Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Inn of the Governors

3.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The room location was more street front than courtyard which exposed us to a good deal of road noise, a bit disappointing. The rooms were comfortable but lacked ventilation. Great location and breakfast are redeeming features!

Perfect downtown location. Restaurant in hotel was great with fantastic margaritas

Happily surprised at how lovely this hotel is! Outstanding service by Ken, who checked us in and made dinner reservations for us with a restaurant where he knew the manager (the restaurant held a reservation for us even though it had closed a bit earlier). Outstanding genuine Mexican breakfast included with hotel stay - fresh spicy egg scramble, bacon & sausage, fresh fruit salad, pastries, oj, coffee, hot cocoa with whip cream.... every detail attended too - all next to a roaring wood fireplace. Cute authentic Mexican architecture and character in each room. Perfect walking location to the Plaza, museums, restaurants, shopping. No need to use your car once you are here. We will stay here again next time we are in Sante Fe.

The room was very comfortable & the hotel was close to the plaza. The staff was very responsive & helpful. On top of that there was tea, hot chocolate & sherry in the afternoon from 4PM - 5PM. Delightful!

Have stayed here several times, and never want to be anywhere else in Santa Fe. Charming rooms, free parking, comfortable beds, warm staff. Wonderful breakfasts and afternoon sherry with cookies. Nice restaurant. Close to Plaza, shops and many restaurants.

A very good experience and walking distance to everything we wanted to visit

Inn of the Governors was in a great location (2 blocks from the square and within walking distance of many sights. Our room was clean and spacious. Wifi signal was excellent throughout the hotel. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we've ever had at a hotel in the US. The afternoon sherry, tea and cookies hour was a nice touch. All employees we encountered were friendly and helpful. We would definitely book this hotel again.

Hotel is in the middle of downtown Santa Fe. Easy walking distance of the shops.

The location can't be beat but we were pretty disappointed with the hotel in general. It's really gotten run down and needs to be remodeled and updated if they want to stay competitive with younger travelers. The main thing for us was the noise. Our first room was on the main floor, with an outside door that opened right up to the parking lot. It was so loud with people coming in and out all night and early in the morning. Here's a tip, if you think your room will be loud, look in the bathroom to see if they've included ear plugs... We found two pairs of ear plugs in the room in the morning and then when we moved to another room on the second floor, no ear plugs. They definitely know there's a noise problem. The second floor room was much better but you could still hear through the walls and door. Other than that, the hotel just isn't what it used to be. It feels pretty dirty in the common areas and the staff wasn't very friendly or helpful, with the exception of Ken at the Front Desk who checked us in originally. The free breakfast was laughable, it was pretty much empty by 9:30 on Sunday and they never refilled anything, not even hot water for tea. The staff in Del Charro were really unfriendly and we waited almost 30 minutes for two drinks. We would be unlikely to stay here again.

Nice hotel with a wonderful breakfast buffet, within easy walking distance to shopping and eating with a great view of the mountains.

This is a very nice property with a great location in the heart of Santa Fe. The Plaza, museums and art galleries are all within walking distance or easily accessed using the free in town shuttle. Many restaurants within walking distance. Excellent breakfast included in the rate. Hotel also has an adjoining restaurant with good food and modest prices for Santa Fe.

excellent location, couple blocks from plaza, walking distance to everything

The remote to the television did not work. Needed new batteries. One of the mattresses was very uncomfortable. The other was OK.

Except for the snow and sleet and hail, excellent hotel and place to visit.

Loved the location. Staff were great. Breakfast was awesome. We also ate at the little bar and grill attached to hotel. Can't remember the name nice place to have a drink and food was good too

Location and bang for your buck very hard to beat. If you're looking for high end luxury look elsewhere. If youre looking for local flavor and a quaint mom and pop type friendly place it's awesome. That being said it is still plenty nice. The included breakfast is definitely worth the hype, and is a great way to start the day. My only real complaint is the pool was closed while we were there, and there was no mention of this on their website prior to us booking. Will definitely stay there again.

The facility was clean and the staff was friendly. It was in a great location that was in the middle of everything.

Nice breakfast, eggs have a funny flavor. Rooms nice but very small. Staff was wonderful.

Was traveling by car to Denver, took a side trip just to see Santa Fe, what a beautiful town... Location could not be better, right on the square, was able to park our car and then just walk the whole time in Santa Fe. Rooms were pleasant, clean and the employees were really friendly and helpful. Would absolutely go back again

The location is great just a short nice walk to the Santa Fe museums and plaza. The staff helped me with directions and taxis in a respectful manner. The lounge afternoon teas/sherry brings guests together. The complimentary breakfast was tasty and generous. All hotels should be like this one!

101 W Alameda Santa Fe NM

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to San Miguel Mission and Palace of the Governors
  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Located in Downtown Santa Fe, Inn of the Governors is within a 5-minute walk of popular attractions such as San Miguel Mission and Palace of the Governors. This 100-room, 3.5-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking. Located centrally in Santa Fe, it's also close to New Mexico State Capitol and Museum of Indian Arts and Culture.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM. Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or have a drink at the bar/lounge. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room.


Rooms

All of Inn of the Governors's 100 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including refrigerators, coffee makers, and free newspapers. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and free WiFi keeps guests connected. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Safes, ironing boards, and desks are also available.


Property features

Inn of the Governors features an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include a computer station, express check-out, and free newspapers.

Room options

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 5

Traditional Accessible King, ADA Only

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Superior Room, 1 King Bed, Fireplace

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Traditional Room, 1 King Bed

Twin 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Inn of the Governors

Everyone (14) Couples (32) Business (2) Family (9) Friends (9) Other (2)
4

great location / super staff

Everyone

The room location was more street front than courtyard which exposed us to a good deal of road noise, a bit disappointing. The rooms were comfortable but lacked ventilation. Great location and breakfast are redeeming features!

By on Apr 10, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 10, 2018

Dear Mimi, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate hearing from our guests. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our downtown location and our complimentary breakfast buffet. We regret that you felt the windows in your room could not provide the ventilation you required. Safe travels.

5
Everyone

Perfect downtown location. Restaurant in hotel was great with fantastic margaritas

By on Mar 22, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 22, 2018

Thank you for choosing the Inn for your Santa Fe visit. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that you tried our tasty margaritas. Safe travels.

5

authentic historical sante fe hotel

Everyone

Happily surprised at how lovely this hotel is! Outstanding service by Ken, who checked us in and made dinner reservations for us with a restaurant where he knew the manager (the restaurant held a reservation for us even though it had closed a bit earlier). Outstanding genuine Mexican breakfast included with hotel stay - fresh spicy egg scramble, bacon & sausage, fresh fruit salad, pastries, oj, coffee, hot cocoa with whip cream.... every detail attended too - all next to a roaring wood fireplace. Cute authentic Mexican architecture and character in each room. Perfect walking location to the Plaza, museums, restaurants, shopping. No need to use your car once you are here. We will stay here again next time we are in Sante Fe.

By , from Littleton, Colorado on Jan 6, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 8, 2018

Dear Karen, Thank you for choosing the Inn and for the 5 star review. We have shared your kind words with Ken and know he appreciates your special mention. We are happy that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet, our Inn and downtown location.

4

great hotel & close to the plaza.

Everyone

The room was very comfortable & the hotel was close to the plaza. The staff was very responsive & helpful. On top of that there was tea, hot chocolate & sherry in the afternoon from 4PM - 5PM. Delightful!

By , from East Windsor, NJ on Nov 13, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 15, 2017

Dear Ann, We thank you for choosing the Inn for your Santa Fe visit. We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and tea & sherry in the lobby each day. We regret that you found your bed uncomfortable but appreciate you letting us know. Safe travels.

5

love this hotel!

Everyone

Have stayed here several times, and never want to be anywhere else in Santa Fe. Charming rooms, free parking, comfortable beds, warm staff. Wonderful breakfasts and afternoon sherry with cookies. Nice restaurant. Close to Plaza, shops and many restaurants.

By , from Minneapolis on Oct 10, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 12, 2017

Dear Nene, Thank you so much for choosing the Inn for your Santa Fe visits. We so appreciate your kinds words and your 5 star rating. We hope you have a safe trip home.

4
Everyone

A very good experience and walking distance to everything we wanted to visit

By on May 22, 2017

Review comment responded on May 24, 2017

Thank you for choosing the Inn for your Santa Fe visit. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

5

great location with excellent breakfast

Couples

Inn of the Governors was in a great location (2 blocks from the square and within walking distance of many sights. Our room was clean and spacious. Wifi signal was excellent throughout the hotel. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we've ever had at a hotel in the US. The afternoon sherry, tea and cookies hour was a nice touch. All employees we encountered were friendly and helpful. We would definitely book this hotel again.

By , from Louisville, CO on Apr 10, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 12, 2017

Dear Pam, Thank you for the lovely review and the 5 star! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the special mention regarding our breakfast, tea and sherry hour and best of all our friendly, helpful staff.

5

excellent location

Everyone

Hotel is in the middle of downtown Santa Fe. Easy walking distance of the shops.

By on Mar 19, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 21, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

2

loud, outdated hotel with hit or miss staff

Everyone

The location can't be beat but we were pretty disappointed with the hotel in general. It's really gotten run down and needs to be remodeled and updated if they want to stay competitive with younger travelers. The main thing for us was the noise. Our first room was on the main floor, with an outside door that opened right up to the parking lot. It was so loud with people coming in and out all night and early in the morning. Here's a tip, if you think your room will be loud, look in the bathroom to see if they've included ear plugs... We found two pairs of ear plugs in the room in the morning and then when we moved to another room on the second floor, no ear plugs. They definitely know there's a noise problem. The second floor room was much better but you could still hear through the walls and door. Other than that, the hotel just isn't what it used to be. It feels pretty dirty in the common areas and the staff wasn't very friendly or helpful, with the exception of Ken at the Front Desk who checked us in originally. The free breakfast was laughable, it was pretty much empty by 9:30 on Sunday and they never refilled anything, not even hot water for tea. The staff in Del Charro were really unfriendly and we waited almost 30 minutes for two drinks. We would be unlikely to stay here again.

By , from Denver, CO on Feb 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 24, 2017

Dear Caitlin, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Please know that we are starting some exterior improvements like the walkways on the Traditional building in which you stayed and our front entrance of the Inn. We are also developing a plan for improvements past those and your comments help validate our goals. We apologize for any experience you may have had that doesn't match our customer relations standards. We take everything you have shared to heart and will work with the team to regain the historical quality you have experienced before.

5

nice hotel near the plaza

Everyone

Nice hotel with a wonderful breakfast buffet, within easy walking distance to shopping and eating with a great view of the mountains.

By , from Texas on Jan 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Jan 13, 2017

Dear Mykey, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you noting the extra touches. Thank you for choosing the Inn for your stay in Santa Fe.