Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The rooms here are equivalent to a Days Inn. There is no way you would ever want to spend more than 5 minutes inside. The beach is decent but there are vendors approaching you constantly, so it’s not a relaxing experience. The hotel does not actually have beach chairs (or food service) on the beach, you have to get those from vendors. The restaurant and bar were meh. There is a German man that lives at the hotel. When I was there, he had “adopted” a baby possum which he carried around with him everywhere and hand fed it at the bar. It was completely disgusting. Oh and this man’s dog roamed around the restaurant begging people for food. I was supposed to stay for three nights but left after two and went to the W Reserva Conchal. I knew the Diria wasn’t the Four Seasons, but it definitely wasn’t for me. Positives were the beach view from my room, my patio (which was not very private, but ok), and the cute pool. Other reviewers have given this place a 4.1 rating. If your tastes are more aligned with the W/Four Seasons then you may find this place a solid 2.5.

We had a fantastic stay at Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort. We are a family or four and we had an ocean view room on the ground floor. The room was perfect for us. We loved the direct access to the ocean, pool, and bar. The food was fantastic. The inclusive breakfast was a great start to the day and the dinners at the ocean front restaurant were terrific too, Our kids surfed for the first time and loved it. Our family did an all day adrenaline tour with Tamarindo Diria that was so much fun. We zipped, tubed, rode horses and relaxed in hot springs. During our stay the staff was very kind to us. Even with all of the fun and adventure, my favorite part was the incredible sunsets.

We stayed here for our honeymoon and had a great time! The surrounding area is the best part - the beach is amazing, the shopping is great, and there are plenty of dining options all within walking distance. I give the hotel itself 4/5 stars - it was very nice, but it's a huge hotel with many guests and sometimes the staff made you feel like you were just one of the many guests. They give you everything you need and service is just fine but it at times it lacked that extra oomph of great service. I think the next time we go to Tamarindo we may look for a smaller, more boutique hotel because that's simply what we prefer - but if you are looking for a hotel right on the beach with, for the most part, good service and amenities then this hotel won't let you down! It's hard to go wrong when you're in Tamarindo!! All in all, I recommend.

The property looks nice visually when I arrived with the open lobby, pool, with a view of the ocean. Breakfast buffet was great too. Hotel Tamarindo Diria, however, needs maintenance and TLC. We stayed at a room with ocean view so this was not a cheap room. I was not pleased with the condition of the room. The bathroom was also small compared to other hotels I stayed at in Costa Rica.

The lobby was amazing, rooms were a little small and plain. For that kind of money I’d like the room to match the lobby. Location in Tamarindo was great and just a quick walk across the street to the adult pool

Staff were rude and did not explain stupid details... limited towels, internet access and breakfast time. Would never return to Costa Rica! First time not doing an all inclusive and will definitely be our last!

The staff was unfriendly and appeared to busy at check in. They dis not have time to explain the property or amenities. Did not show us where anything was or direct us towards the restaurants or pools. The room had ants and a roach. My room had a leak from the ceiling on the second night, i called the front desk who sent maintence up. He opened the ceiling panel and got soaked. Come to find out it was toilet water from the room above,not air conditioner water like i thought. They were jot going to put us in a new room intiially anf after complaining they finally changed us to a new room. They did not offer us an upgrade or apologize. After my boyfriend complained they gave us a dinner voucher that was only good for that night and it was already 7pm. The staff is rude Property not worth the price Only good thing about the place was ita right on the beach Would not recommend to anyone

love this hotel , close to everything, clean and great food!

Very kind staff and was glad to meet the owner and chat a bit. The room was more than adequate and the location is exceptional within Tamarindo. The clientele is quite old but access to the surf, beaches, etc. can't be beat. We'll come back with our kids next time...

The staff are always efficient and lovely. Unfortunately, we were not alerted to the fact that the hotel is undergoing major renovations, which includes jackhammers early in the morning until early evening, and construction workers rolling wheelbarrows full of concrete and other materials through the lobby, pool area and yard. This made it VERY uncomfortable for guests and their children. There was no discount offered or any other compensation. We spent 10 nights there and were scheduled to spend another 10 nights later this month. We are making arrangements to stay elsewhere for the remainder of our trip! I discourage anyone from staying here until the renovations are complete. The rooms and facilities are due for an upgrade as they are quite dated as well. VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!

Location is perfect, right on the beach and within walking distance to restaurants and shops

Tamarindo Beach Tamarindo Guanacaste

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from Tamarindo Beach
  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort places you next to Tamarindo Beach and within a 10-minute walk of Grande Beach. This 238-room, 4-star resort welcomes business and leisure travelers with 3 outdoor pools, a full-service spa, and a casino.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free buffet breakfast, served each morning from 6:00 AM to 10:00 AM. Relish the international cuisine at Brisa Mar, one of 4 onsite restaurants. Get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/cafe.


Rooms

Guests can expect free WiFi and 32-inch flat-screen TVs with digital channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds sport premium bedding. Other standard amenities include balconies, iPod docks, and dining areas.


Property features

Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort features a full-service spa, 3 outdoor pools, and a casino. You can take advantage of free parking, along with an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for USD 240 per vehicle roundtrip. Multilingual staff at the 24-hour front desk can assist with luggage storage, tours or tickets, and securing valuables. Other amenities at this beach resort include a children's pool, a gym, and free WiFi in public areas.

Room options

Sunset Ocean View Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Family Poolview King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Family Poolview Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Tropicana Poolview King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Everyone (41) Couples (8) Family (6)
3
Friends

The rooms here are equivalent to a Days Inn. There is no way you would ever want to spend more than 5 minutes inside. The beach is decent but there are vendors approaching you constantly, so it’s not a relaxing experience. The hotel does not actually have beach chairs (or food service) on the beach, you have to get those from vendors. The restaurant and bar were meh. There is a German man that lives at the hotel. When I was there, he had “adopted” a baby possum which he carried around with him everywhere and hand fed it at the bar. It was completely disgusting. Oh and this man’s dog roamed around the restaurant begging people for food. I was supposed to stay for three nights but left after two and went to the W Reserva Conchal. I knew the Diria wasn’t the Four Seasons, but it definitely wasn’t for me. Positives were the beach view from my room, my patio (which was not very private, but ok), and the cute pool. Other reviewers have given this place a 4.1 rating. If your tastes are more aligned with the W/Four Seasons then you may find this place a solid 2.5.

By , from Santa Monica on May 14, 2022

5
Family

We had a fantastic stay at Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort. We are a family or four and we had an ocean view room on the ground floor. The room was perfect for us. We loved the direct access to the ocean, pool, and bar. The food was fantastic. The inclusive breakfast was a great start to the day and the dinners at the ocean front restaurant were terrific too, Our kids surfed for the first time and loved it. Our family did an all day adrenaline tour with Tamarindo Diria that was so much fun. We zipped, tubed, rode horses and relaxed in hot springs. During our stay the staff was very kind to us. Even with all of the fun and adventure, my favorite part was the incredible sunsets.

By on Apr 26, 2022

4
Partner Couples

We stayed here for our honeymoon and had a great time! The surrounding area is the best part - the beach is amazing, the shopping is great, and there are plenty of dining options all within walking distance. I give the hotel itself 4/5 stars - it was very nice, but it's a huge hotel with many guests and sometimes the staff made you feel like you were just one of the many guests. They give you everything you need and service is just fine but it at times it lacked that extra oomph of great service. I think the next time we go to Tamarindo we may look for a smaller, more boutique hotel because that's simply what we prefer - but if you are looking for a hotel right on the beach with, for the most part, good service and amenities then this hotel won't let you down! It's hard to go wrong when you're in Tamarindo!! All in all, I recommend.

By on Dec 27, 2021

4
Everyone

By on May 10, 2021

3
Friends

The property looks nice visually when I arrived with the open lobby, pool, with a view of the ocean. Breakfast buffet was great too. Hotel Tamarindo Diria, however, needs maintenance and TLC. We stayed at a room with ocean view so this was not a cheap room. I was not pleased with the condition of the room. The bathroom was also small compared to other hotels I stayed at in Costa Rica.

By on Apr 27, 2021

4
Partner Couples Friends

The lobby was amazing, rooms were a little small and plain. For that kind of money I’d like the room to match the lobby. Location in Tamarindo was great and just a quick walk across the street to the adult pool

By on Jan 25, 2021

Review comment responded on Jan 25, 2021

Dear guest. Our sincerely thanks because the good comments also thank you for the feedback that is very important for us at Tamarindo Diria we will improve in the points that you mentioned.

2
Family

Staff were rude and did not explain stupid details... limited towels, internet access and breakfast time. Would never return to Costa Rica! First time not doing an all inclusive and will definitely be our last!

By on Mar 12, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 13, 2020

Good Afternoon Dear, My sincerely apologies for any inconvenient that we have caused you, thank you for your comment, it is really appreacited. We will review your feedback carefully and will work to fix the negative parts. You have a great day! You have a great day!

4
Everyone

By on Mar 7, 2020

Review comment responded on Mar 9, 2020

Good Morning Dear, Thank you for your comments, we really appreacite them. Please come back to visit us in a near future! Cordially,

1
Family Partner Couples Business Business

The staff was unfriendly and appeared to busy at check in. They dis not have time to explain the property or amenities. Did not show us where anything was or direct us towards the restaurants or pools. The room had ants and a roach. My room had a leak from the ceiling on the second night, i called the front desk who sent maintence up. He opened the ceiling panel and got soaked. Come to find out it was toilet water from the room above,not air conditioner water like i thought. They were jot going to put us in a new room intiially anf after complaining they finally changed us to a new room. They did not offer us an upgrade or apologize. After my boyfriend complained they gave us a dinner voucher that was only good for that night and it was already 7pm. The staff is rude Property not worth the price Only good thing about the place was ita right on the beach Would not recommend to anyone

By on Feb 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 28, 2020

Good afternoon Dear, Greetings from Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort in Costa Rica! My apologies for all the inconvenients that we have caused you, i will move forward your feedback which is really appreaciated and we will work to fix this. You have a great day!

5
Partner Couples

love this hotel , close to everything, clean and great food!

By on Feb 18, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 18, 2020

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback! We hope you come back in a near future!

Hotel Tamarindo Diria Beach Resort

Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo, Guanacaste 50309
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Tamarindo-Hotels-Hotel-Tamarindo-Diria-Beach-Resort.h1108151-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Tamarindo-Hotels-Hotel-Tamarindo-Diria-Beach-Resort.h1108151-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Tamarindo-Hotels-Hotel-Tamarindo-Diria-Beach-Resort.h1108151-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions