Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Inn of the Governors

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

A very good experience and walking distance to everything we wanted to visit

Inn of the Governors was in a great location (2 blocks from the square and within walking distance of many sights. Our room was clean and spacious. Wifi signal was excellent throughout the hotel. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we've ever had at a hotel in the US. The afternoon sherry, tea and cookies hour was a nice touch. All employees we encountered were friendly and helpful. We would definitely book this hotel again.

Hotel is in the middle of downtown Santa Fe. Easy walking distance of the shops.

The location can't be beat but we were pretty disappointed with the hotel in general. It's really gotten run down and needs to be remodeled and updated if they want to stay competitive with younger travelers. The main thing for us was the noise. Our first room was on the main floor, with an outside door that opened right up to the parking lot. It was so loud with people coming in and out all night and early in the morning. Here's a tip, if you think your room will be loud, look in the bathroom to see if they've included ear plugs... We found two pairs of ear plugs in the room in the morning and then when we moved to another room on the second floor, no ear plugs. They definitely know there's a noise problem. The second floor room was much better but you could still hear through the walls and door. Other than that, the hotel just isn't what it used to be. It feels pretty dirty in the common areas and the staff wasn't very friendly or helpful, with the exception of Ken at the Front Desk who checked us in originally. The free breakfast was laughable, it was pretty much empty by 9:30 on Sunday and they never refilled anything, not even hot water for tea. The staff in Del Charro were really unfriendly and we waited almost 30 minutes for two drinks. We would be unlikely to stay here again.

Nice hotel with a wonderful breakfast buffet, within easy walking distance to shopping and eating with a great view of the mountains.

This is a very nice property with a great location in the heart of Santa Fe. The Plaza, museums and art galleries are all within walking distance or easily accessed using the free in town shuttle. Many restaurants within walking distance. Excellent breakfast included in the rate. Hotel also has an adjoining restaurant with good food and modest prices for Santa Fe.

excellent location, couple blocks from plaza, walking distance to everything

The remote to the television did not work. Needed new batteries. One of the mattresses was very uncomfortable. The other was OK.

Except for the snow and sleet and hail, excellent hotel and place to visit.

Loved the location. Staff were great. Breakfast was awesome. We also ate at the little bar and grill attached to hotel. Can't remember the name nice place to have a drink and food was good too

Location and bang for your buck very hard to beat. If you're looking for high end luxury look elsewhere. If youre looking for local flavor and a quaint mom and pop type friendly place it's awesome. That being said it is still plenty nice. The included breakfast is definitely worth the hype, and is a great way to start the day. My only real complaint is the pool was closed while we were there, and there was no mention of this on their website prior to us booking. Will definitely stay there again.

The facility was clean and the staff was friendly. It was in a great location that was in the middle of everything.

Nice breakfast, eggs have a funny flavor. Rooms nice but very small. Staff was wonderful.

Was traveling by car to Denver, took a side trip just to see Santa Fe, what a beautiful town... Location could not be better, right on the square, was able to park our car and then just walk the whole time in Santa Fe. Rooms were pleasant, clean and the employees were really friendly and helpful. Would absolutely go back again

The location is great just a short nice walk to the Santa Fe museums and plaza. The staff helped me with directions and taxis in a respectful manner. The lounge afternoon teas/sherry brings guests together. The complimentary breakfast was tasty and generous. All hotels should be like this one!

Centrally located in downtown Santa Fe. Rooms were a bit small, but nice.

From start to finish, the Inn of Govs was a great choice for our birthday getaway. Location can't be beat. The size of the hotel just adds to the comfort. Not so big that one can get lost but large enough to provide for many pleasantries including, attractive cafe, bar and lounge. The night we were there the bar area was packed with Happy Hour folks. Great atmosphere for a relaxed and entertaining evening. Close to all the galleries and other Santa Fe touring spots. Looking forward to going again...soon. Inn folks might consider upgrading the elevator and passage way to the third floor (carpeting needs replacement).. Screens on third floor windows so guests can leave window open at night.

Three blocks from the plaza, refrigerators in room, huge free breakfast buffet, friendly staff, free parking, pool, all make this a great choice for your stay in Santa Fe.

