Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

It was a weird location but also uniquely accessible to so much

I didn’t realize it was a motel. And it is rather dated but the room was clean and the staff very nice

Didn’t clean our room or provide towels for second night’s stay so we had to walk down to front desk to request them.

Good place good amenities good pool good customer service

It was convenient, clean and breakfast was exceptional!

Met our needs for football weekend experience in Tuscaloosa; desk staff was very friendly and helpful

Good price and value for staying in Tuscaloosa, good pool and breakfast

The hotel was comfortable and the Staff was friendly. This was the second stay here in 3 weeks and would stay again.

Staff was absolutely horrible. Checked in around midnight and the front desk clerk clearly was not happy with her job and was very unfriendly and in a hurry to get us out of the check in area. She circled our room on a map and gave it to me and I asked where it wasn’t located at and she said “I circled it for you cant you see it”. Unfriendly and downright rude, especially the maid staff. Upon departure the maids had both sides of the hallway blocked and when I said “excuse me” she looked at me and said you can wait while she continued talking on her cell phone saying “some girl needs through and she’s gonna have to wait”. Once I did get through we were both by the steps to go to the first level and she pushed her cart right in front of me (while still on her cell phone) and I just looked at her and she said on her phone “guests are so annoying”. The hotel was conveniently located off the interstate for easy resting but out of 4 hotels in 10 days this was by far the worst and I will not be staying here again or recommending it to anyone.

It was a nice hotel. Very basic but was fine for staying a couple of nights for a Bama game.

There is something very fishy going on at this hotel. I booked through orbitz but was charged through the hotel. They proceeded to charge me what Orbitz quoted but then also charged me for an additional two nights on a separate transaction. I spent two hours trying to get answers from their front desk staff. I got the run around and was told the book keeper had to follow up with my complaint. They never called me back. I proceeded to call several times and continued to be told that they could only see one charge. My bank verified that they had charged me twice and had already had received the funds. They clearly have fraudulent practices. Do not stay here ever.

The room was nice just needed some minor things fixed in it. I was very disappointed overall by the way the staff acted when having to do something. It wasn't all the staff because I did have some good interaction with some of the staff. This is a good hotel if you just need a reasonably priced place to stay but if you are able I would probably go somewhere else.

There was mold on the ceilings and the hotel seemed to be almost empty, both of which are bad signs. There is ongoing road construction outside the hotel which makes it hard to get in and out of, too. But the staff were friendly and the full breakfast was very satisfying, so for the price I guess it was worth it, in cost-inflated Tuscaloosa.

Best hotel breakfast ever. My kids loved the pool. The only set back was location. It was easy to spot on the interstate but once you hit the exit it's easy to miss the entrance because of their location.

Hotel was clean, easy to find and well located and the price was reasonable.

room was clean but TV was not easy to use for they were in the process of switching cable companies and when i spoke with the front desk clerk she said it wasn't her problem. The workout room was not in good shape and equipment was broken.

Good hotel for the price. Staff was great as well as the location. Rooms were clean and well maintained. I would definitely return there.

I never know what to expect after reading reviews and I am always nervous about the hotels after booking. I was very pleased when we arrived, the staff was very nice. When I opened the door to our room you could smell the clean. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was also good. Eggs, biscuits, sausage, grits, oatmeal, pancakes, fruit and yogurt were the offerings. Hit the spot! Would love to visit again!

Satisfied my needs but TV cable was broken they offered to change rooms but too tired to move

Mcfarland Blvd E Tuscaloosa AL

Hotel highlights

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free WiFi in public areas (speed: 25+ Mbps)
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool

Located within 2 miles (3 km) of Veterans Memorial Park, Best Western University Inn is within 3 miles (5 km) of University of Alabama. This hotel has 85 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an outdoor pool, and free self parking.


Dining

Free full breakfast is served on weekdays from 6:00 AM to 9:00 AM and on weekends from 6:00 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

Best Western University Inn's 85 air-conditioned rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with WiFi. Bathrooms offer deep soaking tubs, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Other amenities include free local calls, ironing boards, and desks. Private bathrooms are not ensuite.


Property features

At Best Western University Inn, guests enjoy an outdoor pool, a gym, and free WiFi in public areas. If you decide to drive, there's free parking. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with luggage storage and securing valuables. Additional amenities include conference space, a business center, and express check-out.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave (1st Floor)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave (1st Floor)

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Double Beds, Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave (1st Floor)

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Best Western University Inn

Everyone (12) Business (6) Couples (7) Family (26) Friends (2) Other (2)
4
Family with small children

It was a weird location but also uniquely accessible to so much

By on Mar 5, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 6, 2020

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you on your next visit.

4
Partner Couples Family

I didn’t realize it was a motel. And it is rather dated but the room was clean and the staff very nice

By , from Louisville, KY on Feb 23, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 25, 2020

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you on your next visit.

5
Everyone

Didn’t clean our room or provide towels for second night’s stay so we had to walk down to front desk to request them.

By on Jul 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 16, 2019

Thank you for your review. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

4
Business Business

Good place good amenities good pool good customer service

By on Jun 27, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 28, 2019

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again in the future.

3
Family

It was convenient, clean and breakfast was exceptional!

By on Jun 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 19, 2019

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again in the future.

3
Everyone

By on Apr 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 16, 2019

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property.

4
Everyone

Met our needs for football weekend experience in Tuscaloosa; desk staff was very friendly and helpful

By on Oct 16, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 16, 2018

Thank you for review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

3

weekend stay in tuscaloosa

Everyone

Good price and value for staying in Tuscaloosa, good pool and breakfast

By on Sep 5, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 6, 2018

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay!

4
Everyone

The hotel was comfortable and the Staff was friendly. This was the second stay here in 3 weeks and would stay again.

By on Apr 9, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 9, 2018

Thank you for your feedback!

1
Everyone

Staff was absolutely horrible. Checked in around midnight and the front desk clerk clearly was not happy with her job and was very unfriendly and in a hurry to get us out of the check in area. She circled our room on a map and gave it to me and I asked where it wasn’t located at and she said “I circled it for you cant you see it”. Unfriendly and downright rude, especially the maid staff. Upon departure the maids had both sides of the hallway blocked and when I said “excuse me” she looked at me and said you can wait while she continued talking on her cell phone saying “some girl needs through and she’s gonna have to wait”. Once I did get through we were both by the steps to go to the first level and she pushed her cart right in front of me (while still on her cell phone) and I just looked at her and she said on her phone “guests are so annoying”. The hotel was conveniently located off the interstate for easy resting but out of 4 hotels in 10 days this was by far the worst and I will not be staying here again or recommending it to anyone.

By , from Ohio on Apr 7, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 11, 2018

Thank you for your review. After investigating the issues you mentioned and pointing out that you had stayed in 4 hotels in 10 days, that there may be some confusion on our hotel. We see that you checked in at 4 pm with our front desk agent Robert. I have no record of you checking in at midnight or having an interaction with a female front desk. I would love to clear this up with you. Would you please give me a call at the hotel.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Tuscaloosa-Hotels-Best-Western-University-Inn.h381-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Tuscaloosa-Hotels-Best-Western-University-Inn.h381-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Tuscaloosa-Hotels-Best-Western-University-Inn.h381-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions