Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Super 8 by Wyndham New Castle

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The carpet has holes, so does the bed spread. Rooms need updated and cleaned. Hotel staff was nice.

Pros: Comfortable bed, nice layout, easy access to highway and other places, great staff who are friendly and helpful. Cons: It smelled bad of cigarette smoke, even though it was a non-smoking wing. Burn holes in blankets, etc. My wife is very sensitive to this, and had an allergic reaction that lasted a couple days. It doesn't bother me that way, being an ex-smoker, but I could sure smell it, and strongly, especially out in the hall.

Booked this by accident - meant to book the Super 8 in West Middlesex which I know to be good. Stayed anyway because at that point in the day, it wasn't worth the hassle to complain about the issues we found. Room 211 - two queen beds. Room was generally clean though both beds (and pillows) looked like someone had been laying on them. Bedspread had cigarette burns and suspicious stains. Lamps/shades were off kilter/crooked. Bathroom was very clean, no complaints there. Wi-fi worked great. TV reception was a bit fuzzy. Staff was friendly - check in was quick and easy. Hardware on the door stopper (the thing you flip over so if your door opens it only opens about 4-6 inches was coming out so I tightened the screws as much as I could and put our suitcases by the door for good measure. Slept okay (did NOT use the comforter) no noises/disturbances. Didn't eat the breakfast but did have some coffee. Like everything else with this hotel, it was just...meh. Wouldn't have stayed here if I was by nyslef or with my kids, but for my sister and I for one night, it was okay. Probably wouldn't stay again.

it is more of a flophouse than a motel.the people putting out breakfast were in their bare feet,2 of 3 locks on door broke.ac unit had mold.contacted the hq. inc. they said alot and did nothing.i later stayed at another super 8 in bristol ,.tn. because of the others expense,it wasn't as bad but still wasn't clean

The night I stayed there, I was impressed with the location (right outside of New Castle proper), across from a Giant Eagle and in front of a pizza place. The room was comfortable, didn't have HBO, although there was a brochure of HBO on the nightstand. The only downside of my stay was that I was suffering from a bad knee, and when I went to get ice, the machine was broken, and had not been fixed when I left the facility the next day. Continental Breakfast was not to my liking, since they only had toast, wrapped pastries, and a waffle machine, I was expecting more when I read "Continental Breakfast".

everything was great....clean, friendly, and lots of things close and within walking distance.

there were bugs in the room, beds were ok at best.

family eventGreat value except I didnt get full discount. Clerk said kids under 12 were free. I paid Orbitz extra $20.00 for the kids.

While I was in New Castle I took a short trip to Kirkland to visit the Temple.

the hotel was great,clean,quiet and friendly staff.would go back there again.30 minutes from prime outlet shopping and close to kmart,walmart and other places to shop and eat.

1699 New Butler Rd New Castle PA

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • 24-hour business center

Located within 2 miles (3 km) of Cascade Park, Super 8 by Wyndham New Castle is within 3 miles (5 km) of Scottish Rite Cathedral. This motel has 56 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 32-inch a TV with cable channels. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffee maker.


Property features

Super 8 by Wyndham New Castle features free WiFi in public areas, a meeting room, and a 24-hour business center. There's free parking if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with dry cleaning/laundry and securing valuables. Additional amenities include coffee/tea in a common area, express check-in, and express check-out.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Smoking (Mobility)

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking (Mobility)

Queen 1 | Sleeps 3

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Guest reviews for Super 8 by Wyndham New Castle

Everyone (3) Couples (3) Family (1) Other (3)
3

needs updated

Everyone

The carpet has holes, so does the bed spread. Rooms need updated and cleaned. Hotel staff was nice.

By , from PA on Aug 10, 2018

3

pros and cons

Everyone

Pros: Comfortable bed, nice layout, easy access to highway and other places, great staff who are friendly and helpful. Cons: It smelled bad of cigarette smoke, even though it was a non-smoking wing. Burn holes in blankets, etc. My wife is very sensitive to this, and had an allergic reaction that lasted a couple days. It doesn't bother me that way, being an ex-smoker, but I could sure smell it, and strongly, especially out in the hall.

By , from Western Ohio on Apr 5, 2017

2

meh.

Everyone
Room 211 - everything was crooked Room 211 - cigarette burns and stains on bed

Booked this by accident - meant to book the Super 8 in West Middlesex which I know to be good. Stayed anyway because at that point in the day, it wasn't worth the hassle to complain about the issues we found. Room 211 - two queen beds. Room was generally clean though both beds (and pillows) looked like someone had been laying on them. Bedspread had cigarette burns and suspicious stains. Lamps/shades were off kilter/crooked. Bathroom was very clean, no complaints there. Wi-fi worked great. TV reception was a bit fuzzy. Staff was friendly - check in was quick and easy. Hardware on the door stopper (the thing you flip over so if your door opens it only opens about 4-6 inches was coming out so I tightened the screws as much as I could and put our suitcases by the door for good measure. Slept okay (did NOT use the comforter) no noises/disturbances. Didn't eat the breakfast but did have some coffee. Like everything else with this hotel, it was just...meh. Wouldn't have stayed here if I was by nyslef or with my kids, but for my sister and I for one night, it was okay. Probably wouldn't stay again.

By , from OH on Apr 11, 2016

Review comment responded on Jul 16, 2016

We are sorry you did not enjoy our hotel, We do strive to do our best to please each customer, If you had called the front desk they would have it taken care of immediately. Thank you for staying with us and we do hope you will give us another try.

1

very dirty and bad customer service

Singles

it is more of a flophouse than a motel.the people putting out breakfast were in their bare feet,2 of 3 locks on door broke.ac unit had mold.contacted the hq. inc. they said alot and did nothing.i later stayed at another super 8 in bristol ,.tn. because of the others expense,it wasn't as bad but still wasn't clean

By on Aug 13, 2012

4

quick trip to new castle

Singles

The night I stayed there, I was impressed with the location (right outside of New Castle proper), across from a Giant Eagle and in front of a pizza place. The room was comfortable, didn't have HBO, although there was a brochure of HBO on the nightstand. The only downside of my stay was that I was suffering from a bad knee, and when I went to get ice, the machine was broken, and had not been fixed when I left the facility the next day. Continental Breakfast was not to my liking, since they only had toast, wrapped pastries, and a waffle machine, I was expecting more when I read "Continental Breakfast".

By on Jul 24, 2012

4

very nice

Couples

everything was great....clean, friendly, and lots of things close and within walking distance.

By on Sep 3, 2011

2

college trip

Couples

there were bugs in the room, beds were ok at best.

By on Aug 22, 2011

4

convenient clean polite

Families

family eventGreat value except I didnt get full discount. Clerk said kids under 12 were free. I paid Orbitz extra $20.00 for the kids.

By on Dec 2, 2010

4

very friendly

Singles

While I was in New Castle I took a short trip to Kirkland to visit the Temple.

By on Nov 4, 2010

4

great hotel for the price

Couples

the hotel was great,clean,quiet and friendly staff.would go back there again.30 minutes from prime outlet shopping and close to kmart,walmart and other places to shop and eat.

By on Oct 25, 2010

Super 8 by Wyndham New Castle

1699 New Butler Rd, New Castle, PA 16101
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Butler-Hotels-Super-8-by-Wyndham-New-Castle.h43568-p2.Hotel-Reviews
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.