Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

It was a very unsettling experience. There was a group of rather unsavory people loitering outside the building when I arrived, and they remained there until all hours. They were noisy all night long. Right after I had checked in, (I was a late arrival around 11:30pm), I suddenly heard people talking outside my room. Then they started knocking on my door. It was so disturbing that I switched my light off and didn’t make a sound, so they’d just leave me alone. Thankfully, they finally walked away. I will never again book a room in such a neighborhood, just because it’s somewhat close to Newark airport and inexpensive. Next time I’ll pay more, if only to feel safer! I must say, though, the lady who checked me in (she was behind a plexiglass window, for safety reasons I’m sure, not Covid!) was very nice and helpful. But absolutely everything else about this hotel was pretty awful.

The room was not clean, the area is very unsafe, and the hotel is very old

You get what you pay for. Booked this one based on its price and didn't check it carefully before booking. It's not set in a very nice neighborhood, the check-in clerk was sitting behind a bulletproof glass, and you need to swipe your room key card to get pass the lobby. The hotel is very old and due for a renovation, room smelled really bad, elevator is very old but works. We stayed for 3 nights and had to replace our room keys everyday because it stopped working every time we came back to the hotel. Drain was slow. Wouldn't recommend or stay here again.

It's cool I'm not impressed

Woke up with multiple bug bites on my back. Cleanliness of the room and bathroom was okay-ish. The sink was a little tilted and water dripped on the floor.

They barely have any of the accomodations listed. It's dirty and it stank. They charge twenty dollars for extra towels. No refunds.

The hotel is located across a housing authority building. The area appears to be middle to lower class. I walked through the neighborhood on several occasions and I experienced no problem or issue. Yes there were people outside, but they were respectful. They bothered no one. There is Papa John Pizza restaurant on end of the block and several small/convenient stores (mom & pop). I noticed police presence all around which made me feel safer. There are a Golden Crust (Jamaican) restaurant and a sub (sandwich) shop nearby. Overall, the people seemed to mind their own business.

Location

Ok for one night locked in you room.dont leave the grounds it did not seem safe.

I like the fact that the property had vacancies at an affordable price. It was nice to find something in a great price range. I did like the service I recieved from staff. They weee very rude and aggressive. I would ask questions about amenities that I thought were included but are not. For instance I asked for ice machine and she told me it doesn’t work go to the store. I wasn’t familiar with the area and wouldn’t know where to go. When I continued to ask she told me to leave her alone about the ice. I also didn’t like the fact that I checked in Friday there were no towels in my room when I called and asked for towels I was told to wait I until room service came Saturday morning. Such an inconvenience! The toilet paper roll was low almost done. The toilet water ran all night. The headboard to the bed was taped together found a trash bag that already had trash in it. I feel like maybe I got what I paid for!

The phone line was cut so i was out of a phone in my room

Great service at hotel good customers and rooms were clean and was able to access local stores

EVERYTHING WAS NICE. STAFF WAS PLEASANT AND ROOMS WERE CLEAN, PRICE WAS EFFICIENT.

Easy check in process. Breakfast was bare bones, ran out of bread and coffee

Union Avenue Irvington NJ

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Business center
  • 24-hour front desk

Located 2 mi (3.2 km) from Seton Hall University, Red Carpet Inn Newark Irvington, NJ is within a 10-minute drive of Rutgers University Newark. This 50-room hotel welcomes guests with conveniences like free in-room WiFi, free self parking, and a business center.


Dining

Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room.


Rooms

Guests can expect 42-inch LCD TVs with cable channels and pay movies, along with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Free local calls, ironing boards, and desks are also available.


Property features

Red Carpet Inn Newark Irvington, NJ features free WiFi in public areas, a business center, and express check-out. Free parking is included with your stay. The front desk is staffed 24/7 to help with tours or tickets, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include free newspapers, a vending machine, and a TV in a common area.

Room options

Deluxe King Room -Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Deluxe Queen-Queen Room with Two Bed - Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 2

King Room with Spa Bath- Non smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Red Carpet Inn Newark Irvington, NJ

Everyone (43) Couples (10) Family (16)
1
Everyone

It was a very unsettling experience. There was a group of rather unsavory people loitering outside the building when I arrived, and they remained there until all hours. They were noisy all night long. Right after I had checked in, (I was a late arrival around 11:30pm), I suddenly heard people talking outside my room. Then they started knocking on my door. It was so disturbing that I switched my light off and didn’t make a sound, so they’d just leave me alone. Thankfully, they finally walked away. I will never again book a room in such a neighborhood, just because it’s somewhat close to Newark airport and inexpensive. Next time I’ll pay more, if only to feel safer! I must say, though, the lady who checked me in (she was behind a plexiglass window, for safety reasons I’m sure, not Covid!) was very nice and helpful. But absolutely everything else about this hotel was pretty awful.

By on Aug 1, 2022

3
Family

The room was not clean, the area is very unsafe, and the hotel is very old

By on Jul 26, 2022

Review comment responded on Aug 14, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to share your comment with us. I'm very surprise the your room was not clean. Our head department always make sure each room it up to our guest standard. Once again thank you for initially choosing our property.

1
Everyone

By on Jun 4, 2022

3
Friends

You get what you pay for. Booked this one based on its price and didn't check it carefully before booking. It's not set in a very nice neighborhood, the check-in clerk was sitting behind a bulletproof glass, and you need to swipe your room key card to get pass the lobby. The hotel is very old and due for a renovation, room smelled really bad, elevator is very old but works. We stayed for 3 nights and had to replace our room keys everyday because it stopped working every time we came back to the hotel. Drain was slow. Wouldn't recommend or stay here again.

By on Apr 25, 2022

5
Everyone

By on Nov 24, 2021

1
Partner Couples

It's cool I'm not impressed

By on Nov 16, 2021

Review comment responded on Nov 27, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share a comment with us. Hoping we meet your expectation.

2
Everyone

Woke up with multiple bug bites on my back. Cleanliness of the room and bathroom was okay-ish. The sink was a little tilted and water dripped on the floor.

By on Nov 14, 2021

1
Family Family with small children

They barely have any of the accomodations listed. It's dirty and it stank. They charge twenty dollars for extra towels. No refunds.

By on Oct 1, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 1, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your comment with us. The room was inspected before you check inn and also you never was charge twenty dollars for towels. After you left the room in bad conditions. We're sorry the you didn't like the hotel.Thank you once again for choosing our property.

4
Everyone

The hotel is located across a housing authority building. The area appears to be middle to lower class. I walked through the neighborhood on several occasions and I experienced no problem or issue. Yes there were people outside, but they were respectful. They bothered no one. There is Papa John Pizza restaurant on end of the block and several small/convenient stores (mom & pop). I noticed police presence all around which made me feel safer. There are a Golden Crust (Jamaican) restaurant and a sub (sandwich) shop nearby. Overall, the people seemed to mind their own business.

By on Sep 1, 2021

2
Everyone

By on Jun 11, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 22, 2021

Thank you for taking the time rate us. Hoping we meet your expectation.

Red Carpet Inn Newark Irvington, NJ

100 Union Avenue, Irvington, NJ 07111
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Newark-Hotels-Red-Carpet-Inn-Newark-Irvington,-NJ.h1768627-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Newark-Hotels-Red-Carpet-Inn-Newark-Irvington,-NJ.h1768627-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Newark-Hotels-Red-Carpet-Inn-Newark-Irvington,-NJ.h1768627-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions