Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

There was no fans or air conditioning in the rooms but the area was cool with a nice breeze so that was not needed (went in late August). Room was cleaned but items like toliet paper was not replaced when low. We do not know why but the cleaning staff took out one of the extra rolls of toliet paper as well. Near the end of our stay we were out. The bathroom shower window needs to be resealed to prevent insects from coming in. We kept the door shut to help keep us from getting them in the bedroom area. The laundry service should be avoided. The clothes we gave them came back clean but we got someone else socks and I think I am missing a shirt despite their assurance they gave us all of our laundry back. The staff were friendly and helped us with setting us up with a tour group. Nice place to stay but needs a little work to fix these issues.

It was on a dirt/rock road that was a bit farther to walk than I expected (to get to anything else), except for one good restaurant right across the street. Also, if your room is above the grassy courtyard, hope no one decides to talk or play there because the sounds echo into your room. Happy hour and the restaurant there was a nice price and good food.

Old hotel No A/C No pool Secluded area Breakfast was good

This is a charming Costa Rican hotel with amazingly helpful staff. They are very eco-friendly, which is important to me. The rooms were clean, the courtyard lovely, and the breakfast was very good. Staff went out of their way to welcome us and help us book activities. I would stay again, and recommend to anyone going to Monteverde.

stay there for two nights and very satisfied, quiet and very convenient location, front desks are very helpful and give you all good suggestions

Santa Elena Monteverde Puntarenas

Hotel highlights

  • Free full breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Monteverde Orchid Garden is a short stroll from Monteverde Country Lodge, and other popular attractions like Monteverde Butterfly Garden (Jardin de Mariposas) are within a mile (2 km). This 3-star lodge welcomes guests with 60 rooms and conveniences like free in-room WiFi, free self parking, and a conference center.


Dining

Free full breakfast is served each morning from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM. Enjoy a bite to eat at the lodge's restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service, or get a quick energy boost at the coffee shop/café.


Rooms

The 60 rooms have an array of amenities, including laptop-compatible safes, phones, and desks. 32-inch LCD TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi. Bathrooms offer rainfall showers and free toiletries.


Property features

Guests of Monteverde Country Lodge enjoy access to free WiFi in public areas, a conference center, and a free kid's club. You can take advantage of free parking, along with an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) for CRC 100000 per vehicle one way. The front desk has multilingual staff that can help with concierge services, luggage storage, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a computer station, a terrace, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Classic Room, Multiple Beds

1 Queen Bed and 2 Twin Beds | Sleeps 4

Superior Room, Multiple Beds

1 Queen Bed and 1 Large Twin Bed | Sleeps 3

Classic Room, 1 Bedroom

1 Queen Bed and 1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 3

Superior Room, 2 Queen Beds

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Monteverde Country Lodge

Everyone (2) Couples (2) Family (1)
4
Partner Couples

There was no fans or air conditioning in the rooms but the area was cool with a nice breeze so that was not needed (went in late August). Room was cleaned but items like toliet paper was not replaced when low. We do not know why but the cleaning staff took out one of the extra rolls of toliet paper as well. Near the end of our stay we were out. The bathroom shower window needs to be resealed to prevent insects from coming in. We kept the door shut to help keep us from getting them in the bedroom area. The laundry service should be avoided. The clothes we gave them came back clean but we got someone else socks and I think I am missing a shirt despite their assurance they gave us all of our laundry back. The staff were friendly and helped us with setting us up with a tour group. Nice place to stay but needs a little work to fix these issues.

By on Aug 26, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 4, 2019

Dear guest, we appreciate your feedback because with it we can improve the quality of service that we will provide to our next guests. We are sorry you had those inconveniences. We will definitely work on every aspect you mentioned. It's important to mention that Monteverde is an area full of nature and wildlife, so we try to keep the few insects that visit our gardens outside, but sometimes a little bug or butterfly might enter a room. That could have happened because you left your door open at night for a few minutes or else. It's amazing how we always get compliments about our staff, it makes us feel so proud! We hope you will visit us again soon. Thank you!

4
Partner Couples

It was on a dirt/rock road that was a bit farther to walk than I expected (to get to anything else), except for one good restaurant right across the street. Also, if your room is above the grassy courtyard, hope no one decides to talk or play there because the sounds echo into your room. Happy hour and the restaurant there was a nice price and good food.

By on Apr 4, 2019

Review comment responded on May 23, 2019

Hi, thank you for your feedback. This help us improve our quality of service we provide to our next guests. We are sorry that you didn't like the 300 meters of road that surround the hotel. Also our personal would had been more than pleased to help you solve any inconvenient you could be having by changing your room location. We always try to improve our facilities and service everyday to make guests like you have the best experience possible here at our Hotel Monteverde Country Lodge! Thank you!

3
Everyone

Old hotel No A/C No pool Secluded area Breakfast was good

By on Jan 4, 2019

Review comment responded on Feb 6, 2019

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your comments with other readers, we offer a Mountain ambience and comfortable facilities that are in very good relation with the rates we charge. Our location, close to town yet, on a more quiet, relaxed area, allows to enjoy the town life, night life, tours, dining, shopping, and more

5
Family

This is a charming Costa Rican hotel with amazingly helpful staff. They are very eco-friendly, which is important to me. The rooms were clean, the courtyard lovely, and the breakfast was very good. Staff went out of their way to welcome us and help us book activities. I would stay again, and recommend to anyone going to Monteverde.

By , from Chicago on Jun 28, 2018

5

great value and great service!

Everyone

stay there for two nights and very satisfied, quiet and very convenient location, front desks are very helpful and give you all good suggestions

By , from charlotte on Jun 17, 2016

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Monteverde-Hotels-Monteverde-Country-Lodge.h4485117-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Monteverde-Hotels-Monteverde-Country-Lodge.h4485117-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Monteverde-Hotels-Monteverde-Country-Lodge.h4485117-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions