Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Recovering from the pandemic, their breakfast was not the usual fun fare you find at a B&B, but more on the blah side. Otherwise, a great place to stay. Location, safe, comfortable. We would stay again.

Charming historic inn perfectly located near the beach and town.

Covid breakfast not good. Charge same prices with out gourmet breakfast. Should lower lower nightly rate to compensate.

We stayed in room # 10 which has a wonderful area to read and look out onto the waves. The breakfast area functioned as a good work area one late afternoon for a Gotomeeting call. I did not need to disturb family or other guests. Wifi service good. No downsides

Unique, and historical, ca. 1915? Although Room 4 upstairs does not have a "noteworthy view" (not all rooms of a house can) it was comfortable and nicely appointed. Enjoyed learning about the Gilbert family. Appreciated that each room has a thermostat, ceiling fan, TV, and the individual switches for bath lights / fan. Very good Breakfast buffet served from 8 - 10 in the lovely breakfast room. Wished we had room for BOTH types of Carmen's granola, her scones, and the egg souffle! Waffles, too. We enjoyed borrowing property's old bicycles for a nice just-right ride.

All in all, a good hotel with easy beach and downtown access. Check-in was easy. Staff was friendly. The rooms were somewhat smaller than expected. The house (and beds) are somewhat creaky and not noise-proof. We heard our neighbors creaking their bed (if you know what I mean); it was unpleasant to say the least. The bathroom was clean and the shower had nice hot water. The toilet lacked flushing power, and I imagine would have been inadequate for most solid waste. A plunger was provided. I decided to opt for the toilets around the town.

The location was perfect as you could walk to every attraction and restaurant. The parking supplied next to the inn was very convenient as you didn't need to scramble to find a parking place. Lovely sunroom to eat your breakfast. Friendly staff to top it off. Would recommend over staying at some condo.

Stayed here one evening. It is an old, well maintained, 3 story home. I could not have asked for more. Excellent value. My only desire would have been to start breakfast a little earlier. I would definitely stay here again.

The only thing that went wrong was my key to get back in after dark did not work, so I could not go back outside after one of the guest let me back into the hotel. Other then that, the place was amazing, very clean and excellent customer service, the showers where hot and stayed that way.

This Inn was quaint, quiet, and comfortable. Close to the beach and resturants and activities. We enjoyed our short stay and wished we could have stayed longer.

The hotel has a unique feel. It is cute. If you like old American homes, you will love the style. Because it is an old place, it made squeaky noise when somebody walked upstairs. (I was in the first floor.) I didn't sleep good because of that. Other than that, the place was good!

We were so pleased with the Gilbert. It was surprisingly elegant, real antiques, the décor is cool and calm. We were very restful and felt peaceful there.

This beautiful Victorian house was the delight of a wonderful romantic weekend with my new boyfriend. The staff were extremely helpful and the turret room on the second floor in the historical section was everything I could hope for. I highly recommend this establishment for the historical home, friendly helpful staff and close location to the beach and the action in Seaside. We will stay here again!

The Gilbert Inn is an old house converted into an Inn and it is a great place to stay. The room was comfortable, quiet, and the location could not be better. Just a short walk to the ocean front Promenade and to the shops and restaurants along Broadway. The staff were friendly and there are several "common rooms" where you can sit and visit with friends and enjoy the freshly baked chocolate chip cookies! I would definitely stay there again!

OK, so it's not really a quaint Victorian hotel nestled on the beach, but rather, it is a remodeled old house jammed between two large hotels with views of another hotel across the street. We checked in after 9pm and was nobody around to meet us. The staff left a key and a room number, but it was the wrong room number. We ended up waking up and startling another guest as we attempted to enter the room we were told was ours. We went to the lobby for breakfast the next morning only to be told that they are "no longer a B&B, but now only a B"... Umm, no. I would call that an F, not a B. Regarding breakfast, we were offered a stale old apple and what looked like a piece of leftover Halloween candy. What a disappointment, from the service to the amenities to the acknowledgment that they don't even represent their property correctly. When questioned about all of the travel site references to the B&B aspect of the hotel we were told by the clerk that "we're not even sure if we are going to do that in the future" and "we haven't gotten around to updating our information - it takes time...". The hotel clerk went on to say "we are under new management and this is a work in progress". Survey says FAIL... Buyer beware. Save your money - it's not the charming romantic retreat it purports to be.

just beautiful the oldest house in Seaside it was a really nice getaway close to the beach close to everything walking distance of great restaurants everyone there was really super nice cookies out for us in the morning anytime we liked it.

Beach Drive Seaside OR

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Free bike rentals

The Gilbert Inn places you next to Columbia Beach and Turnaround Market. This 11-room, 3-star hotel has free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free continental breakfast, served each morning from 8 AM to 10 AM.


Rooms

The Gilbert Inn's 11 individually furnished rooms provide coffee makers, ceiling fans, and ironing boards. Flat-screen TVs come with digital channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers, free toiletries, slippers, and bathrobes.


Property features

The Gilbert Inn features free WiFi in public areas, coffee in a common area, and free use of bicycles. If you decide to drive, there's free parking. Friendly staff can provide front-desk service during limited hours, and also offer advice about sightseeing. If you like to take your furry friend along on your adventures, this pet-friendly property offers food and water bowls. Other amenities at this adults-only hotel include a terrace, a garden, and a fireplace in the lobby.

Room options

4 - Matthew room

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

9 - Emma room

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

8 - Turret room

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

10 - The Garret room

1 Queen Bed | 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for The Gilbert Inn

Everyone (6) Couples (7) Business (1) Family (3) Other (1)
5
Partner Couples

Recovering from the pandemic, their breakfast was not the usual fun fare you find at a B&B, but more on the blah side. Otherwise, a great place to stay. Location, safe, comfortable. We would stay again.

By on Sep 3, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 12, 2021

Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you will visit us again. Mary - Front Desk

4
Family

Charming historic inn perfectly located near the beach and town.

By on Jun 9, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 29, 2021

Thank you for your review

2
Family

Covid breakfast not good. Charge same prices with out gourmet breakfast. Should lower lower nightly rate to compensate.

By , from Seaside Oregon on Aug 16, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 19, 2020

Thank you for your review. We will look into your concerns. Mary - Front Desk

5
Partner Couples

We stayed in room # 10 which has a wonderful area to read and look out onto the waves. The breakfast area functioned as a good work area one late afternoon for a Gotomeeting call. I did not need to disturb family or other guests. Wifi service good. No downsides

By on Feb 4, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 4, 2020

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the Gilbert Inn. Please try to visit us again soon. Mary - Front Desk

4
Partner Couples

Unique, and historical, ca. 1915? Although Room 4 upstairs does not have a "noteworthy view" (not all rooms of a house can) it was comfortable and nicely appointed. Enjoyed learning about the Gilbert family. Appreciated that each room has a thermostat, ceiling fan, TV, and the individual switches for bath lights / fan. Very good Breakfast buffet served from 8 - 10 in the lovely breakfast room. Wished we had room for BOTH types of Carmen's granola, her scones, and the egg souffle! Waffles, too. We enjoyed borrowing property's old bicycles for a nice just-right ride.

By on Sep 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 21, 2019

Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully, look forward to a return visit from you soon. Mary - Front Desk

5
Everyone

By on Sep 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 1, 2019

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please try to visit us again soon. Mary - Front Desk

5
Everyone

By on Jun 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 1, 2019

Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please try to visit us again. Mary - Front Desk

3

nice hotel with easy beach and downtown access.

Everyone

All in all, a good hotel with easy beach and downtown access. Check-in was easy. Staff was friendly. The rooms were somewhat smaller than expected. The house (and beds) are somewhat creaky and not noise-proof. We heard our neighbors creaking their bed (if you know what I mean); it was unpleasant to say the least. The bathroom was clean and the shower had nice hot water. The toilet lacked flushing power, and I imagine would have been inadequate for most solid waste. A plunger was provided. I decided to opt for the toilets around the town.

By , from Washington on Jul 14, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 16, 2018

Thank you for your review.

4

great location and ambiance

Everyone

The location was perfect as you could walk to every attraction and restaurant. The parking supplied next to the inn was very convenient as you didn't need to scramble to find a parking place. Lovely sunroom to eat your breakfast. Friendly staff to top it off. Would recommend over staying at some condo.

By , from Oregon on May 14, 2018

Review comment responded on May 15, 2018

Thank you for your review. We hope you'll visit us again soon.

5

beautiful b&b

Everyone

Stayed here one evening. It is an old, well maintained, 3 story home. I could not have asked for more. Excellent value. My only desire would have been to start breakfast a little earlier. I would definitely stay here again.

By , from chicago on Jan 23, 2018

Review comment responded on Jan 24, 2018

Thank you Dash for the great review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Seaside-Hotels-The-Gilbert-Inn.h2239689-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Seaside-Hotels-The-Gilbert-Inn.h2239689-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Seaside-Hotels-The-Gilbert-Inn.h2239689-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions