Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Sagebrush Inn & Suites

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

We loved the breakfast buffet with green chile, having a balcony, and beautiful architecture.

Decent hotel with very lovely customer service. I booked the hotel for just one night with my Mother for a short trip to Taos. Since it was a speedy booking I wasn't expecting it to be a grand experience, but we were happily surprised with the amenities the hotel did have. We decided to dine at the hotel for dinner and drinks since our arrival was late in the afternoon. The hotel has a decent lounge with a nice little happy hour (we arrived on a Friday). And to our surprise they have "live" music. The restaurant was nice and quiet with a menu that had a good variety of choices. Did I mention that the food was fabulous, well it was (MORE "taco's" please). We left the next day feeling satisfied and we will definitely return.

The Sagebrush is an old adobe motel which oozes charm and history. The staff was very friendly. Bar area is warm and inviting and the bartender Craig was engaging and gave us some good info. about the area. Had a little glitch at check-in when we were given an occupied room, but the staff were super apologetic and upgraded our room to one with a fireplace. The fireplace was adobe style and we did use it one evening, but it made the room smell smokey so my recommendation would be not to burn them. It was a very windy evening and that may have had something to do with the ventilation. *when booking The Sagebrush be aware there are two hotels side by side with the same name and owned by the same company. One is an old Best Western or some type of chain hotel and the other is the historic hotel. If you specify "the historic one" there shouldn't be any confusion.

Our first experience in Taos. Enjoyed the large hotel room with fireplace,

The hotel style was great. I paid an extra $100 however to Orbitz for upgrade that I did not receive

We recently stayed at the Sagebrush in Taos and really enjoyed our stay. The room is very cozy with a Southwestern charm. It is close to the plaza and about a 30 minute drive to the ski area. The in-room fireplace was very nice and we enjoyed roasting marshmallows at night. The free wifi and breakfast were awesome. Although I wouldn't consider this a luxurious hotel it is an excellent value and certainly met our families needs.

As Comfort Suites it used to be well maintained before but its just the opposite now, filthy, smelling room and hallways

Everything was great, bathroom was a little on the small side but the complimentary breakfast was awesome!

Satisfied, however the wood for the fireplace was not sufficient - there should have been some kindling. My husband couldn't get the fire to keep burning, so he went o/s to find something to use for kindling himself. The room was really nice, but it the bathroom floor was very cold and the heater in the bathroom didn't work. We went to eat in the dining for breakfast at 9:15 am and found the food offerings meager. We asked for some of the items in the buffet to be refilled and most were except the bacon. The food that was there was good. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would use again if we ever return to Taos. Thank You!

When we checked in we were given a Room in the historic section of the hotel on the 1st floor. The room was small and the bathroom was not remodeled. I called the front desk to request another room. We were upgraded to a suite in their remodeled section at no additional charge. The room was large and clean. However, the bed was a little is hard too my liking. A buffet breakfast is included with the cost of the room and my husband and I enjoyed the fresh food. The staff was very helpful but overall the quality of the room is only a 3 out of a 5. The Sagebrush needs to remodel their rooms....that is carpet, sinks, showers.

Our stay got off to a bumpy start, our room keys would not work so while my husband was checking with the front desk for the third time I just happened to check the windows and 2 of them were completely open and I was able to clime into our room. The security officer that accompanied my husband back to the room to assist with the key issue was not very pleased about my climbing in the window but I was not pleased with the fact that I was able to do that in the first place. The windows lock easily from the inside so once we got working room keys and locked the windows we felt safe. The breakfast included with the stay is great, all hot foods and fresh fruit salad, not your typical continental breakfast of processed foods. Overall a very nice hotel.

Upon arrival I was informed that my room was on the second floor and I would have to haul my luggage up stairs. I explained that I did not have a man to help, right away they found me a room on the ground floor. It was a very nice room with a patio and view.

We brought friends from FL to see the Taos Pueblo and Kit Carson house. We also enjoyed shopping and dining in Taos.

Nice sized room, good location, bar and nice restaurant, but a bit tired. Chips in the paint/stucco in the room, broken shower head and paper thin walls. No info in the room about local attractions, TV channels. Pool and spa OK, but overall, a bit pricey for the shape it was in.

This is the second request from Orbitz to rate this hotel. I already did this once and have already received a response back from Orbitz which included a response from the hotel. Apparently the hotel did not understand the issue we had with our room as reported to them from Orbitz. There was only 1 major issue with our room: our bathroom obviously was not cleaned before we got there. The toilet was dirty and there was hair on the floor of the bathroom (don't ask me what kind of hair). This is the only major issue we had. Any others were minor and not worth reporting, relative to this issue.

The room was nice and spacious but they didn't do maid service till after 7pm everyday! I was very disappointed.

Wow!!! This was our first time staying here and we are planning our trip for next year. My family of 6 were real comfortable in the suite which includes a fridge & microwave. The pool was a beautiful bonus for the kids. Free Wifi & breakfast! We will recommend it to all our friends & family. Thank you to all the friendly staff, you are all amazing!

Quiet - most rooms far from road. Nice grounds. Full breakfast included. Bar/restaurant. Excellent shower water pressure. Would stay there again.

We had a nice experience staying here HOWEVER we would have appreciated it if we would have been notified at check in of the room Location. They have rooms in the original hotel and across the parking lot where they purchased an old Comfort Suites hotel. There was a SIGNIFICANT difference in the style of the rooms which could make or break someone's stay there. Fortunately, our room was comfortable and roomy and the breakfast buffet more than made up for the room Location. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

We had 3 rooms booked but they gave us suites instead. They were roomy and comfortable.

1508 Paseo Del Pueblo Taos NM

Hotel highlights

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Located within a mile (2 km) of San Francisco de Asis Mission Church, Sagebrush Inn & Suites is within 3 miles (5 km) of La Hacienda del los Martinez. This 156-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with 2 restaurants, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi. Also close to this Taos hotel are Navajo Gallery and D.H. Lawrence Ranch.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free full breakfast, served each morning from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM. Enjoy dining at Sagebrush Grill, one of 2 onsite restaurants. At the end of the day, the bar/lounge is a great place to grab a drink.


Rooms

All 156 air-conditioned rooms feature refrigerators, coffee makers, and ironing boards. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries.


Property features

At Sagebrush Inn & Suites, guests enjoy an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and 3 spa tubs. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, tours or tickets, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, 10 meeting rooms, and a conference center.

Room options

Studio

King 1 | Sleeps 5

Junior Suite

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Fireplace

Queen 2 | Sleeps 5

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Fireplace

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Everyone (20) Couples (11) Business (1) Family (9) Friends (2) Other (1)
4

clean hotel with old charm.

Everyone

We loved the breakfast buffet with green chile, having a balcony, and beautiful architecture.

By on May 25, 2017

Review comment responded on Jun 1, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come back soon.

3

close to taos plaza.

Everyone

Decent hotel with very lovely customer service. I booked the hotel for just one night with my Mother for a short trip to Taos. Since it was a speedy booking I wasn't expecting it to be a grand experience, but we were happily surprised with the amenities the hotel did have. We decided to dine at the hotel for dinner and drinks since our arrival was late in the afternoon. The hotel has a decent lounge with a nice little happy hour (we arrived on a Friday). And to our surprise they have "live" music. The restaurant was nice and quiet with a menu that had a good variety of choices. Did I mention that the food was fabulous, well it was (MORE "taco's" please). We left the next day feeling satisfied and we will definitely return.

By on May 18, 2017

Review comment responded on May 23, 2017

Thank you so much for allowing us the privilege of hosting you at our beloved Inn. I am especially happy that you found our staff friendly and attentive. Being an 85 year old iconic New Mexico hotel is never easy but always rewarding. We find people like you that embrace our history, revel in our artwork and enjoy our company to be a perfect fit for us. We embrace our wrinkles and are thrilled when our guests look at us and say "how charming". Thank you for seeing that in us. I'm so glad you enjoyed our breakfast and we do everything we can to keep the grounds peaceful and lovely for you and the four legged guests that frequent our hotel. I look forward to meeting you on your next trip to beautiful Taos. Warmest Thoughts and Safe Travels, Paul Aragon General Manager Sagebrush Inn

3

great old adobe style motel

Everyone

The Sagebrush is an old adobe motel which oozes charm and history. The staff was very friendly. Bar area is warm and inviting and the bartender Craig was engaging and gave us some good info. about the area. Had a little glitch at check-in when we were given an occupied room, but the staff were super apologetic and upgraded our room to one with a fireplace. The fireplace was adobe style and we did use it one evening, but it made the room smell smokey so my recommendation would be not to burn them. It was a very windy evening and that may have had something to do with the ventilation. *when booking The Sagebrush be aware there are two hotels side by side with the same name and owned by the same company. One is an old Best Western or some type of chain hotel and the other is the historic hotel. If you specify "the historic one" there shouldn't be any confusion.

