Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

I couldn't find any kleenex or paper towels in the room and didn't feel like asking clerk.

The room absolutely reeked of nasty urine when we got there, and did not really get better no matter how much air freshener or scented candles we used. The bed was nearly impossible to sleep on with a mattressso thin you can feel the rails as you start to fall through. The floor mats for the bathroom were soaked already when we got there, the shower was in no way contained and the entire floor was slippery as can be in just moments. Cigarettes had been put out on the bathroom wall and they didn't bother to clean it up, much less paint over it.

The property condition (outside and elevator inside) is not maintained clean, but some of this is probably to transient use of same. The room itself had a very comfortable bed and wireless internet that works; thus, it is overall average in scoring.

The place smelled horrible, big cigarette burn or melted spot on the comforter... pillows were supposed to be white but were instead yellow and smelled of beadhead. The most uncomfortable bed i have ever layed on. Kitchenette had not one single pan, glass or dish. Floor was sticky... we almost just drove home but it was 2 am when we got to our hotel that night teied to sleep for like 4 hour before giving up and leaving... the worst hotel on earth

The price and size of the room I enjoyed a lot. What made me change my mind completely was the smell of the room. It smelled like pee. The floors were dirty. You were able to tell by the reflection of the light. In general the whole room was not clean.

So went to check in staff was nice. Went to room it was ok . So when we got there seemed ok . The 2 nights we stayed over people were up at 7 camped out beside our door smoking pot and cigarettes and talking super loud. Stayed that way all day then at night same thing loud people sitting in chairs outside our room smoking pot hanging out . We were told not pot or cigarette smoking unless 10 feet from building. We are both non smokers so horrible to smell it all day and night. If not bad enough the person above us paced and talked on speaker phone from 4 am until 7 ish when the neighbor beside up started his loud talking hangout with other hotel people. Would never tell anyone to stay there not even someone I dislike,

Overall the hotel was nice. The room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. There is signs of wear, but that is to be expected. If you are needing a place to stay overnight while traveling, this place will do fine. It appeared that this hotel caters to long term guests, and that people actually lived in the hotel, it was just not for the traditional overnight guests, but it was fine. I had a room in the front, but the backside of the hotel backs up to the highway. I can see how those rooms on that side might have a lot of road noise. Although the hotel is right by the freeway, it is not a simple on/off entrance from the freeway.

Hotel is on other side of freeway, so at night you hear all the noise. The hardwood floors looked dirty, fridge was nice and clean.

We checked in for work, it had everything I needed to feel comfortable.

When I checked in the lady who helped me was nice. But when I walked up to my room there was stuff in the hallway (like empty beer boxes, swimming trunks. Got to my room, it looked fine till I stepped on a nose ring in the bathroom. I was tired so I took a nap but got woke up to someone moving furniture above me and a lot of jumping. So I told the lady at the desk (and gave the nose ring to her). She was a little annoyed that I complained about the people and gave her the nose ring. Well next morning I woke up at 7 am to not my alarm clock (which was set for 9) but to the same noise as the night before. And I looked up to the ceiling and noticed a spot (which looked like something brownish colored) ...gross.. oh and my foot was bleeding where I stepped on the nose ring. So when I checked out I told them and all they said my deposit will take a few days to be reimbursed and they will let the manager know. I stayed here a few years ago and enjoyed my stay but after this visit I'll rethink my hotel choice.

The hotel is nothing fancy however for the price compared to the other hotels in the area is not bad. Something I wish I did know is that even though the rooms comes with a kitchenette they do not provide pots or pans unless you purchase some from the front desk.

Not happy with room bed was moved Crete staff was not attentive Or even customer likeSo my whole experience really really suck I’m sorry to say I hope you guys do a better job of trying to accommodate other people thank you

The hotel was run down, and full of vagrants and drug dealers

Garbage was absolutely disgusting. We could smell the rotting garbage in our room. First we were told housekeeping forgot then we were told there is no maintenance on the weekend. We then called customer service who then told me she would send an urgent message to corporate, I never heard from them. This is a very dirty place. Never again. The photos below are from 3 different floors. Thank you

The room for the price was very good. The night crew check in lady was super nice and we were happy with our choice of motels. Room was clean enough for the baby to crawl around no problem. We had a great few days then I had to deal with the day time staff when I added a new day to our current three days. The day manager waste right rude and mean. She told us if we did not like her rules then she would pack our stuff and put it on the curb and I could come get it. Who says that????? I was so disgusted. Then after I was treated so poorly, I told her about the trash on the third floor landing that was piling up for three days. She told me there was no trash. So I went up and took a picture. That was at 11 am. The trash was still there at 5 pm. So if you stay make sure tobavaoid the day staff. The night staff lady was awesome! She gave us towels and such with a smile!

I didn't heed the bad reviews regarding cleanliness and sadly found out for myself. The room smelled terrible. The carpet was badly stained. Ads say the kitchenette is furnished yet there was nothing. Blankets were not clean. At check in, you sign that you understand there are no refunds. I purchased Lysol and an essential oil diffuser and left the room smelling better than I found it. Do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere.

Daytime manager was being a real snob, the room had not been properly cleaned and it was overall noisy. However, it was relatively close to the function I was attending and the evening crew was very pleasant.

For the price we were very happy with the room. The night staff was great. We stayed three nights on a different reservation and add this night to it. The day time manager was trying to tell me I had to pack all my things and leave for the time between 11 and 3 check in time. I had already told them abou the new night when I checked in the first night. She was so awful I had to drive back from our truck show to sign one paper for the new room. (It was already paid in full). I was not happy to drag three tiny children back to the motel to sign a paper saying I would keep the kitchen clean. On the phone the manager said that she would pick out stuff and put it on the curb if I liked. Or come sign the paper. (That I signed on check in already). I was mad. So I complained about the trash upstairs at 11 am. She told me I was lying and there was no trash. So I walked upstairs and took a picture. At five when I got back the trash was still there. So don't deal with any day time staff and you will be fine. Night crew is great.

Fisher Rd Ne Salem OR

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Laundry facilities

Within a short walk of Chemeketa Community College, HomeTowne Studios by Red Roof Salem, OR is within 2 miles (3 km) of L. B. Day Amphitheater. The 129 rooms at this hotel include kitchenettes, refrigerators, and microwaves.


Rooms

The 129 air-conditioned rooms feature kitchenettes with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Free local calls are also available. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

At HomeTowne Studios by Red Roof Salem, OR, guests have access to free WiFi in public areas, express check-in, and laundry facilities. Free parking is included with your stay. Helpful staff is there to provide front-desk service during limited hours, as well as offer insight about the area.

Room options

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking, Kitchenette

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Kitchenette

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Studio, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking (Kitchenette)

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for HomeTowne Studios by Red Roof Salem, OR

Everyone (17) Business (10) Couples (13) Family (12) Other (21) Friends (2)
5
Partner Couples

I couldn't find any kleenex or paper towels in the room and didn't feel like asking clerk.

By on Dec 17, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 17, 2020

Unfortunately we do not provide kleenex or paper towels in any of our rooms, but had you called the front desk we would have gladly informed you about it. Thank you for staying with us, and happy holidays.

1
Partner Couples Family

The room absolutely reeked of nasty urine when we got there, and did not really get better no matter how much air freshener or scented candles we used. The bed was nearly impossible to sleep on with a mattressso thin you can feel the rails as you start to fall through. The floor mats for the bathroom were soaked already when we got there, the shower was in no way contained and the entire floor was slippery as can be in just moments. Cigarettes had been put out on the bathroom wall and they didn't bother to clean it up, much less paint over it.

By on Dec 15, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 15, 2020

We are so sorry that you had to go to all portals just to enumerate your dissatisfaction. I can assure you that you have made your point quite clear, and so have we when we responded to you numerous times. We have no doubt that you will find a more suitable accommodation in the future should you need one.

1
Everyone

By on Dec 8, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 11, 2020

Dear Anonymous Guest: I want to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you! My staff and I would like to apologize for failing to make your stay a better one. We understand you have many choices, and again I am sorry.

1
Everyone

By on Jul 19, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 20, 2020

Dear Anonymous Guest thank you for staying with us, it is our pleasure having you and serving you as our guest. I am so sorry that we failed to make your stay a better one, please allow us the opportunity to serve you in a future visit.

3
Family

The property condition (outside and elevator inside) is not maintained clean, but some of this is probably to transient use of same. The room itself had a very comfortable bed and wireless internet that works; thus, it is overall average in scoring.

By on Feb 16, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 18, 2020

Thank you for your comments. We shall address these issues soonest. Thank you for staying with us.

1
Partner Couples Family

The place smelled horrible, big cigarette burn or melted spot on the comforter... pillows were supposed to be white but were instead yellow and smelled of beadhead. The most uncomfortable bed i have ever layed on. Kitchenette had not one single pan, glass or dish. Floor was sticky... we almost just drove home but it was 2 am when we got to our hotel that night teied to sleep for like 4 hour before giving up and leaving... the worst hotel on earth

By on May 12, 2019

Review comment responded on May 14, 2019

We are so sorry that we were not able to make your stay a pleasant one. Rest assured we take your comments very seriously and we shall take the necessary action to ensure that this does not happen again. Our best wishes always...

2
Family Family with small children

The price and size of the room I enjoyed a lot. What made me change my mind completely was the smell of the room. It smelled like pee. The floors were dirty. You were able to tell by the reflection of the light. In general the whole room was not clean.

By on Apr 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 30, 2019

We are so sorry that we were unable to make your stay a pleasant one. Rest assured we take your comments very seriously and will act on it immediately to ensure that it does not happen again. Our best wishes always.

1

horrible

Everyone

So went to check in staff was nice. Went to room it was ok . So when we got there seemed ok . The 2 nights we stayed over people were up at 7 camped out beside our door smoking pot and cigarettes and talking super loud. Stayed that way all day then at night same thing loud people sitting in chairs outside our room smoking pot hanging out . We were told not pot or cigarette smoking unless 10 feet from building. We are both non smokers so horrible to smell it all day and night. If not bad enough the person above us paced and talked on speaker phone from 4 am until 7 ish when the neighbor beside up started his loud talking hangout with other hotel people. Would never tell anyone to stay there not even someone I dislike,

By on Sep 3, 2018

3

nice for an overniter on the road

Everyone

Overall the hotel was nice. The room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. There is signs of wear, but that is to be expected. If you are needing a place to stay overnight while traveling, this place will do fine. It appeared that this hotel caters to long term guests, and that people actually lived in the hotel, it was just not for the traditional overnight guests, but it was fine. I had a room in the front, but the backside of the hotel backs up to the highway. I can see how those rooms on that side might have a lot of road noise. Although the hotel is right by the freeway, it is not a simple on/off entrance from the freeway.

By on Aug 16, 2018

2
Everyone

Hotel is on other side of freeway, so at night you hear all the noise. The hardwood floors looked dirty, fridge was nice and clean.

By on Aug 6, 2018

HomeTowne Studios by Red Roof Salem, OR

3535 Fisher Rd Ne, Salem, OR 97305
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Salem-Hotels-HomeTowne-Studios-by-Red-Roof-Salem,-OR.h126885-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Salem-Hotels-HomeTowne-Studios-by-Red-Roof-Salem,-OR.h126885-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Salem-Hotels-HomeTowne-Studios-by-Red-Roof-Salem,-OR.h126885-p2.Hotel-Reviews