Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Good location, clean, quiet. Comfortable bed. Good breakfast.

The property is dog friendly and has a beautiful lawn area to take them for walks, etc. Very nice

The staff were absolutely great! Friendly, quick. I was able to check in early, which was wonderful. The room was very clean, I was placed towards the back, so that the noise from the Hwy wouldn't effect my sleeping. The staff went out of their way to accommodate me. The breakfast was pleasant, waffles, bagels, yogurt, oatmeal, cereal. Tea, coffee, orange juice, etc. I had a wonderful stay.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. Convenient location next to Raleys and food. Thank you!

The room was very clean. Bed & furniture were comfortable. Hotel was in walking distance to several very good restaurants. Breakfast was ok, more like continental.

This is a 30+/- year old hotel which has probably never been updated. It is an okay place to stay for one night when you are in transit, but nothing more. The bed and shower were functional, and the place seemed to be reasonably clean. However, the hotel faces busy I-80, and there is loud traffic noise day and night. The free breakfast is marginal, at best. The TV was inexpensive, with poor audio. When it Auburn, it is advisable to hunt for someplace better to stay,

I was thinking that I was going to have a restful night and get some sleep after a long weekend but there was no insulation in the walls or ceiling--there was a lot of noise from adjoining rooms and the noise went until way past midnight. I was surprised that the management didn't call the police on some of the guests for the type of noise and the lateness of it.

The hotels is old and outdated. Our room was dirty and the bed had a dip in it. We were on the ground floor due to we had out dog with us and you could hear every foot step from above. The maids starting cleaning the rooms upstairs at 8:00 a.m. We were trying to sleep after being kept up all night my the people above us. I will spend the extra $50.00 to stay at a different hotel. On a good note: the staff was very friendly and even shipped something to me that I left in the room.

While the actual hotel looks somewhat like the picture on the website, it does not have the frontal view shown at all. When checking in, it is made clear that there would be a charge of $150 if you smoke in the room. My husband and I don't smoke, so we know that fee could never be charged to us. However, when we opened the door to the room, the smell of smoke was very strong, so much so that we could not stay in the room. So we told the Attendant on Duty that we could not stay in that room and he offered one last room to us, which was the only one left. When he opened the door to that room, the smell of smoke was even stronger. I already felt the effects in my lungs and could not stay in that room either. So we cancelled our reservation. However, the Attendant told us we could not cancel through him but would have to do so through Orbitz since we booked the room through them. I actually fail to believe that, but we are dealing with that problem, too. It was not until 4:30 a.m. that we finally found a room in a nearby town. We will never book at this hotel again, nor can we trust Orbitz' ratings -- they are way off.

Bath tub to soak in. Clean. TV flat screen small chair and ottoman. Desk and chair. High speed internet. Fridge and microware all very clean and nice.

Very clean and comfortable. Only complaint was the traffic noise. However we aren't used to hearing it so others might not notice.

When turning on water in room it would come out brown. Very disappointed and disgusted that I couldn't take a shower or wash my face.

We have stayed here several times before and book here every time we visit Auburn. It's not fancy, but it's always clean, comfortable and quiet.

Nice hotel, quiet, conveneint location, very comfotravel, will come back

Everything about this hotel was done very nicely. Good breakfast and strong WiFi. Only comment is that my sensitive nose could still smell old stale smoke in our non-smoking room. It wasn't noticeable upon opening room, but I caught a whiff every so often and my nightgown smelled when I got home!

Had a very pleasant stay. Great place to stay while a quick trip to the area. Would stay again for sure

We missed seeing the SF Giants Playoff. It would have been nice to have the additional channel. Only one package of regular coffee for three adults,

Very pleasant staff, room was clean, everything comfortable enough

We just stayed here one night on our way to Tahoe but it was perfect. The room was very comfortable it was quiet, we relaxed in the hot tub in the evening which was empty, I also went in the morning after breakfast and was also empty then too! Nice breakfast in the morning and helpful staff, couldn't ask for better really!

Lincoln Way Auburn CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool

Best Western Golden Key is located within a few miles (5 km) of Placer County Visitors Bureau and Historic Old Town Auburn. This 68-room motel has free breakfast along with conveniences like an outdoor pool and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is served each morning from 5:30 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

All 68 air-conditioned rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Free local calls, ironing boards, and desks are other standard amenities.


Property features

Guests staying at Best Western Golden Key enjoy an outdoor pool, a spa tub, and free WiFi in public areas. If you drive, put free parking to good use. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to help secure valuables, and answer any questions about the area. Additional amenities include a 24-hour business center, a seasonal outdoor pool, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave (Pet Friendly)

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave (Pet Friendly)

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave (Pet Friendly)

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Best Western Golden Key

Everyone (15) Couples (4) Business (2) Family (2) Other (1) Friends (2)
5
Everyone

Good location, clean, quiet. Comfortable bed. Good breakfast.

By on Oct 13, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 15, 2019

Thank you for the 5 star rating! We look forward to serving you again in the future.

5
Everyone

The property is dog friendly and has a beautiful lawn area to take them for walks, etc. Very nice

By on Jun 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 4, 2019

We love our fury friends here for sure! I am so happy you and your dog enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serving you in the future.

4
Everyone

By on Mar 14, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 2, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We value your experience with us and we look forward to your next visit.

4
Everyone

The staff were absolutely great! Friendly, quick. I was able to check in early, which was wonderful. The room was very clean, I was placed towards the back, so that the noise from the Hwy wouldn't effect my sleeping. The staff went out of their way to accommodate me. The breakfast was pleasant, waffles, bagels, yogurt, oatmeal, cereal. Tea, coffee, orange juice, etc. I had a wonderful stay.

By on Jan 31, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 5, 2019

I am so pleased our staff was so helpful and accommodating for your stay! Your feed back is important and so is your experience with us. We look forward to your next stay.

5
Everyone

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and comfortable. Convenient location next to Raleys and food. Thank you!

By , from Sonoma County, Ca on Sep 15, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 16, 2018

Thank you for the 5 star review! I'm glad you enjoyed our terrific Team and your room. We hope to see you again!

4

nice place to stay while traveling.

Everyone

The room was very clean. Bed & furniture were comfortable. Hotel was in walking distance to several very good restaurants. Breakfast was ok, more like continental.

By , from South San Francisco on Apr 1, 2018

Review comment responded on Apr 5, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us! I'm pleased to know that your room was clean and comfortable. We serve a continental breakfast at our location. I'm sorry to know you were expecting something else. We have: make-your-own waffles, hard boiled eggs, yogurt (regular and greek), fruit, assorted breads and pastries, hot and cold cereals.

3

older hotel in need of renovation facing loud i-80

Everyone

This is a 30+/- year old hotel which has probably never been updated. It is an okay place to stay for one night when you are in transit, but nothing more. The bed and shower were functional, and the place seemed to be reasonably clean. However, the hotel faces busy I-80, and there is loud traffic noise day and night. The free breakfast is marginal, at best. The TV was inexpensive, with poor audio. When it Auburn, it is advisable to hunt for someplace better to stay,

By , from Stoupa, Messinia, Greece on Feb 22, 2018

Review comment responded on Mar 3, 2018

Thank you for staying with us. We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay.

3

old hotel with no sound insulation

Everyone

I was thinking that I was going to have a restful night and get some sleep after a long weekend but there was no insulation in the walls or ceiling--there was a lot of noise from adjoining rooms and the noise went until way past midnight. I was surprised that the management didn't call the police on some of the guests for the type of noise and the lateness of it.

By on May 9, 2017

Review comment responded on May 14, 2017

I am sorry that you did not have a restful stay with us. Did you report the noise to the Front Desk? We try to resolve issues for our guests expediently. I would like to apologize on behalf of our Team. I will notify our Owners about your insulation comment.

2

warning..do not stay here!!

Everyone

The hotels is old and outdated. Our room was dirty and the bed had a dip in it. We were on the ground floor due to we had out dog with us and you could hear every foot step from above. The maids starting cleaning the rooms upstairs at 8:00 a.m. We were trying to sleep after being kept up all night my the people above us. I will spend the extra $50.00 to stay at a different hotel. On a good note: the staff was very friendly and even shipped something to me that I left in the room.

By on Mar 29, 2017

Review comment responded on Apr 9, 2017

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I wish I had more information so that I could look in to this issue...when you stayed, room number, etc...so that I could figure out where we went wrong. I hope that you will give us a second chance in the future.

1

not what is pictured or rated

Everyone

While the actual hotel looks somewhat like the picture on the website, it does not have the frontal view shown at all. When checking in, it is made clear that there would be a charge of $150 if you smoke in the room. My husband and I don't smoke, so we know that fee could never be charged to us. However, when we opened the door to the room, the smell of smoke was very strong, so much so that we could not stay in the room. So we told the Attendant on Duty that we could not stay in that room and he offered one last room to us, which was the only one left. When he opened the door to that room, the smell of smoke was even stronger. I already felt the effects in my lungs and could not stay in that room either. So we cancelled our reservation. However, the Attendant told us we could not cancel through him but would have to do so through Orbitz since we booked the room through them. I actually fail to believe that, but we are dealing with that problem, too. It was not until 4:30 a.m. that we finally found a room in a nearby town. We will never book at this hotel again, nor can we trust Orbitz' ratings -- they are way off.

By , from Apple Valley, CA on Feb 26, 2017

Review comment responded on Mar 21, 2017

I'm sorry that you decided not to stay with us. We take smoking in our nonsmoking rooms very seriously. Your reservation was booked and prepaid thru Orbitz. It is true that if you make your reservation in this way you have to contact the other company to cancel and ask for a refund.

url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Placerville-Hotels-Best-Western-Golden-Key.h6148-p2.Hotel-Reviews