By on Apr 15, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 18, 2017

Dear Taos Traveler, Thank you for filling out the review about our beloved inn. We do have our wrinkles and sometimes they create guest service and comfort issues. We apologize and are caught between guest comfort and authenticity. That is why when we renovate we do so with a lot of thought and purpose. I cannot tell you how helpful your comments are to us as we use them as a guide on what guest issues to address next. Thank you again.

4

great breakfast buffet. nice large room

Everyone

Our first experience in Taos. Enjoyed the large hotel room with fireplace,

By on Apr 1, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 6, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our property. We hope to have you back again soon.

4

orbitz

Everyone

The hotel style was great. I paid an extra $100 however to Orbitz for upgrade that I did not receive

By on Mar 16, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 18, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel. We apologize about the issue with Orbitz, this is not something that happens often. We do hope you will come back soon.

4

very nice hotel that is a great value

Families

We recently stayed at the Sagebrush in Taos and really enjoyed our stay. The room is very cozy with a Southwestern charm. It is close to the plaza and about a 30 minute drive to the ski area. The in-room fireplace was very nice and we enjoyed roasting marshmallows at night. The free wifi and breakfast were awesome. Although I wouldn't consider this a luxurious hotel it is an excellent value and certainly met our families needs.

By , from Maryland on Feb 17, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 19, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and our breakfast. We do apologize about the issues with the bed, we will do our best to get this resolved. We hope to see you again soon.

1
Everyone

As Comfort Suites it used to be well maintained before but its just the opposite now, filthy, smelling room and hallways

By on Jan 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 6, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We apologize about the issues you experienced during your stay. We will do our best to get this resolved.

4

half hour from the mountains

Everyone

Everything was great, bathroom was a little on the small side but the complimentary breakfast was awesome!

By , from Sugarland, Texas on Dec 23, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 26, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back soon.

4

satisfaction survey

Everyone

Satisfied, however the wood for the fireplace was not sufficient - there should have been some kindling. My husband couldn't get the fire to keep burning, so he went o/s to find something to use for kindling himself. The room was really nice, but it the bathroom floor was very cold and the heater in the bathroom didn't work. We went to eat in the dining for breakfast at 9:15 am and found the food offerings meager. We asked for some of the items in the buffet to be refilled and most were except the bacon. The food that was there was good. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would use again if we ever return to Taos. Thank You!

By , from Albuquerque on Nov 21, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 25, 2016

Hello Taos Traveler! Thanks for the very nice words you shared for our future guests. I am so happy when people recognize us for what we are and have been for 85 years...an iconic, traditionally built old Inn with charm, personality and a warm fire. Nothing makes us more excited than when our guests enjoy their stay. We hope to see you again on your next stay.

3

older hotel with great staff.

Everyone

When we checked in we were given a Room in the historic section of the hotel on the 1st floor. The room was small and the bathroom was not remodeled. I called the front desk to request another room. We were upgraded to a suite in their remodeled section at no additional charge. The room was large and clean. However, the bed was a little is hard too my liking. A buffet breakfast is included with the cost of the room and my husband and I enjoyed the fresh food. The staff was very helpful but overall the quality of the room is only a 3 out of a 5. The Sagebrush needs to remodel their rooms....that is carpet, sinks, showers.

By on Nov 15, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 21, 2016

Dear Taos Traveler, Thank you for filling out the review about our beloved inn. We do have our wrinkles and sometimes they create guest service and comfort issues. We apologize and are caught between guest comfort and authenticity. That is why when we renovate we do so with a lot of thought and purpose. I cannot tell you how helpful your comments are to us as we use them as a guide on what guest issues to address next. Thank you again.