Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

I liked that it was walking distance to a grocery store and some restaurants.

Old hotel but well kept. Good breakfast. Friendly staff.

Very comfortable, near the place we were visiting.

Good location, clean, quiet. Comfortable bed. Good breakfast.

The property is dog friendly and has a beautiful lawn area to take them for walks, etc. Very nice

The staff were absolutely great! Friendly, quick. I was able to check in early, which was wonderful. The room was very clean, I was placed towards the back, so that the noise from the Hwy wouldn't effect my sleeping. The staff went out of their way to accommodate me. The breakfast was pleasant, waffles, bagels, yogurt, oatmeal, cereal. Tea, coffee, orange juice, etc. I had a wonderful stay.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. Convenient location next to Raleys and food. Thank you!

The room was very clean. Bed & furniture were comfortable. Hotel was in walking distance to several very good restaurants. Breakfast was ok, more like continental.

This is a 30+/- year old hotel which has probably never been updated. It is an okay place to stay for one night when you are in transit, but nothing more. The bed and shower were functional, and the place seemed to be reasonably clean. However, the hotel faces busy I-80, and there is loud traffic noise day and night. The free breakfast is marginal, at best. The TV was inexpensive, with poor audio. When it Auburn, it is advisable to hunt for someplace better to stay,

I was thinking that I was going to have a restful night and get some sleep after a long weekend but there was no insulation in the walls or ceiling--there was a lot of noise from adjoining rooms and the noise went until way past midnight. I was surprised that the management didn't call the police on some of the guests for the type of noise and the lateness of it.

The hotels is old and outdated. Our room was dirty and the bed had a dip in it. We were on the ground floor due to we had out dog with us and you could hear every foot step from above. The maids starting cleaning the rooms upstairs at 8:00 a.m. We were trying to sleep after being kept up all night my the people above us. I will spend the extra $50.00 to stay at a different hotel. On a good note: the staff was very friendly and even shipped something to me that I left in the room.

While the actual hotel looks somewhat like the picture on the website, it does not have the frontal view shown at all. When checking in, it is made clear that there would be a charge of $150 if you smoke in the room. My husband and I don't smoke, so we know that fee could never be charged to us. However, when we opened the door to the room, the smell of smoke was very strong, so much so that we could not stay in the room. So we told the Attendant on Duty that we could not stay in that room and he offered one last room to us, which was the only one left. When he opened the door to that room, the smell of smoke was even stronger. I already felt the effects in my lungs and could not stay in that room either. So we cancelled our reservation. However, the Attendant told us we could not cancel through him but would have to do so through Orbitz since we booked the room through them. I actually fail to believe that, but we are dealing with that problem, too. It was not until 4:30 a.m. that we finally found a room in a nearby town. We will never book at this hotel again, nor can we trust Orbitz' ratings -- they are way off.

Bath tub to soak in. Clean. TV flat screen small chair and ottoman. Desk and chair. High speed internet. Fridge and microware all very clean and nice.

Very clean and comfortable. Only complaint was the traffic noise. However we aren't used to hearing it so others might not notice.

When turning on water in room it would come out brown. Very disappointed and disgusted that I couldn't take a shower or wash my face.

We have stayed here several times before and book here every time we visit Auburn. It's not fancy, but it's always clean, comfortable and quiet.

Nice hotel, quiet, conveneint location, very comfotravel, will come back

Everything about this hotel was done very nicely. Good breakfast and strong WiFi. Only comment is that my sensitive nose could still smell old stale smoke in our non-smoking room. It wasn't noticeable upon opening room, but I caught a whiff every so often and my nightgown smelled when I got home!

Lincoln Way Auburn CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • 24-hour business center

Best Western Golden Key places you within 3 miles (5 km) of popular attractions like Historic Old Town Auburn and Gold Country Fairgrounds. This 68-room hotel welcomes guests with free breakfast and conveniences like free in-room WiFi and free self parking.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free continental breakfast, served each morning from 5:30 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

All of Best Western Golden Key's 68 air-conditioned rooms provide microwaves, coffee makers, and free local calls. Guests can expect free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with cable channels. Beds sport premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Ironing boards and desks are also standard.


Property features

Guests of Best Western Golden Key enjoy a spa tub, free WiFi in public areas, and a 24-hour business center. If you decide to drive, there's free parking. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the area. Additional amenities include a seasonal outdoor pool, coffee/tea in a common area, and a computer station.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible, Bathtub

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Best Western Golden Key

Everyone (16) Couples (5) Business (2) Family (2) Other (1) Friends (2)
5
Family with small children

I liked that it was walking distance to a grocery store and some restaurants.

By on Jun 5, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 5, 2020

Thank you for staying with us! We look forward to serving you again in the future.

4
Business Business

Old hotel but well kept. Good breakfast. Friendly staff.

By on Jan 12, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 14, 2020

Thank you for staying with us:) We look forward to serving you again in the future.

5
Everyone

By on Jan 6, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 7, 2020

Thank you for the 5 star rating! We look forward to serving you again in the future.

5
Partner Couples

Very comfortable, near the place we were visiting.

By on Nov 18, 2019

Review comment responded on Nov 19, 2019

Thank you for the 5 star rating! We appreciate the feedback and look forward to serving you again in the future.

5
Everyone

Good location, clean, quiet. Comfortable bed. Good breakfast.

By on Oct 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 15, 2019

Thank you for the 5 star rating! We look forward to serving you again in the future.

5
Everyone

The property is dog friendly and has a beautiful lawn area to take them for walks, etc. Very nice

By on Jun 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 4, 2019

We love our fury friends here for sure! I am so happy you and your dog enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serving you in the future.

4
Everyone

By on Mar 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 2, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We value your experience with us and we look forward to your next visit.

4
Everyone

The staff were absolutely great! Friendly, quick. I was able to check in early, which was wonderful. The room was very clean, I was placed towards the back, so that the noise from the Hwy wouldn't effect my sleeping. The staff went out of their way to accommodate me. The breakfast was pleasant, waffles, bagels, yogurt, oatmeal, cereal. Tea, coffee, orange juice, etc. I had a wonderful stay.

By on Jan 31, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 5, 2019

I am so pleased our staff was so helpful and accommodating for your stay! Your feed back is important and so is your experience with us. We look forward to your next stay.

5
Everyone

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. Convenient location next to Raleys and food. Thank you!

By , from Sonoma County, Ca on Sep 15, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 16, 2018

Thank you for the 5 star review! I'm glad you enjoyed our terrific Team and your room. We hope to see you again!

4

nice place to stay while traveling.

Everyone

The room was very clean. Bed & furniture were comfortable. Hotel was in walking distance to several very good restaurants. Breakfast was ok, more like continental.

By , from South San Francisco on Apr 1, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 5, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us! I'm pleased to know that your room was clean and comfortable. We serve a continental breakfast at our location. I'm sorry to know you were expecting something else. We have: make-your-own waffles, hard boiled eggs, yogurt (regular and greek), fruit, assorted breads and pastries, hot and cold cereals.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Placerville-Hotels-Best-Western-Golden-Key.h6148-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Placerville-Hotels-Best-Western-Golden-Key.h6148-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Placerville-Hotels-Best-Western-Golden-Key.h6148-p2.Hotel-Reviews