Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Wow! I don’t even know where to start. I need more space I just know it. Check in was fastttt! The staff at the front desk, inside bar, beach bar and house keeping were above anything I could of expected. And the food?? Even better than the service. Me and my husband stayed 4 nights and ate at the hotel every single day because the food was soo good! We had so much to drink I don’t need another drink for week. A vacation that was finally worth it! We left the compound everyday and were greeted by staff opening doors and asking to take out bags. We even made friends with other guests. They showed all the world cups games (a dream). We Signed up to be a member of their rewards program because we will definitely be returning and Visiting other locations.

Loved it

Amazing stay! I highly recommend this hotel. The staff was absolutely wonderful all around! Above & beyond costumer service. I felt very welcomed and they honestly paid attention to every single detail. The entire staff was wonderful, from the valet, front desk, all bars, pool, service all around wonderful. The area is near by most places in an Uber or car if you rent one. The beach area & pool were kept clean. You can walk around the beach area to unwind all very safe. Drinks were excellent at the inside bar at night. Food was delicious too. I will definitely go back. Thank you to the entire staff for making my stay so pleasant. One of the best I’ve experienced and I travel extensively. Bravo!

Room smelled like mildew, bodywash dispenser was never refilled and had to settle bill prior to check out.

I like the royal but not having microwave was very disappointed on the property 😒

Property was beautiful & well maintained. All lobby employees were so kind & made recommendations when asked. My only complaints are the bars close at 6pm & pools at 9pm which is always a bummer as an adult. Also, don't leave cash laying in your room, I believe a maid entered my room and stole a $20 bill. The reason I think this is because I'd left $20 that fell out of my pants on the floor on the otherside of the bed near the balcony as I don't typically walk around with cash. The cash was NOT visable from the door and the maid had no reason to enter my room other than replacement of towels, sheets & trashcans, NONE of which were done. I would say maybe the employee thought it was a tip but who leaves a tip on the floor?? The hotel did an investigation in which they said they didn't have any proof of the employee having "ill intentions", but what else do you call it? Ultimately the hotel comped me the $20 to my room fee but I wasn't happy about being stolen from.

5 days 4 night's pool was awesome beach walkable and staff all around helpful and very friendly. From batenders to ocean breeze and alie breakfast was tasty and great. Met my father for the first tine in 30 years and royal sonesta i thank you. Girlfriend and i had a blast.

We enjoyed our stay. The resort is truly beautiful. Very kind and friendly staff members

Great experience and great service. Ask for Nestor Colon at check in

Beautiful Beach , very Clean hotel

Friendly. Clean. Easy to get around

I loved it . Except swim up bar wasnt open 7 days a week & i paid $ for that feature..so that was a bummer

Loved the hotel! Absolutely beautiful views. Nice pool and hot tub. The beach is beautiful. The hotel is in a good spot, not too far from the airport. Has a lot of food spots that are driveable. We just had some annoying neighbors but other than that loved it. Also they don’t do cleaning service until after you leave so you have to request if needed.

according to the wedsit, since it did not show the RESORT FEE IS NOT INCLUDED, i felt like i was being cheated when i have to pay the resort fee at the end of the trip

5961 Isla Verde Avenue Carolina

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Spa
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Isla Verde, The Royal Sonesta San Juan is within a 5-minute walk of sights such as Isla Verde Beach and Carolina Beach. This 398-room, 4-star hotel has 3 restaurants, a full-service spa, and an outdoor pool.


Dining

There are multiple options for onsite dining with 3 restaurants, including Aleli Restaurant, which has pool views. Satisfy your hunger from the comfort of your room with room service. Start each morning with buffet breakfast, available for a fee from 6:00 AM to 11:00 AM.


Rooms

Guests can expect free WiFi and 42-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers, free toiletries, slippers, and bathrobes. Other amenities include balconies, iPod docks, and minibars. Change of towels is available on request.


Property features

The Royal Sonesta San Juan features a full-service spa, an outdoor pool, and a gym. Valet parking is available for USD 32 per day. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with tours/tickets and luggage storage. Other amenities at this beach hotel include free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and express check-out.

Room options

Presidential Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Ocean View

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 3

Room, 1 King Bed, Garden View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Executive Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, City View (Junior)

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 3

Club Suite, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Balcony (Roll-In Shower)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for The Royal Sonesta San Juan

Everyone (42) Couples (31) Family (31)
5
Partner Couples

Wow! I don’t even know where to start. I need more space I just know it. Check in was fastttt! The staff at the front desk, inside bar, beach bar and house keeping were above anything I could of expected. And the food?? Even better than the service. Me and my husband stayed 4 nights and ate at the hotel every single day because the food was soo good! We had so much to drink I don’t need another drink for week. A vacation that was finally worth it! We left the compound everyday and were greeted by staff opening doors and asking to take out bags. We even made friends with other guests. They showed all the world cups games (a dream). We Signed up to be a member of their rewards program because we will definitely be returning and Visiting other locations.

By on Dec 2, 2022

Review comment responded on Dec 3, 2022

Greetings Naresha,Thank you for your great review. We're so happy you had an excellent experience in our property and were able to enjoy those 4 nights you spent here. I hope the team you were rooting for advanced to the next round!We're looking forward to seeing you back soon.

5
Family with small children

Loved it

By on Nov 29, 2022

Review comment responded on Nov 29, 2022

Thank you for your feedback!

5
Friends

Amazing stay! I highly recommend this hotel. The staff was absolutely wonderful all around! Above & beyond costumer service. I felt very welcomed and they honestly paid attention to every single detail. The entire staff was wonderful, from the valet, front desk, all bars, pool, service all around wonderful. The area is near by most places in an Uber or car if you rent one. The beach area & pool were kept clean. You can walk around the beach area to unwind all very safe. Drinks were excellent at the inside bar at night. Food was delicious too. I will definitely go back. Thank you to the entire staff for making my stay so pleasant. One of the best I’ve experienced and I travel extensively. Bravo!

By on Oct 22, 2022

Review comment responded on Oct 22, 2022

Hello Lisbeth!Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We are so happy to see you had a great stay with us. Hopefully we will have you back in a near future.Regards,

3
Partner Couples

Room smelled like mildew, bodywash dispenser was never refilled and had to settle bill prior to check out.

By on Oct 2, 2022

Review comment responded on Oct 3, 2022

Thank you for your review.

5
Everyone

By on Aug 30, 2022

4
Partner Couples

I like the royal but not having microwave was very disappointed on the property 😒

By on Aug 20, 2022

Review comment responded on Aug 20, 2022

Thank you for your feedback. We apologies for not having microwaves for you. Unfortunately microwaves are not a room standard for our hotel.

4
Everyone

Property was beautiful & well maintained. All lobby employees were so kind & made recommendations when asked. My only complaints are the bars close at 6pm & pools at 9pm which is always a bummer as an adult. Also, don't leave cash laying in your room, I believe a maid entered my room and stole a $20 bill. The reason I think this is because I'd left $20 that fell out of my pants on the floor on the otherside of the bed near the balcony as I don't typically walk around with cash. The cash was NOT visable from the door and the maid had no reason to enter my room other than replacement of towels, sheets & trashcans, NONE of which were done. I would say maybe the employee thought it was a tip but who leaves a tip on the floor?? The hotel did an investigation in which they said they didn't have any proof of the employee having "ill intentions", but what else do you call it? Ultimately the hotel comped me the $20 to my room fee but I wasn't happy about being stolen from.

By on Aug 9, 2022

Review comment responded on Aug 10, 2022

Greetings Crystal, We greatly appreciate your feedback. We're very sorry you had that incident during your stay but we hope you were able to enjoy your stay. We would love to see you back soon. Regards: The Royal Sonesta San Juan

5
Partner Couples

5 days 4 night's pool was awesome beach walkable and staff all around helpful and very friendly. From batenders to ocean breeze and alie breakfast was tasty and great. Met my father for the first tine in 30 years and royal sonesta i thank you. Girlfriend and i had a blast.

By on Aug 8, 2022

Review comment responded on Aug 8, 2022

Glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your feedback.

5
Partner Couples

We enjoyed our stay. The resort is truly beautiful. Very kind and friendly staff members

By on Jul 20, 2022

Review comment responded on Jul 20, 2022

Thank You for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and would like to have you again soon. Regards: Royal Sonesta San Juan

5
Family Family with small children Partner Couples Friends

Great experience and great service. Ask for Nestor Colon at check in

By on Jun 12, 2022

Review comment responded on Jun 12, 2022

Thank You for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and would like to have you again soon. Regards: Royal Sonesta San Juan

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/San-Juan-Hotels-The-Royal-Sonesta-San-Juan.h289099-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /San-Juan-Hotels-The-Royal-Sonesta-San-Juan.h289099-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/San-Juan-Hotels-The-Royal-Sonesta-San-Juan.h289099-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions