Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

really nice hotel, you can tell it got recently remodeled,definitely worth it

The night clerk checked someone into our room and gave him a key. This man almost got into our room but thankfully my husband got to the door before he could. Both my daughters were asleep and i was in the shower when this happened. Very vulnerable. Scary experience. We have done our fair share of travel and have never had this happen before. I complained to management and received a refund for the night. Will never stay here again. We did not feel safe

We loved that our room had a beautiful view of the mountains. =)

The staff were pleasant, very helpful, and pet friendly.

The room was filthy one of the beds I have pictures of had looked like maybe dirty shoes had been on someone who had lain on the bed, or the probably the bed had not been washed at all, at least the top covers hadn’t. The entire room had been very poorly cleaned. There were pieces of trash in the bathtub. The night stand between the two beds where something had been spilled on the glass top was still filthy with a dried liquid on it. When they had changed or removed an item in the wall of the bathroom it has not been painted and repaired properly. I was exhausted or I would have left. Wyndham with such properties will lose any kind of credibility did hasn’t Miss informing their guests about properties such as this. I paid almost $100 for the room and this was the dump I had to sleep in. The fellow at the desk Was very nice the staff were courteous I have no complaint about that.

My room smelled of pee (pet friendly hotel so I went with it) then my dish wouldn’t connect to most channels so there wasn’t really a working tv. Pool was under maintenance. Not holding this visit against the property - staff was friendly and attentive. And it was only a quick stay so the amenities were not a big deal.

Easy access on the highway and room was nice. Bsthroom was in need of repair. Shower tiles were awful. My main reason for this ahort pleasure trip was the pool and hot tub. Walls in very poor condition and hot tub had no power in their jets. Plus the pool was heated supposedly and it was too cold. I couldnt even swim. Very disappointing.

The pool was cloudy, no guests at pool due to condition of water. Very disappointed.

Great location. Comfortable beds and linens. Very clean and spacious room. Decent breakfast.

Room wasnt ready at 130 pm, bathroom was hideous, big hole in ceiling in lobby from unrepaired water damage......stay somewhere else

nice hotel, friendly staff. Pool was a little cloudy, but I've never seen a hotel pool that wasn't. The hot tub was hot and when the towels ran out, they replenished them right away. The breakfast was good. We went during a busy time, so we had to wait a bit for food to be replenished, but it was understandable. We'd definitely stay here again.

We had no issues. Good hotel for the price and staff is great. Plan to come back next year.

Enjoyed our stay. Room was clean and modern. I will stay here again.

This hotel is in a perfect location for the track or the downtown business area. It is clean, comfortable, and well maintained. The desk staff needs to take some customer service courses. Our "host' at check-in made us feel like we were interrupting his plans. No eye contact, no smile, just surly. We ended up calling him "Mr. Personality". The gal in the morning reluctantly greeted us on our way out after we said Good Morning. And there was no one else in the lobby so we were not bothering other folks checking in or out. The problem with both was that heinous little thing in their hands - their phone! Gotta kill those things in the workplace! The gal in charge of the breakfast area was attentive, pleasant, and very hard working. She couldn't carry her phone, she was too busy making that experience very good.

My wife and I decided to stay here on our honeymoon to avoid overspending on a room, we we're actually very impressed. The staff was very friendly and the hotel as a whole was very clean, modern, and well kept. They had all the amenities one would need and a beautiful indoor pool/spa. The hotel is located across the street from wal-mart, about a mile from the shopping center downtown, and just a few miles away from ski apache. When we return to ruidoso we will be staying in this hotel again!

I booked two rooms through an online service. Two rooms for four adults per room. This was done several months in advance and I just stored the e-mail conformation until just before our trip. I guess I should mention that the trip was during a large motorcycle rally. On the day before leaving I printed the e-mail to have it with us at check in. I noticed the rooms where listed as King Suites. What? Four adults in a King Bed? We are not that close.........I called the hotel directly and Stephanie said let her see what she could do. In less than two minutes she had re-arranged enough people to get us into two rooms with 2 queen beds each, and still during one of their busiest weekends of the summer. She truly turn this situation into a wonderful trip. I hope the chain realizes what a great representative they have in her. Thanks again, 8 happy travelers.

US Highway 70 Ruidoso Downs NM

Hotel highlights

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • 24-hour business center

La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ruidoso Downs places you within 2 miles (3 km) of Ruidoso Downs Racetrack and Hubbard Museum of the American West. This 63-room hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like free in-room WiFi and free self parking.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is served on weekdays from 6:00 AM to 9:00 AM and on weekends from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.


Rooms

The 63 rooms have an array of amenities, including microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. LCD TVs come with satellite channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Pillowtop beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include free local calls, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ruidoso Downs features free WiFi in public areas, a 24-hour business center, and coffee in a common area. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. Front-desk staff are standing by 24/7 to assist with any requests. Additional amenities include express check-in, express check-out, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Suite, 1 Bedroom, Non Smoking, Mountain View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking (Mobility/Hearing Impaired Accessible)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Deluxe Suite, 1 Bedroom, Mountain View (Mobility Accessible)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ruidoso Downs

Everyone (11) Couples (10) Family (9) Other (2) Friends (2)
5
Everyone

By on Apr 5, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 15, 2021

Thank you for the 5 stars! See you next time!

5
Partner Couples

really nice hotel, you can tell it got recently remodeled,definitely worth it

By on Jan 15, 2021

Review comment responded on Jan 17, 2021

Thank you for staying and for the 5 star rating! We will see you next time!

1
Family

The night clerk checked someone into our room and gave him a key. This man almost got into our room but thankfully my husband got to the door before he could. Both my daughters were asleep and i was in the shower when this happened. Very vulnerable. Scary experience. We have done our fair share of travel and have never had this happen before. I complained to management and received a refund for the night. Will never stay here again. We did not feel safe

By on Aug 11, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 21, 2020

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for the review! Please allow me to once again express my sincerest apologies for the experience you had at my hotel. I am sorry that we could not do enough to make you feel safe. While a refund does not change the experience for you I want you to know we did everything we could possibly do to ensure your safety after you let us know what happened. We made a new set of keys that cancelled out all others, we increased our rounds during the remainder of his shift and our night overnight shift as well. I am working with my team to ensure our guests safety by being more aware of our actions. Again, I am terribly sorry that you had this experience at my hotel and I hope that in your future visits into our beautiful town you will find somewhere you do feel safe!

1
Everyone

By on Aug 11, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 17, 2020

Hi and thank you for the review.

5
Family

We loved that our room had a beautiful view of the mountains. =)

By on Aug 7, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 8, 2020

Hi, Thank you for staying with us and for the review. My team and I are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be of service to you again in the future!

4
Everyone

By on Jun 14, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 15, 2020

Thank you for staying with us and for the time you took to let us know how we did. We hope to have you as our guest again!

5
Everyone

By on Feb 22, 2020

Review comment responded on Feb 24, 2020

Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. We hope to see you back for future stays.

5
Friends

The staff were pleasant, very helpful, and pet friendly.

By on Jan 25, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 27, 2020

Thank you for your review! I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay.

1
Everyone

The room was filthy one of the beds I have pictures of had looked like maybe dirty shoes had been on someone who had lain on the bed, or the probably the bed had not been washed at all, at least the top covers hadn’t. The entire room had been very poorly cleaned. There were pieces of trash in the bathtub. The night stand between the two beds where something had been spilled on the glass top was still filthy with a dried liquid on it. When they had changed or removed an item in the wall of the bathroom it has not been painted and repaired properly. I was exhausted or I would have left. Wyndham with such properties will lose any kind of credibility did hasn’t Miss informing their guests about properties such as this. I paid almost $100 for the room and this was the dump I had to sleep in. The fellow at the desk Was very nice the staff were courteous I have no complaint about that.

By on Nov 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 19, 2019

I am so very sorry to hear that the room was in such bad shape. We take a lot of pride in what we do here at La Quinta and this is not acceptable in any manner. I will be investigating further to see who will be responsible and we will take action to ensure that this doesn't happen again. I do hope that you were able to talk with our front desk staff and that they were able to begin to remedy the situation. I was not informed and am very upset. I again, sincerely apologize. If you have any further concerns, please don't hesitate to contact me.

4
Family with small children

My room smelled of pee (pet friendly hotel so I went with it) then my dish wouldn’t connect to most channels so there wasn’t really a working tv. Pool was under maintenance. Not holding this visit against the property - staff was friendly and attentive. And it was only a quick stay so the amenities were not a big deal.

By on Oct 16, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 17, 2019

Hello! We are so sorry to hear that we didn't expect your expectations. If you will please send us a personal message or call so we can take care of the rooms issues, we would greatly appreciate it! We do hope to see you for your next visit, in hopes we have fixed these minor issues. Thank you for your honest review.

La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ruidoso Downs

26147 US Highway 70, Ruidoso Downs, NM 88346
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Ruidoso-Downs-Hotels-La-Quinta-Inn-&-Suites-by-Wyndham-Ruidoso-Downs.h1723212-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Ruidoso-Downs-Hotels-La-Quinta-Inn-&-Suites-by-Wyndham-Ruidoso-Downs.h1723212-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Ruidoso-Downs-Hotels-La-Quinta-Inn-&-Suites-by-Wyndham-Ruidoso-Downs.h1723212-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions