Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Lovely break in the quaint area of Canterbury. Booked a treble room to share with friends. Our beds was split into 2 interconnecting room ideal for family visits with the bonus of each room having a TV. We enjoyed tea and coffee facilities, safe, iron, parking and free WiFi. We didn’t have time to enjoy the garden, sauna and heated pool but will definitely take advantage if return.

Stayed for 2 nights in this converted period house. Nice and clean with very comfortable beds. The first night was very quiet, the second night not so much. As with old buildings the plumbing was extremely noisy when the occupants of the next room turned it on. Rooms had everthing you could wish for, air con etc. Didnt use the pool but it seemed very good.The garden was a nice bonus and you could sit out and enjoy the sunshine. The staff were good, very helpful. The breakfast choice was reasonable and very tasty. The hotel is on a busy road and the sound of traffic could be heard at times. A short 10minute walk along the walls at the top of the road brought you into Canterbury centre. A good place to stay.

This 18th century building stands outside the city walls. I walked here through Westgate gardens, in amongst the trees with the river flowing by. My room had everything I needed, the bed really comfortable, lovely bathroom with shower over the bath and plenty of hot water. The swimming pool and sauna opens at 7.30 am, closes at 9. You have views of the rose garden as you swim. Remember to take a towel with you as they are not provided. The pool is not staffed. Drinking water is provided, a nice touch. Breakfast is ample, with plenty of choice, including a vegan option. Fresh fruit and pastries can be selected and there's a pot of coffee to help yourself from. Staff are unfailingly friendly and polite. It is more than possible to walk from here to the city but if you have problems walking then I would suggest that you take the bus, or a taxi.

Enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Breakfast was very tasty and we enjoyed eating out in the rose garden. Pool and sauna are small but a nice activity to have. This was a good place to base ourselves to visit The Pig and The Fordwich Arms for a birthday treat. Only £10 in a taxi or you could catch a bus.

Me and two friends enjoyed two nights at this lovely little hotel last weekend. The rooms were clean and well equipped and the breakfast was plentiful with good choices. All the staff without exception were very helpful and polite. The pool was a welcome bonus on such a hot weekend. We took taxis into town as it is a little further out than we thought, a good 15-20 minute walk which we did not want to tackle in the heat. The fares were on average £5 which was worth it to us. The hotel accepts dogs and there is a convenient park opposite. I would definitely return.

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel recently for a long weekend. We have been to other hotels in Canterbury in the past and in this hotel especially we felt very welcomed and at home by the amazing customer service we received. The rooms were clean, the pool was amazing and an extra touch, the bar was great, the breakfast was tasty and the staff were extremely friendly. We were served at the bar and on arrival at reception by evallina who was very friendly and chatty and made us feel welcomed, aswell as going above and beyond to adhere to all of our needs even though it seemed she was the only person on shift. Just want to say thank you to everyone at The Canterbury Hotel for making our stay great, we will be returning here on our next visit to Canterbury. 100% recommend.

My husband and I had been members of the Canterbury Hotel swimming pool for two years. We would go there up to three times a week. If we ever had a problem with the pool, we would let Simon the receptionist know and he would deal with it. If the water was too cold, he would raise the temperature. If the pool hall was too hot, Simon would open the doors for us. Simon left a year ago and Simona was appointed. For another year we enjoyed the pool. If there was a problem, we would let the staff know and they would deal with it. When the pool was being repaired we were given a box of chocolates by the hotel as we commented that we were missing the pool. We would always be polite to other swimmers and would wave goodbye to the staff habitually. When we were both ill for some time, Simona even extended our pool membership to July this year. She even said she was missing us. Last Sunday, however, all this changed. We and a family in the pool all commented how cold the water was. After using the cold pool we walked over to reception where a (new?) member a staff was on duty. I left a comment on the booking sheet that the pool was too cold to use. Other clients in the past have made similar comments on the booking sheet. My husband told her that the pool was too cold. This woman had her back turned to us at her computer all the time when she was listening to us. When my husband said he would need to speak to the manager (meaning Simona) about the water temperature, the receptionist said to him: 'You do that'. She even had the CCTV on which would have shown us and the family all shivering in the pool water. Their little girl was bracing herself as she walked in the pool. This is not the first time the pool has been too cold to use. We drive a long way to get to the pool so we always phoned in advance to check the temperature of the water. Recently there have been several occasions when we drove to the pool, having been told it was 29-30 degrees over the phone, only to discover that it was too cold to use. The hotel is now making economies by switching off the pool heating. Only once to our knowledge has a client complained that the pool was too warm, and that was when it was defective. I switched on my computer when we got back home on Sunday and looked at my emails. The hotel had sent me an email stating that our pool membership had been terminated in June and that we could no longer renew our membership. My husband immediately wrote an email to the hotel asking why we had been excluded from the hotel. The hotel replied in an email stating that we had been excluded because we had been rude to customers and staff. This was wholly untrue. Two years and not a single complaint about us until last week-end? It is perfectly in order for clients to comment when a pool is too cold. We have used the pool often enough to know when it is too cold to use. Standards have slipped at the hotel: staff used to be on the reception desk to greet you but now you have to use the bell to get attention whilst they listen to their music in a backroom. The receptionists are on minimum wages, so you get minimal service. Matters I have hitherto not complained about till now are as follows: the changing rooms and showers are dated, the shower heads are not moveable. The heating in the changing room was not always on during cold days. One of the changing rooms almost always has a wet floor because water leaks from the shower cubicle. The staff could also remove insects from the pool using a net during the Summer when the hall doors have to be open as it can get unbearably hot in there. We have been unjustifiably excluded from this hotel - never before have we been banned from a place. We are both professionals and graduates and know how to treat people properly. We do not recommend this hotel. If you dare to complain about a matter you risk being banned.

