Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Nice hotel has all of the basics. Large rooms and walking distance to good restaurants.

Clean room - yay, mechanical noise and other guest noise - boo. Impersonal front desk employees, engaging restaurant/bar/cleaning staff.

When I booked the I was not for-warned the pool is out of order and the price was enough that there should have been adjusted, they never offered, I never asked, I was very disappointed. The employees were very friendly.

Enjoyed ourselves! The staff is friendly and hotel is fantastic!

Great place to stay. Water fall is a great touch. Check in was quick and easy.

Room was very clean. Beds were very comfortable. The food at breakfast was just ok and a little pricey. Lunch at the hotel café was good and not a bad price. Location of the hotel was very good. Golf course was right next door and the hotel was close to the main road of Bowling Green making it easy to get to a lot of shopping.

There were about 10 people in front of me to check in so I settled in for a wait, only there wasn't one. The staff moved quickly and efficiently between guests seeing to everyones needs. The room was very large and the bed was especially comfortable. Overall I enjoyed my short stay at this property.

I used ----- to book Holiday Inn in Bowling Green, KY. Bowling Green was approx. the midway point for us as we live near Cleveland, OH and had vacationed in Destin, FL. We split up our car travel into 2 days. When we arrived at the Bowling Green Holiday after 9 hours on the road we were given a smoking room though we had requested a non-smoking room. The stench of the room was unbearable as was the elevator which also smelled of stale smoke. We were told non-smoking rooms were not avail. We found another room and we're not refunded as our non-smoking room preference wasn't guaranteed.

It was a comfortable, clean updated room. Would definitely stay there again. Restaurant staff was great. They seriously need to replace lobby chairs though. Ugh!

Although the hotel's rooms and bath areas are a bit tired, this Holiday Inn has a great location and very friendly staff.

I would give this a 4 star in relation to the other hotels in the area as it's the best choice, but in comparison to the hotels I like to stay at this is a 3 star in my mind. The whole lobby smelled like an indoor pool..that chlorine smell. Shower could use some updating, but the room was clean. "Fresh fruit" bowl I ordered for breakfast had canned pineapples and the melons were out of season. Overall it's a good hotel, clean and friendly staff, great location - but a 4 star rating from me has to have a little more luxury.

This hotel has a nice atrium but needs updating. Rooms are spacious.

This is by far the best in Bowling Green. Very nice open atrium, good view of golf course from room. I really enjoyed my stay.

This place fulfilled my needs for my purpose of being in town. The room was spacious, the wifi was actually free and included and the price was very reasonable. Good value. Although it didn't matter for me, it's literally right next door to the convention center.

We went for Valentine's Day weekend and it was lovely. It wasn't noisy, and the pool/hot tub was open until midnight. Even the bathroom accessories were nicer than I was expecting.

They upgraded us to a suite after questioning if we could get a refrigerator and a microwave, that was a nice touch, BUT wi-fi does not work in the suites, you have to go in the hall or in the lobby or anywhere in the hotel but not a suite. Bathroom had a little odor to it, not sure what it was as it seemed clean, but still an odor. This seems to be a conference type hotel as there were a few going on during our stay. No free breakfast, Holiday Inn express offers free breakfast, Hampton Inn, the list goes on. for 2 people thats a good 10-20 dollars extra a day you have to pay out, so keep that in mind. This is a good location next to a nice neighborhood, more away from the main area, but not far at all.

Great Location, we came for the corvette homecoming and were right there at it. Real close to all restaraunts and attractions in Bowling Green. The bed was one of the best we had ever slept on. The only real complaint is the open design of the hotel allows for more noise if anyone is out and about.(Like the ball players).

The room was very comfortable and the atrium was beautiful. The elevator took some time, but was okay overall. The location was very convenient.

Did not leave enough towels

Room options

Room, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room

King 1 | Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Executive Suite, Non Smoking

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green

Everyone (2) Couples (8) Business (5) Family (4)
4

one of the nicer holiday inns that we have stayed.

Everyone

Nice hotel has all of the basics. Large rooms and walking distance to good restaurants.

By , from Naples on Jul 18, 2016

2

nice location, noisy

Everyone

Clean room - yay, mechanical noise and other guest noise - boo. Impersonal front desk employees, engaging restaurant/bar/cleaning staff.

By on Jun 10, 2016

Review comment responded on Jun 24, 2016

Thanks for your feedback. We appreciate you sharing your experience and I am glad your room was clean and you had a positive experience with the F&B team. I apologize for the noise and the impersonal Front Desk service you experienced. We hope to get another opportunity to show you the level of service we normally provide. Best Regards ~ Brian, GM

3

no pool, no warning

Families

When I booked the I was not for-warned the pool is out of order and the price was enough that there should have been adjusted, they never offered, I never asked, I was very disappointed. The employees were very friendly.

By on Aug 15, 2014

4

getaway

Couples

Enjoyed ourselves! The staff is friendly and hotel is fantastic!

By on Aug 11, 2014

5

alwsome

BusinessTravelers

Great place to stay. Water fall is a great touch. Check in was quick and easy.

By on Jun 28, 2014

4

good location

Couples

Room was very clean. Beds were very comfortable. The food at breakfast was just ok and a little pricey. Lunch at the hotel café was good and not a bad price. Location of the hotel was very good. Golf course was right next door and the hotel was close to the main road of Bowling Green making it easy to get to a lot of shopping.

By on Jun 24, 2014

4

fastest check in ever

BusinessTravelers

There were about 10 people in front of me to check in so I settled in for a wait, only there wasn't one. The staff moved quickly and efficiently between guests seeing to everyones needs. The room was very large and the bed was especially comfortable. Overall I enjoyed my short stay at this property.

By on Apr 30, 2014

1

hideous experience after long journey

Families

I used ----- to book Holiday Inn in Bowling Green, KY. Bowling Green was approx. the midway point for us as we live near Cleveland, OH and had vacationed in Destin, FL. We split up our car travel into 2 days. When we arrived at the Bowling Green Holiday after 9 hours on the road we were given a smoking room though we had requested a non-smoking room. The stench of the room was unbearable as was the elevator which also smelled of stale smoke. We were told non-smoking rooms were not avail. We found another room and we're not refunded as our non-smoking room preference wasn't guaranteed.

By on Apr 28, 2014

4

new year rendezvous

Couples

It was a comfortable, clean updated room. Would definitely stay there again. Restaurant staff was great. They seriously need to replace lobby chairs though. Ugh!

By on Jan 5, 2014

3

close to downtown

BusinessTravelers

Although the hotel's rooms and bath areas are a bit tired, this Holiday Inn has a great location and very friendly staff.

By on Sep 23, 2012