Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Staff was awesome......Jeremy at the front desk was always accommodating and helpful. Everyone at the hotel was very pleasant from security to maintenance.

The only enjoyable aspect of this property was a very pleasant, warm and welcoming staff named Maria who works at the restaurant. I will not stay here again...They tried to give me a room with a double bed despite my reservation for a king, they made me walk up and down steps searching for available rooms with king beds. Some walls had cracks, the kitchen in the room was old and somewhat dirty...Lastly the security made it CLEAR that I must lock my windows and doors at nights for genuine safety concerns.

Right on the beach. Can get loud and noisy at night when young groups stay there. Helpful staff.

We had a great time here. The people are excellent and made our stay very enjoyable. The rooms are large and clean and the location is perfect.

Wonderful vacation. Hotel is located on a wonderful beach.

Great reception staff and maintenance. On the beach. Get the king bed for a large room.

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It was within walking distance of several drinking and eating establishments. And plenty of taxis available. The exercise room is about worthless. . . Mostly broken down equipment including the treadmill and exercise bike.

Had a wonderful time in Barbados for my birthday. The hotel meet your basic needs and cleanliness. Location was good right near St. Lawrence gap and walking distance to many restaurants. The only thing I would say was a negative is that there wasn't any restocking of spirits. My first hour there and all I wanted was a rum punch and there wasn't any. I had asked for grey goose vodka and there was only enough for one drink and they had run out of ice. I'm not high maintenance but something as simple as rum punch and ice should be readily available. The front desk ladies were all very helpful but did not seem enthusiastic about being there. The front desk is your first impression of an establishment and front desk should be a little more receptive. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

Wonderful time. Second trip in 5 weeks. Going back again in sept I enjoyed it so much.

We stayed for two nights after a cruise around the area. While the hotel is older it is right on the beach and has a nice small pool and grounds. It is near many good restaurants, both big and small, which is good as the food and bar service at the Dover Beach leaves a fair bit to be desired. Breakfast was fast and good but getting a drink at the bar, other than a glass of wine or beer, was an exercise in futility. Our room faced the road which could be noisy at times but the bath was large and the bed comfortable. Staff were courteous and helpful. Need to take a taxi to get to the main part of town but plenty to do in the area for a couple of days.

My overall experience in Barbados was great. The hotel is located at the bottom of St. Lawrence Gap. The room was BASIC at best and hotel is in need of renovations. It is listed as a 3 star, but is truly a 2 star by American standard. I do not have any complaints about the hotel experience, although I will probably stay at the neighboring Turtle Bay or Sandals next time. The food at the on-site restaurant was a little pricey for the portions. There are plenty of places to eat on the hotel strip including a Rude Boyz Jamaican Restaurant who served good food. There are also NO beach chairs on the beach for this hotel, so if you don't make friends with the men who work the Captain Sam Watersports, you will be out of luck with sitting on the beach. The chairs are for Turtle Bay and Sandals guests. The hotel served its purpose for I stayed in the room only to sleep. There is a pretty good night life in St. Lawrence Gap where the hotel is located. If you are looking for fancy, this is not your place. This place is simply affordable.

Location on the beach was nice although you can't swim directly in front of the hotel due to rock wall, there is a nice terrace for watching the ocean, sunset and have a drink. That is if the waves aren't crashing over the terrace which they were doing both evenings we spent there. The little café was adequate but the bar was very poorly stocked and we asked for three different drinks before we found something for which they had ingredients. The pool is small but good water temperature and a few chaise lounges. Check-in was welcoming. Our room was in a building behind the main one so no view except street and hotel behind ours and a street with street noise. Room was quite run down, ie. wobbly, noisy ceiling fan, chipped bathroom tub and tiles, etc. and only container soap and shampoo for the very low water pressure shower. Lady at activity desk was very helpful in finding out museum hours for us and giving directions, etc.' The area itself was very good with many, many bars and restaurants within short walking distance and lots of beach on either side of the hotel. I might stay here again if I had a more renovated room and wanted to pay extra for the front building facing the ocean, but there were also many other hotels in the area which might have been in better shape.

More than excellent, perfect! All the staff great!!

Dover beach hotel is a great place to stay. You are in walking distance to all the shops, bars and restaurants. The beach area is a bit small but never overcrowded. There's a nice sun balcony with chairs right next to the beach. Great price!

My friends and I visited the hotel during the Memorial Day weekend. We booked two separate rooms because there were 4 of us. Once we arrived, we asked the staff if we could have rooms next to each other and they immediately found us rooms right next to each other. The hotel has a beautiful beach that is right out back of the hotel. Everyday our rooms were cleaned very well and anything we needed, the staff was able to assist. The women at the front desk gave us a lot of ideas on how to plan out our days. We spent a lot of time away from the hotel and I must say nothing came up missing or nothing crazy occurred. They have security onsite to guard the premises 24/7. They could use a little upgrades with their televisions though. They have small square tvs with the big back part sticking out.

Beach was beautiful, location for this was great . Otherwise not much to do. Bit away off the beaten track. Would not walk around here late at night. Would also not recommend to women travelling alone. Guys outside the hotel constantly offering aloe Vera ie drugs. Have been to other beach destinations for cheaper with a safer atmosphere and more activities. Fighting and noise late at night. Would not leave my belongings unlocked while out of room Also St Lawerence Gap has very little on it- few restaurants but nothing special - not enough to book hotel close to it. Did not feel safe even though hotel had security.

Greatest strength of Dover Beach Hotel is the close, personal atmosphere of a small hotel with a staff that knows all its guests. Location on one of the nicest southern Bajan beaches and proximity to numerous restaurants and night clubs of St. Lawrence Gap Rd. is ideal.

This was my fifth trip to Barbados, but my first stay at this hotel. The room was fairly large and clean, bathroom a nice size. It had a microwave and small refrigerator in the first room I stayed in. Had to stay an extra night and had to move to another room. This room had 2 twins pushed together (would have preferred one bed) and no microwave but it did have a gas range so we were able to reheat our food in a pan. The hotel is right on the beach which was great. The front desk allowed me to have a late check out and a small discount on my last minute needed extra night. So overall, I had a nice stay.

St. Lawrence St. Lawrence Gap Christ Church

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Dover Beach and Turtle Beach
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Dover Beach Hotel places you next to Turtle Beach and within a few miles (5 km) of other popular attractions like Miami Beach. This 3-star hotel has 59 rooms and welcomes guests with a restaurant, an outdoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Explore the hotel and meet new friends over drinks at the bar/lounge, or enjoy a bite to eat at the onsite restaurant. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service. For your convenience, a full breakfast is served each morning for a fee.


Rooms

All 59 air-conditioned rooms provide patios, microwaves, and refrigerators. TVs come with cable channels, and free WiFi keeps guests connected. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries.


Property features

At Dover Beach Hotel, guests enjoy features like an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. You can take advantage of free parking, along with an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for USD 20 per person one way. Front-desk staff can help with concierge services, and provide local restaurant recommendations. Other amenities at this beach hotel include a meeting room, a business center, and a computer station.

Room options

Standard Double or Twin Room, 1 Queen Bed

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio, Pool View

1 King Bed | 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 3

Family Studio

1 King Bed | 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 3

Standard Room

1 King Bed | 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Dover Beach Hotel

Everyone (7) Couples (27) Business (3) Family (7) Friends (8) Other (7)
4
Partner Couples

Staff was awesome......Jeremy at the front desk was always accommodating and helpful. Everyone at the hotel was very pleasant from security to maintenance.

By on Nov 10, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 1, 2019

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was an honour to host you. We really appreciate your feedback and comments and are of course delighted that your Dover Beach experience was exactly what you were hoping for. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

2
Business Business

The only enjoyable aspect of this property was a very pleasant, warm and welcoming staff named Maria who works at the restaurant. I will not stay here again...They tried to give me a room with a double bed despite my reservation for a king, they made me walk up and down steps searching for available rooms with king beds. Some walls had cracks, the kitchen in the room was old and somewhat dirty...Lastly the security made it CLEAR that I must lock my windows and doors at nights for genuine safety concerns.

By on Nov 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 28, 2019

We thank you for staying with us at Dover Beach Hotel and we thank you for your feedback. We regret that we were not a match for you and we understand that happens sometimes. We are sorry that you were not able to get the Kingsize bed, however, that is a situation that happens all over the world as hotels manage their inventory. We cannot guarantee a King size bed. We make every effort to meet that request, but it all depends on the number of guests already in house. There was nothing alarming about the advice from our security, that would be advice given at any hotel in the world in the interest of your own safety.

4
Everyone

Right on the beach. Can get loud and noisy at night when young groups stay there. Helpful staff.

By on Jul 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 3, 2019

Thank you for choosing Dover Beach Hotel for your vacation. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for sharing.

4
Everyone

By on Jul 3, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 9, 2019

Thank you for choosing Dover Beach Hotel and thank you for your rating. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

5
Everyone

By on Nov 15, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 27, 2018

We appreciate your vote of confidence in us with your ranking. Thank you for choosing Dover Beach Hotel for your Holiday, giving us the opportunity to share our brand of hospitality with you. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

5

outstanding

Everyone

We had a great time here. The people are excellent and made our stay very enjoyable. The rooms are large and clean and the location is perfect.

By on Dec 20, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 5, 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for your wonderful feedback. We are naturally delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and our product and service. we look forward to welcoming you soon in the future.

4

best view and beach access.

Everyone

Wonderful vacation. Hotel is located on a wonderful beach.

By on Nov 28, 2016

Review comment responded on Dec 9, 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback, which we certainly value. We are happy to hear that generally you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to always ensure the comfort of our guests. We do have beach chairs and they are always available on our sundeck for all our guests. We really look forward to hosting you soon again in the future.

4

nice hotel

Everyone

Great reception staff and maintenance. On the beach. Get the king bed for a large room.

By , from WI on Nov 21, 2016

Review comment responded on Nov 28, 2016

Dear Dianne, Thank you for staying with us and for your kind feedback. We value our relationship with you and hope to welcome you back soon again.

4

nice hotel on the beach.

Everyone

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It was within walking distance of several drinking and eating establishments. And plenty of taxis available. The exercise room is about worthless. . . Mostly broken down equipment including the treadmill and exercise bike.

By , from West Virginia on Jul 29, 2016

4

birthday in barbados

Friends

Had a wonderful time in Barbados for my birthday. The hotel meet your basic needs and cleanliness. Location was good right near St. Lawrence gap and walking distance to many restaurants. The only thing I would say was a negative is that there wasn't any restocking of spirits. My first hour there and all I wanted was a rum punch and there wasn't any. I had asked for grey goose vodka and there was only enough for one drink and they had run out of ice. I'm not high maintenance but something as simple as rum punch and ice should be readily available. The front desk ladies were all very helpful but did not seem enthusiastic about being there. The front desk is your first impression of an establishment and front desk should be a little more receptive. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

By on Dec 4, 2015

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/St.-Lawrence-Gap-Hotels-Dover-Beach-Hotel.h7114-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /St.-Lawrence-Gap-Hotels-Dover-Beach-Hotel.h7114-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/St.-Lawrence-Gap-Hotels-Dover-Beach-Hotel.h7114-p2.Hotel-Reviews