Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Ottoman Hotel Imperial - Special Class

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Wonderful all the way around. Would definitely stay again. Location can't be beat

Nice hotel, close to attractions, and within walking distance to shopping and dining. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. I have stayed at this hotel three years ago. Since then, the breakfast buffet scope has decreased, the table cloths have disappeared, the flooring is torn and moisture damaged in places and needs to be redone. Breakfast is ok, items appear to be bought and opened, rather than made in house for the breakfast. Otherwise, its ok. Rooms are small, no more than two people in the single queen bed rooms.

Staff is Helpful and responsive. Nice restaurant on site.

A very comfortable and modern room. The rooms are small but they are also very cosy with all the modern facilities. The hotel is perfectly positioned to all the major sights and I will very happily re-book here again!

Beautiful hotel in Sultanahmet district of Istanbul, very convenient location to major attractions, restaurants, tram station etc. Hotel staff is very kind and helpful. Were impressed with variety and taste of breakfast dishes and nice view from restaurant. The only con is a slow internet, otherwise highly recommend this hotel. Adil.

The best, was a unique experience, everything close, the breakfast is good, the rooms clean, confortable.

A boutique hotel located literally steps from all historical sites and souvenir stores. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We easily walked back to our room in the middle of the day to relax and later continue sightseeing. The staff were extremely friendly and treated us like we were special guests in their own homes. The comprehensive breakfast buffet had everything from cold cuts to omelettes made to order and touches of Turkish delicacies. The Matbah Ottoman Restaurant within the hotel has, by far, the most authentic dishes made for the Sultans using original recipes. The staff made every arrangements we requested with a smile.

We had an exceptional stay at the Ottoman Hotel Imperial. The service was exceptional with the staff going out of their way to make sure our accommodations were all they needed to be as well as to help us identify potential attractions to see in the area. The staff even went so far as to give me one of their personal umbrellas when it was raining. Wow. The room we had was all we could have asked for. They placed us on the Aya Sofia side of the hotel so our view was the majestic site both day and night. Wow #2. I can't think of any reason not to recommend this hotel. If you are looking for a quality room, excellent hospitality and a location that can not be beat, this is the place. We'll definitely be back. Thanks for an amazing stay!

Hotel was great. I booked a room with two beds for me and my friend (both males) they asked if we were on holiday or business travel, when we said holiday they winked and gave us one bed. I suppose they assumed we were gay.

Really nice hotel very close to the Blue Mosque and Haya Sophia. Really nice and comfortable hotel with very friendly staff.

Very nice hotel - avoid the rooms directly on the street - a bit loud.

The Ottoman Hotel Imperial is slightly hard to get to by car as it is one a steeply sloping restricted access street. But once there you do not need a car again it is steps away from the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, just across the street from the Basilica Cistern, around the corner from the Imperial palace and the excellent archeology museum and a brisk 10 minutes to the Great Bazaar. In between are all the shops and restaurants one could desire. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable. My wife had broken a toe a few weeks before our trip. Our room was down four flights of stairs which we figured to find a way to manage. However, the hotel management saw my wife's condition and offered us a room on the main floor. The room itself was excellent, warm, with a comfortable bed, good shower, well stocked mini-bar and complementary Turkish towel bath robes. Breakfast was included with the room it featured both European style cold cuts and cheese along with a variety of hot dishes and the Turkish staple of boiled eggs. Good coffee from one of those mysterious machines that should make very bad coffee but don't. The only draw back is that the hotel is surrounded by an army of rug salesmen who all want to get to know you and invite you back to their family's shop for the deal of lifetime. But is is a small price to pay for a great location and very attentive staff. One our first night the staff brought in a birthday cake for me as they had copied my passport and discovered that it was in fact my 59th birthday.

Location doesn't get any better - literally right next to the Hagia Sofia, tram stop, and cafes/restaurants. Small hotel so the rooms were on the small size but still had a double bed, mini bar, and decent size shower. WiFi was unfortunately VERY spotty (kind of important when trying to plan out the next day's activities, and figure out how to walk to various places), but staff is more than helpful with advice, etc. I'd probably stay there again.

You will not find a hotel in a better location than the Ottoman Hotel Imperial. It is literally across the street from Aya Sophia and within a 5 minute walk from the Hippodrome, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, and Basilica Cistern. The Grand Bazaar and Spice Bazaar are both just a 10-15 minute walk, or 2 tram stops, away as well. The hotel itself is very clean and beautifully decorated. The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is because they messed up our reservation the first night. I had reserved a room with 2 twin beds and a city or Aya Sophia view and they had none left and tried to put us in a single bed room on the bottom floor with no view. We had to stay in the single room the first night, but they gave us the correct room the next day and left a fruit basket in apology. The free breakfast at the hotel is not a continental breakfast, it is actually a full breakfast buffet and all the food was delicious! The hotel staff was very helpful in providing directions for anywhere we wanted to go and were always friendly. This is the place to stay if you want to explore the historic sights of Istanbul.

great location but hard to find;directions below. very good restaurant attached. bathroom small. comfy bed. friendly staff. directions; On a cobblestone street, more like an alley that runs directly behind the HAGiA SOPHIA and is closed to cars during the day. Go to the intersection of Divan Yolu CD and Yerebatan CD, then look for Caferiye SK branching off of Yerebatan. The hotel is around 50 feet down and if you take their phone number their porter can meet you at your taxi.

we were very happy at this hotel every as expected if it happened and visit Istanbul for sure will return to Ottoman Hotel

My friend from Turkey had suggested me to stay in the Old Sultanahmet area as the historical sites such as the Hagia Sofia (Ayasofya), Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar etc. are in proximity or in the area itself. Location: This hotel is right next to Hagia Sofia and in between 2 metro stations Sultanahmet and Gulhane. One can cover Topkapi, Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Archaelogical Museum, and Grand Bazaar on foot. I was there for 3 nights, and it made perfect sense for me to be at this location. Also, I saved money by taking metro and avoiding taxi because Taksim, Dombalbahce, Galata Bridge and Emimonu (Bosphorous Tour Site of Turkish Govt. Ferry) were accessible both by metro or were a short walk from the hotel. Comfort: The bed and ambience of the room are an essential part of my stay as I am mostly on foot exploring the place, and need a nice cosy room to crash and wake up fresh. The bed was comfortable, the bathrooms were clean and the room service was exemplary. Staff: The staffs were polite and welcoming. Delara gave me a good idea of what to cover and how to reach those places. I had a late evening flight, and the front desk manager allowed me a late checkout without any issues and most importantly without any extra charge. Cons: The Wi-Fi had issues for all the three days. But mostly I was out so it wasn't a pain. But one can expect better service in terms of getting it fixed at the earliest notice and not let the issue persist for 3 days. I would strongly recommend this hotel for its location, comfort, service and smiling staff members.

OK size room in a central location. Walk to attractions. Good breakfast. The honey with honeycomb on breakfast table is very interesting. Rooms were really hot when we arrived as the AC turned off until we got in.

The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating and were helpful in providing information on city transit. Situated in a central spot close to the tram and bus lines and within easy walking distance of so many museum and architectural sites made this a very good choice of hotel. The rooms are small but comfortable.

Staying at the ottoman imperial hotel is such a pleasure, one can not wait to repeat it. So clause to Aya Sophia and the blue mosque and all that Sultan Ahmet offers.. It is a five star experience, without the price tag of such hotels.. Highly recommended, from a traveler who knows the value of excellent hotels like the Ottoman Imperial Hotel in Istanbul..

Room options

Premium Room, 1 Double or 2 Twin Beds (Vezir / Sultan)

Queen 1 | Twin 2 | Sleeps 3

Standard Single Room

Twin 1 | Sleeps 2

Premium Single Room

Twin 1 | Sleeps 2

Premium Suite, 1 Double Bed with Sofa bed

Full 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Ottoman Hotel Imperial - Special Class

Everyone (6) Couples (19) Business (6) Family (5) Friends (2) Other (5)
5
Everyone

Wonderful all the way around. Would definitely stay again. Location can't be beat

By on Sep 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 14, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience at The Ottoman Hotel Imperial. It is wonderful to see that you loved our central location. We are very fortunate to be situated just next to the Hagia Sophia Museum. We very much look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit. Warm regards, The Team at Ottoman Hotel Imperial

4

nice hotel, close to attractions.

Everyone

Nice hotel, close to attractions, and within walking distance to shopping and dining. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. I have stayed at this hotel three years ago. Since then, the breakfast buffet scope has decreased, the table cloths have disappeared, the flooring is torn and moisture damaged in places and needs to be redone. Breakfast is ok, items appear to be bought and opened, rather than made in house for the breakfast. Otherwise, its ok. Rooms are small, no more than two people in the single queen bed rooms.

