Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Best Western Plus Carriage Inn

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Got broken toilet for 195$ a night. Changed the room that had smell of cigarette smoke.

It is a motel and not a hotel! Next to the interstate and very loud. Pool is very small and dirty. The rooms are not modern and are dark.

Pleasant, experience. a good location, near freeway. Room was clean, bed was comfortable.

Was in Burbank on business, well groomed place to stay. Denny's on property, other food establishments close by.

Reception was long and slow, 2 persons there on the phone for more than 20’ Room was ok in a 2nd floor in a convenient location with quick access to the freeways. The room service was really bad. I left my room at 10am and return at 3:30pm and the room was not done then I left 45’ but nothing. Nobody did the room that day!!!!

It's a okay hotel close to highway and downtown Burbank. Driving to Hollywood in 20 min without traffic. It's bare bone hotel with Denny's next door. Close to Target or other shopping centers. Bathroom is about small and simple.

No complaints. Great location and facilities at a good price.

This hotel wasn't the BEST and we probably wouldn't stay there again. It was definitely clean and a decent bed to sleep on for 2 nights. But the blankets were a bit thin. The hotel was under construction so we were woken up early by the crew hammering and other stuff outside. The hotel is definitely old and has the old smell to it. The bathrooms didn't have fans which we found weird. The AC unit was great. Plenty of parking. It was neat having the Denny's so close. The pool was semi-heated. The spa on the other hand was about the same temp as the pool. definitely NOT hot or very well heated for a "hot tub." We thought it was fantastic that the hotel had a laundry service, however $2/wash, $2/dry and $2 for detergent was expensive. So we went to Target and bought our own soap to save $$. The hotel does NOT have any knowledge about a shuttle to Universal Studios so that was disappointing and we were visiting from out of state and thought the hotel staff would know of one since they are recommended as one of the Universal Studios hotels and had tons of advertisements for the park in their hotel. Ended up having to drive. The location of the hotel is in a shady looking part of town. But thankfully nothing happened to our vehicle & I felt safe enough to swim in the pool with my kids while my husband watched the baby in the room. If we had to stay here again we would but we would stay in a holiday inn first as they were only a couple dollars more.

Arrival and check-in were easy and quick but when we booked our room, we were expecting daily breakfast for our entire trip not just one of the days (part of the reason we booked here). The best western we stayed at a couple of weeks before offered this and it was actually pretty good. When we got into the room we encountered our next issue - the bathroom tub was plugged to the point they had to switch us rooms. When we got into the next room we got a bag of goodies (waters, chips, candies, etc...) that were addressed to someone else (assuming whoever was supposed to have that room in the first place). The room itself wasn't bad - pretty much what I was expecting form this price point (clean, semi uncomfortable bed, can hear through the walls, and smell what I assumed was pot being smoked in one of the rooms connected to the same air duct we were on). When we got up on the first morning to leave our truck was pretty much locked into the parking spot as they allowed people to park in the driveway behind peoples cars, in emergency rows, etc...took nearly 20 minutes of inching forward and backwards just to get out. The rest of the time at the hotel was okay other than they said they'd release the deposit on my card within 5-7 days and its been weeks now still pending... If you need something cheap, close to the freeway and don't mind the issues that I experience above - it is probably an okay place to stay. I personally will not be coming back.

Great hotel for medium budget, will stay again Friendly staff, good locations

Location to freeway and area needed was good. Needed to use lift for disabled guest, maintenance worker very helpful in getting battery installed.

It was a great stay, the staff was friendly and the rooms were so clean!! We definitely had an amazing stay. it's at a great distance for those who are going to universal studios or anywhere really. Plus the pool was great after a long day out in the LA sun.

Nice place,very clean easy to get in freeway good price and best thing close to everything.

Excellent location for Universal Studios ~15min. Nice to receive Dennys breakfast vouchers for being Expedia customers.

Overall the room was comfy with some complaints and room for improvement. I called ahead to confirm that the pool was heated. I book the room on my to find that the pool as broken and Ice cold. The rugs in the room were filthy. The AC was not working properly. No microwave in the room. The frig made lots of noise all night.

Noisy road noise. Reasonable price. Near Ventura Blvd. Close to good dining and freeways.

Nice hotel,great staff, needs to number parking so you are close to your room.Hotel was not close to what we were visiting.

The room was very clean and quiet. The staff was very helpful!

Amazing hotel for tourists. Location is perfect and rooms are very confortable.

would recommend this hotel, but ask for a room away from the freeway!

5525 Sepulveda Blvd Sherman Oaks CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool

Sherman Oaks Castle Park is a short stroll from Best Western Plus Carriage Inn, and other popular attractions like Sherman Oaks Galleria are within a mile (2 km). This 181-room, 3-star hotel has a restaurant, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi. Van Nuys Sherman Oaks War Memorial Park and Iceland Ice Skating Rink are also nearby.


Dining

Explore the hotel and meet new friends over drinks at the bar/lounge, or enjoy a bite to eat at the onsite restaurant. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with room service, or get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café. Start each morning with breakfast, available for a fee.


