Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus/Near Fort Benning

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Absolutely nothing good about this hotel. If your looking for a place with nothing to do and absolutely nothing around to eat well this is the place for you

The property itself is run down hence the 3 stars however the staff make this 5! The bathrooms need updating but they were clean. Every person from the maid service to the women at the front desk and breakfast staff went above and beyond to help us - especially Mackayla! The location was perfect for a visit to Fort Benning - exit 3 off 185, (approx 10 minutes to get into the base and National Infantry Museum locations). The surrounding area was not the greatest. Not much to walk to for food but you can order take out. I would likely try another hotel next time unless there was a great price.

When we were looking online, it looked/was presented as a significantly less run down facility. The staff was fabulous and the exterior looked nice. The room was clean, but had a lot of stains. The toilet didn't flush well and the shower head was loose in the wall.

This was a nice hotel. Breakfast offered enough options. The facility was overall pretty well kept from what I could see. It was a good location to Fort Benning. I would stay here again.

Location to hwy was only plus. The location isn’t in the safest part of Columbus. Condition of hotel seemed drab and dirty. Needs to be freshened up

Location not the best for SE travel to and from Fort Mitchell.

Nice hotel that is close to Benning. Clean room. Common areas were clean for the most part.

Love the hotel, however, we were checked in a handicapp room. Was told by the hotel, Orbitz set the room type. Very disappointed with Orbitz for this process

Location was convenient, but house keeping was not up to par.

Nice hotel. Very good staff Room was not so big I would stay again there

When my daughter and I arrived on 3/7/18 approximately 6:30 pm, the lady that checked us in could not have been any nicer. She gave us directions to a nice restaurant to eat at that evening and directions to Fort Benning for the next morning. Very nice to have a friendly person behind the desk.

The pictures on line make the hotel look pretty good. The outside of the building has been re done. The inside is a totally different story. The inside needs some serious updating, it does not look like anything has been done inside since the hotel has been there. Our room was almost depressing with the dark painted walls, the uncomfortable mattress and the dirty carpet. I thought since it was a Windham hotel it would have been more up to standard. I would not stay at Microtel again.

The hot shower was lukewarm at best. The “high speed” Wi-Fi was a joke. No shampoo, but only lotion and conditioner. Don’t waste your money on this one.

It was a pleasant stay. Stayed there to visit my son at fort Benning.

The hotel staff was super nice and the room was cute and comfortable. The location was great, right next to the off-ramp and then just straight to the base on the interstate. Definitely would stay there again.

Quiet, clean and comfortable for overnight stay. Hotel staff very helpful. Continental breakfast very sparse as usual at these places but overall happy with the hotel.

Room was dirty, standing in ankle deep water during shower.. Because tub didn't drain. Bugs in the room .. Breakfast? The "pancake maker" was out of order .. Every elevator ride was shared with guests complaining about something different .. But nothing positive .

We stayed here is September, for Fort Benning family weekend. Right off the highway, and 15 minutes from our Soldier. So I booked 5 rooms for graduation, for 16 of us. Lashaun (spelling?) was phenomenal at check in. Seamless. I had to call a few times prior to arrival, and spoke with Diane - also wonderful and helpful. Then we met Charles. Manners that any parent would be proud of, and a smile that brightens the room. He really is what you want representing your company!!! Pro's - price, location, comfy beds, clean, breakfast "ok", employees. Con's - not enough towels, not enough coffee during the busy time, for evening/nights, it's just one employee, who is "everything". But we will be back! The awesome staff and the ease of the location, makes it the place we will stay for future visits.

Needed to increase my stay. Was charged double room rate. Will not stay here again.

3930 Saint Marys Road Columbus GA

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus/Near Fort Benning places you within a 10-minute drive of popular sights such as Columbus State University and Memorial Stadium. This 78-room hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like an outdoor pool and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is served on weekdays from 5:30 AM to 9:30 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

A flat-screen TV comes with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a coffee maker, free local calls, and an ironing board.


