Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

The Square

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Centrally located hotel with all the amenities. Easy access to both central station and Tivoli. The staff was excellent and very friendly.

I was very satisfied with my stay at The Square Hotel. Great location, staff are friendly and helpful especially Nicholas and Christian. The room is single so it's small but it's clean and comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel.

Very good location - could easily walk through the Old City. VERY friendly and helpful staff. Everything was clean but had a bit of funny smell. Still very nice place for exploring city.

The staff was very helpful about finding tours and getting around. They were friendly and able to assist us in our needs. The room was small as in all Scandinavia, but it was enough. This hotel is close to Tivoli Gardens and many restaurants and traffic and can be noisy if you have the windows open. When windows are closed, it is fine.

They are heartless. Bad cancellation policy.

the best about this hotel is location. Breakfast was OK, nothing special. The room service was not good. from 7 days stays only 3 times roomed was cleaned.... Once I let from desk to know about the issue. The next day the same, room was not cleaned. The towels were replaced daily and nothing else.

If they tell you the room may be ready before 3pm - it won't. They check everyone in at exactly 3pm - a madhouse of 30 people trying to check in with only 2 staff. First room had an angry occupant who chased us down the hall, thinking we were trying to break in. New room - Air cooling NOT working. It was fixed at the end of our second day there, however, they used a company called AB Air, and gave him a Master Room key. He walked in on us without knocking - NOT COOL. He cleaned the air filter and explained that he goes there every 3 or 4 months and cleans 10 - 15 filters when the hotel gets enough complaints to call him in.

Hotel is in a great location, just 5 minutes from Tivoli, but also easy to walk to Vesterboro, Nyhavn and even to the Rosenberg Castle, Botanical Gardens, etc. Staff is friendly. Breakfast is fine. We had a room for three (our child slept on a foldaway bed, so the room was a bit crowded, but other than that...no complaints.

Dowdy from the outside, the hideous lobby decor suggests a collision between an Apple store and a truck full of chrome that has coupled with faux-skin-covered sofas as well. However, the Square is central and has surprisingly good rooms and fittings. The cleaning service is excellent but when I contacted the front desk to ask for coffee cups that were missing from the room on more than one occasion, one of them suggested that I come downstairs and collect them. The hotel lobby and elevators have posters that promote the use of the lounge. When I went there to write my diary, I was aggressively and rudely interrogated by a staff who could barely articulate her contempt and anger at my presence. Instead of explaining that the lounge was off limits she demanded my room number which I gave her. She went away and returned and again demanded my room number without apologizing for having to ask it again. When I told her I found the tone of her voice offensive she laughed. Very crude display of racist xenophobia that unfortunately defines the Denmark of today.

Great location! Easy walking to alot of tourist sites and dining options. Nice staff (some of them anyway). Breakfast wasn't included so can't speak to that. Very Modern lobby, but no bar to speak of, just 2 stools at a counter next to the check-in desk, so not a place you want to hang out in or have a relaxing drink after a long day. Rooms are a decent size for Europe, had a small couch. Rooms are OK, nothing special - bad lighting as I was on the street level with buildings across I couldnt open the curtains, so very dark overall. Furnishings were OK, budget type. Amenities were lacking a bit (hotel price wasnt cheap!). Kettle to make basic tea/coffee but no milk or creamer only powder type. If you wanted black tea or more sugar, you had to go down to the lobby and get it yourself as the room service people don't have it. Bathrooms were the modular type but very clean and spacious, though tough stepping in & out of tub if u r short & no non-skid mats to help. The staff were inconsistent, some were very very nice and helpful while others were unpleasant, no smiles, bordering on rude. Was also very expensive for what the hotel was, they say they are 4 star. I'd say 3 star realistically.

We booked a triple room for 3 adults. The room would be too small as a double, let alone triple. Also the room was not clean - crumbs on floor, toilet seat dirty. When requesting another rooms answer was that hotel was fully booked. But they sent someone to clean bathroom right away.

Everything is good except it is small. The location could not be better.

The hotel is located within walking distance of most sites. The rooms are comfortable, clean and good size with comfortable beds. There is no aircondition . The vent just blows fan like cool air. The bath and shower are tastefully remodeled. The best part about this hotel is Christen at the front desk . He was very professional, pleasant and friendly . It seemed like he truly enjoys his job and is happy to assist the guests .He is a great asset to the hotel. Christen made our stay A LOT more enjoyable and memorable . Thanks so much:)

very small rooms, tiny beds, but very clean and very good location, definitely would go back

We stayed at the Square four nights over Thanksgiving with our son and his girlfriend and had a great time. The hotel is very close to the central train station and Tivoli Gardens which were decorated for Christmas as was the hotel and entire city. Rooms were small but comfortable and clean. Breakfast was not included in our package but we sampled it one morning and it was very good. Otherwise, there are plenty of coffee shops and restaurants nearby for more serious dining. Staff was professional and accommodating final bill had a couple of discrepancies and they happily decided in our favor--no argument. We would stay here again.

Fantastic hotel. I highly recommend this to fellow travelers.

This is a nice modern hotel in the center of Copenhagan. Easy accept to Tivoli, the Stroget.

Everybody was nice and friendly. The phone service to the front desk was a little slow other than that everything was fine.

Convenient location. This is my second time staying here. I would return. Good Value. Breakfast buffet so so. I wish the restaurant would offer more and better breakfast items, including more warm food.

Just as expected, a great location and the bicycles being available right there is a big plus

Rådhuspladsen 14 Copenhagen

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Tivoli Gardens and City Hall Square
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Bar/lounge
  • 24-hour business center

The Square is adjacent to popular attractions such as Tivoli Gardens and City Hall Square. This 4-star hotel has 268 guestrooms and offers conveniences like a bar/lounge, free in-room WiFi, and a 24-hour business center. It's in central Copenhagen and also a short walk from Stroeget and National Museum of Denmark.


Dining

For your convenience, a continental breakfast is served each morning for a fee. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room, or make new friends over drinks at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

The 268 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including iPod docks, minibars, and coffee makers. 32-inch LCD TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Rooms also include desks.


Property features

The Square features free WiFi in public areas, 4 meeting rooms, and a 24-hour business center. Self parking is available for DKK 320 per night. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include coffee/tea in a common area, a computer station, and express check-out.

Room options

Standard Single Room (bed 110 cm)

Twin 1 | Sleeps 1

Superior Single Room, 1 Queen Bed

Queen 1 | Sleeps 1

Superior Double or Twin Room

Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Executive Room, Multiple Beds, Business Lounge Access

Full 1 | Twin 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for The Square

Everyone (13) Couples (42) Business (17) Family (13) Friends (8) Other (11)
5

fantastic location and great experience

Everyone

Centrally located hotel with all the amenities. Easy access to both central station and Tivoli. The staff was excellent and very friendly.

By , from boston, usa on Oct 3, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 9, 2017

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to be able to welcome you back someday. Best Regards Helle Salling Røber Reservation Manager

5

excellent hotel

Everyone

I was very satisfied with my stay at The Square Hotel. Great location, staff are friendly and helpful especially Nicholas and Christian. The room is single so it's small but it's clean and comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel.

By on Sep 29, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 9, 2017

Dear Ofelia Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and will be sure to pass along your compliments to Nicolas & Christian. We hope to be able to welcome you back someday. Best Regards Jens Wittendorff General Manager

4
Everyone

Very good location - could easily walk through the Old City. VERY friendly and helpful staff. Everything was clean but had a bit of funny smell. Still very nice place for exploring city.

By on Sep 18, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 21, 2017

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back again someday. Best regards Helle Salling Røber Reservation Manager

4

central hotel

Everyone

The staff was very helpful about finding tours and getting around. They were friendly and able to assist us in our needs. The room was small as in all Scandinavia, but it was enough. This hotel is close to Tivoli Gardens and many restaurants and traffic and can be noisy if you have the windows open. When windows are closed, it is fine.

By on Sep 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 12, 2017

Dear Melinda Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you back someday. Best Regards Helle Salling Røber Reservation Manager

1

heartless people.

Everyone

They are heartless. Bad cancellation policy.

By on Sep 5, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 8, 2017

Dear Gerri Thank you for your feedback. We offer non-refundable reservations, and flexible reservations, which can be cancelled up until 12 noon on the day of arrival. Best Regards Helle Salling Røber Reservation Manager

3

good location

Everyone

the best about this hotel is location. Breakfast was OK, nothing special. The room service was not good. from 7 days stays only 3 times roomed was cleaned.... Once I let from desk to know about the issue. The next day the same, room was not cleaned. The towels were replaced daily and nothing else.