Rooms

All of Best Western Plus Carriage Inn's 181 air-conditioned rooms provide refrigerators, coffee makers, and free weekday newspapers. LCD TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds are dressed in premium bedding. Other standard amenities include free local calls, safes, and ironing boards.


Property features

Guests of Best Western Plus Carriage Inn have access to an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and a spa tub. Free parking is available if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry and tours/tickets. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a meeting room, and a 24-hour business center.

Guest reviews for Best Western Plus Carriage Inn

Everyone (33) Couples (101) Business (59) Family (112) Friends (30) Other (40)
2

broken toilet

Everyone

Got broken toilet for 195$ a night. Changed the room that had smell of cigarette smoke.

By on Apr 6, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 6, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and valued. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.

2

rating to high! misleading!

Everyone

It is a motel and not a hotel! Next to the interstate and very loud. Pool is very small and dirty. The rooms are not modern and are dark.

By on Mar 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 2, 2018

Kobe-Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

4

good central location in the san fernando valley.

Everyone

Pleasant, experience. a good location, near freeway. Room was clean, bed was comfortable.

By on Mar 12, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 17, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and valued.

5

nice hotel

Everyone

Was in Burbank on business, well groomed place to stay. Denny's on property, other food establishments close by.

By , from Las Vegas, NV on Feb 10, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 11, 2018

Bruno-Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

3

hotel in van nuys

Everyone

Reception was long and slow, 2 persons there on the phone for more than 20’ Room was ok in a 2nd floor in a convenient location with quick access to the freeways. The room service was really bad. I left my room at 10am and return at 3:30pm and the room was not done then I left 45’ but nothing. Nobody did the room that day!!!!

By on Feb 9, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 11, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your recent stay with us. We're sorry you were unhappy, we will work hard to fix the problems you encountered.

3

good hotel close to studios in hollywood

Everyone

It's a okay hotel close to highway and downtown Burbank. Driving to Hollywood in 20 min without traffic. It's bare bone hotel with Denny's next door. Close to Target or other shopping centers. Bathroom is about small and simple.

By , from Saint Paul, MN on Dec 30, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 30, 2017

Jack-Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our hotel. We hope you visit us again.

5
Everyone

No complaints. Great location and facilities at a good price.

By on Dec 17, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 17, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

3

decent hotel

Families

This hotel wasn't the BEST and we probably wouldn't stay there again. It was definitely clean and a decent bed to sleep on for 2 nights. But the blankets were a bit thin. The hotel was under construction so we were woken up early by the crew hammering and other stuff outside. The hotel is definitely old and has the old smell to it. The bathrooms didn't have fans which we found weird. The AC unit was great. Plenty of parking. It was neat having the Denny's so close. The pool was semi-heated. The spa on the other hand was about the same temp as the pool. definitely NOT hot or very well heated for a "hot tub." We thought it was fantastic that the hotel had a laundry service, however $2/wash, $2/dry and $2 for detergent was expensive. So we went to Target and bought our own soap to save $$. The hotel does NOT have any knowledge about a shuttle to Universal Studios so that was disappointing and we were visiting from out of state and thought the hotel staff would know of one since they are recommended as one of the Universal Studios hotels and had tons of advertisements for the park in their hotel. Ended up having to drive. The location of the hotel is in a shady looking part of town. But thankfully nothing happened to our vehicle & I felt safe enough to swim in the pool with my kids while my husband watched the baby in the room. If we had to stay here again we would but we would stay in a holiday inn first as they were only a couple dollars more.

By , from Puyallup, WA on Dec 11, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 11, 2017

Veronica-Thank you for taking the rate and review our hotel. We're sorry you were unhappy. We will work hard hard to fix the issues you mentioned.

2

was expecting ok but left meh...

Everyone

Arrival and check-in were easy and quick but when we booked our room, we were expecting daily breakfast for our entire trip not just one of the days (part of the reason we booked here). The best western we stayed at a couple of weeks before offered this and it was actually pretty good. When we got into the room we encountered our next issue - the bathroom tub was plugged to the point they had to switch us rooms. When we got into the next room we got a bag of goodies (waters, chips, candies, etc...) that were addressed to someone else (assuming whoever was supposed to have that room in the first place). The room itself wasn't bad - pretty much what I was expecting form this price point (clean, semi uncomfortable bed, can hear through the walls, and smell what I assumed was pot being smoked in one of the rooms connected to the same air duct we were on). When we got up on the first morning to leave our truck was pretty much locked into the parking spot as they allowed people to park in the driveway behind peoples cars, in emergency rows, etc...took nearly 20 minutes of inching forward and backwards just to get out. The rest of the time at the hotel was okay other than they said they'd release the deposit on my card within 5-7 days and its been weeks now still pending... If you need something cheap, close to the freeway and don't mind the issues that I experience above - it is probably an okay place to stay. I personally will not be coming back.

By on Oct 27, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 3, 2017

Thank You for taking the time to review our hotel. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

5

nice n clean hotel! very nice n friendly staff!

Everyone

Great hotel for medium budget, will stay again Friendly staff, good locations

By , from Las Vegas on Oct 19, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 3, 2017

Thank You for taking the time to review our hotel. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.