Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The hotel was horrible I was horrified by the state of the room and the hotel it should be condemned

Not an “ up to date” place but the staff were helpful and nice. The room was clean and it was a pleasant stay.. Besides; who goes to the beach to hide away in a room? Good place to rest your head. Literally within 20 minutes of everything not just touristy locations.

The blue painted slope walk to parking slippery when wet causing fall.

I booked last minute for the Memorial Day weekend. It was $240 but I had no other good choice. I thought it might be decent but it wasn’t. The room smelled like an ash tray and there were cigarette burns on the comforter and carpet. People would knock on my door in the middle of the night. I just stayed in my car the last night. Not worth it.

The bedding was very bad: very old and stained covers. Wrinkled sheets. The worse: the pillows were extremely old, discolored, dirty in general but smelly and also stained with what appeared as vomit, fungus and old blood. We couldn’t stay. We left.

In general it was dirty and not maintained. Location was convenient.

Nice stay and clean room for what we paid! We will definitely be coming back

Let me say that i did stay for 3 nights because there was nothing else because of the Hang out Festival. There are so many issues that i left it alone. Top 3 were that the room was so damp in side. My clothing felt like i took it out of the mashing machine and put it on without drying it. The mini refrigerator they had showed rust under the painted surfaces. Toilet seat was sticky to the touch. It was so old that the paint was wearing off and the wood was showing through. Sheets had not been changed because the bed had a unmade sloppiness about the bed. That's why i travel with my own sheets. The room was NEVER refreshed the entire time i stayed. Just to be fair, i work at night and would get to the hotel room around 7:30 AM . I would leave by 1:00 PM before the cleaning staff lwft for the day. They never came back, never changed towels or gave new soap etc.. The room was in poor shape to begin with. I have stayed with the chain in the past, but this was the worst one. I will not stay with them again EVER.

Nothing about the complex itself it was the people staying there who was loud and it made it a little hard to sleep.

We actually lost money because the second night we went to a different hotel. It was the most disgusting, uncomfortable hotel I’ve ever been in. It should probably be quarantine

The house keeping people where great and friendly The manager or managers daughter was a very rude person. The pool was GREEN and did not get cleaned till the last day we were here Very dissatisfied with a hotel I spent almost 400 at.

Well not stay there again.

Room was canceled due to late,arrival, even though confirmation was,made with cc.

For what it is I have no complaints, in the office people are very reasonable

Just an older hotel, it could use some updating, a tad noisy at night also

Rooms were extremely dirty. I couldn't convince my kids to take a shower in the bathroom. AC was noisy. One of the rooms was smelling really bad. The pillows were dirty. I wrapped my pillow with a t-shirt in order to sleep. Towels had yellowish stains.

The room was cleaned but had a funny smell, was 30 min away from the beach, they only offer donuts and coffee as the continental breakfast.

Room smelled of cleaner. Room was outdated. Only new item was the TV. Ice machine was not working there was a cup placed on machine where you had to take top off and dip out ice! Wife found a bug in bed the next morning!

Yes it was ok close by restaurant the bed ok the bathroom ok the staff ok overall. It ok

Pensacola Boulevard Pensacola FL

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Laundry facilities

Located within a leisurely stroll of Sam's Fun City, Sweet Dream Inn is within a few miles (5 km) of Marcus Pointe Golf Club. This 60-room motel has an outdoor pool, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Rooms

Sweet Dream Inn's 60 rooms are air-conditioned and provide balconies, microwaves, and refrigerators. 40-inch flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Free local calls and desks are also standard.


Property features

Sweet Dream Inn features an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and coffee in a common area. If you drive, take advantage of free parking. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with luggage storage, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include a terrace, laundry facilities, and a garden.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed, Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Sweet Dream Inn

Everyone (9) Couples (10) Business (4) Family (17) Other (5)
1
Family

The hotel was horrible I was horrified by the state of the room and the hotel it should be condemned

By on Aug 3, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 5, 2021

Dear guest, We are very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with the room. Our aim is to provide a clean, comfortable and pleasant place to stay, and we sincerely apologize for the aspects of the room that marred your stay with us. We wish you had made our staff aware of this as they would have gladly taken care of the issue and switched your room to ensure a pleasant stay for you. It is disappointing if a guest leaves with less than first-rate experience - this is very unlike us. We know we can do better, and it would be an honor to have another chance to change your perception and restore your faith in our facility and hospitality. Best Regards, Guest Experience Team Sweet Dream Inn

4
Family

Not an “ up to date” place but the staff were helpful and nice. The room was clean and it was a pleasant stay.. Besides; who goes to the beach to hide away in a room? Good place to rest your head. Literally within 20 minutes of everything not just touristy locations.

By on Jul 20, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 21, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to make this review look forward to seeing you again.

1
Everyone

The blue painted slope walk to parking slippery when wet causing fall.

By on Jul 7, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 12, 2021

Dear guest, We are sorry to hear that you came across a slippery spot on our concrete, and we deeply regret the inconvenience caused. Please know that we have noted your feedback, and rest assured that we will be addressing this issue to make sure it's not slippery again. We look forward to an opportunity to redeem ourselves with you and restore your faith in our facility and hospitality. Best Regards, Guest Experience Team Sweet Dream Inn

1
Everyone

I booked last minute for the Memorial Day weekend. It was $240 but I had no other good choice. I thought it might be decent but it wasn’t. The room smelled like an ash tray and there were cigarette burns on the comforter and carpet. People would knock on my door in the middle of the night. I just stayed in my car the last night. Not worth it.

By on Jun 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 21, 2021

Sorry that you were not happy we will address these issues. We hope that you will give us a chance to show you that we have made improvements.

1
Family

The bedding was very bad: very old and stained covers. Wrinkled sheets. The worse: the pillows were extremely old, discolored, dirty in general but smelly and also stained with what appeared as vomit, fungus and old blood. We couldn’t stay. We left.

By on May 8, 2021

Review comment responded on May 8, 2021

We are sorry that you were unhappy with the hotel. We will address these issues that was you mention in the review. We hope that you will give us a chance to show you that we have made improvements.

1
Family Family

In general it was dirty and not maintained. Location was convenient.

By on Apr 3, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 13, 2021

We are sorry that your stay was not pleasant. We will address these issues. We hope that you will give us a chance to show you that we have made improvements.

4
Everyone

By on Jul 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Jul 28, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to make this review.We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

4
Family

Nice stay and clean room for what we paid! We will definitely be coming back

By on May 18, 2020

Review comment responded on May 21, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to make this review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

2
Business Business

Let me say that i did stay for 3 nights because there was nothing else because of the Hang out Festival. There are so many issues that i left it alone. Top 3 were that the room was so damp in side. My clothing felt like i took it out of the mashing machine and put it on without drying it. The mini refrigerator they had showed rust under the painted surfaces. Toilet seat was sticky to the touch. It was so old that the paint was wearing off and the wood was showing through. Sheets had not been changed because the bed had a unmade sloppiness about the bed. That's why i travel with my own sheets. The room was NEVER refreshed the entire time i stayed. Just to be fair, i work at night and would get to the hotel room around 7:30 AM . I would leave by 1:00 PM before the cleaning staff lwft for the day. They never came back, never changed towels or gave new soap etc.. The room was in poor shape to begin with. I have stayed with the chain in the past, but this was the worst one. I will not stay with them again EVER.

By on May 22, 2019

Review comment responded on May 22, 2019

Thank you for the review.We will address this issue and will talk to my house keeping so they will do a better job.Hope that you will give us a chance to show you that we made improvements to our hotel.

4
Family

Nothing about the complex itself it was the people staying there who was loud and it made it a little hard to sleep.

By on Mar 10, 2019

Review comment responded on Mar 13, 2019

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for staying at Americas Best Value Inn and Suites. We are sorry to hear of the noise complaint that you encountered during your stay. Thank you for letting us know. We have a policy in place that states after 10 pm all noise levels should be kept at a minimum. Upon your return, if you encounter these issues again, please feel free to contact the front desk to report the problem. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority! See you soon!

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Pensacola-Hotels-Sweet-Dream-Inn.h12396-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Pensacola-Hotels-Sweet-Dream-Inn.h12396-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Pensacola-Hotels-Sweet-Dream-Inn.h12396-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions