Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Candlewood Suites OC Airport-Irvine West

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

This hotel is on the intersection of Red Hill and Dyer (Barranca Pkwy becomes Dyer Road). I thought it would be quite loud bec that's a busy intersection, but I got a room somewhere by the back, so it was pretty quiet. I like how its like a mini-home away from home. Room has a bit of a smell though cause the rooms have stove tops to cook meals from. But the room is clean and bed is comfortable. Overall, it is a great value.

I loved this place, was a very nice, clean, great room and perfect for traveling...i will stay here again for sure!!

Staff awesome, great stay, close to our destination. Candlewood suites, roomy, comfortable, affordable Off the 55. Walmart right down the street

Staff was very friendly and attentive. Room was excellent and spacious. Rooms were also very quiet, this is near John Wayne airport's landing/takeoff path and you could not hear the planes fly past your room. The District at Tustin legacy is also down the street and offer some great options for dinner and shopping.

Upon checking in I learned that instead of the 2 room suite I had been given a studio. OK, how bad could it be. Well, it was awful. Upon entering, with the kitchenette on the right, there was a ceiling "light" that was all of 40 watt. Dismal to say the least. The TV was probably 15+ years old sitting on top of your dresser. The bed had to be almost to the wall to allow for the recliner. Don't know if it actually reclined as it was up against the wall. Musty smell in the room althought it was clean. Bathroom was sparce with no shower curtain liner. Towels were almost threadbare. The worst was, no curtains you could close. Two end panels on either side of the window didn't move. Window length semi-sheers filled the middle & stopped at the top of the a/c unit. You had no privacy. We were on the 2nd floor with an office building a short distance and you could see right in our room. Standing outside, you could easily look up in our room and again, no privacy since there were no decent curtains! The A/C is one of those window units like you find in motels. Noisy. This room was one of those you'd find in a Red Roof or Motel 6. The only difference was the door opened to a corridor instead of outside. We made some 4 calls to [...] who contacted the management at the "hotel" who was unresponsive. By the 3rd day I called the front desk myself & still after some 5 hours (AFTER CHECK OUT TIME HAD PASSED) & was FINALLY released to go elsewhere. while I understand it was noncanc and nonrefund, all I asked was to be transfered to another IHG property (which I also contacted and filed a complaint). This was a terrible, terrible room with no response from management to even try and accomodate a paying guest. It took 3 days of money I threw away by staying here until we were given a refund. 3 days too many. NEVER again will we stay at a Candlewood "Suite"

I traveled all over Southern California with my boyfriend and our hotel room was very quiet, restful and perfect for our needs. They really try to anticipate any needs you might have and I thought it was great. Very clean, friendly staff, easy location, close to restaurants, close to airport, yet seculded enough to not hear traffic from the street.

Our visit was for a wedding. Hotel was used just for sleeping so we didn't use the hotel facilities. But it was fine for us and enjoyed the room.

Loved how the kitchen and counter were set up. The separate bedroom was a real convenience with more than one person. We highly recommend this place.

I mostly was at the hotel just to sleep. Great location near shopping and within 2 miles of the O.C. Airport. A real plus if you need to get to the airport early.

Perfect location for business

soso

generally good

I wasnt expecting much from this hotel to be honest, I knew it was cheap on the 4th of July weekend because their core business traveler customer is nowhere to be found. The room was quite clean, and thats even coming from an OCD person like me, I was pretty surprised. The location is not too off the grid, and it was not congested. Another thing cool about it is that they dont seem to pillage you for all your money; there was a free soda to take if wanted, popcorn, toiletries, all in the room waiting for you at no charge - most hotels like to make you suffer. If the price was right, I'd stay there again if I am in the SNA area

Having a small kitchen in the room is convenient when you are tired of eating out. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is no breakfast included but there is a small pantry where you can purchase breakfast items to eat in your room. If you have to get up early make sure you make any food purchases the night before as you need a special key from the desk to access the pantry and the desk is closed at night until 7:00 A.M. The hotel is very close to the John Wayne Orange County airport.

Just stayed and watched TV

This place was awesome. Clean, loved the bed (comfy), small kitchenette, recliner. Given free soda upon arrival. Desk personel helpful in directions and resturants. Excellent price. Better than lots of places I have stayed and we travel frequently.

I stayed there 5 days and traveled to San Diego and Los Angeles, the hotel was very clean the staff was very friendly. We could cook our meal, and washed our clothes for free, everything was perfect, I will definitely stay again in any Candlewood Suites,

I like Candlewood's idea of plenty of towels. No fresh ones or bed changed each week unless you wish any other time. Many other hotels where you are staying the day can upset your stay while timing a daily cleaning. Just a bit noise from anjoining room through a common door.

Excellent Place

Quite, clean, convenient

2600 Red Hill Avenue Santa Ana CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Laundry facilities

Located in Costa Mesa - SNA Airport, Candlewood Suites OC Airport-Irvine West is within a few miles (5 km) of sights such as Irvine Museum and Lyon Air Museum. This 122-room aparthotel welcomes guests with conveniences like a 24-hour fitness center, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking. Near the airport, it's also near Segerstrom Center for the Arts and Santa Ana Zoo.


Rooms

All 122 individually furnished apartments feature kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, stovetops, and dishwashers. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and wired Internet, plus flat-screen TVs with satellite channels and DVD players. Beds sport premium bedding. Coffee makers, free weekday newspapers, and free local calls are also standard. Weekly housekeeping is available.


Property features

Candlewood Suites OC Airport-Irvine West features a 24-hour fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and coffee in a common area. You can put free parking to good use if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with dry cleaning/laundry and securing valuables. Additional amenities include free newspapers, laundry facilities, and barbecue grills.

Room options

Standard Suite

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Suite

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Studio Suite, 1 Queen Bed, Smoking

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Suite, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

Queen 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Candlewood Suites OC Airport-Irvine West

Couples (8) Business (5) Family (3) Other (7)
4

good hotel

Singles

This hotel is on the intersection of Red Hill and Dyer (Barranca Pkwy becomes Dyer Road). I thought it would be quite loud bec that's a busy intersection, but I got a room somewhere by the back, so it was pretty quiet. I like how its like a mini-home away from home. Room has a bit of a smell though cause the rooms have stove tops to cook meals from. But the room is clean and bed is comfortable. Overall, it is a great value.

By on Aug 19, 2015

4

november 15, 2014

Singles

I loved this place, was a very nice, clean, great room and perfect for traveling...i will stay here again for sure!!

By on Nov 17, 2014

4

great place

Couples

Staff awesome, great stay, close to our destination. Candlewood suites, roomy, comfortable, affordable Off the 55. Walmart right down the street

By on Jun 22, 2014

5

business

BusinessTravelers

Staff was very friendly and attentive. Room was excellent and spacious. Rooms were also very quiet, this is near John Wayne airport's landing/takeoff path and you could not hear the planes fly past your room. The District at Tustin legacy is also down the street and offer some great options for dinner and shopping.

By on Apr 13, 2013

1

ugh

Couples

Upon checking in I learned that instead of the 2 room suite I had been given a studio. OK, how bad could it be. Well, it was awful. Upon entering, with the kitchenette on the right, there was a ceiling "light" that was all of 40 watt. Dismal to say the least. The TV was probably 15+ years old sitting on top of your dresser. The bed had to be almost to the wall to allow for the recliner. Don't know if it actually reclined as it was up against the wall. Musty smell in the room althought it was clean. Bathroom was sparce with no shower curtain liner. Towels were almost threadbare. The worst was, no curtains you could close. Two end panels on either side of the window didn't move. Window length semi-sheers filled the middle & stopped at the top of the a/c unit. You had no privacy. We were on the 2nd floor with an office building a short distance and you could see right in our room. Standing outside, you could easily look up in our room and again, no privacy since there were no decent curtains! The A/C is one of those window units like you find in motels. Noisy. This room was one of those you'd find in a Red Roof or Motel 6. The only difference was the door opened to a corridor instead of outside. We made some 4 calls to [...] who contacted the management at the "hotel" who was unresponsive. By the 3rd day I called the front desk myself & still after some 5 hours (AFTER CHECK OUT TIME HAD PASSED) & was FINALLY released to go elsewhere. while I understand it was noncanc and nonrefund, all I asked was to be transfered to another IHG property (which I also contacted and filed a complaint). This was a terrible, terrible room with no response from management to even try and accomodate a paying guest. It took 3 days of money I threw away by staying here until we were given a refund. 3 days too many. NEVER again will we stay at a Candlewood "Suite"

By on Jul 11, 2010

5

fantastic stay

Couples

I traveled all over Southern California with my boyfriend and our hotel room was very quiet, restful and perfect for our needs. They really try to anticipate any needs you might have and I thought it was great. Very clean, friendly staff, easy location, close to restaurants, close to airport, yet seculded enough to not hear traffic from the street.

By on Aug 13, 2009

4

worry free

Couples

Our visit was for a wedding. Hotel was used just for sleeping so we didn't use the hotel facilities. But it was fine for us and enjoyed the room.

By on Aug 11, 2009

4

candlewood suites - super

Couples

Loved how the kitchen and counter were set up. The separate bedroom was a real convenience with more than one person. We highly recommend this place.

By on Aug 4, 2009

4

great location for the price

Singles

I mostly was at the hotel just to sleep. Great location near shopping and within 2 miles of the O.C. Airport. A real plus if you need to get to the airport early.

By on Jul 16, 2009

4

good deal

BusinessTravelers

Perfect location for business

By on Jul 13, 2009