Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

The Capitol Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

If you're looking for first class amenities then this isn't the place for you. But, if you're looking for a place to rest at night while you spend your days out on the town, this is perfect. The staff is welcoming and kind. Many Nashville attractions are within walking distance, including the farmers market, Capitol building, bicentennial park, Broadway, the Cumberland river, and Tennessee state museum, Johnny cash museum, Bridgestone, hall of fame, etc. Again, this is not high class but it's clean, affordable, and close, with friendly staff. We don't spend a lot of time in our room so average is a-ok for us. Make sure to visit Charles at the downstairs bar, great conversation and some of the cheapest prices in town. Oh and the breakfast is decent, too!

Hotel staff was very friendly. Valet guys were very quick and helpful. Walk to downtown was about 10 minutes, very convenient! Only complaint I had for this hotel was that the breakfast is horrible. The eggs are square pre-packaged and heated up in the microwave. The sausages tasted fake. We tried it twice and 3rd day went put to breakfast down the street

Great service and convenient location. Nice breakfast. Cons are slow elevator and additional parking fee.

This hotel is a re-hab of an older property that now looks a bit more modern, less like its old "motel" days. The rooms are open to exterior hallways with windows and drapes facing the halls (think: motel) but it's a pleasant property. The staff is courteous, the rooms are clean and they've got a free, simple breakfast buffet.

We were a little disappointed in the facility and some of the staff. As is typical today, some of the front desk staff seemed more interested in their personal cell phone conversations than the did in their guest. The room was small for a King bed. The decor was dated and the room smelled. The drapes were not fashioned in a way to keep out the light, so the security light outside our window lit the room up at night. For $290/night, I expect something that doesn't remind me of a Motel 6. I needed to print some tickets to a show at the Ryman. I asked the woman at the front desk if they had a computer I could use to print my tickets. Without hanging up from her cell call, she said there was one right around the corner. I went to the computer and brought up the tickets and hit print, but it couldn't find a printer. I had to go back to the desk and once again interrupt her cell call. She said that computer didn't have a printer and I would have to use the one on the other side of the wall. That computer wasn't connected to the WiFi. I went back for a third time and she put her call on hold to come help. Unfortunately, she had not idea how to connect. She did track down a lovely lady named Roxanne, who was able to assist me. My first ticket printed out, but the printer ran out of paper, so I tracked down Roxanne, who was again, very helpful. Thankfully, we were only at the hotel for one night. The complimentary breakfast the day was decent, with eggs, bacon & sausage.

Hotel is old but has had some renovations. My ceiling leaked in my room and there was a problem with my smoke detector one night. Problems were addressed. Also found hair in my shower but the staff addressed this as well. Not an awful hotel but I will probably not stay again

Nice motel for the price. It is an old Best Western that's been'remodeled'. Great location. Rooms are small. If you don't require luxury, this is a good value for downtown Nashville!

Okay for the money. Close to downtown. Good complimentary breakfast.

Perfect for our stay. We were in town for the SEC tournament. The hotel staff were super nice and our room was spotless

More of a motel than Hotel. Overpriced. More expensive at surrounding Hotels but worth the extra money next trip down.

The hotel has been updated and is decorated nicely and has friendly staff. But, it's a motel, meaning external doors, no interior hallways. This wouldn't be a problem unless you're on the front side of the hotel where you hear the crosswalk safety chirp ALL NIGHT LONG. It's not the hotel's fault, but it's very annoying. The hotel also wasn't worth the price. Nashville is a popular destination and hotel prices are high at all hotels, so it's relative, but I don't think the stay was worth the price

Room above had very loud group, at 4am...not well sound proofed

Air Conditioning barely worked and was plugged up. Gave me a headache and so mold was present. Told the management and was completely ignored. Hotel was very overpriced and was worth not even half-priced.

the location was great! we were able to walk almost everywhere which was very convenient. The staff was super friendly and very accomodating. It was a little noisy due to being able to hear traffic outside at night but that wouldn't stop us from staying at ths hotel again!

This is one of the most affordable hotels in downtown Nashville that is still a nice hotel! The front desk staff was so nice and friendly, and willing to help. The hot breakfast was very good, and the room was very nice for the price. I will stay here every time I go to Nashville!

Everything was great! Staff was very helpful & super friendly! Only complaint would be the parking charge, it should be included in the hotel price cause there really is no other parking options near by.

We stayed 3 nights, the staff was great. The complimentary breakfast was fantastic, and my grandson loved the pancake machine. The hotel was a mere 10 minute walk to the Country Music Hall of Fame. We all had a great stay.

We decided not to stay here based on location and they wouldnt refund our money

Hotel is remodeled and is great price for downtown. Rooms are open to outside but there wasn't too much noise. Staff are very friendly.

The Capotal hotel was a great location to downtown. Super friendly and helpful staff.

711 Union Street Nashville TN

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Tennessee State Capitol and Ryman Auditorium
  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining

Located in Downtown Nashville, The Capitol Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member is within a 5-minute walk of Tennessee State Capitol and within 15 minutes of other popular attractions like Ryman Auditorium. This 100-room, 3-star hotel has free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and a fitness center. It's in central Nashville and also close to Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum and Nissan Stadium.


Dining

Free hot/cold buffet breakfast is offered each morning. Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's bistro, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. You can get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

The 100 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including refrigerators, coffee makers, and free local calls. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and free WiFi keeps guests connected. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include safes, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

The Capitol Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member features a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and a business center. Valet parking is offered for USD 18.00 per day. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with tours or tickets, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include coffee/tea in a common area, free newspapers, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for The Capitol Hotel

Everyone (26) Couples (2) Friends (1)
4

walking distance at an affordable rate.

Everyone

If you're looking for first class amenities then this isn't the place for you. But, if you're looking for a place to rest at night while you spend your days out on the town, this is perfect. The staff is welcoming and kind. Many Nashville attractions are within walking distance, including the farmers market, Capitol building, bicentennial park, Broadway, the Cumberland river, and Tennessee state museum, Johnny cash museum, Bridgestone, hall of fame, etc. Again, this is not high class but it's clean, affordable, and close, with friendly staff. We don't spend a lot of time in our room so average is a-ok for us. Make sure to visit Charles at the downstairs bar, great conversation and some of the cheapest prices in town. Oh and the breakfast is decent, too!

By , from Southern California on Jul 19, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 21, 2017

Jamie, thank you for choosing to stay at the Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville. We are glad to read you found our location convenient for your needs and found us to be a great value in the area. We also appreciate your observation and have taken a note of the same. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we hope to see you again soon. General Manager

4

good location

Everyone

Hotel staff was very friendly. Valet guys were very quick and helpful. Walk to downtown was about 10 minutes, very convenient! Only complaint I had for this hotel was that the breakfast is horrible. The eggs are square pre-packaged and heated up in the microwave. The sausages tasted fake. We tried it twice and 3rd day went put to breakfast down the street

By on May 29, 2017

Review comment responded on May 31, 2017

Thank you for choosing the Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville and for sharing your review. We are glad to know you enjoyed your time with us and were impressed with our courteous associates and convenient location. However, we are sorry that our breakfast offerings were not to your liking. We will be sure to share your feedback with the concerned team as we plan any changes to the same. We appreciate you being our guest and hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. General Manager

4
Everyone

Great service and convenient location. Nice breakfast. Cons are slow elevator and additional parking fee.

By on May 4, 2017

Review comment responded on May 7, 2017

I am thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your stay here at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville! It's great to know you were impressed with our exceptional service and that our location was perfect for your needs. I hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again. General Manager

3

convenient location, good value

Everyone

This hotel is a re-hab of an older property that now looks a bit more modern, less like its old "motel" days. The rooms are open to exterior hallways with windows and drapes facing the halls (think: motel) but it's a pleasant property. The staff is courteous, the rooms are clean and they've got a free, simple breakfast buffet.

By on Apr 30, 2017

Review comment responded on May 2, 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We are pleased to know our location was ideal for your visit and that you were impressed with the service provided by our staff. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! General Manager

2

dated hotel across form the capitol

Everyone

We were a little disappointed in the facility and some of the staff. As is typical today, some of the front desk staff seemed more interested in their personal cell phone conversations than the did in their guest. The room was small for a King bed. The decor was dated and the room smelled. The drapes were not fashioned in a way to keep out the light, so the security light outside our window lit the room up at night. For $290/night, I expect something that doesn't remind me of a Motel 6. I needed to print some tickets to a show at the Ryman. I asked the woman at the front desk if they had a computer I could use to print my tickets. Without hanging up from her cell call, she said there was one right around the corner. I went to the computer and brought up the tickets and hit print, but it couldn't find a printer. I had to go back to the desk and once again interrupt her cell call. She said that computer didn't have a printer and I would have to use the one on the other side of the wall. That computer wasn't connected to the WiFi. I went back for a third time and she put her call on hold to come help. Unfortunately, she had not idea how to connect. She did track down a lovely lady named Roxanne, who was able to assist me. My first ticket printed out, but the printer ran out of paper, so I tracked down Roxanne, who was again, very helpful. Thankfully, we were only at the hotel for one night. The complimentary breakfast the day was decent, with eggs, bacon & sausage.

By , from Derry, NH on Apr 29, 2017

Review comment responded on May 1, 2017

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodations. Please accept my sincerest apologies for our staff not living up to your expectations. We take great pride in providing outstanding customer service, and I truly regret this was not your experience. Please be assured I will share this review with my team and discuss where we fell short and how we will do better in the future in both service levels and any future updates to our hotel. Thank you so much for letting me know about this. Your feedback only helps us to become better. We do appreciate your compliments regarding our associate, Roxanne, as she is consistently providing the level of hospitality we are known for. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we do hope you will return so we can make it up to you. General Manager

3

decent hotel near downtown

Everyone

Hotel is old but has had some renovations. My ceiling leaked in my room and there was a problem with my smoke detector one night. Problems were addressed. Also found hair in my shower but the staff addressed this as well. Not an awful hotel but I will probably not stay again

By , from U on Apr 27, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 29, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us with feedback. We are pleased you had an overall nice stay. However, I am sorry for the inconvenience you encountered while you were here, but we are happy to know our staff resolved the issues to your satisfaction. We hope you will reconsider and give us an opportunity to serve you in the near future. General Manager

4
Everyone

Nice motel for the price. It is an old Best Western that's been'remodeled'. Great location. Rooms are small. If you don't require luxury, this is a good value for downtown Nashville!

By , from Nashville on Apr 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 23, 2017

Lisa, it was a pleasure having you as our guest at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville. We are glad you found us to be a good value and that our convenient location was perfect for your trip. We certainly will look for ways to make our guest rooms more comfortable going forward. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again on your next visit to the area. General Manager

2

old style motel.

Everyone

Okay for the money. Close to downtown. Good complimentary breakfast.

By , from Mechanicsville, Va on Mar 17, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 21, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us with feedback. I am so glad to see that you loved our great location and complimentary breakfast, but please accept my apologies for the condition of our hotel. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We hope to see you again soon. General Manager

5
Everyone

Perfect for our stay. We were in town for the SEC tournament. The hotel staff were super nice and our room was spotless

By on Mar 13, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 17, 2017

We are glad you had an excellent stay at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville. It's good to know you were impressed with the service provided by our staff and that our location was perfect for your needs. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! General Manager

2
Everyone

More of a motel than Hotel. Overpriced. More expensive at surrounding Hotels but worth the extra money next trip down.

By , from Chicago on Mar 11, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 13, 2017

Thank you so much for your recent visit. Please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations during your stay. We want all of our guests to leave happy, and I'm so sorry this was not your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on a future visit. Stacy Lee, General Manager