Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

We stay here almost every year. It's an awesome hotel, big rooms, king size beds, close to everything and it doesn't break the bank. With that said, it might have to be our last time staying there. We just sold our last gas vehicle, and this property doesn't offer any type of electric vehicle charging. Not even a simple outlet. Other properties now offer this, and with there being so much tourism money in town I was hoping that our favorite hotel would keep up. It wouldn't cost them hardly anything, but would all but guarantee every ev owner stays here.

Simple - don't expect lots of accommodations. When you're staying in Okoboji, you're outside and enjoying the lakes. This place was designed with that in mind. Very clean, comfortable, spacious and great service. This was our second time staying at the Okoboji Commons and we'll definitely be back next year. Very satisfied.

Nice location near East Lake, with a large room, newly renovated room. Enjoyed the fires at night.

No review. No one wears a mask. No one wears a mask.

Very clean rooms and grounds, fantastic staff, and spacious rooms

The hotel was very clean, great location with dock access it just wasn't cozy, hard to explain. Needed simple extras like something to set luggage on or dresser to put clothes in, paper and pen, better lighting above sink. Staff wasn't rude but not overly friendly. Couldn't print an itemized receipt at checkout however someone did e-mail one to us.

Pros: Comfortable beds. Spacious room. Cons: no padding under carpet (noisy floor), large room but small TV.

Highway 71 Okoboji IA

Hotel highlights

  • Steps from West Okoboji Lake
  • Free continental breakfast on weekends
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking

Okoboji Commons Hotel places you next to West Okoboji Lake and within 2 miles (3 km) of other popular attractions like Arnolds Park. This hotel has 71 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you on weekends from 8:00 AM to 10:00 AM. Enjoy a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or have a drink at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

The 71 rooms have an array of amenities, including microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. 40-inch TVs are available for entertainment, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Pillowtop beds grant a restful night's sleep and bathrooms offer free toiletries. Other amenities include free long-distance calls, free local calls, and ironing boards. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

Guests of Okoboji Commons Hotel enjoy a gym, free WiFi in public areas, and 2 meeting rooms. Free parking is available if you drive. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with luggage storage and concierge services. Other amenities at this beach hotel include conference space, express check-in, and a terrace.

Room options

Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Room (1 king bed and 1 twin)

1 King Bed and 1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 3

2 King Beds

2 King Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Okoboji Commons Hotel

Everyone (3) Family (1)
4
Family with small children

We stay here almost every year. It's an awesome hotel, big rooms, king size beds, close to everything and it doesn't break the bank. With that said, it might have to be our last time staying there. We just sold our last gas vehicle, and this property doesn't offer any type of electric vehicle charging. Not even a simple outlet. Other properties now offer this, and with there being so much tourism money in town I was hoping that our favorite hotel would keep up. It wouldn't cost them hardly anything, but would all but guarantee every ev owner stays here.

By on Jul 9, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 9, 2021

Thank you and we are really happy you love our hotel. That is a great idea while we have electrical available outdoors - we did plug in mokes last year, I am not positive that would work for an electrical car, however, now I will look into it. We appreciate the suggestion!

4
Family

Simple - don't expect lots of accommodations. When you're staying in Okoboji, you're outside and enjoying the lakes. This place was designed with that in mind. Very clean, comfortable, spacious and great service. This was our second time staying at the Okoboji Commons and we'll definitely be back next year. Very satisfied.

By , from Waterloo, IA on Aug 30, 2020

Review comment responded on Sep 4, 2020

We are really happy you were happy with everything. Thank you so much for your business. We appreciate it and look forward to the next time you are in Okoboji!

4
Family with small children

Nice location near East Lake, with a large room, newly renovated room. Enjoyed the fires at night.

By , from Washington, IA on Aug 16, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 16, 2020

Thank you so much for your review! We are really happy you enjoyed our hotel!

4
Family with small children Business Business

No review. No one wears a mask. No one wears a mask.

By on Jul 31, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 4, 2020

We have contactless check in available, huge shields that separate our front desk from our guests and we do not enter any guest rooms during your stay. Thank you for your review and I hope you enjoyed our hotel community.

5
Friends

Very clean rooms and grounds, fantastic staff, and spacious rooms

By on Sep 5, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 5, 2019

We are tipping our hats to you this morning! Thank you for the awesome review! We appreciate your time and business!

5
Everyone

By on Jul 8, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 8, 2019

Love those stars! YES! We think you are wonderful for loving us up online! Please come see us again super soon! Thank you for your business!

3
Everyone

The hotel was very clean, great location with dock access it just wasn't cozy, hard to explain. Needed simple extras like something to set luggage on or dresser to put clothes in, paper and pen, better lighting above sink. Staff wasn't rude but not overly friendly. Couldn't print an itemized receipt at checkout however someone did e-mail one to us.

By on Sep 17, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 17, 2018

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed our clean, centrally located hotel! We love the dock too! We do need to address a spot for your luggage and like the idea of a paper and pen in the guest room as well. We plan on adding new amenities each year so please keep us in mind on your travels to Okoboji. We hope you were able to enjoy the Tasting Room or Smack Shack while you were on property! The weather was so perfect this last week! We can't tell you how much we appreciate your business!

4

nice place to stay

Everyone

Pros: Comfortable beds. Spacious room. Cons: no padding under carpet (noisy floor), large room but small TV.

By on Sep 4, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 6, 2018

Thank you for the helpful tips! We are going to address your suggestions over the winter. We appreciate your business and hope that you will be back in our hotel next season!

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Okoboji-Hotels-Okoboji-Commons-Hotel.h12661035-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Okoboji-Hotels-Okoboji-Commons-Hotel.h12661035-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Okoboji-Hotels-Okoboji-Commons-Hotel.h12661035-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions