Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The convenience of the facility's closeness of the airport, shuttle to airport, parking for length of my trip, and the bag breakfast.

This hotel is showing its age and then some. We stayed at this property to park and fly. That being said we stayed only 6 hours before our early morning flight. The room had a lingering smell of smoke even though smoking rooms haven’t existed in Iowa for better than a decade. I went so far as to keeping our luggage in the tiled bathroom to keep the smell out. Also my 7 year old was amused how the wall sconces would flicker when you moved on the bed. My expectations were set fairly low, and it managed fall short if even those.

Room smelled bad and then too much deodorizer to cover the smell and it was extremely loud the door closer and running up and down the stairs all night long. And the pool was broken had a fire couldn’t use the pool like I wanted to

Was a great stay, a nice area, close to restaurants. good price

The in room coffee service was not properly stocked. There was no tray in which to put the packets of coffee for brewing. Very disappointing.

The carpets were old and musty. Laundry machine was not working. The floor from the swimming pool to the lobby was wet with no attention to drying. Staff had trouble with the check in process

The front desk woman when we arrived was absolutely amazing. Incredibly helpful, great with my kids. The hotel was very clean and well organized. It was within walking distance to a Perkins which made it very convenient to feed the family after being dropped off to catch a flight the next morning.

Beds were super hard. Had rust and mold on ceiling in bathroom. Manager was very unprofessional. Scolded employee for asking for help and said “maybe next time you should try that before making me put pants on and come out here”

The front desk woman on duty on Mon, 9/9 during check-in was the most unfriendly front desk attendant I've ever encountered. Body language was hostile and unwelcoming and she could have cared less about providing service for us. She would be better suited as a gov't worker. No lie.

They have a nice free breakfast selection in the morning. We could've used a few more towels in our bathroom, and also the curtains in the room weren't sufficient. They were sheer and I was concerned for our privacy since we were on the first floor. We were waking up earlier than necessary because so much sunlight came in.

Great room... Great Service... Left an item there and got a quick notification, offered to mail it out (but I was coming back to town anyway).

shower fixtures leaked/sprayed breakfast lacked adequate fresh fruit selection/decaf coffee/milk

Great hotel, great staff. Very comfortable. So glad that we have Americinn's where we can always count on the quality.

Close to airport, average room. Refridgerator made noise, the unit it was in had the trim broken.

There was no elevator and we were on the second floor with grandkids and a lot of bags! The comment was they hoped they could put one in next year. Our room smelled of smoke in a nonsmoking hotel but there were 2 cigarette burns on the tub. The hotel staff was alerted and said it probably was just musty smelling??

We have stayed here in the past and were pleased hence why we returned, however this stay was like a different hotel completely. The front desk staff were courteous and polite but that is where the good stops. Our room smelled of sweaty gym socks/mold, was very humid and wouldn't lower during our stay, the television didn't work, the shower drained very slowly, the sink faucet leaked. The ice machine and soda machine on the second floor were out of order during our stay. The most disappointing was breakfast though, the breakfast staff didn't show up until 9:45 AM, when we went to breakfast it was a nightmare, the following were out and hadn't been refilled, waffle mix, syrup, milk, eggs, sausage, croissant, muffins, all four coffee pots. The area was a mess, tables were very dirty, breakfast counter was filthy, and garbage was overflowing. The breakfast employee showed up while we were down there, he appeared as if he just rolled out of bed, was unkept and dirty looking, just what the person I want to start handling food. I won't be staying at this Amercinn again.

Hackley Ave Des Moines IA

Hotel highlights

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Free airport shuttle

Located in Greater South Side within a 15-minute walk of Air Lanes Bowling Center, AmericInn by Wyndham Des Moines Airport is within a few miles (5 km) of Blank Park Zoo. This 62-room hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like an indoor pool and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free full breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 6 AM to 10 AM.


Rooms

All 62 soundproofed rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect free WiFi and 40-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include free local calls, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

Guests staying at AmericInn by Wyndham Des Moines Airport enjoy an indoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. You can take advantage of free parking, along with a free airport shuttle (available 24 hours). Front-desk staff are standing by 24/7 to assist with any requests. Additional amenities include a 24-hour business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and free newspapers.

