Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
Williamstown, MA
1-844-663-2269

Recent guest reviews

The property was very cute and our room was lovely, however there was an alarm that would go off every 15 seconds and beep 4 times. They said it was a fire alarm in the maintenance hallway behind our room but it went unfixed. This caused us to wake frequently and was quite annoying. Understandably, there were changes due to Covid- specifically no hot breakfast at the restaurant, which was fine because the website stated that a bagged breakfast would be delivered to the room in the morning. When no breakfast arrived, we asked the front desk and were told that we had to request it the night before and she apologized for the website being misleading. That information would have been helpful upon check in so we could have requested it or planned our morning differently.

Nice close proximity to Williamstown & walking distance to 2 restaurants. Bathroom was dirty and could use some general updating.

I was misled by the photo of the hotel which has two buildings. I paid a lot of money for 2-star hotel. When I came, I found a smelly room with paint peeling off the wall in the bathroom. I moved to another hotel which was much better. Actually, I got a suite for less money. Would NEVER come to this place.

The staff I met were friendly and polite, but ... -the door into the “office” is DIRTY and I do not think that dirt equals “quaint.” - the door to my “Brookside” room was scarred, and it appeared to have had much lock work done -the room itself (107) had a small but adequate window AC, but it was too dark to see if it was clean. The furnshing were old but okay. There were few electrical outlets. - the breakfast area was also shabby, while the food was also “okay” -“old” does not have to be shabby, dirty, or dingy. I initially asked for a different room, but I was told that they were “full.” I had just driven for 5 hours, and it was after 15:00, so I stayed. The $200 room prepaid price was ridiculous. -A friend from Boston drove out and stayed in an adjacent room and had a similar, disagreeable experience. -Williamstown is wonderful, but I wish that I had looked in Pittsfield, Bennington, or North Adams for a room.

Williamstown MA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining
  • Business center

Located within 2 miles (3 km) of Williamstown Historical Museum, 1896 House Country Inn & Motels is within 3 miles (5 km) of Williams College. This 36-room inn welcomes guests with conveniences like a restaurant, a bar/lounge, and free self parking.


Dining

You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge or visit the onsite restaurant for a bite to eat. Start your day off with breakfast, available for a fee.


Property features

1896 House Country Inn & Motels features free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and a business center. Free parking is included with your stay. Staff members are on hand to provide tour or ticket assistance and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a computer station, a terrace, and wedding services.

Room options

Standard Quadruple Room, Ensuite (Brookside Traditional Dou)

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Double Room, Private Bathroom, Pool View (Pondside Cottage Queen)

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Quadruple Room, Ensuite (Brookside Traditional Que)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Quadruple Room, Ensuite (Barnside Country Formal L)

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for 1896 House Country Inn & Motels

Everyone (4) Family (2)
3
Family with small children

The property was very cute and our room was lovely, however there was an alarm that would go off every 15 seconds and beep 4 times. They said it was a fire alarm in the maintenance hallway behind our room but it went unfixed. This caused us to wake frequently and was quite annoying. Understandably, there were changes due to Covid- specifically no hot breakfast at the restaurant, which was fine because the website stated that a bagged breakfast would be delivered to the room in the morning. When no breakfast arrived, we asked the front desk and were told that we had to request it the night before and she apologized for the website being misleading. That information would have been helpful upon check in so we could have requested it or planned our morning differently.

By , from Woodstock, CT on Oct 16, 2020

4
Everyone

By on Aug 10, 2020

2
Everyone

By on Aug 1, 2020

3
Family Family

Nice close proximity to Williamstown & walking distance to 2 restaurants. Bathroom was dirty and could use some general updating.

By on Aug 27, 2019

1

no stay for my money

Everyone

I was misled by the photo of the hotel which has two buildings. I paid a lot of money for 2-star hotel. When I came, I found a smelly room with paint peeling off the wall in the bathroom. I moved to another hotel which was much better. Actually, I got a suite for less money. Would NEVER come to this place.

By on Aug 23, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 27, 2019

Thanks for your comments. You paid money to stay in a comfy, cozy, country inn in Williamstown, MA. Please check your vision because every picture on the website is a picture of our property. I'm glad you were finally happy with the suite as they are our luxury rooms with gas fireplaces, 2 person Jacuzzi tubs, and a private chef that cooks breakfast each morning. Good luck in your travels and we are happy you won't come back.

1

it was not what i expected from its website.

Everyone

The staff I met were friendly and polite, but ... -the door into the “office” is DIRTY and I do not think that dirt equals “quaint.” - the door to my “Brookside” room was scarred, and it appeared to have had much lock work done -the room itself (107) had a small but adequate window AC, but it was too dark to see if it was clean. The furnshing were old but okay. There were few electrical outlets. - the breakfast area was also shabby, while the food was also “okay” -“old” does not have to be shabby, dirty, or dingy. I initially asked for a different room, but I was told that they were “full.” I had just driven for 5 hours, and it was after 15:00, so I stayed. The $200 room prepaid price was ridiculous. -A friend from Boston drove out and stayed in an adjacent room and had a similar, disagreeable experience. -Williamstown is wonderful, but I wish that I had looked in Pittsfield, Bennington, or North Adams for a room.

By on Aug 13, 2018

1896 House Country Inn & Motels

Williamstown, MA 01267
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Williamstown-Hotels-1896-House-Country-Inn-&-Motels.h18670223-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Williamstown-Hotels-1896-House-Country-Inn-&-Motels.h18670223-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Williamstown-Hotels-1896-House-Country-Inn-&-Motels.h18670223-p2.Hotel-Reviews