Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

It is very close to the beach. Nice clean rooms. No elevators to get to the suites.

The rooms were small but we spent very little time in the room. The entire staff was AMAZING!!! Thank you to Matt, Kevon and the overnight front desk clerk who worked July 19-22!! They gave us so many tips and were beyond helpful!!! Definitely staying here again!!

We were Charged a $28 “resort fee” to cover beach towels, free drinks, wi-fi, and breakfast. Unfortunately, there were no beach towels available- despite checking back several times— we were not allowed in to the bar to get our free drink unless we paid the $30 per person cover charge, the wi- fi was slow, and kept kicking us off, and the breakfast consisted of stale pastries and bad coffee. For $28, we could have purchased our own beach towels and bought pastry and coffee at Publix. This historic and well placed property was a real treat for us, but sadly the experience and resort fee was a real disappointment.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean; we had a comfortable stay. Location was great. Parked 1 block away, 35$ overnight, cheaper than the hotel valet ($46). Lobby smelled like 60 years worth of suntan lotion, but youre only there for a few minutes anyway. Overall recommend

The staff was very nice and great with advice, dinner reservations etc.

Perfect location and overall good experience. No fridge in room.

Large room, very clean, old hotel with beautiful architiure which needed some upgrades. Breakfast was simple and good. The courtyard had beautiful fountains and trees.

Very nice hotel located across the street from South Beach.

We stayed at Essex 2 weeks ago for only 1 night as we went off on a cruise the next day. Overall experience was great from beginning to end. Yes, the hotel is on the older side, small but very clean in and out. Location is great only 1 block from ocean drive/the beach area, lots of shopping and restaurant near by (CVS 1 block away)!!! Breakfast was good but limited. Love the fresh fruits and coffee+pastries (yummy!!!) The staff was very nice and helpful and allowed us to check in super early and offered to have breakfast before it ended. We even came back after the cruise and stayed there for a few hours in the lobby as our flight was later in the evening. I which we stayed longer, love the area and the hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. If you want a fancy hotel, then this might not be for you.

Hotel is old and could use new rugs but the room was clean and the location excellent. Staff was very pleasant and responsive.

Nice staff very respectful. I arrived 4 hours before my check in and they provided me with a room eithin 10 minutes after i arrived. I will be staying there in the near future r mmm

Nice hotel very close to the beach. Beautiful furnishings and amenities. Staff were great. Bartender, Louis, was amazing!! The only slight drawback was the valet staff—a little slow—-otherwise, very enjoyable. And this has nothing to do with the hotel or grounds staff.i would absolutely stay there again.

This was my second time staying at Essex and my only complaint is that the outlets were really lose, my charger would not stay in the wall and two of them did not work. Also the quick dials to room service and front desk, etc did not work I had to call them from my cell phone for them to give me a 5 digit number to call that was not really fixing the phone

A great experience in South Beach. Very well located ti have a flavour of this part of Miami.

This is an older hotel that has been well kept. The only drawback is that our room had an old building smell. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. Thanks Kevon,Zuleiecka, and the other front desk guy( sorry didn't write down the name). It is one block off of Ocean Dr. So it was close to the action but far enough to be quiet and relaxing. My coworker and I enjoyed our stay so much that we are planning a department vacation there.

Collins Ave Miami Beach FL

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Collins Avenue Shopping Area and Ocean Drive
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Outdoor pool

Located in South Beach, Essex House By Clevelander is next to popular attractions like Collins Avenue Shopping Area and Ocean Drive. This 4-star hotel has 68 rooms and welcomes guests with free breakfast, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is offered each morning. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or make new friends at the free manager's reception.


Rooms

Essex House By Clevelander's 68 air-conditioned rooms provide safes, phones, and ironing boards. Guests can expect free WiFi and 42-inch TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries.


Property features

Guests of Essex House By Clevelander enjoy an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and coffee in a common area. Valet parking is available for USD 46.01 per day. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with luggage storage, securing valuables, and dry cleaning/laundry. Other amenities at this boutique hotel include a computer station, free newspapers, and a porter/bellhop.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Essex House By Clevelander

Everyone (30) Couples (36) Business (2) Family (12) Friends (22) Other (4)
4
Partner Couples

It is very close to the beach. Nice clean rooms. No elevators to get to the suites.

