Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Have stayed at this property several times in the past and never an issue until this past trip. I reserved and paid for a king studio suite, through Orbitz, we were traveling with our daughter and our grandson( 5 yo), we also had a late check in…room key did not work, ok, clerk had to manually do something to the door so that we could get in, we walk in to a king room, no sofa bed….I go advise the clerk and he blamed it on orbitz, I asked him to get me the room card for the correct room and he again blamed it on Orbitz, no apology for the error, just a little mouthy about it. I asked him to stopping placing blame and just get us into a room…he hands me the key cards and we move to a different floor, a king studio suite! The pullout sofa mattress had no support at the foot of the bed, literally hanging from the frame( I have pics), no bedding in the closet so now I have to make a phone call…not a good experience this trip.

Location was good

Great and friendly help at the desk. Clean rooms. Just what we needed and affordable.

Very clean with additional amenities not available at many hotels in area.

Comfortable beds, nice kitchen, just a decent home away from home. Free coffee and tea, workout space, and computr. Direct tv. Appliances and games available to borrow.No continental breakfast but foid and essentials available for purchase.

The room is adjoining to washer and drier facilities and there was constant noise of the same

Visiting relatives nearby so needed a clean, quiet place to sleep. This hotel fit our needs completely. Close to highway for easy access. Does not offer complementary breakfast like most in this category but didn't matter to us and seemed like there were few restaurants nearby. The hotel staff was friendly, room was clean, quiet and comfortable.

We were very pleasantly surprised at the accommodations of this hotel! Excellent value, clean rooms, excellent staff very accommodating! My wife and I would definitely do this again!

Front desk staff was horrible very rude. never again will i saty there. the room was very nice and clean

Went to the casino had good directions to get there, would like a shuttle so didn't have to drive, room very comfy and great price. Very clean and friendly staff. Good parking no problems at all.

It was nice an has a lot a room for my family the only bad was no brakfast in morning and the price was pretty steep but other then that it was ok stay

When I checked into my room it was about 38 degrees in there. The carpet was badly stained. The shower surround was coming off the wall.The phone was unpluged. My wife spoke to the front desk about the temp in our room and was told since we booked thru your site there was nothing they could do about a refund or the temp. We will not go back

Capital St Elgin IL

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour business center

Within a short walk of Presence Health, Candlewood Suites Elgin, an IHG Hotel is within 2 miles (3 km) of Sherman Hospital. This 83-room hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like a 24-hour gym, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Rooms

All 83 air-conditioned rooms feature kitchens with refrigerators, microwaves, stovetops, and dishwashers. Guests can expect 36-inch flat-screen TVs with satellite channels and DVD players, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Sofa beds, coffee makers, and rice cookers are other standard amenities.


Property features

At Candlewood Suites Elgin, an IHG Hotel, guests have access to a 24-hour gym, free WiFi in public areas, and a 24-hour business center. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with dry cleaning/laundry, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a computer station, free newspapers, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Studio Suite, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Studio Suite, 2 Double Beds, Accessible (Mobility, Roll-In Shower)

2 Double Beds | Sleeps 4

Studio Suite

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Studio Suite, 1 King Bed, Accessible (Mobility)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Candlewood Suites Elgin, an IHG Hotel

Everyone (5) Couples (3) Family (4)
2
Family with small children

Have stayed at this property several times in the past and never an issue until this past trip. I reserved and paid for a king studio suite, through Orbitz, we were traveling with our daughter and our grandson( 5 yo), we also had a late check in…room key did not work, ok, clerk had to manually do something to the door so that we could get in, we walk in to a king room, no sofa bed….I go advise the clerk and he blamed it on orbitz, I asked him to get me the room card for the correct room and he again blamed it on Orbitz, no apology for the error, just a little mouthy about it. I asked him to stopping placing blame and just get us into a room…he hands me the key cards and we move to a different floor, a king studio suite! The pullout sofa mattress had no support at the foot of the bed, literally hanging from the frame( I have pics), no bedding in the closet so now I have to make a phone call…not a good experience this trip.

By on Jan 3, 2022

Review comment responded on Jan 4, 2022

We apologize for an inconvneience you may have faced during your stay. The room you booked was, in fact, a king studio suite and not a king with sofa suite. In the past, you booked directly with us for a king with sofa suite. To avoid confusion, we would advise to call us directly and book for your specific needs, or call immediately after booking to confirm you booked the correct room. Again, our staff still gave you a complimentary upgrade. All furniture is in the process of being swapped and should be completed very soon! We hope to see you again and Happy New Year!

4
Partner Couples

Location was good

By on Jun 15, 2021

4
Family Business Business

Great and friendly help at the desk. Clean rooms. Just what we needed and affordable.

By on Jun 14, 2021

5
Everyone

By on Nov 27, 2018

5
Everyone

Very clean with additional amenities not available at many hotels in area.

By , from Elgin, IL on Mar 16, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 20, 2018

Thanks for the awesome review! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark for you. Come back and see us soon.

4

nice hotel on west side close to algonquin

Everyone

Comfortable beds, nice kitchen, just a decent home away from home. Free coffee and tea, workout space, and computr. Direct tv. Appliances and games available to borrow.No continental breakfast but foid and essentials available for purchase.

By on Sep 6, 2017

4

hotel is close to work place and highway

Everyone

The room is adjoining to washer and drier facilities and there was constant noise of the same

By , from CHI on Jan 17, 2017

4

convenient location

Everyone

Visiting relatives nearby so needed a clean, quiet place to sleep. This hotel fit our needs completely. Close to highway for easy access. Does not offer complementary breakfast like most in this category but didn't matter to us and seemed like there were few restaurants nearby. The hotel staff was friendly, room was clean, quiet and comfortable.

By , from Peoria illinois on Mar 1, 2016

5

wedding trip for our son

Couples

We were very pleasantly surprised at the accommodations of this hotel! Excellent value, clean rooms, excellent staff very accommodating! My wife and I would definitely do this again!

By on Jul 21, 2015

3

i guess

Couples

Front desk staff was horrible very rude. never again will i saty there. the room was very nice and clean

By on May 1, 2015

Candlewood Suites Elgin, an IHG Hotel

1780 Capital St, Elgin, IL 60124
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Elgin-Hotels-Candlewood-Suites-Elgin,-an-IHG-Hotel.h2462675-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Elgin-Hotels-Candlewood-Suites-Elgin,-an-IHG-Hotel.h2462675-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Elgin-Hotels-Candlewood-Suites-Elgin,-an-IHG-Hotel.h2462675-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions