ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan3.0 out of 5.0
Recent guest reviews
Arriving from Ostersunds for a night. We had four rooms booked, three singles downstairs in the basement and one double. The hotel receptionist was helpful and able to help us find parking for the car in central Stockholm. The rooms and breakfast were above expectations
When booking the hotel 1 month ago, I had made a terrible mistake: I booked the right days, but the month after!! This booking was not refundable and paid with my Accor Hotels loyalty. Bummer. I realized it at the checking, on a cold Thursday evening at 23:30. The woman at the front desk was totally awesome, I feel really grateful. She changed the booking and upgraded my room (as I am Platinium) without any fee. This hotel is comfortable, with a nice Swedish breakfast, good location, closed to the touristic spots (walking distance or taking a Uber). I love this hotel!
I am writing to strenuously complain about my experience with the Ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan. I telephoned Accor and registered a complaint while I was in Stockholm (CRM:0227010200); Accor forwarded this to the hotel, and they did absolutely nothing except apologize. Let me give you the details of the problem, and tell you why this hotel’s response was completely inadequate. In April 2016 I booked two rooms in this hotel for my wife and I and another married couple traveling with us from 11-15 August (Reservation DHQBSXDX #1608110509). A few days before we arrived on the 11th, I received the standard confirmation e-mail from the hotel saying they looked forward to our arrival. The day before, 10 August, we were on a ship from Tallinn, Estonia to Stockholm. At the same time, the hotel sent us the following e-mail: “Dear Bradley. You have 2 bookings for tomorrow at Ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan. Unfortunately we have to inform you that due to an overlap in our system we have reserved 2 double rooms for the same price in a lovely 3 star hotel named First Hotel Norrtull. It is located 10 minutes from our hotel at S:t Eriksgatan 119, 113 43, Stockholm, and of course breakfast and Wi-Fi is included. There is no extra price for you since you already paid us. We are very sorry about this inconvenience and hope this is not causing too much problems for you. Please contact us if you have any further questions. Med vänliga hälsningar / Best regards Nadia, Front Desk” Since I was in the middle of the Baltic Sea, I was unable to access or read it, and didn’t discover this problem until I arrived at the hotel directly from the dock. When we were informed about this booking “overlap,” we pointed out that our reservation had been made in April, and asked when the reservation had been made by the people who were now occupying the rooms we’d paid for four months earlier: the hotel refused to tell us this. We protested, but all the hotel would do was begrudgingly provide a taxi to bring us and our luggage to the new hotel that was nearly 1 km away. Upon checking into the First Hotel Norrtull, we discovered many unpleasant facts. For one, the rooms were not “lovely”—as the attached photos show, there were holes in the ceiling, broken window glass, and cracks in the woodwork. The beds were very uncomfortable, there were no telephones in the rooms, and the breakfast was rudimentary (and, of course, I didn’t get the welcome drink I’m entitled to as an Accor Silver member). Worst was that the only transport to the city center was a city bus that stopped in front of the hotel once every 20 minutes during weekday hours, and twice an hour in the evenings and on weekends. We had chosen the Ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan specifically because it was right next to the subway, allowing us to get into the city and back within 5 minutes every 10 minutes or so. Instead, we had to worry about missing a bus, and wait for it at outdoor bus stops in the evening and on Saturday (and, of course, one night it rained very hard while we were waiting). I did some research and discovered a very interesting pattern with the Ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan: they have a history of last-minute cancelations of reservations due to “overlap” or “computer error,” etc. There are two complaints on TripAdvisor about this exact same problem (one from September 2012, one from July 2016). If there are currently three complaints on TripAdvisor, how many more people who aren’t members of that service—or who didn’t bother to write—can there be? I’m sure that Accor has far more complaints than these in their records, and yet they continue to keep this hotel in their franchise network. It is also very curious that this hotel continues to have problems with their booking system: do they not use Accor software? Can they not have this problem fixed, rather than have it happen on a regular basis? It beggars belief that these “errors” are simply coincidences rather than a deliberate attempt to re-sell a room to a higher bidder. I very strongly suspect that this hotel is waiting until several months have passed after a reservation is made and paid for, and it is too late to contest the charge with Visa, Master Card, etc. Then they find a guest who is willing to pay more, give him the room, and shuttle the unlucky early bookers to another, sub-standard hotel. I’m sure that the consumer protection authorities and tourist/visitors’ bureaus in Sweden would be interested to know about it. Furthermore, after we called Accor to complain (using my German mobile phone in Sweden, since there were no telephones in the rooms!) we received a letter from the Ibis that said, “We have seen your complaint about the relocation on your stay. The hotel was overbooked that’s why we need to relocate you to another hotel. The hotel we send you to is not a cheaper hotel. It cost a little bit more than you payed here. Your reservation was a non refundable so we don´t refund any money on these reservations.” Of course, the room price was non-refundable if we had decided to cancel it, not if the hotel decided this! More to the point, this is a flat-out lie about the prices at the two hotels. The First Hotel Norrtull cost up to €132.21 per night for the room we received for the dates we stayed, which is equal to 1267 Swedish Krona. That means that three nights would cost 3801 Swedish Krona: double that for the two rooms, and the total price being advertised for two rooms, three nights was 7602 Swedish Krona. However, the Ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan charged us 9450 Swedish Krona for two equivalent rooms over three nights. The difference is 1848 Swedish Krona, which is just under €200. When I called Accor to complain about this €200 difference, I asked them to refund the difference between the two hotels. They passed the message along to the Ibis Styles management, who not only refused to refund any money, but instead further insulted me by lying about the price and taunting me about the non-refundable nature of my purchase. At this point, after having invested many hours of my vacation time and afterwards trying to reconcile this in a polite and professional way with both the hotel and Accor, I demanded a full refund of the 9450 Swedish Krona I paid as compensation for rooms I did not receive, plus the inconvenience of being put into sub-standards lodging and all the other things I’ve detailed above. The hotel offered to refund me €100, which is an insult.
the best thing about this hotels only the location, 2min walking from Odenplan metro station, the staff are friendly, else that the room was too small even after complaining they changed the room, they offered an upgrade double bedroom that was very small too and the toilet was smaller than the room I had, the drains smell bad till I opened the water in the shower to remove the smell. Breakfast not bad at least better than continental breakfast. Internet speed was week
I got a room (no. 217 for checking my opinion) which from the bathroom size point of view was very very small (approx 2mX2m). In this bathroom is very diificult for a normal person to have a shower in reasonable conditions.
The front office staff needs training big time. No idea how to welcome guests and snobs all around. Fake to the core. The room was fine and had a balcony facing the church. Experienced great snowfall on 7Dec and was brilliant. Bathroom is small but manageable. Balcony is fine but not too comfortable standing there with a feeling of unstable base. Breakfast was fine but again floating with grumpy staff. So maybe Ibis styles need to look at staff issues or maybe being grumpy is a Swedish phenomenon. The room we had with the Church view was cozy. So with all the cons 2/5. Front office staff with name starting with Ma needs retraining.
Generally I must say that the hotel and the rooms are beauitiful. However, staff was ignorant and careless. When I asked about the possibility of late check out in the next day (as I am a Gold status holder) the reception showed no interest and they did not care. I chose this hotel for a very special occassion and the staff being so ignorant put me off recommending this hotel. Also room did not have welcome drinks and enough towels. When requested to get them, the reception did not keep the promise. Very disappointed as the hotel as a building is wonderful!
spent about 12 hours only and close to the station and very good set up. breakfast was good and near major attractions. bit hard to find since not properly marked. rooms are nice and properly equipped
The location is great and the cost was what you would expect for a family room in a city, which included breakfast £130 per night) However, two things which were that there was no ice machine or facility to obtain ice if you want a drink in your room. The other down side is whilst complementary tea and coffee was available, Tea was made using tea bags and water from a machine, with no milk available. Bit of a disappointment if you do not like fruit or herbal tea and don't want a caffeine laden coffee before bed! I am a frequent user of Accor and IHG hotels and these are what I would consider to be standard items.
Great location (next to the Odenplan subway station and to bus stops) and high quality hotel for the price. Several supermarkets and restaurants in the vicinity Hotel is very clean Breakfast is a little too late on weekends (8 am instead of the regular 6:30 am)
- Free breakfast
- Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
- Business center
- Laundry facilities
Located in Vasastan, ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan is within 2 miles (3 km) of popular attractions such as Stockholm City Hall and Royal Swedish Opera. This 76-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and coffee/tea in a common area. It's in central Albano and also close to Museum of Medieval Stockholm and Stockholm Palace.
Free breakfast is included with your stay.
The 76 rooms have phones and desks. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and LCD TVs with satellite channels. Beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers.
Ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan features free WiFi in public areas, a business center, and coffee in a common area. Self parking is available for SEK 250.00 per night. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the area. Additional amenities include a computer station, laundry facilities, and a TV in a common area.
Reviews from Trip Advisor
66.0% of guests recommend this hotelTotal of 679 reviews