Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

everyone very hospitable, professional, accommodating attentative friendly. i was in an e,cellent location, wirhin 10 mibutea od everywhsre i needws to go fie a shoet business teip. great barbecue at the Goode Co just a mile from CP.All in all a very positiveezperience.

Comfortable room size, staff is pleasant, offer parking options.

Disgusting. Find somewhere else to stay. Sheets were plastic. Carpet dirty. ...well i guess its a holiday inn product.

Great stay for the long weekend. No complaints at all

Smelly and dirty. Good staff. Cheap Price

Hallway carpet leading to bedroom was dirty and smell bad.

Crowne Plaza River Oaks is a very nice hotel. I want to be as honest as possible about our stay. So below are the pros and cons: Pros: -the room was very nice size. Lots of room, kids were able to get down and play and we never felt cramped. -the hotel is located in a great spot for Houston visits. Close to the museum district, close to downtown, and if you haven't ever explored midtown or River Oaks, you should and its its located right in the middle of these spots. -nice pool -nice exercise room -friendly staff Cons: -our keys kept shutting off and not working, for our door or for the parking garage, not a big deal, just an inconvenience to have to go to the front desk multiple times to get this rectified. -parking is $9, let me correct myself, self-parking is $9, valet is $15. Nothing you can do about it, but just no that is a cost you will incur. -we had a child get sick and we had to leave a day early, checked out at 2:00pm and they wouldn't refund our money or give us anything back. Again, I understand it is really our problem, but something, a comp, a discount, anything would have been nice. They weren't rude about it, they simply just said "sorry, you have already paid for the room, there's nothing we can do."

Old and outdated. Room was never made up. Linens practically threadbare. Carpeting lumpy. Pool overly crowded constantly. Parking was fine but arm didn't work with room card at times. Overall, disappointing and underwhelming.

Right around the corner from my favorite sushi joint (Kata Robata) and one gallery district. for the money, I don't think you can do better. Facilities were clean and pretty well updated. Shower was surprisingly good with wonderful water pressure. I will say if I was anywhere near 6' tall, I would have felt cramped as shower area had a low ceiling, but for me it was fine. I will absolutely make this my hotel of choice for my next visit to Houston.

The hotel stay was nice. The staff was great and the in hotel restaurant was excellent. My only complaint is the quality of the bedding. It was a little hard and the sheets were very tough. Other than that it was a great experience. Fairly close to downtown Houston!

It is very close to where we needed to be and is a nice facility. Some traffic noise, not bad, but the 3am Saturday night half hour party in the hall was an annoyance. Maid kinda forgot to clean the room day two after notifying them of leaving, as requested. I'll stay there again and hope the more or less minor annoyances don't recur.

Stayed at hotel for Houston Rodeo & Livestock show. It was okay. Not spectacular, but not bad either. Good for what I was looking for.

It's convenient to our visited places and comfortable to live.

The room was clean & big, for starters we where in town for the LSU football game, we wanted to sit in the bar and watch college football while waiting to depart, lounge didn't open till 4pm.and closed at 11pm on a big football weekend.There were only 2 elevators working and the staff was using those also. they required an extra $50.00 payment to cover cost of parking & phone. I will never stay there again.

Great bang for your buck. Staff is great and the rooms are extremely comfortable and clean.

I have stayed here a few times over the last few years when we travel to houston and we always enjoy our stay there. The rooms are big, clean and comfortable. Great shower, bathroom, fridge, microwave, coffemaker. The bar, at least on the Saturday night we were there, was quite lively. The value for the money is extraordinary. We are going back again for sure.

This hotel was a great value. Self parking was only $9. Rooms were large and clean. The sheets were coarse. Location was right by the interstate so restaurants weren't difficult to find. Nothing really close by walking standards though. Toyota Center was only 10-15 minutes away.

Ive stayed here many times and something is always wrong. the last two visits the elevator from the ground floor to the various garage levels was not working. you have to bring your bags to the lobby and then carry them up the stairs to your floor. the hot water was luke warm at best and the tub practially fills up while showering. ill be looking for a new hotel in the area. this is definately NOT a crown plaza caliber property

New Years eve, room was clean, walls are paper thin. Can hear everyone coming and going. Good bargain for NYE since all downtown hotels were $250 +

i sleep so well, i like the bed and pillows are so confotable

2712 Southwest Fwy Houston TX

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Outdoor pool
  • 24-hour health club

Located in Southwest Houston within 2 miles (3 km) of Menil Collection, Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks is within a few miles (5 km) of other popular sights such as Houston Zoo. This 354-room, 3.5-star hotel has an outdoor pool along with a 24-hour health club and free in-room WiFi. Located centrally in Houston, it's also close to Houston Natural Science Museum and Children's Museum of Houston.


Dining

Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or have a drink at the bar/lounge. Start your day off with buffet breakfast, available for a fee.


Rooms

All 354 air-conditioned rooms feature microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect free WiFi and 325-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and Tempur-Pedic beds with premium bedding ensure a restful night. Other amenities include free weekday newspapers, safes, and ironing boards.


