Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The very next morning after I checked in, I went to go get breakfast and I ate a moldy biscuit. I gave the other one to the front desk. They didn’t even apologize. Then the night manager was rude when I brought towels down to exchange. First he said no I would have to wait till morning. I insisted I needed clean towel to shower that night. He threatened to call the cops on me for no apparent reason.

It was a nice property and served it purposes!

This was our second stay at this hotel. It was the little details that both helpful & others that didn't matter to us, but might have to others. The hotel is value for money. Bedding is very comfortable & pretty. Toiletries are amazingly all natural & great quality. There was a rip in our carpet & a rusty drain in bathroom sink. The breakfast was hearty, but it seemed like the staff was a bit lazy that morning as there was no bacon this time, scrambled eggs were very low & waffle mix was out. (It wasn't even the end of breakfast hour.) Other than that, biscuits & gravy were good, boiled eggs, too, even Nutella. Pool is still closed.

Great location. Bathroom door gaping ... ut csn live with it.

I arrived to find that the pool and jacuzzi had been shut down by the health department. Upon checking into my room, the heat did not work, I tried to call the front desk but the phone also did not work. I went downstairs and requested a new room, the attendant was talking on her cell phone and could hardly be bothered. Woke up 2 times in the middle of the night by the police on site. Just a bad night all around, thank God I was only staying one night, but I should have just checked out and went down the street to Quality Inn.

The pool was closed by the health adept. The towels in the hotel room had holes in them .

Hotel was in poor condition Bed was very uncomfortable Quality of room was sub par

Breakfast was very nice! Good coffee. Rooms are a little dated but nice to sleep in. Comfortable beds.

Our toilet wasn't flushing properly I told the front desk. We waited 2 hours no one came so we went to our sons house to use his. It was fixed when we came back several hours later.

We stay at the Lexington inn every time we get up in Ottumwa and love it. The only complaint I have is they need to let you know when the hot tub isn't working when you're booking the room. It's not a big deal,but would be nice to know

Was VERY disappointed that the pool was closed. I paid extra money for this location to be able to swim and the pool was closed the whole stay!

We were just making a quick stop, so we weren't being particular, and this suited our needs fine. Staff very friendly and efficient.

I have stayed there numerous times since it has been in existence. The staff has always made you feel at home.

N Court Street Ottumwa IA

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Health club
  • Business center

Located 2 mi (3.2 km) from Memorial Park, SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Ottumwa is within a 5-minute drive of Cedar Creek Golf Course. This 3-star hotel welcomes guests with 61 rooms and conveniences like free in-room WiFi, free self parking, and a gym.


Dining

Full breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 6:00 AM to 9:00 AM.


Rooms

Guests can expect 42-inch flat-screen TVs with cable channels, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers.


Property features

At SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Ottumwa, guests have access to a gym, free WiFi in public areas, and a business center. If you decide to drive, there's free parking. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with dry cleaning/laundry and securing valuables. Additional amenities include coffee/tea in a common area, free newspapers, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking (with Sofabed)

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Ottumwa

Everyone (8) Couples (1) Family (2) Other (1)
1
Family with small children

The very next morning after I checked in, I went to go get breakfast and I ate a moldy biscuit. I gave the other one to the front desk. They didn’t even apologize. Then the night manager was rude when I brought towels down to exchange. First he said no I would have to wait till morning. I insisted I needed clean towel to shower that night. He threatened to call the cops on me for no apparent reason.

By on Oct 4, 2022

5
Family

It was a nice property and served it purposes!

By on Dec 26, 2021

2
Everyone

By on Jun 22, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 7, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the survey. You have given a low score, could you please elaborate on the issues you had so we can address them

4
Family with small children

This was our second stay at this hotel. It was the little details that both helpful & others that didn't matter to us, but might have to others. The hotel is value for money. Bedding is very comfortable & pretty. Toiletries are amazingly all natural & great quality. There was a rip in our carpet & a rusty drain in bathroom sink. The breakfast was hearty, but it seemed like the staff was a bit lazy that morning as there was no bacon this time, scrambled eggs were very low & waffle mix was out. (It wasn't even the end of breakfast hour.) Other than that, biscuits & gravy were good, boiled eggs, too, even Nutella. Pool is still closed.

By on Apr 29, 2019

Review comment responded on May 21, 2019

I am sorry for the inconvience this caused you. Thank you for staying at our hotel. I hope you will come back and stay with us in the future

4

ottumwa

Everyone

Great location. Bathroom door gaping ... ut csn live with it.

By on Feb 17, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 20, 2018

Hi Cindy, Thank you for your time with this review, I am sorry that the bathroom door had a gap in it. We would like to hear more about this problem so maintenance can address is quickly. I am glad to hear the location could meet your needs during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again real soon! Cory Ruby, General Manager

2

go somewhere else, health violations

Everyone

I arrived to find that the pool and jacuzzi had been shut down by the health department. Upon checking into my room, the heat did not work, I tried to call the front desk but the phone also did not work. I went downstairs and requested a new room, the attendant was talking on her cell phone and could hardly be bothered. Woke up 2 times in the middle of the night by the police on site. Just a bad night all around, thank God I was only staying one night, but I should have just checked out and went down the street to Quality Inn.

By on Feb 14, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 20, 2018

Hi Anonymous, thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. I am sorry you had some inconveniences during your stay. If you would like to reach out to me at the hotel to further discuss these problems feel free to do so at anytime. Cory Ruby, General Manager

2
Everyone

The pool was closed by the health adept. The towels in the hotel room had holes in them .

By , from ottumwa on Oct 6, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 4, 2017

Hi Todd, Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. The pool is a priority to us to be safe for all our guest to use. I hope that you can give us another chance to impress you. Cory Ruby, General Manager

2
Everyone

Hotel was in poor condition Bed was very uncomfortable Quality of room was sub par

By on Aug 25, 2017

3
Everyone

Breakfast was very nice! Good coffee. Rooms are a little dated but nice to sleep in. Comfortable beds.

By on Apr 11, 2017

3

pool didn't look clean .

Everyone

Our toilet wasn't flushing properly I told the front desk. We waited 2 hours no one came so we went to our sons house to use his. It was fixed when we came back several hours later.

By , from B on Jul 23, 2016

Review comment responded on Sep 2, 2016

Hi Couple from Oh. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We hope that you can give us another chance to impress you on your next stay in Ottumwa!

SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Ottumwa

2813 N Court Street, Ottumwa, IA 52501
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Ottumwa-Hotels-SureStay-Plus-Hotel-by-Best-Western-Ottumwa.h7165-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Ottumwa-Hotels-SureStay-Plus-Hotel-by-Best-Western-Ottumwa.h7165-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Ottumwa-Hotels-SureStay-Plus-Hotel-by-Best-Western-Ottumwa.h7165-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions