Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Madison Hotel

4.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

The stay was only one night...staff was pleasant and the bar was nice...food at the restaurant (breakfast) was good. The bed was incredibly firm...so I personally didn't sleep well. I should have asked if they has a mattress cover...like a memory foam...but I didn't. I would not stay here again unless they could make that available. Valet parking is 30.00 per day....

This is one one of the nicer hotels in Memphis. Great location.

The hotel staff was great! They were very welcoming and personalable. The room was very comfortable and roomy. However, the bathroom was dirty and it left me wondering about the cleaniness of the bed and the carpet. I was exceptionally disappointed because I read reviews earlier about the issues of cleaniness and I read the hotel's comments and had hope that by the time as my visit it would not still be an issue. I was in Memphis for the Bruno Mars show.

The staff was friendly, and the hotel was attractive. The room was on the small side for the price. The location is terrific, but parking is a night,are and overpriced. It is better to stay there without a car...such a hassle. The rooftop bar was beautiful! We dined in the restaurant once, but it was very limited. However, there are many amazing places to eat within walking distance.

We had a very pleasant stay in downtown Memphis on our way thru the city. Highly recommended.

My wife and I stayed overnight at The Madison for our anniversary. It is in a great location, but downtown Memphis is always at risk for seeing homeless wandering the area. It is an older property that has been renovated. It has a nostalgic feel. The registration desk was very quick and accomodating, We were upgraded on arrival, which was nice. Our room had some cleanliness issues when we arrived, which were dealt with promptly. The hotel is located a very short walk from great restaurants and was easy to get to from the interstate into downtown Memphis. We parked in a parking garage on the same block to avoid the $29 per night valet fees. There are no other parking options in downtown Memphis near the hotel. The rooftop bar was great in the evening with one of the few great views of the Mississippi River from downtown. Rooftop bar access is free to guests. They had a DJ in the evening and a fire pit. The music was at a good volume to be able to talk. It was a nice touch. The room was nice and bed was very comfortable. I would stay there again.

This is a nice boutique-feeling hotel in downtown Memphis. It isn't all that small - it's 16 floors plus a nice roof bar. The restaurant has pretty good food, but the staff often seemed way overworked.

Loved this hotel. Staff was so friendly. Loved the roof top bar.

this was our second stay at the Madison, and we were just as pleased as we were the first time we stayed. it is a great location, very walk-able to Beale Street, and close to the River area. the restaurant is fantastic - updates on southern favorites. This part of Memphis is becoming more of a neighborhood, residents walking dogs, and more out and about than our last visit. there are several restaurants nearby, that are more than just fast food. the staff is friendly and accommodating.

First intersction was the staff at the front door.they were helpfull and knowledgeable. The reception provided us with all the requested material. The room was very comfortsble and at the price we paid did not have a view, but the rooftop terrace provided the view. Besides we were there for the mudic experience. Any of the staff encountered always had a smile and madevyou feel welcome. Great visit.

We used Orbitz's 15% coupon for this hotel which made this stay definitely worth it. Upon arrival the valet attendants were all so friendly; when we stepped foot into the hotel, it was definitely a very nice place and had a nice bar there as well and a bar on the rooftop. The rooms were smaller than what I usually stay in but it was still big enough to enjoy the stay. The overall rating for this hotel is definitely an easy 5 out of 5. Everything about this stay was great! Will be back again.

Would have been 5 stars but couldn't get an up to date password for the wifi. Couldn't use internet. Highly recommend using the skyline rooftop bar. Beautiful view of river and sunset!

Spend a great weekend at the Madison. Our Jr Suite was very nice. There was a leaking faucet, which I reported when we checked out. It was very hot out and our room was on 12 th floor so our air conditioning would freeze up, which I reported when we checked out. The Madison is known for its superior service by employees. One young man up on the PH needs to go back thru training. Hotel guest can come and go with their room keys. We took our friends up to show them what wonderful view the Madison has looking out over The Mississippi River. We had drinks we had made in our room with us. There was No Sign stating No Outside drinks! He was very RUDE in telling me we had to go or he would pour our drinks OUT! We left! Wow! What kind of impression did that leave for showing someone your facilities!

The Madison is a beautiful hotel that provided us a wonderful mother-son-companion dog experience. We especially enjoyed the beautiful rooftop lounge!

This hotel was perfect for price, convenient location, extremely friendly staff, internet speed, room size and room comfort

good - no that's it. I do not have time for this dfargsgv dsgrarg vdfrgaergvb dfsthgeatgraergh fghateh

Great location! Very comfy bed and nice decor. We stayed in a suite and it was pretty big. Bathroom was nice and roomy also. Staff was very friendly and the restaurant/bar was great!

There must be better options in Memphis. Room was overpriced. No microwave, there was a coffee maker but you couldn't heat water in it. I asked for a cup of hot water (so that I could make tea with my own tea bags) and was charged $14 for hot water. Checkout was SLOW. Iron dripped water all over my clothes. Hotel was 1/2 empty and I was given a room on lowest floor, facing dumpsters (and when trash was picked up the next morning it was LOUD). Otherwise, room was quiet and bed was comfortable. But I definitely wouldn't stay here again (there were other hotels in this area, but I think I'd stay in the mid-town area -- seemed much more fun, lively and interesting than downtown). And really, $30 for parking!?

We enjoyed the Madison from the moment we arrived. Both the room and bathroom were spacious and the decor was lovely. It felt both traditional and modern at the same time. Warm cookies were available in lobby mid-afternoon. Chocolates were on your bed each evening. Ice was delivered upon request.

Enjoyed. Be ready to pay $29 a night for valet parking

79 Madison Avenue Memphis TN

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Fire Museum of Memphis and Orpheum Theatre
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • 24-hour fitness center

Located in Downtown Memphis, Madison Hotel is within a 10-minute walk of popular sights such as Fire Museum of Memphis and Orpheum Theatre. This 4-star hotel has 110 guestrooms and offers a 24-hour fitness center, free in-room WiFi, and a rooftop terrace. It's in central Memphis and also close to Sun Studio and Stax Museum of American Soul Music.


Dining

Enjoy a bite to eat at the hotel's fine-dining restaurant, or relax with a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service. Start your day off with breakfast, available for a fee.


Rooms

Madison Hotel's 110 air-conditioned rooms provide iPod docks, refrigerators, and coffee makers. 32-inch TVs come with satellite channels and pay movies, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Beds sport Egyptian cotton sheets and bathrooms offer rainfall showers, hair dryers, and designer toiletries. Free newspapers, free local calls, and safes are other standard amenities.


Property features

Madison Hotel offers a 24-hour fitness center, a rooftop terrace, and free WiFi in public areas. Valet parking is available for USD 29.00 per night, and there's also limo/town car service. Multilingual staff at the front desk are standing by 24/7 to help with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Additional amenities include 3 meeting rooms, conference space, and a 24-hour business center.

Room options

Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Suite, 1 Bedroom

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Executive Double Room

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Madison Hotel

Everyone (20) Business (10) Couples (43) Family (3) Other (5) Friends (4)
3

bed is super firm

Everyone

The stay was only one night...staff was pleasant and the bar was nice...food at the restaurant (breakfast) was good. The bed was incredibly firm...so I personally didn't sleep well. I should have asked if they has a mattress cover...like a memory foam...but I didn't. I would not stay here again unless they could make that available. Valet parking is 30.00 per day....

By , from Collierville on Nov 13, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 15, 2017

I apologize that the bed was not comfortable. We have memory mattress pads that we can add to beds to make them softer. Please let us know and we will prepare the room per your request. I know an uncomfortable bed can impact your day. I hope you have an opportunity to visit us again and please let us know what accommodations are needed in your room.

4

memphis downtown

Everyone

This is one one of the nicer hotels in Memphis. Great location.

By on Oct 8, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 10, 2017

Thank you for sharing your comments about your experience. We are so glad that you had a great stay while visiting Memphis. We hope to see you in the future.

3

nice hotel but detail to cleaning is required.

Everyone

The hotel staff was great! They were very welcoming and personalable. The room was very comfortable and roomy. However, the bathroom was dirty and it left me wondering about the cleaniness of the bed and the carpet. I was exceptionally disappointed because I read reviews earlier about the issues of cleaniness and I read the hotel's comments and had hope that by the time as my visit it would not still be an issue. I was in Memphis for the Bruno Mars show.

