Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Key Inn

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

pretty good-but 2 things-1-the shower would not get full strength- seal leaked at tub and 2- 3 mornings in a row no wake up call- I asked for 0500 wake up and twice the call came at 6:30 pm.

This was a last minute choice based on location and price .. Location is near a freeway .. Parking was a little bit crowded ... Room was nice .. However, the bathtub was an issue .. There wasn't a lot of hot water and the drain was on a break ..

As I was checking in, the man behind the counter was a lot more interested in finishing his text than taking care of a paying customer. It was't all that bad, the delay was a minute or two but the impression he made on me wasn't good.

The room was decent. when you lift up the mattress you see a lot of hair, dirt and Styrofoam cup pieces. I was making sure the place didn't have bed bugs because it seemed old. The tub was worn out and paint was chipping in the tub. I wanted a refund. I just didn't think I'd get it

Well it started with us checking in and being fine. We left for dinner, got back late and the new attendant said we can't have three to a room. I said that's ridiculous. We tried to talk it out and the guy refused. We went to the room and ten minutes later three police officers were at the door forcing me down stairs to pay for another room. Absolutely ridiculous.

Nice and clean room. Very friendly attitude of the receptionist(s) and the other working staff.

It was extremely dirty, we went to the store and bought our own bedding and cleaning products because the tub was black.

Adequate. Clean enough. Quiet. No frills (pool, exercise room etc), which we wouldn't use anyway, so glad not to pay for them! Could use a little refurbishing, but it's ok. Pillows small size, like throw pillows for a couch, in clean pillowcases, 3 to a double bed; pillows old and lumpy, and a little smelly (at least the ones we had). Water pressure just adequate, but there was always hot water. Breakfast included, but cold continental. Burger King across the street is better! Convenient location, especially if using Lyft or Uber! About 4.9 miles from downtown Minneapolis, and very close to both Roseville Mall (walking distance), and St Paul. Staff very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Room size good; shower and toilet area very small; "dressing room" area ok.

The clientele is a bit unsavory, the hotel is very outdated and dumpy looking. The breakfast contains no protein. It can't be considered a breakfast. However, it is convenient, had all the amenities in the room, was clean, and the staff attended to anything I asked in a quick and pleasant manner. Therefore, it turned out to be a pretty good hotel for the money.

Hotel was dirty. Carpets were stained. Bathtub was dirty.

Very nice for the price! Staff was friendly, great breakfast, quiet and comfortable!

Used soap in the shower, hair in the shower & sink, used dental floss in the bed, drapes did not close all the way. When we complained and left, Syed, the manager, did NOT apologize. He just said: "If it was me, I would have left sooner".

I booked this hotel online, for a few days while attending an event in town. While checking in, a customer was complaining about the condition of his room. After checking in and inspecting my room, I found the sheets, while clean they where stained. The Box spring was broken. The carpet was stained. There was little to no water pressure in the shower. The first morning heading out customers where complaining that the waffle makers where not working. They where told they where broken and nothing could be done. Unfortunately, due to the event nearby all the close by hotels where booked or I would have moved. I will never book another room at this hotel, nor would I recommend anyone do either. The kicker at the end of my stay, coming in from a 14 hour day, the only elevator was tagged as broken. My room was on the fourth floor. The following morning I had to make several trips to get my belongings downstairs. Do yourselves a favor and steer clear of this place.

2550 Cleveland Ave N Roseville MN

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Key Inn is located 3.1 mi (5 km) from Minnesota State Fairgrounds and within a 10-minute drive of University of Minnesota-St. Paul. This 113-room hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and free self parking. Mill Ruins Park and University of Minnesota-Minneapolis are also within a 15-minute drive.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is offered each morning. Enjoy a bite to eat at India Palace, the hotel's onsite restaurant.


Rooms

Key Inn's 113 rooms are air-conditioned and provide microwaves, refrigerators, and ironing boards. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and cable TV. Video-game consoles and free toiletries are also standard.


Property features

Key Inn features free WiFi in public areas, a 24-hour business center, and a computer station. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the accommodations. This hotel also has laundry facilities.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed

Queen 1 | Sleeps 3

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Key Inn

Everyone (13)
3

close to the fair

Everyone

pretty good-but 2 things-1-the shower would not get full strength- seal leaked at tub and 2- 3 mornings in a row no wake up call- I asked for 0500 wake up and twice the call came at 6:30 pm.

By on Aug 27, 2017

3

just a place to stay ..

Everyone

This was a last minute choice based on location and price .. Location is near a freeway .. Parking was a little bit crowded ... Room was nice .. However, the bathtub was an issue .. There wasn't a lot of hot water and the drain was on a break ..

By , from Houston, Mn on May 16, 2017

Review comment responded on May 18, 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. We appreciate your feedback!

3

good value.

Everyone

As I was checking in, the man behind the counter was a lot more interested in finishing his text than taking care of a paying customer. It was't all that bad, the delay was a minute or two but the impression he made on me wasn't good.

By , from St. Paul, MN on Mar 17, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 19, 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and will work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

2

orbitz needs stay at these places.

Everyone
paint chipping left of drain drain has rust

The room was decent. when you lift up the mattress you see a lot of hair, dirt and Styrofoam cup pieces. I was making sure the place didn't have bed bugs because it seemed old. The tub was worn out and paint was chipping in the tub. I wanted a refund. I just didn't think I'd get it

By , from Chicago on Feb 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 15, 2017

We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

1

don't stay here.

Everyone

Well it started with us checking in and being fine. We left for dinner, got back late and the new attendant said we can't have three to a room. I said that's ridiculous. We tried to talk it out and the guy refused. We went to the room and ten minutes later three police officers were at the door forcing me down stairs to pay for another room. Absolutely ridiculous.

By on Jan 30, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 15, 2017

We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

4

nice hotel for the price we paid

Everyone

Nice and clean room. Very friendly attitude of the receptionist(s) and the other working staff.

By on Oct 3, 2016

1

worst stay ever

Everyone

It was extremely dirty, we went to the store and bought our own bedding and cleaning products because the tub was black.

By on Oct 3, 2016

3

adequate; clean enough; no frills, good location e

Everyone

Adequate. Clean enough. Quiet. No frills (pool, exercise room etc), which we wouldn't use anyway, so glad not to pay for them! Could use a little refurbishing, but it's ok. Pillows small size, like throw pillows for a couch, in clean pillowcases, 3 to a double bed; pillows old and lumpy, and a little smelly (at least the ones we had). Water pressure just adequate, but there was always hot water. Breakfast included, but cold continental. Burger King across the street is better! Convenient location, especially if using Lyft or Uber! About 4.9 miles from downtown Minneapolis, and very close to both Roseville Mall (walking distance), and St Paul. Staff very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Room size good; shower and toilet area very small; "dressing room" area ok.

By , from Western Massachusetts on Oct 2, 2016

3

near downtown mpls. without the downtown price

Everyone

The clientele is a bit unsavory, the hotel is very outdated and dumpy looking. The breakfast contains no protein. It can't be considered a breakfast. However, it is convenient, had all the amenities in the room, was clean, and the staff attended to anything I asked in a quick and pleasant manner. Therefore, it turned out to be a pretty good hotel for the money.

By , from Nevada on Sep 22, 2016

1
Everyone

Hotel was dirty. Carpets were stained. Bathtub was dirty.

By on Sep 12, 2016