Property features

At Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks, guests enjoy features like an outdoor pool, a 24-hour health club, and free WiFi in public areas. Parking is available for USD 9 per day (USD 14 per day for valet parking), and there's also a free area shuttle. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include 10 meeting rooms, a 24-hour business center, and a seasonal outdoor pool.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room

King 1 | Queen 1 | Sleeps 3

Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Bathtub (MOBILITY)

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Crowne Plaza Houston River Oaks

Everyone (8) Couples (21) Business (15) Family (16) Friends (9) Other (1)
5

great location

Everyone

everyone very hospitable, professional, accommodating attentative friendly. i was in an e,cellent location, wirhin 10 mibutea od everywhsre i needws to go fie a shoet business teip. great barbecue at the Goode Co just a mile from CP.All in all a very positiveezperience.

By on Apr 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 28, 2017

Hello Jim and thank you for a 5 star rating! Glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please do come back soon! Best regards, Debbie

4

pleasant stay.

BusinessTravelers

Comfortable room size, staff is pleasant, offer parking options.

By , from Houston, Texas. on Mar 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 13, 2017

Hello Sonia and thanks for the 4 star rating! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do have rates that include breakfast so maybe next time you can look at those? Please come back and see us again! Best regards, Debbie

1

disgusting dirty product.on the highway

Everyone

Disgusting. Find somewhere else to stay. Sheets were plastic. Carpet dirty. ...well i guess its a holiday inn product.

By , from Earth on Feb 7, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 14, 2017

Hello and thanks for your feedback. I am sincerely sorry about your stay and concerns. I will share your comments with housekeeping and hope that you might give us another try. Best regards, Debbie

4

it was nice. had everything we needed

Everyone

Great stay for the long weekend. No complaints at all

By , from s on Jan 30, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 2, 2017

Hello Eddie and thanks for a 4 star rating! Glad you had a nice weekend and no complaints! Please coem back soon! Best regards, Debbie

2

smelly and dirty. good staff. cheap price.

Everyone
View from the bed

Smelly and dirty. Good staff. Cheap Price

By , from phoenix on Dec 8, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 12, 2016

Hello Ken and thanks for your feedback. I am sorry your room was not what you were looking for and will share your feedback with my manager. Please come back and see us again! Best regards, Debbie

3

it was ok and not great

Everyone

Hallway carpet leading to bedroom was dirty and smell bad.

By on Aug 29, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 1, 2016

Hello and thanks for the feedback. I am sorry that you were not pleased and will share your comments with Housekeeping. I hope that you will give us another try. Best regards, Debbie

4

overall very nice for the $

Everyone

Crowne Plaza River Oaks is a very nice hotel. I want to be as honest as possible about our stay. So below are the pros and cons: Pros: -the room was very nice size. Lots of room, kids were able to get down and play and we never felt cramped. -the hotel is located in a great spot for Houston visits. Close to the museum district, close to downtown, and if you haven't ever explored midtown or River Oaks, you should and its its located right in the middle of these spots. -nice pool -nice exercise room -friendly staff Cons: -our keys kept shutting off and not working, for our door or for the parking garage, not a big deal, just an inconvenience to have to go to the front desk multiple times to get this rectified. -parking is $9, let me correct myself, self-parking is $9, valet is $15. Nothing you can do about it, but just no that is a cost you will incur. -we had a child get sick and we had to leave a day early, checked out at 2:00pm and they wouldn't refund our money or give us anything back. Again, I understand it is really our problem, but something, a comp, a discount, anything would have been nice. They weren't rude about it, they simply just said "sorry, you have already paid for the room, there's nothing we can do."

By , from Texas on Aug 7, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 1970

Hello and thank you for a nice review. I am sorry that you had to leave early as your child was ill and sorry that we didn't do something like a discount. I hope that you will come back again! Best regards, Debbie

2
Everyone

Old and outdated. Room was never made up. Linens practically threadbare. Carpeting lumpy. Pool overly crowded constantly. Parking was fine but arm didn't work with room card at times. Overall, disappointing and underwhelming.

By on Jun 29, 2016

Review comment responded on Jul 7, 2016

Hello and thanks for your feedback. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the hotel and your stay. I hope that you will come back and let us show you that we can do better. Debbie

5

fantastic for location and cost

Everyone

Right around the corner from my favorite sushi joint (Kata Robata) and one gallery district. for the money, I don't think you can do better. Facilities were clean and pretty well updated. Shower was surprisingly good with wonderful water pressure. I will say if I was anywhere near 6' tall, I would have felt cramped as shower area had a low ceiling, but for me it was fine. I will absolutely make this my hotel of choice for my next visit to Houston.

By , from austin, texas on Apr 26, 2016

Review comment responded on May 10, 2016

Hello Jane and thanks for the 5 star review! Glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you will come back again. I love Kata Robata too! Best regards, Debbie

3

astros trip

Families

The hotel stay was nice. The staff was great and the in hotel restaurant was excellent. My only complaint is the quality of the bedding. It was a little hard and the sheets were very tough. Other than that it was a great experience. Fairly close to downtown Houston!

By on Jul 21, 2015