Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

The Capitol Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Hotel is old but has had some renovations. My ceiling leaked in my room and there was a problem with my smoke detector one night. Problems were addressed. Also found hair in my shower but the staff addressed this as well. Not an awful hotel but I will probably not stay again

Nice motel for the price. It is an old Best Western that's been'remodeled'. Great location. Rooms are small. If you don't require luxury, this is a good value for downtown Nashville!

Okay for the money. Close to downtown. Good complimentary breakfast.

Perfect for our stay. We were in town for the SEC tournament. The hotel staff were super nice and our room was spotless

More of a motel than Hotel. Overpriced. More expensive at surrounding Hotels but worth the extra money next trip down.

The hotel has been updated and is decorated nicely and has friendly staff. But, it's a motel, meaning external doors, no interior hallways. This wouldn't be a problem unless you're on the front side of the hotel where you hear the crosswalk safety chirp ALL NIGHT LONG. It's not the hotel's fault, but it's very annoying. The hotel also wasn't worth the price. Nashville is a popular destination and hotel prices are high at all hotels, so it's relative, but I don't think the stay was worth the price

Room above had very loud group, at 4am...not well sound proofed

Air Conditioning barely worked and was plugged up. Gave me a headache and so mold was present. Told the management and was completely ignored. Hotel was very overpriced and was worth not even half-priced.

the location was great! we were able to walk almost everywhere which was very convenient. The staff was super friendly and very accomodating. It was a little noisy due to being able to hear traffic outside at night but that wouldn't stop us from staying at ths hotel again!

This is one of the most affordable hotels in downtown Nashville that is still a nice hotel! The front desk staff was so nice and friendly, and willing to help. The hot breakfast was very good, and the room was very nice for the price. I will stay here every time I go to Nashville!

Everything was great! Staff was very helpful & super friendly! Only complaint would be the parking charge, it should be included in the hotel price cause there really is no other parking options near by.

We stayed 3 nights, the staff was great. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic, and my grandson loved the pancake machine. The hotel was a mere 10 minute walk to the Country Music Hall of Fame. We all had a great stay.

We decided not to stay here based on location and they wouldnt refund our money

Hotel is remodeled and is great price for downtown. Rooms are open to outside but there wasn't too much noise. Staff are very friendly.

The Capotal hotel was a great location to downtown. Super friendly and helpful staff.

Overcharged No housekeeping at night should u need extra amenities although it was front desk who helped was extremely helpful! Birds in tree beside room extremely noisy all night. Rooms are all in a breezeway. No hallways, so you're always dealing with outside noise. Party people woke us up just by talking loudly outside of our room near the elevator. Sounded like they were in our room. Not a lot of noise proofing. When we had neighbours next door, we heard everything. Had to play fan noise from YouTube and fan to drown out the excess noise Light from breezeway comes in through curtains and also reflected in a mirror so the room looked like it had a light on at all times. I had to rig up my own device using socks, dresses, towels, anything I could find to get some darkness to be able to sleep. Room not dark enough to sleep. Cannot pull curtains closed properly to block out light. Free wifi Room 322 3rd floor-right by elevators Get room facing Union due to birds Nice air con Close to amenities. 10 min to Broadway

Convenient hotel walking distance to the Broadway area. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel bar stayed open late. they had valet parking that was affordable. Room was clean. Breakfast was satisfactory. Good overnight stay when playing in Nashville.

Website made it appear like a boutique hotel. Best suited for high school and college kids

Great hotel for the location and price. It was convenient to the the meeting I attended in the area.

In for CMA fest. 5-10 min walk to broadway/stadium. Didn't find it noisy, nice and plentiful breakfast.

711 Union Street Nashville TN

Located in Downtown Nashville, The Capitol Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member is within a 5-minute walk of Tennessee State Capitol and within 15 minutes of other popular attractions like Ryman Auditorium. This 100-room, 3-star hotel has free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and a fitness center. It's in central Nashville and also close to Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum and Nissan Stadium.


Dining

Free hot/cold buffet breakfast is offered each morning. Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's bistro, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. You can get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

The 100 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including refrigerators, coffee makers, and free local calls. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and free WiFi keeps guests connected. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include safes, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

The Capitol Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member features a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and a business center. Valet parking is offered for USD 18.00 per day. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with tours or tickets, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include coffee/tea in a common area, free newspapers, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for The Capitol Hotel

Everyone (21) Couples (2) Friends (1)
3

decent hotel near downtown

Everyone

Hotel is old but has had some renovations. My ceiling leaked in my room and there was a problem with my smoke detector one night. Problems were addressed. Also found hair in my shower but the staff addressed this as well. Not an awful hotel but I will probably not stay again

By , from U on Apr 27, 2017

4
Everyone

Nice motel for the price. It is an old Best Western that's been'remodeled'. Great location. Rooms are small. If you don't require luxury, this is a good value for downtown Nashville!

