Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Sagebrush Inn & Suites

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

We had friends visiting from the mid-west and they wanted to stay some place with true New Mexico style and a visit to Taos. We have stayed at the Sagebrush Inn a number of times and thought it would be perfect and it was just great. Our rooms were lovely and ready even when we arrived a few hours early. The grounds are beautiful and the breakfast is wonderful. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It was as we hoped....perfect! Thank you, Kimme

I lived in Taos many years ago and sometimes went to the Sagebrush on evenings when they had a band playing. I always thought that someday given the opportunity (after I moved to Albuquerque) it would be fun to stay there as a guest. Happily that happened recently and I definitely enjoyed my stay. There is a beautiful courtyard with mature trees (a Bocce court---how often do you see that?), a restaurant on premises, and spa area. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and I loved the "Old Taos" ambiance of this historic property. Would certainly recommend it to anyone traveling to Taos.

Very helpful staff Interesting, authentic motel from the 30s. Well maintained, comfortable rooms We had a room with a kiva, which we enjoyed having fires in each evening

Furniture and carpet are very dirty, very uncomfortable bed. Three days in a row asked them to vaccum the carpet and clean the bathroom by the time we get back late at night we see nothing done. Customer service promises to be done in the morning but nothing happened....

You chose to stay in the older part of the hotel but you have a choice of the old original the new luxurious an updated one it was very nice pleasant stay great people nothing fancy just a nice stay. Not a 5 Star but it has character.

Good value. Clean room and environment. Very good restaurant. Helpful staff. Good breakfast, including hit buffet.

I think in it's hay-day this was a grand place to stay. The rooms are spacious and if you are traveling with kids or using multiple occupancy this is where you should consider staying. Other than the room, the rest of the hotel lacked energy, staffing and appeal. The Lobby/Bar/Cafe all need serious updating. The Staffing for the Cafe for dinner was terrible and only 2 waitress's for a full service. Dark and Dreary is the only thing I can about the bar and Lobby....It was okay...but there were nicer options out there to be had!

Check in staff were not well-informed about the rooms or their location. The first room I was sent to did not have a working refrigerator or phone, and it was not the room I expected. Overall, the hotel is in need of maintenance: chipped paint, non-working windows, un-swept porches and walkways. The breakfast was mediocre at best.

While Taos' charm is fantastic, this hotel doesn't do much to add to the charm. The staff was friendly and courteous, but the condition of the room, at any price, was troubling. First thing: Why would the light switch to the bathroom (with the bathroom being right at the foot of one of the beds), be on the outside of the bathroom? The arrangement requires the bathroom door to be open when the light is turned on/off, thus waking up others in the room if the bathroom is going to be used during the night. The overall condition of the carpeting and furnishings is dated and worn.

This hotel has lots of character! The rooms are comfortable and the decor is charming. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet, which is included. The staff was friendly and welcoming.

Friendly staff, nice accommodations. Just wished we could use the fireplace in our room that we paid for.

We were willing to pay a price for authentic adobe and viga construction and a traditional Taos establishment, like the picture they advertise the place with. When we got there we found that we were to be in a giant , architecturally bland, impersonal and not-so-well-maintained hotel next door which the Sagebrush must have purchased. Doors to the hallways were off their hinges, and there was no elevator. It was false advertising. The place was fine if we were paying for and expecting a chain motel.

Comfortable beds, sink far from the barhroom, towels were dirty, carpet had not been cleaned in ages, toilet clogged, several lamps not working

We loved the breakfast buffet with green chile, having a balcony, and beautiful architecture.

Decent hotel with very lovely customer service. I booked the hotel for just one night with my Mother for a short trip to Taos. Since it was a speedy booking I wasn't expecting it to be a grand experience, but we were happily surprised with the amenities the hotel did have. We decided to dine at the hotel for dinner and drinks since our arrival was late in the afternoon. The hotel has a decent lounge with a nice little happy hour (we arrived on a Friday). And to our surprise they have "live" music. The restaurant was nice and quiet with a menu that had a good variety of choices. Did I mention that the food was fabulous, well it was (MORE "taco's" please). We left the next day feeling satisfied and we will definitely return.

The Sagebrush is an old adobe motel which oozes charm and history. The staff was very friendly. Bar area is warm and inviting and the bartender Craig was engaging and gave us some good info. about the area. Had a little glitch at check-in when we were given an occupied room, but the staff were super apologetic and upgraded our room to one with a fireplace. The fireplace was adobe style and we did use it one evening, but it made the room smell smokey so my recommendation would be not to burn them. It was a very windy evening and that may have had something to do with the ventilation. *when booking The Sagebrush be aware there are two hotels side by side with the same name and owned by the same company. One is an old Best Western or some type of chain hotel and the other is the historic hotel. If you specify "the historic one" there shouldn't be any confusion.

Our first experience in Taos. Enjoyed the large hotel room with fireplace,

The hotel style was great. I paid an extra $100 however to Orbitz for upgrade that I did not receive

We recently stayed at the Sagebrush in Taos and really enjoyed our stay. The room is very cozy with a Southwestern charm. It is close to the plaza and about a 30 minute drive to the ski area. The in-room fireplace was very nice and we enjoyed roasting marshmallows at night. The free wifi and breakfast were awesome. Although I wouldn't consider this a luxurious hotel it is an excellent value and certainly met our families needs.

As Comfort Suites it used to be well maintained before but its just the opposite now, filthy, smelling room and hallways

1508 Paseo Del Pueblo Taos NM

Hotel highlights

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Located within a mile (2 km) of San Francisco de Asis Mission Church, Sagebrush Inn & Suites is within 3 miles (5 km) of La Hacienda del los Martinez. This 156-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with 2 restaurants, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi. Also close to this Taos hotel are Navajo Gallery and D.H. Lawrence Ranch.


Dining

Free full breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM. Enjoy dining at Sagebrush Grill, one of 2 onsite restaurants. At the end of the day, the bar/lounge is a great place to grab a drink.


Rooms

All 156 air-conditioned rooms feature refrigerators, coffee makers, and ironing boards. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries.


Property features

At Sagebrush Inn & Suites, guests enjoy an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and 3 spa tubs. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. The front desk has multilingual staff on hand 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, tours or tickets, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, 10 meeting rooms, and a conference center.

Guest reviews for Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Everyone (32) Couples (11) Business (1) Family (9) Friends (2) Other (1)
5
Everyone

We had friends visiting from the mid-west and they wanted to stay some place with true New Mexico style and a visit to Taos. We have stayed at the Sagebrush Inn a number of times and thought it would be perfect and it was just great. Our rooms were lovely and ready even when we arrived a few hours early. The grounds are beautiful and the breakfast is wonderful. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It was as we hoped....perfect! Thank you, Kimme

By , from Los Alamos NM on Apr 4, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 4, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back soon.

5

wonderful historic hotel

Everyone

I lived in Taos many years ago and sometimes went to the Sagebrush on evenings when they had a band playing. I always thought that someday given the opportunity (after I moved to Albuquerque) it would be fun to stay there as a guest. Happily that happened recently and I definitely enjoyed my stay. There is a beautiful courtyard with mature trees (a Bocce court---how often do you see that?), a restaurant on premises, and spa area. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and I loved the "Old Taos" ambiance of this historic property. Would certainly recommend it to anyone traveling to Taos.

By , from Albuquerque on Mar 25, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 26, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you back soon.

5

nice historic motel

Everyone

Very helpful staff Interesting, authentic motel from the 30s. Well maintained, comfortable rooms We had a room with a kiva, which we enjoyed having fires in each evening

By , from Santa Fe on Mar 9, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 11, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you back again soon.

1

dirty and outdated

Everyone

Furniture and carpet are very dirty, very uncomfortable bed. Three days in a row asked them to vaccum the carpet and clean the bathroom by the time we get back late at night we see nothing done. Customer service promises to be done in the morning but nothing happened....

By , from Texas on Dec 29, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 3, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We are working hard to get this issue fixed.

4

southwest style

Everyone

You chose to stay in the older part of the hotel but you have a choice of the old original the new luxurious an updated one it was very nice pleasant stay great people nothing fancy just a nice stay. Not a 5 Star but it has character.

By on Nov 25, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 28, 2017

Thank you for staying with us. Hopfeully we get to see you again in the future.

5

good value hotel

Everyone

Good value. Clean room and environment. Very good restaurant. Helpful staff. Good breakfast, including hit buffet.

By , from Alabama on Oct 19, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 23, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will come back soon.

3

this hotel needs an update.

Everyone

I think in it's hay-day this was a grand place to stay. The rooms are spacious and if you are traveling with kids or using multiple occupancy this is where you should consider staying. Other than the room, the rest of the hotel lacked energy, staffing and appeal. The Lobby/Bar/Cafe all need serious updating. The Staffing for the Cafe for dinner was terrible and only 2 waitress's for a full service. Dark and Dreary is the only thing I can about the bar and Lobby....It was okay...but there were nicer options out there to be had!

By , from Lewisville, Tx on Sep 29, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 2, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We are working hard to resolve this.

3
Business Travelers

Check in staff were not well-informed about the rooms or their location. The first room I was sent to did not have a working refrigerator or phone, and it was not the room I expected. Overall, the hotel is in need of maintenance: chipped paint, non-working windows, un-swept porches and walkways. The breakfast was mediocre at best.

By on Sep 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 10, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We hope to have you back soon.

2

hotel is needs a update and renovation.

Everyone

While Taos' charm is fantastic, this hotel doesn't do much to add to the charm. The staff was friendly and courteous, but the condition of the room, at any price, was troubling. First thing: Why would the light switch to the bathroom (with the bathroom being right at the foot of one of the beds), be on the outside of the bathroom? The arrangement requires the bathroom door to be open when the light is turned on/off, thus waking up others in the room if the bathroom is going to be used during the night. The overall condition of the carpeting and furnishings is dated and worn.

By , from Albuquerque on Aug 24, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 27, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay. We are working hard to fix these issues.

4

charming western hotel

Everyone
From inside hotel courtyard

This hotel has lots of character! The rooms are comfortable and the decor is charming. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet, which is included. The staff was friendly and welcoming.

By , from charlottesville va on Aug 21, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 27, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back soon.