Room options

Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Suite, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, Multiple Beds, Non Smoking

3 Queen Beds | Sleeps 6

Guest reviews for AmericInn by Wyndham Des Moines Airport

Everyone (15) Business (1) Couples (2) Family (9) Other (1)
5
Everyone

The convenience of the facility's closeness of the airport, shuttle to airport, parking for length of my trip, and the bag breakfast.

By on Jun 23, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 24, 2021

It is very easy to receive exceptional service and keep it to yourself. However, you took the time to share your positive experience with our office and we truly appreciate your feedback. Your comments on our performance were very generous and will be passed on to the appropriate staff members. It is always gratifying to know that our efforts were effective and appreciated.

2
Family

This hotel is showing its age and then some. We stayed at this property to park and fly. That being said we stayed only 6 hours before our early morning flight. The room had a lingering smell of smoke even though smoking rooms haven’t existed in Iowa for better than a decade. I went so far as to keeping our luggage in the tiled bathroom to keep the smell out. Also my 7 year old was amused how the wall sconces would flicker when you moved on the bed. My expectations were set fairly low, and it managed fall short if even those.

By on Jun 18, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 21, 2021

We are truly sorry that your experience did not meet your Expectations; please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your Stay. Constructive feedback from our guests is crucial in our continued quest satisfaction, to provide unparalleled guest service and impeccably clean lodging accommodations. Unfortunately we do our best to catch those who smoke in our rooms and we do not get them all, but thank you for letting us know so that I will make sure that this does not happen to another. I am very appreciative of your review and will work hard to get my hotel doing a better job. I will reach out to the Housekeeping staff so we may prevent this from happening in the Future!

1
Partner Couples

Room smelled bad and then too much deodorizer to cover the smell and it was extremely loud the door closer and running up and down the stairs all night long. And the pool was broken had a fire couldn’t use the pool like I wanted to

By on May 21, 2021

Review comment responded on May 26, 2021

I am sorry that we could not have the pool open due to fire, we did our best to get it fixed in a timely manner. We do hope to improve our service and be better for the next stay. Thank you for review we appreciate it.

5
Family

Was a great stay, a nice area, close to restaurants. good price

By on Apr 7, 2021

Review comment responded on May 5, 2021

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We truly love hearing our guest talk about the amenities around us. We hope to see you again

3
Everyone

The in room coffee service was not properly stocked. There was no tray in which to put the packets of coffee for brewing. Very disappointing.

By on Apr 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 5, 2021

We are truly sorry that your experience did not meet your Expectations; please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your Stay. Constructive feedback from our guests is crucial in our continued quest satisfaction, to provide unparalleled guest service and impeccably clean lodging accommodations. I will reach out to the Housekeeping staff so we may prevent this from happening in the Future!

2
Family

The carpets were old and musty. Laundry machine was not working. The floor from the swimming pool to the lobby was wet with no attention to drying. Staff had trouble with the check in process

By on Mar 26, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 5, 2021

Thank you for your Review! It is greatly appreciated; however, I am sorry you did experience some issues during your stay with the hotel staff. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay.

2
Everyone

By on Mar 22, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 5, 2021

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day! We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy parts of your stay we will work harder improve. We appreciate your review and look forward to your visit if your travels bring you back this way!

4
Everyone

By on Feb 18, 2020

5
Everyone

By on Jan 20, 2020

5
Family with small children Family

The front desk woman when we arrived was absolutely amazing. Incredibly helpful, great with my kids. The hotel was very clean and well organized. It was within walking distance to a Perkins which made it very convenient to feed the family after being dropped off to catch a flight the next morning.

By on Nov 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 25, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback. The staff will enjoy hearing about your uplifting words. We are glad that we could make the check in process smooth and provide you with directions to Perkins. Enjoy your trip home.

AmericInn by Wyndham Des Moines Airport

1920 Hackley Ave, Des Moines, IA 50315
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Des-Moines-Hotels-AmericInn-by-Wyndham-Des-Moines-Airport.h855969-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Des-Moines-Hotels-AmericInn-by-Wyndham-Des-Moines-Airport.h855969-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Des-Moines-Hotels-AmericInn-by-Wyndham-Des-Moines-Airport.h855969-p2.Hotel-Reviews