Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

We had pleasant stay. It may need a few updates that you easily ignore once you settle in. Rhumbline is such a cute place. The staff was superb.

Nice and clean but tired

Very nice stay and nice people working there.

Checked in late and we got the "last room" over the only smoking room in the place. Room smelled like smoke. The carpet was worn and the room was dated. Not a relaxing place to unwind after traveling. Not enough pilllows. The front desk did hunt down a rollaway but she was not very friendly when she brought it.. like I inconvenienced them. Not close to town. It's in a quiet residential neighborhood and the grounds are nice and well kept. Forget about the free breakfast... bagels and a toaster pretty much.

Like many Match listings, the pictures are several years out of date. Minor repairs, a fresh coat of paint would go a long way to making this a lovely property. The overall lack of care ruins any efforts at cleanliness. The room smelled like stale smoke, and the porch was splintered wood and peeling paint. The bathroom fan screeched like a fox in heat.

Pool area and bar were great for children and parents

The place is run down the staff doesn’t care the rooms are dated and smell the door locks don’t work and as I was checking out a customer was complaining he had bugs in his bed

This property is in serious need of some love and attention. Plaster falling out of hallway ceiling, most ice machines didn’t work, continental breakfast was lacking and overall in need of a good cleaning. The pictures shown online do not accurately reflect the condition of the property.

Unfortunately not a great stay. The "deck" was in horrible condition. Bathroom was dirty, rug was torn up. The indoor pool and hot tub were dirty and flooring was torn up.

Air conditioning did not work in the room. WiFi was also not working in our wing of the hotel. Spoke to front desk several times - nothing was done to remedy the situation. This was my second time at the property and definitely my last.

A drop back in time...though not updated in decor, the Rhumb Line does not lack in hospitality. The rooms are decent sized and provided plentiful towels for both shower and the pools. The pools and hot tubs are clean and refreshing. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable about the area. About a 5 minute ride into the Lower Village (read as "tourist area"), a bit too far to walk on the twisty roads around the coast. Request to stay in an upstairs room, as the lower rooms in the summer tend to be a bit humid. The snack bar/restaurant out behind the pool offers a great menu for families and they cook a perfect lobster!

Great location and super friendly staff. The picture make the place look nicer than it is. Just a old building

Still waiting for our extra charge on our bank account to drop off.

Friendly and helpful staff; great pool and facilities; great location, close enough to town, but away from the hassle

Large clean room. Close to town and beach. Friendly staff. Food and drink at Admirals Table was reasonable and really good. Nice outdoor pool. Sandi the bartender was really sweet. A lot of the locals visit the pool and Admirals Table. Marianne and Liz were very friendly and engaged in conversation with the tourists.

Just okay. Staff was quite reserved. Resort outdated. Fitness room almost unusable. Indoor and outdoor pools were nice.

Turbat's Creek off Ocean Avenue Kennebunkport ME

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Located within a mile (2 km) of Bush Compound, The Rhumb Line Resort is within 2 miles (3 km) of Walker's Point. This motel has 59 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an indoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free continental breakfast, served each morning from 7:00 AM to 8:30 AM. Enjoy a bite to eat at the motel's family restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

32-inch flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer free toiletries. Balconies or patios, refrigerators, and coffee makers are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests of The Rhumb Line Resort have access to an indoor pool, a gym, and 2 spa tubs. If you plan to drive, free parking is available. Staff members can answer questions about accommodations, and also provide front-desk service during limited hours. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a seasonal outdoor pool, and a meeting room.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed (Upper Level)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Poolside King

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 5

Double Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 5

Guest reviews for The Rhumb Line Resort

Everyone (5) Couples (1) Family (8)
5
Family

We had pleasant stay. It may need a few updates that you easily ignore once you settle in. Rhumbline is such a cute place. The staff was superb.

By on Jul 22, 2022

3
Family

Nice and clean but tired

By on May 23, 2022

4
Everyone

Very nice stay and nice people working there.

By , from Mission Viejo on Oct 29, 2021

2
Family

Checked in late and we got the "last room" over the only smoking room in the place. Room smelled like smoke. The carpet was worn and the room was dated. Not a relaxing place to unwind after traveling. Not enough pilllows. The front desk did hunt down a rollaway but she was not very friendly when she brought it.. like I inconvenienced them. Not close to town. It's in a quiet residential neighborhood and the grounds are nice and well kept. Forget about the free breakfast... bagels and a toaster pretty much.

By on Oct 9, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 10, 2021

We are sorry that you were not comfortable. All rooms should have 8 pillows. The rooms sleep 4 people and can accommodate 5 with a cot reserved ahead of time. The complimentary continental breakfast consists of coffee, tea, juice, assorted bagels, english muffins, raisin bread, assorted muffins, cereals, oatmeal, yogurt and hard boiled eggs. We are on a 5 mile loop. If you go left we are 1 1/2 miles to town and if you go right (scenic) we are 3 miles to town. We hope you enjoyed Kennebunkport and give us a try another time.

2
Friends

Like many Match listings, the pictures are several years out of date. Minor repairs, a fresh coat of paint would go a long way to making this a lovely property. The overall lack of care ruins any efforts at cleanliness. The room smelled like stale smoke, and the porch was splintered wood and peeling paint. The bathroom fan screeched like a fox in heat.

By on Sep 13, 2021

4
Family with small children

Pool area and bar were great for children and parents

By on Aug 21, 2021

1
Family

The place is run down the staff doesn’t care the rooms are dated and smell the door locks don’t work and as I was checking out a customer was complaining he had bugs in his bed

By on Aug 10, 2021

4
Family

By on Jul 7, 2021

2
Family

This property is in serious need of some love and attention. Plaster falling out of hallway ceiling, most ice machines didn’t work, continental breakfast was lacking and overall in need of a good cleaning. The pictures shown online do not accurately reflect the condition of the property.

By on Jun 7, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 7, 2021

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We hope your room was comfortable. There are always repairs to be done. We are currently getting repairs to the roof so that we can repair the leaky ceiling on the third floor. There are ice machines on all floors. The ice machine on the bottom floor is not working and will be removed. We like to think that we offer a fair continental breakfast. (coffee, tea, juice, bagels,english muffins, cinnamon raisin bread, assorted muffins, cereals, yogurts and hard boiled eggs). We do not have an attendant at all times during breakfast, so there may be dirty tables at some times. When we replenish, we also clean any tables that need to be. The pictures that we show are of the view from your room of the pool or the back lot. This is the start of the season when we are mulching, weeding and adding flowers. We hope you enjoyed Kennebunkport.

1
Friends

Unfortunately not a great stay. The "deck" was in horrible condition. Bathroom was dirty, rug was torn up. The indoor pool and hot tub were dirty and flooring was torn up.

By on Aug 12, 2019

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Kennebunkport-Hotels-The-Rhumb-Line-Resort.h9777689-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Kennebunkport-Hotels-The-Rhumb-Line-Resort.h9777689-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Kennebunkport-Hotels-The-Rhumb-Line-Resort.h9777689-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions