Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

This property had a very nice aroma when you enter, the employees were very nice, and it doesn't feel like a normal hotel. Would stay here again for sure

The place was great! Everyone should stay at least a night If you like the look of a boutique space with coziness and unique amenities to the area (southern charm). We have satay at a Graduate at UW as well. They are found on several college campuses. My only negative that I mention only for feedback to the hotel as they seek opportunities for continuous improvement is timing of room cleans. We were out of our room from 8am to 4pm and it hadn’t been cleaned. I called the front desk and asked if it was going to happen and she said “well they didn’t start cleaning until noon...”. I thought that was a late start but I don’t make the rules. Since we wanted to lay down before heading out to dinner around 7 we could not get the room cleaned was my impression bc it was then too late. Other than that which was only a blip as my family of four don’t panic over sharing towels.... we will be back!

It was our first time staying in one of the graduates’ hotels, as we were heading down to see Congaree national park. We decided that in the future we would always try to stay in one of these hotels if we were near another college or university that has one. The hotel was very clean and FUN!! . The decoration was very charming and colorful, and looked very much different from other chain hotels!! They had healthy breakfast options as well. Overall really happy with our stay!!

Enjoyed the hotel and service but it was inconvenient to always have to go out of the hotel to find vegan food options.

The rooms were very nice and the staff was very nice. We were put into room 333 but I had to make two trips down to the desk to try to get into the room because the lock was not working. We were let in by a staff member and unpacked and then were told we had to move because the lock was broken. Our second room was fine until the day we checked out and then that lock stopped working. They only have one person At the desk and the hotel is quite busy so the weight to be helped was very long. I would definitely stay here again because it’s a perfect location and the staff was nice

Very nice "boutique-like" rooms. Great decor and high-end fixtures. Staff was very pleasant and helpful.

I loved how the hotel was decorated, very colorful and vibrant, it has a happy feel to it! The only complaint I have is the service at the bar/restaurant was terrible during the morning breakfast time. No servers acknowledged us so after 10 minutes we left with out getting coffee or anything to eat.

Location and parking were available at all the time. The staff was very friendly and helpful, except for the food menu

Location is very convenient for U of SC activities, facilities just renovated (though design comes off as just a little too much kitsch) so nice and new.

The location was good, the price was reasonable but everything else was very basic. The TV was pretty old and low quality, the AC was pretty old. In general, room facilities were mediocre.

I have been to this property three times. The first two visits met expectations. This past visit was not a good experience. They are in the middle of remodeling. The parking lot was modified to accommodate the workers/dumpsters...the ice machine room was being used as a tool shed (needed to go to third floor for ice)...loud radio as worker(s) entered the property in the morning to begin their day...lobby restroom out of commission. I understand that these are all part of remodeling, but they could have managed expectations by letting us know prior to arrival and offering a reduced rate (awful expensive for the experience).

Beautiful library and living room Housekeeping did an excellent job Front desk staff was incredibly accommodating

Loved the daily refreshments in the lobby. Very nice! Staff is always super helpful! Rooms are nice. No fan in bathrooms though

Coffee was not replenished and bathroom was not cleaned daily.

We liked the setting and the location. The staff was attentive. Parking was convenient (but was surprised at the $10 fee). Glad we could get a reservation.

Dirty property - dirt on doors and handles of room and door jams ... also, loud clicking noises at night that woke us up ... finally, very poor supply of hot water in the morning.

Pendleton Street Columbia SC

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to University of South Carolina and South Carolina State House
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • 24-hour fitness center

Located in University Hill, Graduate Columbia is adjacent to University of South Carolina and within a 15-minute walk of popular sights like South Carolina State House. This 166-room, 4-star hotel welcomes guests with a restaurant, a 24-hour fitness center, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

This hotel is home to a café and a bar/lounge. Cooked-to-order breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 6:30 AM to 1:00 PM.


Rooms

All 166 rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Free newspapers, free local calls, and free bottled water are also available. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

Graduate Columbia features a 24-hour fitness center, free WiFi in public areas, and conference space. If you drive, self parking is USD 10 per night, and there's also a free area shuttle. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with luggage storage, securing valuables, and dry cleaning/laundry. Additional amenities include a 24-hour business center, coffee/tea in a common area, and express check-in.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible (Graduate Queen Queen - Accessible)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 King Bed (Graduate Junior King Suite)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds (Graduate Queen Queen)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed (Graduate King)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Graduate Columbia

Everyone (29) Couples (3) Family (11)
5
Family

This property had a very nice aroma when you enter, the employees were very nice, and it doesn't feel like a normal hotel. Would stay here again for sure

By on Mar 13, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 15, 2021

We love hearing you had such an enjoyable experience with us and we hope you are able to visit with us again soon.

3
Everyone

By on Feb 26, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 2, 2020

Thank you for your rating, please feel free to reach out to us so that we can make sure that your next stay with us is a 5 of 5!

5
Family

The place was great! Everyone should stay at least a night If you like the look of a boutique space with coziness and unique amenities to the area (southern charm). We have satay at a Graduate at UW as well. They are found on several college campuses. My only negative that I mention only for feedback to the hotel as they seek opportunities for continuous improvement is timing of room cleans. We were out of our room from 8am to 4pm and it hadn’t been cleaned. I called the front desk and asked if it was going to happen and she said “well they didn’t start cleaning until noon...”. I thought that was a late start but I don’t make the rules. Since we wanted to lay down before heading out to dinner around 7 we could not get the room cleaned was my impression bc it was then too late. Other than that which was only a blip as my family of four don’t panic over sharing towels.... we will be back!

By on Feb 12, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 15, 2020

Thank you so very much for your review! We really appreciate the time you took from your day to let us know how we're doing! I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed so much about our property! We truly put everything we have into making our guests feel at home and are happy! So pleased to hear that we did that for you! I apologize for the timing of your housekeeping and will address that as soon as possible. I do hope to see you again very soon!!

4
Everyone

By on Feb 2, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 5, 2020

Thank you so much for your recent review! We really appreciate the time you took from your day to let us know how we're doing! We can't wait to see you again very soon!

5
Everyone

It was our first time staying in one of the graduates’ hotels, as we were heading down to see Congaree national park. We decided that in the future we would always try to stay in one of these hotels if we were near another college or university that has one. The hotel was very clean and FUN!! . The decoration was very charming and colorful, and looked very much different from other chain hotels!! They had healthy breakfast options as well. Overall really happy with our stay!!

By on Dec 30, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 30, 2019

Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!! Hope to see you again very soon!

4
Family

Enjoyed the hotel and service but it was inconvenient to always have to go out of the hotel to find vegan food options.

By on Nov 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 24, 2019

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it! I am sorry you had to leave to get the food you needed. I will certainly forward this information to management. We hope to see you again very soon!

4
Partner Couples Business Business

The rooms were very nice and the staff was very nice. We were put into room 333 but I had to make two trips down to the desk to try to get into the room because the lock was not working. We were let in by a staff member and unpacked and then were told we had to move because the lock was broken. Our second room was fine until the day we checked out and then that lock stopped working. They only have one person At the desk and the hotel is quite busy so the weight to be helped was very long. I would definitely stay here again because it’s a perfect location and the staff was nice

By on Nov 9, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 12, 2019

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, though busy, treated you well! We can't wait to see you again soon!

5
Family

Very nice "boutique-like" rooms. Great decor and high-end fixtures. Staff was very pleasant and helpful.

By , from Fairfax, VA on Oct 15, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 15, 2019

Thank you so very much for your kind words, great rating & awesome review! We love hearing that our guests enjoy our property as much as we do! The compliments to our staff have been passed on for proper recognition! We can't wait to see you again soon!

4
Business Business

I loved how the hotel was decorated, very colorful and vibrant, it has a happy feel to it! The only complaint I have is the service at the bar/restaurant was terrible during the morning breakfast time. No servers acknowledged us so after 10 minutes we left with out getting coffee or anything to eat.

By on Sep 22, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 8, 2019

Thank you so much for your feedback & rating! We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and atmosphere we aim to accomplish here at Graduate Columbia. I am sorry to hear that you had a poor experience at the bar. This information has been forwarded to our management team and corporate office. We hope to see you again soon!

4
Partner Couples Business Business

Location and parking were available at all the time. The staff was very friendly and helpful, except for the food menu

By on Aug 26, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 10, 2019

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are pleased to know that you had an excellent stay with us! We can't wait to see you again soon!

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Columbia-Hotels-Graduate-Columbia.h2515057-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Columbia-Hotels-Graduate-Columbia.h2515057-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Columbia-Hotels-Graduate-Columbia.h2515057-p2.Hotel-Reviews