Property features

At Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus/Near Fort Benning, guests enjoy features like an outdoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. If you plan to drive, free parking is available. Front-desk staff are standing by 24/7 to assist with any requests. Additional amenities include conference space, a business center, and a microwave in a common area.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus/Near Fort Benning

Everyone (18) Couples (21) Business (4) Family (48) Friends (2) Other (10)
1
Partner Couples Families

Absolutely nothing good about this hotel. If your looking for a place with nothing to do and absolutely nothing around to eat well this is the place for you

By on Aug 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 8, 2019

Hello, I'm saddened to hear you could not find anything good about our hotel. We are only minutes away from numerous restaurants, close to Ft. Benning, just minutes from the Riverwalk, museums, and right off the Interstate which makes it easy to commute. Have a GREAT weekend ahead!

4
Everyone

By on Jun 17, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 17, 2019

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. A BIG thank you for the 4/5. We appreciate your feedback. Please have a TERRIFIC summer! Hope to see you again in the future!

3
Families Families

The property itself is run down hence the 3 stars however the staff make this 5! The bathrooms need updating but they were clean. Every person from the maid service to the women at the front desk and breakfast staff went above and beyond to help us - especially Mackayla! The location was perfect for a visit to Fort Benning - exit 3 off 185, (approx 10 minutes to get into the base and National Infantry Museum locations). The surrounding area was not the greatest. Not much to walk to for food but you can order take out. I would likely try another hotel next time unless there was a great price.

By on Jun 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 3, 2019

Hello! Thank you for the kind words for our staff. We all work hard to make sure each guest feels like they're family. Thank you for pointing out how close we are to the event areas for family weekend and graduation. Please have a GREAT summer! Be SAFE!

2
Partner Couples Families

When we were looking online, it looked/was presented as a significantly less run down facility. The staff was fabulous and the exterior looked nice. The room was clean, but had a lot of stains. The toilet didn't flush well and the shower head was loose in the wall.

By on May 19, 2019

Review comment responded on May 19, 2019

Hello Recent, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm saddened to hear you had issues with your stay. I hope you let the Front Desk or housekeeper know of your concerns. That way e can take care of whats wrong in the room. Thank you for mentioning the staff. We all do work hard to make your stay a good one. Please have a WONDERFUL and safe summer!

5
Families Partner Couples Families

This was a nice hotel. Breakfast offered enough options. The facility was overall pretty well kept from what I could see. It was a good location to Fort Benning. I would stay here again.

By on May 17, 2019

Review comment responded on May 17, 2019

Hello, Thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to leave us a review. We appreciate the 5/5 rating you gave us. Guest feedback is so very important. Hope to be able to host you again in the future! Have a GREAT weekend!

3
Families

Location to hwy was only plus. The location isn’t in the safest part of Columbus. Condition of hotel seemed drab and dirty. Needs to be freshened up

By on Apr 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 29, 2019

Hello, I'm saddened to see our hotel did not meet your standards. Hopefully you will give us another try when we have finished refreshing our hotel. Have a WONDERFUL day!

3
Business Business Travelers

Location not the best for SE travel to and from Fort Mitchell.

By on Mar 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 26, 2019

Hello, I'm sorry to hear our location was not the best for your travels. I do hope though that we provided you excellent service while you were here. Please have a SUPER rest of the week!

4
Everyone

Nice hotel that is close to Benning. Clean room. Common areas were clean for the most part.

By , from Minneapolis, MN on Nov 20, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 20, 2018

Hi Kurt, Thank you for your rating of 4/5 for our hotel. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. From our staff to your family, have a Happy Thanksgiving and a Merry Christmas!

5
Everyone

Love the hotel, however, we were checked in a handicapp room. Was told by the hotel, Orbitz set the room type. Very disappointed with Orbitz for this process

By , from Greensboro, NC on Nov 6, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 9, 2018

Hello Linda, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us a review. And thank you for the 5/5 rating of our hotel. I'm sorry you did get what you expected with your reservation. We do hope to be able to serve you again in the future. Have a WONDERFUL weekend!

3
Everyone

Location was convenient, but house keeping was not up to par.

By on Aug 13, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 22, 2018

Hello, I'm sorry for the late response to your review you gave our hotel. I am the new General Manager of our hotel. I have spoken with our Housekeepers and instructed the to do a better job. I have hired a few new Housekeepers and I feel I have a good staff now. I do apologize for you having a bad experience with us. I hope if you have the need to return to our area, you will give us another chance to show you our improvements. We hope you have a SUPER week ahead!

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Columbus/Near Fort Benning

3930 Saint Marys Road, Columbus, GA 31907
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.