By on Aug 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 10, 2017

Dear Value Guest, It is a great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and liked the location of the hotel. Please kindly be assured that we have noted the shortcomings which you underlined when it comes to the breakfast hall and we'll be passing this on to the corresponding department. We are grateful that you have posted a review of your experience as we always appreciate the opportunity of maintaining and improving our services. And also, due to the historical age of the building, we do have a variety of rooms in different sizes, and we are sorry that you were dissatisfied with the size of the room you were allocated. We sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Ottoman Hotel Imperial again. With Warmest Regards. The Team at Ottoman Hotel Imperial

4

location is excellent for sightseeing, dining.

Everyone

Staff is Helpful and responsive. Nice restaurant on site.

By on Aug 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 7, 2017

Dear Guest, It is a great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit. Thank you for choosing The Ottoman Hotel Imperial. Warm regards, The Team at Ottoman Hotel Imperial

5

cosy hotel close to everything

Everyone

A very comfortable and modern room. The rooms are small but they are also very cosy with all the modern facilities. The hotel is perfectly positioned to all the major sights and I will very happily re-book here again!

By , from South Africa on Apr 18, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 20, 2017

Dear Phil, Thank you taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay at the Ottoman Hotel Imperial. We are delighted that you received such a favorable impression from our staff, our location, and your room. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and all of the team look forward to welcoming you back. Until the next time we wish you all the best! Warm regards, The Team at Ottoman Hotel Imperial

4

short stay in the heart of istanbul

Everyone

Beautiful hotel in Sultanahmet district of Istanbul, very convenient location to major attractions, restaurants, tram station etc. Hotel staff is very kind and helpful. Were impressed with variety and taste of breakfast dishes and nice view from restaurant. The only con is a slow internet, otherwise highly recommend this hotel. Adil.

By , from Houston, TX on Apr 3, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 8, 2017

Dear Adil, It is a great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and liked the location of the hotel.It is really pleased to read that you enjoyed most of the aspects of your stay especially your breakfast experience in our wonderful Matbah Restaurant. We appreciate your comment about our kind and helpful staff. Please kindly be assured that we have noted the shortcomings which you underlined when it comes to the Wifi and we'll be passing this on to the corresponding department. We are grateful that you have posted a review of your experience as we always appreciate the opportunity of maintaining and improving our services. We sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Ottoman Hotel Imperial again. Warm regards, The Team at Ottoman Hotel Imperial

5

not expensive hotel, but they treat you as a king

Everyone

The best, was a unique experience, everything close, the breakfast is good, the rooms clean, confortable.

By on Feb 25, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 2, 2017

Dear Guest; Thank you for having taken the time to review The Ottoman Hotel Imperial. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed the Hotel, the service and our central location. Thank you for staying with us and please come and visit us again! With Warmest Regards, The Team at Ottoman Hotel Imperial

4

a hidden gem

Families

A boutique hotel located literally steps from all historical sites and souvenir stores. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We easily walked back to our room in the middle of the day to relax and later continue sightseeing. The staff were extremely friendly and treated us like we were special guests in their own homes. The comprehensive breakfast buffet had everything from cold cuts to omelettes made to order and touches of Turkish delicacies. The Matbah Ottoman Restaurant within the hotel has, by far, the most authentic dishes made for the Sultans using original recipes. The staff made every arrangements we requested with a smile.

By on Dec 1, 2015

5

couldn't ask for more

Couples

We had an exceptional stay at the Ottoman Hotel Imperial. The service was exceptional with the staff going out of their way to make sure our accommodations were all they needed to be as well as to help us identify potential attractions to see in the area. The staff even went so far as to give me one of their personal umbrellas when it was raining. Wow. The room we had was all we could have asked for. They placed us on the Aya Sofia side of the hotel so our view was the majestic site both day and night. Wow #2. I can't think of any reason not to recommend this hotel. If you are looking for a quality room, excellent hospitality and a location that can not be beat, this is the place. We'll definitely be back. Thanks for an amazing stay!

By on Apr 6, 2015

5

great location, friendly people.

GetawayWithFriends

Hotel was great. I booked a room with two beds for me and my friend (both males) they asked if we were on holiday or business travel, when we said holiday they winked and gave us one bed. I suppose they assumed we were gay.

By on Feb 20, 2015

5

excellent hotel & location

Couples

Really nice hotel very close to the Blue Mosque and Haya Sophia. Really nice and comfortable hotel with very friendly staff.

By on Feb 4, 2015