Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Econo Lodge University

2.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

I have stayed here many times over the years. I wanted to keep it as a preferred hotel for simple, low key stays during KU visits. I had issues wiih credit card processing unit at front counter, had issues with front desk training on credit card processing, management says tv in rooms are inoperable due to weather, yet tv in lobby worked fine. rm 126 don't turn sink faucet on unless you want a shower from the hgih water pressure. I think all of this is fixable, time will tell.

We were unable to connect to internet in our room. The shower rod was coming loose from the bathroom wall. We were unable to get the toilet just stopped running. Check in took more than 15 minutes when we had already purchased the reservation through Orbitz. The blankets were minimal and lightweight so the heat had to be run all night long oh, so we were either freezing or sweltering. The breakfast was sub par. Pretty disappointing all around.

Very basic motel, nothing special, but clean - no complain. On orbitz it appeared as $100 per night plus taxes. I paid less as I had some orbitz money. Otherwise, I would say too expensive for the price.

lets just say we had used soap the first day. The second we had two dirty towels (gross dirty). And all I got was an oops.

We weren't able to check in until an hour after the normal check in time of 2 pm. The receptionist was nice, however she loaded the wrong room number to our room key. There was no breakfast like advertised and the place was pretty disgusting. I wish I would have not been so cheap just stayed at a nicer hotel.

the room was convenient price and the staff were awesome

Room was clean and staff was nice. They were prompt in fixing an issue with the TV in the room.

I checked in, and the desk clerk was friendly, socialable, and helpful. The room was clean, and the AC quiet (though I did turn it off once I got to the room). The property was clean. Breakfast was free (though appeared highly processed eggs and sausage), but the banana was good. No one was around when I went to leave my room card to check out. My pet was charged $10 fee.

I did not realize the room was going to be a smoking room. However, there were no other rooms available so I took it. It was so smokey I could not bring my suitcase into the room. Nevertheless I agreed to take the room. But that stated, it was also very dirty. The carpet had not been vacuumed nor cleaned in a long time. The walls were yellow with smoke. The light switches were covered in dirt and there was food all over the remote control. It was one of the dirtiest rooms I have ever stayed in.

Requested non-smoking and got a smoking room but was assured that the linens had been switched out. Linens were clean but the carpet was filthy and stained and I would not let my family walk in the room without shoes on. It was totally gross but we had no other options because all other motels were full. Will camp before staying there again.

The small room was adequate. When I rurned on the heat the smoke alarm went off. For my short night's stay it served the purpose. The price was certainly too high for such a basic room.

2525 W. 6th St. Lawrence KS

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Fitness center

Located in Deerfield, Econo Lodge University is within 2 miles (3 km) of sights such as University of Kansas and Robert J. Dole Institute of Politics. This 53-room hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and free self parking.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 6 AM to 9 AM.


Rooms

An LCD TV comes with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a refrigerator, a microwave, and a coffee maker.


Property features

Guests of Econo Lodge University enjoy a fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and a business center. You can put free parking to good use if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready. Additional amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, coffee/tea in a common area, and a computer station.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Poolside

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Econo Lodge University

Everyone (5) Business (1) Couples (1) Family (1) Other (2) Friends (1)
2
Everyone

I have stayed here many times over the years. I wanted to keep it as a preferred hotel for simple, low key stays during KU visits. I had issues wiih credit card processing unit at front counter, had issues with front desk training on credit card processing, management says tv in rooms are inoperable due to weather, yet tv in lobby worked fine. rm 126 don't turn sink faucet on unless you want a shower from the hgih water pressure. I think all of this is fixable, time will tell.

By on Jan 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Jan 25, 2019

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to give your feedback. I'm sorry to hear the rooms weren't up to the standard you've come to expect from us. I have personally addressed this with our staff to ensure this won't happen again.

2
Everyone

We were unable to connect to internet in our room. The shower rod was coming loose from the bathroom wall. We were unable to get the toilet just stopped running. Check in took more than 15 minutes when we had already purchased the reservation through Orbitz. The blankets were minimal and lightweight so the heat had to be run all night long oh, so we were either freezing or sweltering. The breakfast was sub par. Pretty disappointing all around.

By on Dec 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 1, 2019

We’re sorry you were unhappy-we’ll work Hard to fix the issue you experience. Thanks for letting us know. I don’t understand how come you guy’s never call front desk and Complain about internet is not working? We’re open 24 hours 365 days a year and we have Maintenance guy on site every day. If you told us we will change your room Right away. And our property is Exterior Property and last3 night’s was super cold and we did provide you extra blanket. Our breakfast is more then choice requirement. And we put hot breakfast for our guest Scramble egg, Sausage, donuts, cinnamon roll, Bread, English muffin, bagels, Waffle Milk Cereal and much more. Still I’m very sorry we didn’t make you happy.

4
Everyone

Very basic motel, nothing special, but clean - no complain. On orbitz it appeared as $100 per night plus taxes. I paid less as I had some orbitz money. Otherwise, I would say too expensive for the price.

By , from Manhattan, KS on Oct 22, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 27, 2018

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

3

two dirty days

Everyone

lets just say we had used soap the first day. The second we had two dirty towels (gross dirty). And all I got was an oops.

By on Jan 19, 2018

1
Everyone

We weren't able to check in until an hour after the normal check in time of 2 pm. The receptionist was nice, however she loaded the wrong room number to our room key. There was no breakfast like advertised and the place was pretty disgusting. I wish I would have not been so cheap just stayed at a nicer hotel.

By on Sep 28, 2017

5

relaxing time

Couples

the room was convenient price and the staff were awesome

By on Feb 24, 2015

3

typical motel

GetawayWithFriends

Room was clean and staff was nice. They were prompt in fixing an issue with the TV in the room.

By on Sep 16, 2014

4

friendly staff, quiet room

Singles

I checked in, and the desk clerk was friendly, socialable, and helpful. The room was clean, and the AC quiet (though I did turn it off once I got to the room). The property was clean. Breakfast was free (though appeared highly processed eggs and sausage), but the banana was good. No one was around when I went to leave my room card to check out. My pet was charged $10 fee.

By on Jul 18, 2014

1

unclean and smokey

Singles

I did not realize the room was going to be a smoking room. However, there were no other rooms available so I took it. It was so smokey I could not bring my suitcase into the room. Nevertheless I agreed to take the room. But that stated, it was also very dirty. The carpet had not been vacuumed nor cleaned in a long time. The walls were yellow with smoke. The light switches were covered in dirt and there was food all over the remote control. It was one of the dirtiest rooms I have ever stayed in.

By on Feb 24, 2014

1

disappointment

Families

Requested non-smoking and got a smoking room but was assured that the linens had been switched out. Linens were clean but the carpet was filthy and stained and I would not let my family walk in the room without shoes on. It was totally gross but we had no other options because all other motels were full. Will camp before staying there again.

By on Oct 14, 2013

url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Topeka-Hotels-Econo-Lodge-University.h1182827-p2.Hotel-Reviews
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.