Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Being close to the water and bike rentals across the street. Loved the bar and the food was excellent and reasonably priced.

Overpriced for location and amenities. No breakfast

Staff was very accommodating. The bathroom needs to be refurbished. Grout has mold on it.

Josefina at the front desk was great! Great customer service from everyone. The location of the hotel was awesome easy to get to everything. A lot of things in walking distance. If you don’t want to walk there is transit directly in front of the hotel. Taxi rides are not that expensive either. The only thing I would change about the hotel would be their bathrooms inside the rooms. I know they are under renovation right now but I hope the bathrooms are on the list or maybe it was just the room we were in.

It was doing construction so it was quite messy in the entrance n hall way but room was clean n staff was nice

It was greatly appreciated. Good location received an upgrade that was perfect

Good location and clean hotel. Attached pub had good food as well.

This is always our go to hotel when staying in Vancouver. One small thing though is this time during our stay the weather was crazy cold...and the heater didn't really provide us any heat for the room. other than that..the staff was awesome and kudos to being a pet friendly hotel.

Great location. Room had a slight odor, but it smelled like cleaning supplies, so not a bad thing.

Good location, although there was a band playing on the floor below our room so we had a hard time trying to sleep, bathroom needs to be renovated, great beds and really clean overall. No complementary breakfast.

Insulation for roooms was poor. The door to the bathroom did not close. You could hear everything in the hall so loud it woke me.

Very nice accommodation, street noise during the night though.

Very happy with condition of the room and location was perfect for our needs.

Staff were nice. The room itself was lovely and (most importantly) clean. The bed was comfortable and the toiletries were nice. It didn't take long, however, to realize that one can hear every single sound coming from the hallway (and in some instances, from other rooms). I'm not sure if it was because the door wasn't quite aligned in its frame (leaving an obvious gap at the top) or if the walls are mad of cardboard but I had to have white noise playing from my phone to try to drown out the talking from the neighbors and the squeal of children several rooms down. In the morning I was awakened by housekeeping staff talking, sniffling (sounded like it was right outside my door), and shaking plastic bags in the hallway. My friends were staying down the hall and the noise was just as bad in their room. If the sound wasn't such an issue I would recommend this place.

The shower scorched me Then went cold, then scorched me again.

Location was good for walking to Stanley park but required a bus trip for most everything else. The city buses were very easy to use and inexpensive. We bought day passes at the convenience store down the street as recommended by the hotel staff. The bus stop was right outside the hotel. Couldn't have been easier. Our rooms were on the street side and as expected a little noisy. The window unit ac did drown put some of it. The restaurant downstairs was great. Friendly staff, good deals on drinks and good food. Great breakfast also but not included.

1755 Davie St Vancouver BC

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to English Bay Beach and Sunset Beach
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Fitness center

Located in West End, Best Western Plus Sands is within a 10-minute walk of popular sights such as Stanley Park and Robson Street. This 3-star hotel has 119 rooms and welcomes guests with a restaurant, free in-room WiFi, and a fitness center.


Dining

Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at The Park at English Bay, the hotel's onsite restaurant. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service. For your convenience, a cooked-to-order breakfast is served for a fee on weekdays from 7:00 AM to 11:30 AM and on weekends from 7:30 AM to 1:00 PM.


Rooms

Best Western Plus Sands's 119 rooms are air-conditioned and provide iPod docks, coffee makers, and free newspapers. Guests can expect free WiFi and 37-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include free local calls, safes, and ironing boards.


Property features

Guests staying at Best Western Plus Sands enjoy a fitness center, a sauna, and free WiFi in public areas. Self parking is available for CAD 20 per night. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with securing valuables, luggage storage, and tours or tickets. Additional amenities include a business center, a computer station, and express check-in.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 4

Suite, Multiple Beds, Non Smoking, Fireplace (with Sofabed)

2 Queen Beds and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 6

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Balcony

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Best Western Plus Sands

Everyone (14) Couples (22) Business (2) Family (13) Friends (4) Other (4)
4
Everyone

By on Nov 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 9, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at our hotel. Your feedback is important to us and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again.

5
Everyone

Being close to the water and bike rentals across the street. Loved the bar and the food was excellent and reasonably priced.

By on Sep 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 16, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Best Western Plus Sands hotel. Your business is important to us and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. Thank you for mentioning our wonderful location in downtown Vancouver near English Bay, Stanley Park, bike rentals and lots of shops and restaurants. It's great to her that you loved our on site restaurant and that the food was excellent as well as reasonably priced. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

3
Family

Overpriced for location and amenities. No breakfast

By on Sep 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 11, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate hearing about your experience. We apologize that you felt our property was overpriced for the location next to English Bay, Stanley Park and in downtown Vancouver. While we do not offer breakfast, it is possible to book a room with breakfast at a discounted price. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again.

3
Family

Staff was very accommodating. The bathroom needs to be refurbished. Grout has mold on it.

By on Aug 2, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 6, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property. Hearing about your experience at our property is important to us and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning that our staff are very accommodating. You will be happy to hear that we agree that our bathrooms need to be renovated- so much so that we have already started this project and 45% of them are already complete! Unfortunately we did have to put the project on hold over the summer, but we will resume this project in October and will finish the remainder of the rooms. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again!

2
Everyone

By on Jul 31, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 31, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Your feedback is important to us and allows us to view our property from a guest perspective. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again.

4
Everyone

By on Jun 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 1, 2019

Thank you :)

4
Family

Josefina at the front desk was great! Great customer service from everyone. The location of the hotel was awesome easy to get to everything. A lot of things in walking distance. If you don’t want to walk there is transit directly in front of the hotel. Taxi rides are not that expensive either. The only thing I would change about the hotel would be their bathrooms inside the rooms. I know they are under renovation right now but I hope the bathrooms are on the list or maybe it was just the room we were in.

By on Apr 21, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 22, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property. Your feedback is important to us and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning that our service was great from everyone- this is very important for us. It's great to hear that our location in the downtown core of Vancouver was ideal and that you were able to walk to a lot of the attractions in the area. Transit is also very easy from our hotel and taxis are relatively inexpensive as you mentioned. We do agree that our bathrooms need an upgrade, and we are in the process of upgrading them. We have completed about 40% of our guest bathrooms and aim to have the rest completed by the end of this year. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again.

3
Family

It was doing construction so it was quite messy in the entrance n hall way but room was clean n staff was nice

By on Apr 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 16, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at our property. Your feedback is important us and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do apologize that our property is undergoing renovations at this time and we appreciate your understanding as we work to improve our hotel. Thank you for mentioning that our rooms are clean and our staff was nice. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again.

5
Business Business

It was greatly appreciated. Good location received an upgrade that was perfect

By on Mar 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 18, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property. Your feedback is important to us and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning our great location in the downtown core near English Bay and Stanley Park. It's great to hear that our staff were able to provide you with an upgrade that was perfect as well. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Best Western Plus Sands hotel and we hope to see you again.

4
Partner Couples

Good location and clean hotel. Attached pub had good food as well.

By on Mar 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 18, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property. Your feedback is important to us and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning our good location in the West End of Vancouver's downtown core near English Bay and Stanley Park. We are happy to hear that you found our property to be clean as well. Thank you for dining with us at our on site restaurant, The Park. We will pass your compliments along to our head chef! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again!

url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Vancouver-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Sands.h14723-p2.Hotel-Reviews