I have stayed at this hotel before, but I believe this is the first time I ended up with a double room vs a king bed. Room was very tight and bathrooms are small. I was disappointed this time. That being said the rooms are quiet and clean. Parking is NOT an extra charge and there is something to be said for that. Word of warning, if you do not want to be bothered by the housekeeping staff starting about 8:00am be sure to leave your "do not disturb" sign out.

centrally located for all activities around the plaza.

Room options

Traditional Room, 2 Queen Beds

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 5

Superior Room, 1 King Bed, Fireplace

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Inn of the Governors

Everyone (9) Couples (32) Business (2) Family (9) Friends (9) Other (2)
4
Everyone

A very good experience and walking distance to everything we wanted to visit

By on May 22, 2017

Review comment responded on May 24, 2017

Thank you for choosing the Inn for your Santa Fe visit. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

5

great location with excellent breakfast

Couples

Inn of the Governors was in a great location (2 blocks from the square and within walking distance of many sights. Our room was clean and spacious. Wifi signal was excellent throughout the hotel. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we've ever had at a hotel in the US. The afternoon sherry, tea and cookies hour was a nice touch. All employees we encountered were friendly and helpful. We would definitely book this hotel again.

By , from Louisville, CO on Apr 10, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 12, 2017

Dear Pam, Thank you for the lovely review and the 5 star! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the special mention regarding our breakfast, tea and sherry hour and best of all our friendly, helpful staff.

5

excellent location

Everyone

Hotel is in the middle of downtown Santa Fe. Easy walking distance of the shops.

By on Mar 19, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 21, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

2

loud, outdated hotel with hit or miss staff

Everyone

The location can't be beat but we were pretty disappointed with the hotel in general. It's really gotten run down and needs to be remodeled and updated if they want to stay competitive with younger travelers. The main thing for us was the noise. Our first room was on the main floor, with an outside door that opened right up to the parking lot. It was so loud with people coming in and out all night and early in the morning. Here's a tip, if you think your room will be loud, look in the bathroom to see if they've included ear plugs... We found two pairs of ear plugs in the room in the morning and then when we moved to another room on the second floor, no ear plugs. They definitely know there's a noise problem. The second floor room was much better but you could still hear through the walls and door. Other than that, the hotel just isn't what it used to be. It feels pretty dirty in the common areas and the staff wasn't very friendly or helpful, with the exception of Ken at the Front Desk who checked us in originally. The free breakfast was laughable, it was pretty much empty by 9:30 on Sunday and they never refilled anything, not even hot water for tea. The staff in Del Charro were really unfriendly and we waited almost 30 minutes for two drinks. We would be unlikely to stay here again.

By , from Denver, CO on Feb 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 24, 2017

Dear Caitlin, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Please know that we are starting some exterior improvements like the walkways on the Traditional building in which you stayed and our front entrance of the Inn. We are also developing a plan for improvements past those and your comments help validate our goals. We apologize for any experience you may have had that doesn't match our customer relations standards. We take everything you have shared to heart and will work with the team to regain the historical quality you have experienced before.

5

nice hotel near the plaza

Everyone

Nice hotel with a wonderful breakfast buffet, within easy walking distance to shopping and eating with a great view of the mountains.

By , from Texas on Jan 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 13, 2017

Dear Mykey, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you noting the extra touches. Thank you for choosing the Inn for your stay in Santa Fe.

5

well located hotel in santa fe

Everyone

This is a very nice property with a great location in the heart of Santa Fe. The Plaza, museums and art galleries are all within walking distance or easily accessed using the free in town shuttle. Many restaurants within walking distance. Excellent breakfast included in the rate. Hotel also has an adjoining restaurant with good food and modest prices for Santa Fe.

By , from Colorado on Jul 19, 2016

5

good location

Everyone

excellent location, couple blocks from plaza, walking distance to everything

By on Jun 19, 2016

Review comment responded on Jun 22, 2016

Thank you for sharing your experience of the Inn. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our location and look forward to your return.

4

nice

Everyone

The remote to the television did not work. Needed new batteries. One of the mattresses was very uncomfortable. The other was OK.

By , from colorado on May 20, 2016

5

cute, excellent location. very nice staff.

Everyone

Except for the snow and sleet and hail, excellent hotel and place to visit.

By , from CA on Apr 20, 2016

4

great location, staff and breakfast.

Everyone

Loved the location. Staff were great. Breakfast was awesome. We also ate at the little bar and grill attached to hotel. Can't remember the name nice place to have a drink and food was good too

By on Apr 8, 2016