By on Oct 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 19, 2019

We recognize your time is valuable and appreciate the feedback you have provided for Essex House by Clevelander. It is good to know you liked our clean accommodations and that our location close to the beach worked well for you. However, we apologize for any inconvenience you had. Thank you for being our guest, and we look forward to your next visit! Victoria Palacio, Sales and Marketing Manager

5
Friends

The rooms were small but we spent very little time in the room. The entire staff was AMAZING!!! Thank you to Matt, Kevon and the overnight front desk clerk who worked July 19-22!! They gave us so many tips and were beyond helpful!!! Definitely staying here again!!

By , from Wilmington, DE on Jul 24, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 25, 2019

Keya, thank you for the five-star review of Essex House by Clevelander. We are thrilled to read about your fantastic stay and how much you enjoyed our hospitality. We work hard to deliver an excellent experience for all of our guests, and we celebrate reviews such as yours. Team members like Matt and Kevon are perfect examples of the passionate and dedicated spirit of service that we value. Thank you again; we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Victoria Palacio, Sales and Marketing Manager

3
Everyone

We were Charged a $28 “resort fee” to cover beach towels, free drinks, wi-fi, and breakfast. Unfortunately, there were no beach towels available- despite checking back several times— we were not allowed in to the bar to get our free drink unless we paid the $30 per person cover charge, the wi- fi was slow, and kept kicking us off, and the breakfast consisted of stale pastries and bad coffee. For $28, we could have purchased our own beach towels and bought pastry and coffee at Publix. This historic and well placed property was a real treat for us, but sadly the experience and resort fee was a real disappointment.

By , from Miami on Jul 5, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 6, 2019

Thank you for choosing us during your stay in Miami. We are sorry to read you were disappointed with the amenities under resort fee and that you did not like our breakfast offerings as well. We are committed to giving an exceptional experience, so we will be sure to discuss your concerns. We appreciate you mentioning our location, and we hope you will consider a return visit. Victoria Palacio, Sales and Marketing Manager

4
Partner Couples

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean; we had a comfortable stay. Location was great. Parked 1 block away, 35$ overnight, cheaper than the hotel valet ($46). Lobby smelled like 60 years worth of suntan lotion, but youre only there for a few minutes anyway. Overall recommend

By on Jun 27, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 27, 2019

Thank you for choosing the Essex House by Clevelander, and for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted you liked our courteous associates, convenient location, and well-maintained as well as comfortable accommodations. However, we regret any inconvenience you had in our common areas. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you again. Victoria Palacio, Sales and Marketing Manager

2
Everyone

By on May 13, 2019

Review comment responded on May 14, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. It is disheartening to read that we did not live up to our usual standards, and we are truly sorry your stay was less than satisfactory. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a much-improved experience. Victoria Palacio, Sales and Marketing Manager

5
Families

The staff was very nice and great with advice, dinner reservations etc.

By on Feb 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 28, 2019

Dear Anonymous Thank you for choosing Essex House during your stay in Miami! I am glad to hear your stay went well and you enjoyed all South Beach had to offer! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Regards, Marcello Telles Guest Service Supervisor

4
Partner Couples

Perfect location and overall good experience. No fridge in room.

By on Feb 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 12, 2019

Dear Anonymous Thank you for choosing Essex House during your stay in Miami! I am glad to hear your stay went well and you enjoyed all South Beach had to offer! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Regards, Marcello Telles Guest Service Supervisor

4
Everyone

By on Jan 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 23, 2019

Dear Anonymous Thank you for choosing Clevelander South Beach during your stay in Miami! We look forward to your next visit. Regards, Marcello Telles Guest Service Supervisor

5
Everyone

By on Jan 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 23, 2019

Dear Anonymous Thank you for choosing Essex House during your stay in Miami! We look forward to your next visit. Regards, Marcello Telles Guest Service Supervisor

4
Everyone

Large room, very clean, old hotel with beautiful architiure which needed some upgrades. Breakfast was simple and good. The courtyard had beautiful fountains and trees.

By on Dec 10, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 17, 2019

Dear Camz Response from Victoria P, Manager at Essex House Responded Jul 4, 2018 Dear Melissa Q, Thank you for choosing Essex House during your stay in South Beach! We'd like to thank you for the feedback on our hotel. Being in the center of Ocean Drive we are an authentic Art Deco Boutique Hotel and historically protected, but we are pleased to hear you like our rooms. look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Marcello Telles

url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Miami-Hotels-Essex-House-By-Clevelander.h3792-p2.Hotel-Reviews