Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The beds in a regular room are uncomfortable. I stayed preferred 2 years ago and there is a major difference. Food is lacking in options. Poor liquor choices if you are not preferred. Very limited options at beach bar. Beach bar liquor count is a 2 when pouring. Waitstaff will try to be very accommodating. Other resort employees are very pleasant. The beach is very safe and shallow for younger children who may not have adequate swim skills. They charge for beach beds/cabanas. ☹

Staff was excellent especially Chef Eric, Laura, Manuel and the activity staff. Property is a bit old and needs some TLC

The food was overall good, staff was very accommodating, glad we did preferred, beach chairs were hard to come by but overall we liked the resort.

Everything on the first floor, interior and exterior, was amazing—five stars. The room on the other hand felt like a high end Motel 6. We only went to the room to sleep, but that was not an easy sleep, the bedding smelled like mildew and someone else’s body sweat. There were tiny bugs around the bathroom, once we saw those we asked to switch rooms and the second room didn’t smell as bad and there were no bugs. The room wasn’t enough to ruin our trip, I just don’t think I would go back.

Clean, pleasant and the staff were very friendly and I’ll go back to the same hotel next time

Hotel staff was amazing. However the hotel needs updating. There is no air conditioning in the lobby or hallways. The elevators are also extremely slow. Also the walls are very thin and you could here conversations in the room beside you. The other inconvenience was that they were constantly running out of towels for the beach and pool area.

I enjoyed the perks the preferred members get, as well as the food and shows were fun

Restaurants were very good. I wished that pool was open later. More of a family resort.

food no good , bed bad , beach the best in the world , service very good , small hotel , clean

Everyone was friendly and accommodating. The rooms were nice, however the walls are thin. You can hear everything going on in the halls.

I can’t wait to go back. The beach was clean. ... no seaweed .... the restaurants were absolutely delicious. Pools stayed clean. Great music and nightly shows.

Great hotel. Friendliest staff I’ve ever met. Highly recommend the spa. Biggest issue I had was the food was Horrible! Kept me in the bathroom a portion of the time and I stayed up with stomach aches. The one decent meal I had was the omelet I had for breakfast. If you can some how bring some food do it. I read a lot of other reviews about the food and chose to ignore it. So besides the bad food the hotel and service was flawless.

I love all the staff! Good food, good location. Beach is so nice!

The room was small but the front desk was good the food was average but the most important to was the beach is excellent

This hotel is great for being in the hotel zone but away from the crazy bars. Excellent beach space and very clean. The check in was lengthy and we were made to pay an extra $225 USD even though our whole trip was already paid through orbitz. Then we were harassed for 3 days of our 6 day trip by staff trying to give us a 90 minute presentation for a timeshare. Also, make sure you pack dress clothes because over half the restaurants have a strict dress code, which is not advertised until arrival.

Blvd. Kukulcan km. 8.5 Lote B Cancun QROO

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Cancun Convention Center and Gaviota Azul Beach
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free valet parking
  • Onsite dining

Located in Zona Hotelera, Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa - Optional All Inclusive is a leisurely stroll from popular sights such as Cancun Convention Center and Gaviota Azul Beach. This 438-room, 4-star resort welcomes business and leisure travelers with 2 outdoor pools, a private beach, and a full-service spa.


Dining

There are multiple options for onsite dining with 7 restaurants, including World Cafe, which specializes in international cuisine and serves lunch and dinner, and Portofino with pleasing ocean views. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

All 438 air-conditioned rooms provide iPod docks, coffee makers, and free bottled water. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and wired Internet, plus plasma TVs with satellite channels and pay movies. Bathrooms offer hair dryers, free toiletries, bathrobes, and slippers. Other amenities include safes, phones, and ironing boards.


Property features

Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa - Optional All Inclusive features a private beach, a full-service spa, and 2 outdoor pools. There's free valet parking and an area shuttle for a fee. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, and tours or tickets. Other amenities at this beach resort include a nightclub, a children's pool, and a 24-hour fitness center.

Room options

Breakfast Plan Deluxe Partial Ocean View Double with Balcony

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 3

Breakfast Plan Deluxe Partial Ocean View Double

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Deal of the Day

2 Double Beds | 1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Preferred Club Ocean view King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa - Optional All Inclusive

Everyone (57) Couples (3) Family (20)
4
Family with small children

The beds in a regular room are uncomfortable. I stayed preferred 2 years ago and there is a major difference. Food is lacking in options. Poor liquor choices if you are not preferred. Very limited options at beach bar. Beach bar liquor count is a 2 when pouring. Waitstaff will try to be very accommodating. Other resort employees are very pleasant. The beach is very safe and shallow for younger children who may not have adequate swim skills. They charge for beach beds/cabanas. ☹

By , from Pflugerville, Texas on Mar 22, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 28, 2020

Dear Jessica, Thank you for choosing Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa to host your gateway to our destination. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed you experience. We appreciate your comments. We hope that you consider us for a stay during your next visit to our destination.

4
Everyone

By on Feb 12, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 15, 2020

Dear guest: Thank you very much for visiting us, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be very happy to have you back at home. Regards! Fernanda Vargas eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator

4
Everyone

By on Feb 11, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 15, 2020

Dear guest: Thank you very much for visiting us, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be very happy to have you back at home. Regards! Fernanda Vargas eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator

4
Family

Staff was excellent especially Chef Eric, Laura, Manuel and the activity staff. Property is a bit old and needs some TLC

By on Jan 11, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 18, 2020

Dear AC: Thank you for choosing our hotel to host your gateway to our destination. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience. We appreciate your comments. Best regards. Fernanda Vargas eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa

4
Family Family with small children Family

The food was overall good, staff was very accommodating, glad we did preferred, beach chairs were hard to come by but overall we liked the resort.

By on Jan 7, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 10, 2020

Dear guest: Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your review and also we feel very sorry that you didn't fully enjoy our resort. We have been in operation at this building for a while now and we keep on doing upgrades taking into consideration all the reviews from our guests. Thank you again, and we hope to get the opportunity to host you again in the future in any of the brands of our company. Fernanda Vargas eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa

3
Family with small children

Everything on the first floor, interior and exterior, was amazing—five stars. The room on the other hand felt like a high end Motel 6. We only went to the room to sleep, but that was not an easy sleep, the bedding smelled like mildew and someone else’s body sweat. There were tiny bugs around the bathroom, once we saw those we asked to switch rooms and the second room didn’t smell as bad and there were no bugs. The room wasn’t enough to ruin our trip, I just don’t think I would go back.

By on Dec 31, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 9, 2020

Dear guest: Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your review and also we feel very sorry that you didn't fully enjoy our resort. We have been in operation at this building for a couple of years and we keep on doing upgrades taking into consideration all the reviews from our guests. Thank you again, and we hope to get the opportunity to host you again in the future in any of the brands of our company. Best regards. Fernanda Vargas eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa

5
Family

Clean, pleasant and the staff were very friendly and I’ll go back to the same hotel next time

By on Nov 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 20, 2019

Dear guest, It's our pleasure to know that you had a wonderful experience and that we exceeded your expectations with our service. We appreciate your kind comments and sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion. Warm regards, Fernanda Vargas eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator

5
Everyone

By on Nov 7, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 12, 2019

Dear guest, It's our pleasure to know that you had a wonderful experience and that we exceeded your expectations with our service. We appreciate your kind comments and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Regards! Fernanda Vargas eConcierge & Social Media Coordinator

3
Family with small children

Hotel staff was amazing. However the hotel needs updating. There is no air conditioning in the lobby or hallways. The elevators are also extremely slow. Also the walls are very thin and you could here conversations in the room beside you. The other inconvenience was that they were constantly running out of towels for the beach and pool area.

By on Oct 12, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 14, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments and we are certainly concerned to read your review. We are disappointed that we were not able to exceed your expectations and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. Thank you for bringing the situation to our attention, we will be working hard, as usual, to achieve our guests’ full satisfaction. We hope you had a safe and pleasant journey back home Best Regards,

4
Everyone

By on Sep 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 19, 2019

Dear Guest, We appreciate you have taken the time to write a review about your stay with us, we are happy to know that you loved everything we have to offer. Remember that Dreams Sands Cancun Resort and Spa is your second home and we are already waiting for you, Looking forward to hosting your vacations again!

Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa - Optional All Inclusive

Blvd. Kukulcan km. 8.5 Lote B, Cancun, QROO 77500
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Cancun-Hotels-Dreams-Sands-Cancun-Resort-&-Spa---Optional-All-Inclusive.h8393330-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Cancun-Hotels-Dreams-Sands-Cancun-Resort-&-Spa---Optional-All-Inclusive.h8393330-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Cancun-Hotels-Dreams-Sands-Cancun-Resort-&-Spa---Optional-All-Inclusive.h8393330-p2.Hotel-Reviews