Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The staff at the Hard Rock go above and beyond to take care of guests's needs and are so polite, thoughtful, organized, and friendly. The breakfast is outstanding, with a wide variety of choices for every taste, including options for vegetarians. The room was very comfortable and clean and comes with the option to have the sheets and towels replaced daily or not, at the preference of the guest; in the mini-bar, there is free bottled water replaced daily, but all other options such as beer and snacks are for a reasonable fee. The pool is beautiful and has music playing under the water. The only thing to keep in mind is that there can be a lot of children in the pool and there is not a section for adults only, so if total quiet in a kid-free zone is something that you want, this may not be the best choice for you. Additionally, while there is plenty of seating around the pool, there are no chaise lounges out on the beach. Renting a cabana is a great idea -- they have ceiling fans inside for extra comfort, for 60 ringgit for the day, it is an inexpensive option, especially since it comes with a giant platter of sliced fresh fruit. Great stay, overall.

Room was just cleared. Particularly wet carpet, strong smelling of сleaning products.

Room clean and nice Even that I was a Hotel guess they did not accept me for dinner on the Hard Rock Café (Bar), they claim that it was to full but they could accept people to have drinks only. At the lobby nice life music, the hamburger it was not so good

Excellent customer service. I will definitely come again and recommend to friends and families

Pros: - nice facility( beautiful, restaurants, bars, pools) - nice, clean, spacious rooms -good breakfast Cons: - compared to other much better hotels in the area, this hotel's bars and restaurants were ridiculously expensive - has a very quiet beach, you need to walk at least 30 min to reach the fun bars/restaurants at the beach line - although there are some hardrock cafe stuff all over the place but music was terrible..

If you like hundreds of screaming kids running out of control everywhere, this is your place. For a couple looking for a relaxing place to have a vacation and unwind, this is not it. Also, the breakfast buffet reminds me of a school canteen, with coffee that tastes like it was recycled from the trash can grounds of the local convenience store. Not even a 1 star experience, certainly not the 4 stars claimed.

Nice place for maily . Amazibg decor abd friendly staff

Batu Ferringhi Beach George Town Penang

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Ferringgi Beach
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Hard Rock Hotel Penang places you next to Ferringgi Beach and within a 15-minute walk of Batu Feringghi Night Market. This 5-star resort has 250 guestrooms and offers conveniences like 2 restaurants, a full-service spa, and an outdoor pool.


Dining

Enjoy dining at the resort's 2 onsite restaurants: Starz Diner specializes in Asian cuisine, and serves breakfast; dinner, or Pizzeria offers relaxing pool views. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with 24-hour room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café. For your convenience, a continental breakfast is served for a fee each morning from 6:30 AM to 11 AM.


Rooms

All 250 air-conditioned accommodations feature a separate bedroom. 50-inch LED TVs come with satellite channels and DVD players, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer rainfall showers, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Minibars, coffee makers, and free newspapers are other standard amenities.


Property features

Hard Rock Hotel Penang features a full-service spa, a nightclub, and an outdoor pool. You can take advantage of free parking, along with limo/town car service. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with concierge services, luggage storage, and dry cleaning/laundry. Other amenities at this beach resort include a children's pool, a health club, and free WiFi in public areas.

Room options

Hillview Deluxe Room

1 King Bed | 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 3

Seaview Deluxe Room

1 King Bed | 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 3

Rock Royalty Seaview Deluxe

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Studio Suite, 1 King Bed, Sea View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Everyone (3) Couples (2) Family (1)
4
Partner Couples

The staff at the Hard Rock go above and beyond to take care of guests's needs and are so polite, thoughtful, organized, and friendly. The breakfast is outstanding, with a wide variety of choices for every taste, including options for vegetarians. The room was very comfortable and clean and comes with the option to have the sheets and towels replaced daily or not, at the preference of the guest; in the mini-bar, there is free bottled water replaced daily, but all other options such as beer and snacks are for a reasonable fee. The pool is beautiful and has music playing under the water. The only thing to keep in mind is that there can be a lot of children in the pool and there is not a section for adults only, so if total quiet in a kid-free zone is something that you want, this may not be the best choice for you. Additionally, while there is plenty of seating around the pool, there are no chaise lounges out on the beach. Renting a cabana is a great idea -- they have ceiling fans inside for extra comfort, for 60 ringgit for the day, it is an inexpensive option, especially since it comes with a giant platter of sliced fresh fruit. Great stay, overall.

By , from Arizona on Jan 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 31, 2020

Hey there, JS! Thanks for taking the time to write us this wonderful review. Glad that you had such a great time with the facilities, amenities and services rendered to you. It’s particularly pleasing that you found the service from our team to be of such a high standard. Our staff pride themselves on ensuring that every guest leaves the hotel feeling like a rock star. Great to know that you enjoyed the new breakfast selection and quality. This feedback will be shared with our culinary team who will surely appreciate the compliment. They work hard to ensure the breakfast offerings are as good as they can be. Apologize about the noise issues you encountered during your stay. Hard Rock Hotel Penang is proudly a family-friendly hotel, and we love to see the kids having a great time all around the property. We do offer a Rock Royalty Lounge which can be a nice escape from the hustle & bustle of the kids play area down by the swimming pool. Besides that, there are a number of areas around the swimming pool (a good place is the poolside on the other side of the Pizzeria) which are typically much more peaceful for those guests looking for some quiet relaxation. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back for another rocking stay soon! Rockin' Regards, Michael Smeeton Executive Assistant Manager

3
Family with small children

Room was just cleared. Particularly wet carpet, strong smelling of сleaning products.

By on Oct 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 29, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay went. Your comment on the wet carpet and smell of cleaning products have been shared with the Housekeeping Manager. The wet carpet is mainly due to our guests running back up to the rooms while still wet after visiting the pool. We try to encourage drying off before returning to the rooms but as a family-friendly hotel, this can be a little difficult. We are currently in discussion as to how we can fix this issue. Hopefully during your next stay, we will have made a smart change to avoid the carpet getting wet on the daily. Hope to welcome you back to Hard Rock Penang soon and once again we appreciate your feedback at all times. Best Regards, Michael Smeeton Executive Assistant Manager

3

just in front of the beach, relaxing environment

Everyone

Room clean and nice Even that I was a Hotel guess they did not accept me for dinner on the Hard Rock Café (Bar), they claim that it was to full but they could accept people to have drinks only. At the lobby nice life music, the hamburger it was not so good

By on Jul 27, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 28, 2018

Greetings Anon! Thank you for taking the time to rate and review us. We are happy that you found our rooms to be clean and nice. Our Housekeeping Team will be very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff pride themselves on their dedication to guest service, and will be very pleased to know you appreciated their efforts. However, I feel there is a slight misunderstanding regarding your entry to the Cafe. On a night that is booked out and all tables are taken, we are unable to accommodate everyone's requirements unfortunately. I am sorry if this information was not relayed to you in a clearer manner and hope you'll return again for us to make a better impression and for you to enjoy the cafe with us. For weekend nights I would also recommend booking in advance. Best regards, Michael Smeeton Executive Assistant Manager

5

excellent customer service.

Everyone

Excellent customer service. I will definitely come again and recommend to friends and families

By , from Penang, Malaysia on Jul 17, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 19, 2017

Dear Sue, Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay at Hard Rock Hotel Penang. We are delighted to hear that you had such a rockin' experience with us. Our staff pride themselves on their dedication to guest service, and will be very pleased to know you appreciated their efforts. Thanks for the terrific review! We love what we do at the Hard Rock Hotel, and we can't thank you enough for recommending us. Kind Regards, John Primmer General Manager

4
Everyone

Pros: - nice facility( beautiful, restaurants, bars, pools) - nice, clean, spacious rooms -good breakfast Cons: - compared to other much better hotels in the area, this hotel's bars and restaurants were ridiculously expensive - has a very quiet beach, you need to walk at least 30 min to reach the fun bars/restaurants at the beach line - although there are some hardrock cafe stuff all over the place but music was terrible..

By , from Tehran/Chicago on Jan 24, 2017

Review comment responded on Feb 21, 2017

Dear Elmira, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Hard Rock Hotel Penang. We are very glad to read that you had such a rocking stay with us, and hope that were able to enjoy many of the facilities that the hotel offers. Thank you also for your feedback on the breakfast served. This feedback has been shared with the culinary team who will be very pleased to know you enjoyed their efforts. Your feedback on the prices of hotels bar and restaurant is noted. We are currently reviewing our pricing as we do on an annual basis to ensure we are competitive with other hotels in our area. We would love to be able to sell beers, etc. at the same prices as the roadside bars, however the hotel buys all its products from the authorised distributors, pays the relevant licenses, duties and taxes and has generally much higher overheads than these businesses. I am sorry that you found the music at Hard Rock Café was terrible. We will take into our consideration on your feedback regarding to the song selections from the current band playlists. However due to public demand, we play a variety of music genre’s rather than just rock. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon. Kind Regards, Michael Smeeton Executive Assistant Manager

1

avoid if you require peace and quiet

Couples

If you like hundreds of screaming kids running out of control everywhere, this is your place. For a couple looking for a relaxing place to have a vacation and unwind, this is not it. Also, the breakfast buffet reminds me of a school canteen, with coffee that tastes like it was recycled from the trash can grounds of the local convenience store. Not even a 1 star experience, certainly not the 4 stars claimed.

By on Dec 7, 2014

4

family

Family

Nice place for maily . Amazibg decor abd friendly staff

By on Oct 11, 2014

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/George-Town-Hotels-Hard-Rock-Hotel-Penang.h2784421-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /George-Town-Hotels-Hard-Rock-Hotel-Penang.h2784421-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/George-Town-Hotels-Hard-Rock-Hotel-Penang.h2784421-p2.Hotel-Reviews