This is very good 3 star hotel. It is on a very busy road and if you have a front room then it may be very hot, and being on the road would make opening windows difficult. We had room 11 which was quiet, but we still had to have the windows open and the fan on. The room was very clean, the bathroom very big. Excellent shower, no complaints there. There was a complete shortage of hangers in the wardrobe infact none spare though the receptionist did find us 2 from another room. So take some with you. The breakfast both days was excellent, full English . But would prefer thicker bread gor the toast. It takes about 15 minutes walk from the hotel to Canterbury centre, turn left, to the end under the underpass and straight on. Forgot to mention the bed was excellent, firm but not hard slept like a log. Day 2, no biscuit renewal or green tea. Minor things. Would I use this hotel again? Yes.

This is a very friendly hotel with very good facilities, modern and clean. 15/20 minutes walk into the town. Price good for our family of four and we were given a two room suite. A very good breakfast. The indoor pool was not expected and good for the children and adults. The garden is very pretty with tables and chairs to relax.

We stayed here Thursday to Sunday, arrived late and as someone has alluded to earlier there were no spaces in the car park so after unloading we parked on the road, which was free until 8am. We secureda spot the next day but tge car park is tight. Receptionist was v helpful and took our case to the room while we sorted parking. We were in the old part of the hotel on 2nd floor, huge family room, traditional decor but v clean and comfortable. Plenty of tea and coffee but was not replenished for final night and teapot was not emptied, had enough to make do. Breakfast was very nice though it depended who was on as to how much toast you got, it would be nice to be offered more through the meal. Plenty of cold buffet items to fill you up otherwise.Room was on the front but road noise was not an isdue. Easy walk into the city, plenty to see and do.Main criticisms would be no helpful literature in the rooms about hotel facilities or the city and the hot water pressure just could not cope that far up, shower was a dribble if you wanted it hot or freezing cold of you wanted pressure.

140 Wincheap Canterbury England

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Canterbury Cathedral
  • Free English breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Canterbury Cathedral is a short stroll from The Canterbury Hotel, and other popular attractions like Marlowe Theatre are within a mile (2 km). This 11-room, 3-star hotel has an indoor pool along with free in-room WiFi and free self parking.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free English breakfast. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or make new friends over drinks at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

The Canterbury Hotel's 11 rooms provide coffee makers and safes. Flat-screen TVs come with DVD players, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi.


Property features

The Canterbury Hotel offers an indoor pool, a sauna, and free WiFi in public areas. If you plan to drive, free parking is available. A multilingual staff is on hand to help with luggage storage, and offer sightseeing advice. Additional amenities include laundry facilities and a garden.

Room options

Double Room, Ensuite (4 Poster)

Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Suite (Canterbury)

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Double Room, Ensuite

Full 1 | Sleeps 2

Family Quadruple Room, Ensuite

Full 1 | Sleeps 4

Reviews from Trip Advisor

Trip Advisor aggregated rating

97.0% of guests recommend this hotel

Total of 353 reviews

url importing https://www.orbitz.comhttps://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g186311-d291039-Reviews-Canterbury_Hotel-Canterbury_Kent_England.html?m=13878
There was an error importing https://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g186311-d291039-Reviews-Canterbury_Hotel-Canterbury_Kent_England.html?m=13878, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspException: Problem accessing the absolute URL "https://www.orbitz.comhttps://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g186311-d291039-Reviews-Canterbury_Hotel-Canterbury_Kent_England.html?m=13878". java.net.UnknownHostException: www.orbitz.comhttps