Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

This was the most sketchy hotel we’ve ever stayed in! The room and hallways were very dirty. There were meth heads living in the parking lot and hanging out in the entrances/exits. The room smelled. It was awful.

This was the last place we stayed on the end of a three week trip to Oregon to visit friends and family. We stayed in AirBnBs, BnBs and other hotels. What made the Shilo great was the amount of space. We had plenty of room to spread out our suitcases and repack. The beds were comfortable, and little amenities weee all there. We found their Covid precautions excellent. We’ll stay there again when we return next year.

Noisy all night long, couple fighting in the room next to us. Also a group of eight partying in the hall late. No rest whatsoever!

I love my room it was clean, nice king size bed with kitchen...didnt like the back view with some neighbors trashy! I wasn't impressed with the Lobby..it didn't feel welcoming at all..dont know if it was the walls or floors or dim lights...elevator was sucks big time! Other then that i was happy i would like to stay there again next time.

My stay was fair. Continental breakfast didnt have many options.

Not a good neighborhood to be with families. Hotel was below average. It felt and looked like a motel. Surrounding area was full of pot shops and you could see people representing they area. Overall it was not a place to be. Better choice to stay is Keizer or Portland.

Good location for what we were in Salem for. First room, refrig didn't work and neither did phone, so they moved us across hall. Second room just fine. Very agreeable and helpful staff

Clean overall. Weird noisy fans. Stood waiting for staff to acknowledge me for 10 minutes before they stopped talking to assist me

Quiet, very large rooms. Friendly staff on the phone and in person! My only (very small) complaint is that the elevator is pretty slow (first world problems).

Very clean, nice rooms. We were very happy with our stay!

Nice staff, large, quiet, clean room. It was a very nice experience.

Very comfortable. Enjoyed my stay. Hotel staff is very attentive to my needs and no transients hanging around the hotel. The hot tube heat was perfect!!! The Sauna never did work, however.

Didn't have my reservation in their system. Had to call Orbitz to "find" it. Sketchy is the word that comes to mind here

The hotel was fine, but staff could be more professional, the area was having problems with there water (not to be drank). Hotel elevator was terribly slow and no other way to get up floors. The breakfast was fair, no coffee because of water problem ( which could have been taken care of by bottle water). over all the hotel was over priced.

Pre-paid and hotel staff would not let my husband check in without me (I was in another city), even though I gave him my card and id. Hotel is in disrepair. and feels really dirty. Sauna and steam room do not work.

The bed was old, thin and hard. When I asked to be moved they said it was a brand new bed on the nicest, updated floor. I ended up buying an air mattress in the middle of the night at Walmart so that I could sleep. On the 2nd night my ceiling fan/light in the bathroom started raining and when I went to the bathroom in the middle of the night I slipped fell on my butt and landed in 1/2 inch of water. The staff's solution was to put a bucket under the fan and recommended that I dump it if the noise started to bother me. The front desk staff was unhelpful, unsempathetic and after I asked to speak with the manager offered to take off $11.08 from my 2 night stay. The only staff who offered to help me was Yolanda and her father. They moved the air mattress for me, showed concern for my safety and were generally kind and welcoming.

Easy access to I 5. We had the King Suite. Plenty of room, however, sitting room furniture wore out.

Market St Ne Salem OR

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Business center

Oregon State Fairgrounds Pavilion is within a mile (2 km) of Shilo Inn Suites - Salem, and other popular sites like L. B. Day Amphitheater are within a couple of miles (3 km). This 90-room hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and free self parking.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 6:00 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

All 90 rooms feature sofa beds, microwaves, and refrigerators. Guests can expect to find cable TV and stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Coffee makers, free local calls, and safes are also available.


Property features

Shilo Inn Suites - Salem features a spa tub, a sauna, and free WiFi in public areas. A stay here includes free parking. The 24-hour front desk has staff always at the ready. Additional amenities include a business center, express check-out, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Junior Suite

1 King Bed and 1 Double Bed | Sleeps 3

Suite, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Shilo Inn Suites - Salem

Everyone (21) Couples (4) Students (1) Family (9)
1
Family

This was the most sketchy hotel we’ve ever stayed in! The room and hallways were very dirty. There were meth heads living in the parking lot and hanging out in the entrances/exits. The room smelled. It was awful.

By on Apr 12, 2021

5
Partner Couples Family

This was the last place we stayed on the end of a three week trip to Oregon to visit friends and family. We stayed in AirBnBs, BnBs and other hotels. What made the Shilo great was the amount of space. We had plenty of room to spread out our suitcases and repack. The beds were comfortable, and little amenities weee all there. We found their Covid precautions excellent. We’ll stay there again when we return next year.

By , from Loreto, BCS, Mexico on Sep 2, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 3, 2020

Thank you so much for the post stay review of our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax on the last leg of your trip. We can't wait to see you again.

2
Partner Couples Business Business

Noisy all night long, couple fighting in the room next to us. Also a group of eight partying in the hall late. No rest whatsoever!

By on Jun 30, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 30, 2020

I am so sorry for the restless night you had during your stay. I know that can be frustrating when you are in a hotel. We can alwasy accomodate a new room on a new floor if you ever need one. I hope you come stay again and we can make it better for you. Thank you fro staying with us.

5
Everyone

By on Feb 22, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 22, 2020

Thank you, for such a great review! We hope to welcome you back soon.

5
Family

I love my room it was clean, nice king size bed with kitchen...didnt like the back view with some neighbors trashy! I wasn't impressed with the Lobby..it didn't feel welcoming at all..dont know if it was the walls or floors or dim lights...elevator was sucks big time! Other then that i was happy i would like to stay there again next time.

By on Feb 20, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 21, 2020

Thank you so much for the review and we hope to welcome you back soon! we are under new management and will be doing more renovations to the property soon.

5
Everyone

By on Dec 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 27, 2019

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

4
Everyone

By on Nov 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 27, 2019

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

4
Family Friends Family

My stay was fair. Continental breakfast didnt have many options.

By on Oct 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 17, 2019

Dear Traveler, Thank you for your feedback and apologize for running out of a couple of breakfast choices. I hope that next time your travels bring you to Salem you come back and stay again. Sincerely, Pam Urben-General Manager

2
Family with small children Family

Not a good neighborhood to be with families. Hotel was below average. It felt and looked like a motel. Surrounding area was full of pot shops and you could see people representing they area. Overall it was not a place to be. Better choice to stay is Keizer or Portland.

By , from Brea, CA on Jul 31, 2019

3
Family Family

Good location for what we were in Salem for. First room, refrig didn't work and neither did phone, so they moved us across hall. Second room just fine. Very agreeable and helpful staff

By on Jun 9, 2019

Shilo Inn Suites - Salem

3304 Market St Ne, Salem, OR 97301
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Salem-Hotels-Shilo-Inn-Suites---Salem.h18503-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Salem-Hotels-Shilo-Inn-Suites---Salem.h18503-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Salem-Hotels-Shilo-Inn-Suites---Salem.h18503-p2.Hotel-Reviews