By , from Nashville on Apr 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 23, 2017

Lisa, it was a pleasure having you as our guest at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville. We are glad you found us to be a good value and that our convenient location was perfect for your trip. We certainly will look for ways to make our guest rooms more comfortable going forward. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again on your next visit to the area. General Manager

2

old style motel.

Everyone

Okay for the money. Close to downtown. Good complimentary breakfast.

By , from Mechanicsville, Va on Mar 17, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 21, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us with feedback. I am so glad to see that you loved our great location and complimentary breakfast, but please accept my apologies for the condition of our hotel. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We hope to see you again soon. General Manager

5
Everyone

Perfect for our stay. We were in town for the SEC tournament. The hotel staff were super nice and our room was spotless

By on Mar 13, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 17, 2017

We are glad you had an excellent stay at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville. It's good to know you were impressed with the service provided by our staff and that our location was perfect for your needs. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! General Manager

2
Everyone

More of a motel than Hotel. Overpriced. More expensive at surrounding Hotels but worth the extra money next trip down.

By , from Chicago on Mar 11, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 13, 2017

Thank you so much for your recent visit. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your stay. We want all of our guests to leave happy, and I'm so sorry this was not your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on a future visit. Stacy Lee, General Manager

3

nice updates to the hotel, but it's still a motel

Everyone

The hotel has been updated and is decorated nicely and has friendly staff. But, it's a motel, meaning external doors, no interior hallways. This wouldn't be a problem unless you're on the front side of the hotel where you hear the crosswalk safety chirp ALL NIGHT LONG. It's not the hotel's fault, but it's very annoying. The hotel also wasn't worth the price. Nashville is a popular destination and hotel prices are high at all hotels, so it's relative, but I don't think the stay was worth the price

By , from atlanta, ga on Mar 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 9, 2017

Beth, thank you for being a guest at our hotel. We are pleased you found our newly renovated property to be nice and that you were impressed with the service provided by our staff. However, I am sorry you were disappointed with the cost of your stay. Please know, we regularly review our pricing to make sure we are competitive with other hotels in the area while offering the best value for our guests. I hope you will give us another opportunity to provide a better experience on your next stay. General Manager

4

accomidationd

Everyone

Room above had very loud group, at 4am...not well sound proofed

By on Mar 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 5, 2017

We are glad to note that your overall stay at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville was satisfactory. That being said, we regret the inconvenience you experienced due to noise issue. Our front desk is staffed 24/7 to resolve any problems you have. We want our guests to enjoy a good night's sleep so we would have welcomed the opportunity to address this while you were still here. Once again, my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. We hope to make it up to you on your next visit. General Manager

2
Everyone

Air Conditioning barely worked and was plugged up. Gave me a headache and so mold was present. Told the management and was completely ignored. Hotel was very overpriced and was worth not even half-priced.

By on Feb 28, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 5, 2017

Thank you so much for your recent visit. Please accept our apologies for the issues with the air conditioning you experienced during your stay, and rest assured these incidents will be discussed with the appropriate associates so they do not happen again in the future. We want all of our guests to leave happy, and We're so sorry this was not your experience. Please feel free to contact me directly, as we would like to make sure this matter is resolved to your complete satisfaction. We look forward to speaking with you. General Manager

4

great location

Everyone

the location was great! we were able to walk almost everywhere which was very convenient. The staff was super friendly and very accomodating. It was a little noisy due to being able to hear traffic outside at night but that wouldn't stop us from staying at ths hotel again!

By , from cleveland ohio on Feb 20, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 22, 2017

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville! We are glad that you loved our courteous associates and the prime location close to all the attractions this Music City has to offer. We also appreciate your observation in regards to street noise and have taken a note of it as we plan future improvements. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! General Manager

4

staff was great!

Everyone

This is one of the most affordable hotels in downtown Nashville that is still a nice hotel! The front desk staff was so nice and friendly, and willing to help. The hot breakfast was very good, and the room was very nice for the price. I will stay here every time I go to Nashville!

By , from Knoxville, TN on Feb 14, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 16, 2017

Sara, thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville and also for recognizing the value we offer. We believe that our excellent staff and clean & comfortable boutique accommodations make us a #1 choice when visiting Nashville, and we are glad you agree! Thanks again for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again very soon! General Manager