Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Great location, very helpful concierge, & beautiful property!

its close to everything we wanted to go to.. can walk to the train station

Booked in in morning and was told all check in procedure completed. Just to pick up room card after 15.00. On arrival at 17.00 no room was found as it had been given to another guest. Took twenty minutes before another room was found but it was upgraded and received a complimentary breakfast.

The property location and size of the room is unbeatable. Totally worth staying here. It's nice and quiet and still in the heart of the city. We walked everywhere from this location, which took less than 20 minutes in every direction to major attractions. The rooms were a little dated, but it was clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend this place.

Good location in inner city. Good (15 minutes) pedestrian access to sights in city center. E15 taxi to most museums and sights. Lots of street noise at night (but they even provide ear plugs).

Nice good location. Good breakfast. Stadf wasnt that attentive to problems and issues that came up.

My flight to Amsterdam arrived at 11 AM and I got to the hotel by a little after noon. Nobody at the door to help with luggage and the stairs are steep, I had a difficult time getting my luggage inside. I was told check in was at 3 PM and I'd have to wait. I inquired if they could get my room ready first since I was there. They wouldn't even think about any accomodation. The lady at the counter took my suite case and told me she would have it put in my room. That didn't happen either. What they call breakfast is a total joke. Cold food! The rugs in the hotel lobby are filthy dirty--it looks like one to the left of the check in desk hadn't EVER been cleaned. I've been all over the world and this hotel should NOT be given a 4 star rating. Too many negatives.

Hotel was great for our stay. It is in a great location. The rooms were fairly priced. We had a room with two twin beds. The breakfast was over priced at 20 euros a person. We were able to eat breakfast in Amsterdam for much less than that elsewhere. Otherwise, I have no complaints. The hotel was quiet and clean.

Great location. Air conditioning was weak and uncomfortable.

This hotel is right off the high-end shopping street in Amsterdam, and within walking distance to Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum and the Concertgebouw. We weren't using any Wi-Fi on this trip so I don't know how their service is.

My room did not have working heat, in February, that made for a very cold night.

short walk from Central Station or can take local train. Fresh and clean room, very quiet around and close to main area attractions. Short walks to the museums, Heineken experience, Red Light District. Young and friendly staff at the hotel

Paid for a wifi connection that barely worked. My hotel in India had a better connection, India! But otherwise, great central location that allowed me to walk to anywhere in the city. The room was also rather large for a European hotel.

We were in Amsterdam for three days. The city itself was beautiful and quaint and the people very friendly. The hotel was excellent. The clerk who checked us in was witty and informative, especially while trying to ascertain the difference between a twin and a double bed! The room was spacious and the large'ish bathroom was appreciated, as well as a real, standup shower, as opposed to a hand shower. The room was cleaned daily, the bed was comfortable, the temperature was great and the blackout curtain worked well. The location was perfect - wthin walking distances of anything in City Centre. Our only criticism is that the coke machines did not contain bottled water. A great hotel for the price!

Location is really good. Hotel is good and clean, but nothing overly exciting about it. Somewhat loud at night: there is noise from the street and you can hear everything that goes on in the hall. If you have a car, parking is 40 Euros per day.

This was my first visit to Amsterdam and we arrived by train at the Central Station. The hotel accommodated our early arrival. Our room was not ready, but they found another room, that was slightly upgraded (without charge) and allowed us to check-in early. The location is about 3-4 blocks from the Central Station but very close to the tram stop(s). We requested a canal side view and they happily complied. The staff graciously offered suggestions for dining and provided directions readily. They also allowed us to store our luggage after check-out and were friendly even when busy with other guests. Our room was clean with wood floors and was generously sized. The bathroom had large counter space and very nice shower (no tub). It was located near many popular bars and restaurants and just blocks from the city centre.

The hotel is well situated for seeing all the sites. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and had nice bathrooms. A good place to stay for visiting Amsterdam, everything was in easy walking distance. I would recommend to anyone looking for a an affordable stay in Amsterdam.

This was a very nice hotel; pretty basic amenities but very helpful front desk staff, clean and spacious bath and bedroom. Located just a few blocks from the Anne Frank House, Rembrandt's home, lots of good restaurants in varying price ranges. The hotel has a continental breakfast for 15 Euros per person, and it was good. It may seem expensive, but it saves having to walk around to find breakfast in another restaurant, which will probably be just as expensive, unless you just want coffee and a pastry. (This has eggs, hot and cold meats, fruit, pastries, cheese, breads and coffee and tea, juice) We happened to be there on April 30, the Queen's birthday--a national holiday. Lots of people come to Amsterdam for this, and it's a crowded, all-day party--we were right in the thick of it at this hotel, but since our room was located in the inner part of the building (it's like an "O" shape), the noise level was fine that evening!

Spuistraat 288-292 Amsterdam

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Begijnhof and Amsterdam Museum
  • Free in-room WiFi
  • Onsite dining
  • Business center

Located in Amsterdam City Centre, NH City Centre Amsterdam is next to popular attractions like Begijnhof and Amsterdam Museum. This 213-room, 4-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like a restaurant, a bar/lounge, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

This hotel serves as home to a bar, along with a restaurant that specializes in local cuisine. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with room service, or get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café. Start each morning with buffet breakfast, available for a fee from 7 AM to 11 AM.


Rooms

NH City Centre Amsterdam's 213 rooms provide minibars, coffee makers, and safes. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Rooms also include phones.


Property features

Guest of NH City Centre Amsterdam enjoy features like a meeting room, a business center, and coffee in a common area. Self parking is offered for EUR 50.00 per day. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with tours or tickets, dry cleaning/laundry, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include free newspapers, laundry facilities, and a TV in a common area.

Room options

Superior Triple Room (Extra Large)

1 Double Bed and 1 Twin Bed | 3 Twin Beds | Sleeps 3

Superior Room, Canal View

1 Double Bed | Sleeps 2

Superior Room (Extra Large)

1 Double Bed | 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Standard Single Room

1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 1

Guest reviews for NH City Centre Amsterdam

Everyone (8) Couples (8) Business (2) Family (6) Other (3) Friends (4)
5
Friends

Great location, very helpful concierge, & beautiful property!

By on Nov 3, 2019

5
Everyone

its close to everything we wanted to go to.. can walk to the train station

By on Oct 22, 2019

4
Families

Booked in in morning and was told all check in procedure completed. Just to pick up room card after 15.00. On arrival at 17.00 no room was found as it had been given to another guest. Took twenty minutes before another room was found but it was upgraded and received a complimentary breakfast.

By on Jul 6, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 8, 2019

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to see that you experienced some inconveniences during the check in. I am however glad to read that you were compensated and that you still managed to have an enjoyable stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Guest Relations

5
Families

The property location and size of the room is unbeatable. Totally worth staying here. It's nice and quiet and still in the heart of the city. We walked everywhere from this location, which took less than 20 minutes in every direction to major attractions. The rooms were a little dated, but it was clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend this place.

By on Jun 25, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 25, 2019

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for this perfect score. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the central location of NH City Centre. It is true that our hotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam which makes it close to all the main points of attraction. Furthermore, thank you for the kind remarks concerning our rooms. Moreover, the fact that you would recommend our hotel to other travelers is the biggest compliment we can possible receive. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Guest Relations

5
Everyone

By on Jun 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 25, 2019

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to rate us. I am glad to see that the services provided by NH City Centre were up to your satisfaction. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future and to make sure that you will have a memorable stay in our hotel. Kind regards, Guest Relations

3
Families

Good location in inner city. Good (15 minutes) pedestrian access to sights in city center. E15 taxi to most museums and sights. Lots of street noise at night (but they even provide ear plugs).

By on May 3, 2019

Review comment responded on May 3, 2019

Dear BJ, thank you for sharing your experience with us on Expedia. I am very happy to read that you liked the central location of our hotel. However, I am sorry that this also caused you some discomfort. I do hope we may welcome you back in the future to show you one of more quiet rooms. Kind regards, Guest Relations

4
Everyone

Nice good location. Good breakfast. Stadf wasnt that attentive to problems and issues that came up.

By on Dec 23, 2018

Review comment responded on Dec 28, 2018

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at NH City Centre Amsterdam. I am pleased to read you enjoyed our central location. However, I would like to apologize for your experience regarding our service. I have already shared your review with my entire team, we really appreciate your feedback. We hope you will give us a second chance, so that we may have an opportunity to convince you that your recent experience is most unusual for us. Kind regards, Guest Relations

5
Everyone

By on Oct 3, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 4, 2018

Dear guest, thank you for a 5 star rating! Kind regards, Guest Relations

3

wanna be 4 star hotel

Everyone

My flight to Amsterdam arrived at 11 AM and I got to the hotel by a little after noon. Nobody at the door to help with luggage and the stairs are steep, I had a difficult time getting my luggage inside. I was told check in was at 3 PM and I'd have to wait. I inquired if they could get my room ready first since I was there. They wouldn't even think about any accomodation. The lady at the counter took my suite case and told me she would have it put in my room. That didn't happen either. What they call breakfast is a total joke. Cold food! The rugs in the hotel lobby are filthy dirty--it looks like one to the left of the check in desk hadn't EVER been cleaned. I've been all over the world and this hotel should NOT be given a 4 star rating. Too many negatives.

By , from California on May 3, 2018

Review comment responded on May 7, 2018

Dear John, first of all thank you for providing us with such a detailed review. We are happy to read you did enjoyed our central location in Amsterdam. However we very much regret we were not able to meet your expectations regarding your arrival and breakfast. As a 4 star hotel unfortunately we don't have a bell boy in the hotel to assist with luggage. However our guest relations is located in the lobby and would be glad to assist you with the luggage. We will share your comments with our restaurant manager regarding the breakfast to improve our level of quality and service. With kind regards, Guest Relations

4
Everyone

Hotel was great for our stay. It is in a great location. The rooms were fairly priced. We had a room with two twin beds. The breakfast was over priced at 20 euros a person. We were able to eat breakfast in Amsterdam for much less than that elsewhere. Otherwise, I have no complaints. The hotel was quiet and clean.

By on Oct 1, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 6, 2017

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel. However, I am sorry that you experienced the breakfast as overpriced, but luckily you found another nice place to have breakfast. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future! Kind regards,

url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Amsterdam-Hotels-NH-City-Centre-Amsterdam.h26865-p2.Hotel-Reviews