Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Marina Resort

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

My family and i spent two nights in this hotel And had an awesome stay. The room is updated and clean. the bed was comfortable and had everything we needed. The view is amazing specially in the morning. It so nice to wake up to such an amazing view from this hotel.

I was on the bottom floor and could hear every movement the neighbor and their kids made. Quite time is at 10pm but neighbors did not seem to care and the noise was horrible. Called front desk several times to yell them to be quite. Bed is a full size, not a queen bed.

I guess its a good choice if you are on a budget and still want to be next to the lake. The location of the hotel is very central. Its right next to the lake (although I think there are others in the vicinity that are even closer to the lake). The hotel is right next of Big Bear Village. It has a outdoor hot tub, which was awesome. Decent staff. Good rooms. Nominal resort fee of $6.50 per night. I would recommend this hotel.

After choosing the accomodations on line, the real thing was more than I expected. Very nice rooms with very comfortable beds, extra points with me, thank you. The detail in the room was fresh and clean. Not the musty , mountian rooms ive seen i other places. The marble in the bath and the pool and jaccuzzi were clean and well secured. We had a great time and will book you agian. Thanks

The room was great, comfy bed for sure. The view of the lake from the room and blacony was great. Bonus is that you can walk to all the restaurants and businesses from the hotel room. I will be going back for another stay.

It was a good location but for almost $250 per night with taxes and fees I would expect more. There were stains on the carpet, blades from the blinds are missing, and towels that were on the floor were not removed or replaced (and toiletries were not replaced). The maid just made the beds and nothing else. Many of these were firsts for me in a bad way

Carpet was filthy in room. Room needed a regular reading light between the beds. wifi lacked realistic security. tv kept losing signal but there was a minor storm. All staff was very friendly. Banquet tent was nice. Adding insult to injury was a $16 resort fee for what? Disgusted.

Great location. Close to dining, shopping and right on the lake. Nice Pool and spa.

First, this hotel has a great view of Big Bear Lake and the location is convenient for walking to the Village shops and restaurants. This is the only reason I didn't rate it a 2. However, calling it a resort is a massive overstatement and charging a resort fee is ridiculous. It is an average hotel, with a small pool, an outdoor ping pong table, volleyball court and grilling/picnic area. There were a lot of families and the pool was full of screaming children and not at all relaxing. It looks like there used to be a small beach, but the water level in the lake is so low that now there's just a marshy area adjacent to the sand. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are basic and dated. The linens smelled strongly of bleach and caused my skin to itch. I wanted to leave my balcony door open to enjoy the cool mountain air at night, but the screen fitted poorly and bugs were getting into the room. I could hear people talking as they passed by my front door throughout the evening. I think overall, it is overpriced and not a good place for a couple to stay. Maybe it's better if you go with a bunch of loud kids, as you'll fit right in!

The location is great. All rooms have the lake view. The room is small but clean. The hotel staff are polite. They are doing remodeling now, all things should be quite new. However, the hotel building is fairly old, just OK maintained. The parking lot has many cracks. The garden is lack of green. It is a positive experience to stay there.

We were very impressed when we saw our room at the Marina Resort. It was small but had a rustic look with all modern conveniences. We were on the bottom floor with a nice patio where we could watch the kids play with the many recreational supplies and see the great sunsets. The pool and jacuzzi were also very nice. Although the resort literally sits on the shore of the lake, I don't believe you can swim in the lake from the shore by the hotel (it was too cold when we were there anyway). There is a small marina right next door where a boat can be rented if you're so inclined. My only complaints are minor: there is only one ice machine that I could find and they don't want you to use it for cooler fills and there is no breakfast offered. There is a nice "bar" in the lobby with coffee, tea, and water as well as a microwave to heat your own food but nothing to eat is offered. We weren't expecting breakfast since the hotel doesn't state anywhere that it's offered, but at least a continental breakfast would have been a nice touch. When we ventured into the "Village" across the street to get breakfast we only found 1 restaurant open for breakfast (Teddy Bear restaurant). It was nice but they don't take credit cards so I had to use the ATM in the lobby to get cash to pay the bill. All in all we really enjoyed our 2 nights at the Marina Resort and if we ever go back to Big Bear Lake, we would probably stay there again.

Booked the hotel for my husband's birthday stay. Wanted to experience being right on the lake. It was a bit disappointing to find out that the pool and jacuzzi was being renovated during our stay. So our view was not of the lake and pool, but of a lake and construction workers. Plus they started work before 7am, right outside of our room. So no sleeping in for us.

Would stay there again. Recommend highly. Good deal for eithe business or pleasure.

Hotel is expensive and uncomfortable Restroom is ugly Bed was really really uncomfortable

40770 Big Bear Blvd Big Bear Lake CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Concierge services

Marina Resort places you next to Pine Knot Marina and within a 5-minute walk of Pine Knot Park. This 3-star hotel welcomes guests with 50 rooms and conveniences like an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking. It's in central Big Bear Lake and also a short walk from Big Bear Visitor Center and Big Bear Marina.


Rooms

All 50 air-conditioned rooms provide furnished balconies or patios, private yards, and refrigerators. Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include coffee makers, ceiling fans, and phones.


Property features

Guests staying at Marina Resort enjoy an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and free WiFi in public areas. There's free parking if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with concierge services, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Other amenities at this ski hotel include a seasonal outdoor pool, coffee/tea in a common area, and a garden.

Room options

Marina Resort - 2 Queens- Balcony Level - Lake View

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Marina Resort -1 King Bed Lake View

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Forest Shores - Deluxe 2 Bedroom Condo (Next Door)

King 2 | Full 1 | Sleeps 6

Forest Shores - Lakefront Studio (Next Door)

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Marina Resort

Everyone (14) Couples (1)
5

great view and peaceful.

Everyone
view from the baclcony

My family and i spent two nights in this hotel And had an awesome stay. The room is updated and clean. the bed was comfortable and had everything we needed. The view is amazing specially in the morning. It so nice to wake up to such an amazing view from this hotel.

By , from V on Apr 29, 2017

Review comment responded on May 1, 2017

Johnny, thank you for bringing the family to our property! We are so happy you had an amazing time! Thank you!

2

noisy neighbors

Everyone

I was on the bottom floor and could hear every movement the neighbor and their kids made. Quite time is at 10pm but neighbors did not seem to care and the noise was horrible. Called front desk several times to yell them to be quite. Bed is a full size, not a queen bed.

By on Mar 9, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 19, 2017

We are so sorry to hear that you had a noisy environment during your stay. We appreciate that you let us know so that we could address the issue for you. We offer rooms with either king or queen mattresses, and do not have full sizes in any rooms. Thank you for your feedback.

4

decent hotel near the lake

Everyone

I guess its a good choice if you are on a budget and still want to be next to the lake. The location of the hotel is very central. Its right next to the lake (although I think there are others in the vicinity that are even closer to the lake). The hotel is right next of Big Bear Village. It has a outdoor hot tub, which was awesome. Decent staff. Good rooms. Nominal resort fee of $6.50 per night. I would recommend this hotel.

By on Dec 21, 2016

Review comment responded on Jan 3, 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for the recommendation!

5

great! loved the location

Everyone

By on Oct 23, 2016

Review comment responded on Oct 26, 2016

Wonderful! Thank you!

5

nice place in the mountians.

Everyone

After choosing the accomodations on line, the real thing was more than I expected. Very nice rooms with very comfortable beds, extra points with me, thank you. The detail in the room was fresh and clean. Not the musty , mountian rooms ive seen i other places. The marble in the bath and the pool and jaccuzzi were clean and well secured. We had a great time and will book you agian. Thanks

By , from Orange,California on Sep 15, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 24, 2016

That's great Elena! We look forward to your next visit!

5

great hotel by the lake

Everyone

The room was great, comfy bed for sure. The view of the lake from the room and blacony was great. Bonus is that you can walk to all the restaurants and businesses from the hotel room. I will be going back for another stay.

By on Sep 13, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 24, 2016

We look forward to seeing you again!

3

nice location but otherwise just ok

Everyone

It was a good location but for almost $250 per night with taxes and fees I would expect more. There were stains on the carpet, blades from the blinds are missing, and towels that were on the floor were not removed or replaced (and toiletries were not replaced). The maid just made the beds and nothing else. Many of these were firsts for me in a bad way

By , from Orange County, CA on Sep 5, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 24, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are disappointed to hear about the cleaning and maintenance issues you experienced. We apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations and thank you for letting us know your experience.

2

overpriced 2 star at most.

Everyone

Carpet was filthy in room. Room needed a regular reading light between the beds. wifi lacked realistic security. tv kept losing signal but there was a minor storm. All staff was very friendly. Banquet tent was nice. Adding insult to injury was a $16 resort fee for what? Disgusted.

By , from AZ on Aug 29, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 5, 2016

We are so sorry to hear you had a negative experience with us. As most of our resort has been updated, we continue to update and improve our property. Thank you for your review.

4

great lake view.

Everyone

Great location. Close to dining, shopping and right on the lake. Nice Pool and spa.

By , from Las Vegas, NV on Aug 27, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 5, 2016

Lee, we are so glad you could take advantage of our prime location. Thank you for saying with us!

3

not a resort!

Couples

First, this hotel has a great view of Big Bear Lake and the location is convenient for walking to the Village shops and restaurants. This is the only reason I didn't rate it a 2. However, calling it a resort is a massive overstatement and charging a resort fee is ridiculous. It is an average hotel, with a small pool, an outdoor ping pong table, volleyball court and grilling/picnic area. There were a lot of families and the pool was full of screaming children and not at all relaxing. It looks like there used to be a small beach, but the water level in the lake is so low that now there's just a marshy area adjacent to the sand. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are basic and dated. The linens smelled strongly of bleach and caused my skin to itch. I wanted to leave my balcony door open to enjoy the cool mountain air at night, but the screen fitted poorly and bugs were getting into the room. I could hear people talking as they passed by my front door throughout the evening. I think overall, it is overpriced and not a good place for a couple to stay. Maybe it's better if you go with a bunch of loud kids, as you'll fit right in!

By , from Los Angeles on Jul 13, 2016

Review comment responded on Jul 19, 2016

Robert, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We try to offer our guests a superior experience and apologize that you did not feel that way. Though we hope for higher lake levels soon, we cannot control the amount of precipitation we receive. We are happy you were pleased with our prime location. Thank you for your review.