By , from Bahamas on Sep 28, 2017

Review comment responded on Oct 1, 2017

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback. I am so sorry that the cleanliness of the room was not to standard. I will share this with our team and we will continue to work with our staff to ensure we correct this problem.

3

nice location

Couples

The staff was friendly, and the hotel was attractive. The room was on the small side for the price. The location is terrific, but parking is a night,are and overpriced. It is better to stay there without a car...such a hassle. The rooftop bar was beautiful! We dined in the restaurant once, but it was very limited. However, there are many amazing places to eat within walking distance.

By , from Memphis on Sep 11, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 13, 2017

Thank you for sharing with us about your stay. I apologize that you were awaken due to the trash pickup. I appreciate the kind words about our staff and hotel. I truly understand your feeling about the parking and I am so glad that we are close to so much downtown. I hope that we have an opportunity to welcome you back to the Madison.

5

very nice hotel in the middle of memphis

Everyone

We had a very pleasant stay in downtown Memphis on our way thru the city. Highly recommended.

By on Sep 1, 2017

Review comment responded on Sep 7, 2017

Thank you for selecting our hotel during your recent stay in Memphis. I am so glad that you had an excellent stay and that you would recommend our hotel to others.

4

nice hotel, great view!

Everyone

My wife and I stayed overnight at The Madison for our anniversary. It is in a great location, but downtown Memphis is always at risk for seeing homeless wandering the area. It is an older property that has been renovated. It has a nostalgic feel. The registration desk was very quick and accomodating, We were upgraded on arrival, which was nice. Our room had some cleanliness issues when we arrived, which were dealt with promptly. The hotel is located a very short walk from great restaurants and was easy to get to from the interstate into downtown Memphis. We parked in a parking garage on the same block to avoid the $29 per night valet fees. There are no other parking options in downtown Memphis near the hotel. The rooftop bar was great in the evening with one of the few great views of the Mississippi River from downtown. Rooftop bar access is free to guests. They had a DJ in the evening and a fire pit. The music was at a good volume to be able to talk. It was a nice touch. The room was nice and bed was very comfortable. I would stay there again.

By , from Corinth, MS on Aug 25, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 28, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. It seems as if you were able to enjoy many of our great features -- the rooftop bar, our location near many places and our team. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again.

5

nice boutique hotel

Everyone

This is a nice boutique-feeling hotel in downtown Memphis. It isn't all that small - it's 16 floors plus a nice roof bar. The restaurant has pretty good food, but the staff often seemed way overworked.

By on Aug 24, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 28, 2017

Thank you for your honest feedback about your stay at the hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit and rooftop bar.

4

birthday weekend at the madison

Everyone

Loved this hotel. Staff was so friendly. Loved the roof top bar.

By , from St. Louis on Jul 25, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 27, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience. We apologize for the condition of the bathroom and we will correct this. We appreciate your honest feedback and we strive for excellence.

5

best boutique hotel in memphis

Everyone

this was our second stay at the Madison, and we were just as pleased as we were the first time we stayed. it is a great location, very walk-able to Beale Street, and close to the River area. the restaurant is fantastic - updates on southern favorites. This part of Memphis is becoming more of a neighborhood, residents walking dogs, and more out and about than our last visit. there are several restaurants nearby, that are more than just fast food. the staff is friendly and accommodating.

By on Jul 16, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 18, 2017

I love all the changes that is happening downtown and I am so glad that our visitors are noticing the exciting things in Memphis. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

5

elegant hotel near the places to see

Everyone

First intersction was the staff at the front door.they were helpfull and knowledgeable. The reception provided us with all the requested material. The room was very comfortsble and at the price we paid did not have a view, but the rooftop terrace provided the view. Besides we were there for the mudic experience. Any of the staff encountered always had a smile and madevyou feel welcome. Great visit.

By , from Ottawa on Jul 13, 2017

Review comment responded on Jul 15, 2017

Thank you so much for responding, we appreciate your feedback and glad that you enjoyed your stay.