By , from PA on Aug 19, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 7, 2017

Dear boby Thank you for your review. I am sorry that the hotel did not quite live up to your expectations. Stay over rooms are cleaned every day, but bedsheets will only be replaced every second day. This is stated in The Square book on the desk in the room. Here it is also stated that if you wish to have the room cleaned more often or the bedsheets being replaced more often, you are welcome to let us know during your stay. Best Regards Helle Salling Røber Reservation Manager

1

location good: service, staff & room lacking

Everyone

If they tell you the room may be ready before 3pm - it won't. They check everyone in at exactly 3pm - a madhouse of 30 people trying to check in with only 2 staff. First room had an angry occupant who chased us down the hall, thinking we were trying to break in. New room - Air cooling NOT working. It was fixed at the end of our second day there, however, they used a company called AB Air, and gave him a Master Room key. He walked in on us without knocking - NOT COOL. He cleaned the air filter and explained that he goes there every 3 or 4 months and cleans 10 - 15 filters when the hotel gets enough complaints to call him in.

By , from Hudson Valley, NY, USA on Jun 4, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 7, 2017

Dear Robert Thank you for your feedback. We always do our utmost to offer rooms prior to 3pm, but as you have mentioned yourself, we cannot guarantee this. This is due to the fact that the housekeeping department needs time to clean the rooms after check out at 12:00. In regards to the experience you have had with the aircooling maintenance guide, it is completely untrue what he said to you, furthermore is it completely unacceptable that the person in question has entered the room without knocking. Please be assured that I will personally follow up on this matter. Best Regards Jens Wittendorff General Manager

4
Everyone

Hotel is in a great location, just 5 minutes from Tivoli, but also easy to walk to Vesterboro, Nyhavn and even to the Rosenberg Castle, Botanical Gardens, etc. Staff is friendly. Breakfast is fine. We had a room for three (our child slept on a foldaway bed, so the room was a bit crowded, but other than that...no complaints.

By on May 28, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 2, 2017

Dear Guest Thank yu for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, even though rooms in Scandinavia can be a bit small compared to other countries. Best Regards Helle Salling Røber Resrevation Manager

3

centrally located hotel from business travellers

Everyone

Dowdy from the outside, the hideous lobby decor suggests a collision between an Apple store and a truck full of chrome that has coupled with faux-skin-covered sofas as well. However, the Square is central and has surprisingly good rooms and fittings. The cleaning service is excellent but when I contacted the front desk to ask for coffee cups that were missing from the room on more than one occasion, one of them suggested that I come downstairs and collect them. The hotel lobby and elevators have posters that promote the use of the lounge. When I went there to write my diary, I was aggressively and rudely interrogated by a staff who could barely articulate her contempt and anger at my presence. Instead of explaining that the lounge was off limits she demanded my room number which I gave her. She went away and returned and again demanded my room number without apologizing for having to ask it again. When I told her I found the tone of her voice offensive she laughed. Very crude display of racist xenophobia that unfortunately defines the Denmark of today.

By , from Canada on Sep 7, 2016

3

good location. decent tourist hotel.

Everyone

Great location! Easy walking to alot of tourist sites and dining options. Nice staff (some of them anyway). Breakfast wasn't included so can't speak to that. Very Modern lobby, but no bar to speak of, just 2 stools at a counter next to the check-in desk, so not a place you want to hang out in or have a relaxing drink after a long day. Rooms are a decent size for Europe, had a small couch. Rooms are OK, nothing special - bad lighting as I was on the street level with buildings across I couldnt open the curtains, so very dark overall. Furnishings were OK, budget type. Amenities were lacking a bit (hotel price wasnt cheap!). Kettle to make basic tea/coffee but no milk or creamer only powder type. If you wanted black tea or more sugar, you had to go down to the lobby and get it yourself as the room service people don't have it. Bathrooms were the modular type but very clean and spacious, though tough stepping in & out of tub if u r short & no non-skid mats to help. The staff were inconsistent, some were very very nice and helpful while others were unpleasant, no smiles, bordering on rude. Was also very expensive for what the hotel was, they say they are 4 star. I'd say 3 star realistically.

By , from LA on Aug 27, 2016