Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Property had no working pool. Pool had no water in it and was size of a large jacuzzi. Photos on internet were nothing like the property, pool or breakfast area. No coffee available at 8:30 am, even though breakfast service hours were 6-9. Very, very disappointed and I will never book through Orbitz online again.

It was a spur of the moment for us to stop on our way down South. What a delightful surprise it was - everything was excellent. Thank you.

I would not return. the staff was nice BUT the room was not good. It smelled, the internet did not work nor did the audio on the 3 tv channels I was interested in. The breakfast was not what was pictured on the website & the gravy for the biscuits was cold.

Reserved a smoking, 1 king bed, room. At check-in, was given non smoking with 2 queen beds. Was told "that's all that is available". So much for making reservations. They did charge the correct Orbitz quoted rate however.

good motel for the money and the breakfast was good. staff was friendly and pleasant to talk to. Their website and Orbitz didn't disclose pet fee but at $10 it wasn't bad but I told them they should have a place to enter a pet same as for a child so you know what to expect. Overall it met our needs for an overnight stay. The beds were comfortable and the noise was tolerable. I would probably stay again.

Had a non-smoking room but it smelled of cigarette smoke. My wife went to front desk and complained and they gave her a bottle of disinfectant spray. It helped but you could go outside and walk back in and smell smoke.

The room was Fantastic The photography on the walls was a wonderful surprise Highly recommend this hotel

Great nights sleep, loved the room and comfort. Dinning within walking. Very clean and well kept. Will be back again to stay.

It was close to alot of things I needed. Loved the location and finding it.

Was the best get away in awhile. Staff was very helpful and nice. I would be glad to stay again. It was great to get my business meetings planned.

The Super 8 Hotel basically met our needs. Just a stop over on the way to Florida. The bed was firm and comfortable, it was clean and located close to the highway. There were restaurants close in order to get a real breakfast, instead what the hotel was offering.

Hwy 49 N Byron GA

Hotel highlights

  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool

Super 8 by Wyndham Byron/South Macon is located within a 15-minute drive of Mercer University and Oakview Golf and Country Club. This 56-room motel has private in-room pools along with an outdoor pool and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free hot/cold buffet breakfast is served each morning from 6:00 AM to 9:00 AM.


Rooms

All 56 air-conditioned rooms provide private pools, microwaves, and refrigerators. 39-inch TVs come with digital channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer deep soaking tubs, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include coffee makers, free local calls, and ironing boards.


Property features

Renovated in 2016, Super 8 by Wyndham Byron/South Macon offers an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and a business center. Free parking is available if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with luggage storage, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include free newspapers, laundry facilities, and an ATM.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking (Mobility Accessible)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio Suite, 1 King Bed, Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Super 8 by Wyndham Byron/South Macon

Everyone (4) Couples (1) Family (1) Other (3)
1
Family

Property had no working pool. Pool had no water in it and was size of a large jacuzzi. Photos on internet were nothing like the property, pool or breakfast area. No coffee available at 8:30 am, even though breakfast service hours were 6-9. Very, very disappointed and I will never book through Orbitz online again.

By on May 5, 2019

Review comment responded on May 23, 2019

Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a completely satisfying visit to our property. Each of your comments has been addressed with our staff to ensure these situations are quickly remedied. Again, we appreciate your review, as you have allowed us to improve our guest experience. Thank you, and we hope to be able to exceed your expectations in the future.

5
Friends

It was a spur of the moment for us to stop on our way down South. What a delightful surprise it was - everything was excellent. Thank you.

By on Apr 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 7, 2019

Dear Guest, Your positive words about our hotel and service are highly appreciated. Thank you for sharing them with us. It will motivate us to optimize our focus to ensure memorable moments and personal service are standard in our hotel. All the best, and we hope to see you again soon!

2
Everyone

I would not return. the staff was nice BUT the room was not good. It smelled, the internet did not work nor did the audio on the 3 tv channels I was interested in. The breakfast was not what was pictured on the website & the gravy for the biscuits was cold.

By on Oct 1, 2018

4

one night stay

Everyone

Reserved a smoking, 1 king bed, room. At check-in, was given non smoking with 2 queen beds. Was told "that's all that is available". So much for making reservations. They did charge the correct Orbitz quoted rate however.

By on Jul 5, 2018

3

ok hotel

Everyone

good motel for the money and the breakfast was good. staff was friendly and pleasant to talk to. Their website and Orbitz didn't disclose pet fee but at $10 it wasn't bad but I told them they should have a place to enter a pet same as for a child so you know what to expect. Overall it met our needs for an overnight stay. The beds were comfortable and the noise was tolerable. I would probably stay again.

By , from Indy on Mar 13, 2018

4

stopped on way to florida

Business

Had a non-smoking room but it smelled of cigarette smoke. My wife went to front desk and complained and they gave her a bottle of disinfectant spray. It helped but you could go outside and walk back in and smell smoke.

By , from Indiana on Mar 2, 2018

5

absolute surprise beautiful room

Everyone

The room was Fantastic The photography on the walls was a wonderful surprise Highly recommend this hotel

By on Dec 26, 2016

4

good as it gets.

Other

Great nights sleep, loved the room and comfort. Dinning within walking. Very clean and well kept. Will be back again to stay.

By on Mar 5, 2013

4

loved it

Other

It was close to alot of things I needed. Loved the location and finding it.

By on Feb 26, 2013

4

fantastic stay.

Other

Was the best get away in awhile. Staff was very helpful and nice. I would be glad to stay again. It was great to get my business meetings planned.

By on Feb 10, 2013

Super 8 by Wyndham Byron/South Macon

305 Hwy 49 N, Byron, GA 31008
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Macon-Hotels-Super-8-by-Wyndham-Byron/South-Macon.h123141-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Macon-Hotels-Super-8-by-Wyndham-Byron/South-Macon.h123141-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspException: Problem accessing the absolute URL "https://www.orbitz.com/Macon-Hotels-Super-8-by-Wyndham-Byron/South-Macon.h123141-p2.Hotel-Reviews". java.io.FileNotFoundException: https://www.orbitz.com/Macon-Hotels-Super-8-by-Wyndham-Byron/South-Macon.h123141-p2.Hotel-Reviews