much better experience. General Manager

4
Partner Couples

Great location. Walking distance to Broadway. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We arrived early in the morning, well before check in, but they allowed us to access our room immediately and even told us we are still in time for breakfast.

By on Dec 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 12, 2019

Thank you for the delightful review of The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville. We are happy we were able to offer you an early check-in upon arrival at the hotel, and you had a great stay. It is also a pleasure to read that you loved our location close to Broadway as well as our friendly and helpful staff. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon. General Manager

2
Friends Business Business

I received 3 phone calls from the property, all while in an Uber and on my way to the hotel to check in at 2:30pm on Sunday the 20th. The first call simply stated that they were confirming my reservation. The 2nd call was to inform me that my card on file was not working. Because I booked through Orbitz, I was never given the option to review or put a card on file at all which I explained to them. They then called me a 3rd time to inform me that if I did not give them a card number over the phone right that moment, that my room may be given away. The stay itself was uneventful, however the property is old, dirty and not well maintained (towel racks and pictures falling off the walls, broken railing etc etc), and the staff could not have been more rude and unaccommodating. The front door was broken and only one side worked, and several times I struggled to get my luggage in or out while several staff members stood around and watched.

By on Oct 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 29, 2019

Thank you for being our guest. We sincerely apologize for the difficulties you had with the door in your room and for the unpleasant behavior of our associates. Our staff genuinely cares about providing an enjoyable stay to all of our guests, so this incident is not a reflection of our usual service standards. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate individuals to ensure this does not happen again in the future. Although your experience is not typical, we have room to improve, and you have our assurance that we will. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance to provide the hospitality you should always expect from us. General Manager

4
Everyone

By on Jun 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 3, 2019

Thank you for your terrific rating of The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville. We are pleased your stay with us was a great one, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. General Manager

3
Everyone

Older building and very small evelator but rooms and bed comfortable.

By on Dec 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 31, 2018

Thank you for being our guest. We are happy overall you had an enjoyable experience with us and liked your comfortable accommodations. However, we are sorry for any inconveniences you had. Your feedback will surely be shared with the appropriate individuals in our organization. We hope to welcome you back soon. General Manager

2
Everyone

Room decor was shabby. The carpet had holes in it. Musty odor.

By on Dec 4, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 9, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing a review. We are sorry for your disappointment in the condition of your room. We will share your comments with our team as we plan for future upgrades. It was a pleasure serving you, and we hope you will join us for a better experience in the future. General Manager

4
Everyone

By on Nov 6, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 7, 2018

Many thanks for posting your gracious rating about The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville. Impressing our guests is our top priority, so we are glad that you were left with a good impression. It was great to have you here, and we hope to see you again soon. General Manager

4
Everyone

Ray greeted us so warmly and truly wanted our stay be good fun. Steph in the lounge was darling! The breakfast staff especially Vanessa were so helpful ! Thank you !!

By , from Minnesota on Jul 28, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 29, 2018

Diane, we are happy knowing our staff took such terrific care of you while you were our guest at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville. It makes our day to read such wonderful compliments, and we thank you for sharing that you were warmly welcomed and your requests were handled promptly and efficiently. Ray, Steph, and Vanessa as well as rest of the team, will be pleased to hear your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. General Manager

3
Everyone

The location and staff outweigh the poor excuse for breakfast. Soggy everything, bacon the pig was still looking for, blech. And, I have never ever written a comment before. I do also have to commend your photographer that did the pictures for promotional purpose. Absolutely put your best foot, and then some, forward!

By on Jun 7, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 18, 2018

Thank you for providing your feedback.... I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

5

friendly staff

Everyone

Hotel and room was clean and comfortable. Check in was fast and easy. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Owen gave great customer servive.

By on Apr 14, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 15, 2018

Helen, thanks so much for your stay and for your feedback. We are thrilled to read that our staff at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville made your stay so enjoyable. We believe we have the best team in town, and we can assure you they work hard every day to deliver outstanding service. We will be sure to share your compliments with them! We look forward to seeing you again soon! General Manager

The Capitol Hotel Downtown, Ascend Hotel Collection

711 Union Street, Nashville, TN 37219
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Nashville-Hotels-The-Capitol-Hotel-Downtown,-Ascend-Hotel-Collection.h4351-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Nashville-Hotels-The-Capitol-Hotel-Downtown,-Ascend-Hotel-Collection.h4351-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Nashville-Hotels-The-Capitol-Hotel-Downtown,-Ascend-Hotel-Collection.h4351-p2.Hotel-Reviews