Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Very nice location, the lake just right in front of our room, great service . do forget to order their food , very delicious food. excellent!

Perfect location with a market/ deli nearby and beautiful view of Lake Tahoe.

We needed a handicap access room and was assured that is what we were getting. As it turned out it was not and made the stay not very comfortable. I expressed this to both Orbitz and Sunnyside. The management along with Orbitz immediately got to work to solve this issue. Don, the manager made sure we were compensated. Needless to say we are going back next month and looking forward to our stay. Sunnyside and Orbitz both get an A plus.

I've never written a bad review of a hotel but this hotel is in serious need of updating, cleaning, maintenance, etc. Was only there for one night but wasn't happy at all with it and notified Orbitz. Some of the issues that I had: broken tiles in the bathroom, grout falling out of tiles at bottom of bath tub, mold in tiles, carpets stained throughout, closet smelled like it had a dead animal in it, no towels - gave us bath mats, has a portable ac unit that doesn't cool the entire unit, etc. etc. I have no intentions of ever staying at this property again

We celebrate our anniversary every year at Sunnyside Lodge,It never disappoints.

We lucked out with two beautiful, warm days in April so our visit was a guaranteed success. The grand lake front deck was, however, unavailable as they were sanding and varnishing all the deck furniture to be ready for the coming season - a minor disappointment. Everything else about our visit was great. Our room, although on the side of the building, had a very nice view of the lake. The bed was comfy and all was spotless. My wife tried the Elk platter at dinner and raved about it. Everyone else's meal was also done just right. What's not to like?

Looks charming from outside The rooms are old and awkwardly arranged The deck is a fun place to hang out but you are made to hurry up and eat fir the next customer. Overall, needs a new makeover and vibe

Free parking and breakfast are good. But room has some smell. Staff are friendly.

Had a fantastic long weekend at lake Tahoe staying at Sunnyside Lodge. The room was very modern and the bed super cozy. Great views of the Lake from our room, the dining room and breakfast buffet. The hotel is also located minutes from Emerald Bay and Nevada for a relaxing visit!

The outside bar area was beautiful .. The restaurant was amazing everything was so good we cleaned out plates clean .. Would come again !!

We stayed at Sunnyside Resort in March during a short ski trip in northern Tahoe. It was a short drive away from a few of the ski resorts and on a quieter part of the lake (no nearby casinos). The resort seems to cater mostly to the summer crowds, so it was quiet during our stay. It's right on the shoreline and our room had a beautiful view of the lake and mountains. While enjoying the free breakfast I accidentally left my wallet behind in the dining area. 5 minutes later I received a call from the front desk to let me know that I could come pick it up. The room that we had was great and modern feeling. It had a tall ceiling with a large window that let in a lot of natural light. Perhaps a little too much light if you're wanting to sleep in. We ordered room service for dinner one evening, and it was pretty good. We will definitely swing by their restaurant for food the next time we're in northwest Tahoe. I think this location would be ideal for those looking to take in the lake and nearby trails during the summer months.

lake front room with balcony was perfect, close to restaurants and squaw valley

This hotel is Fantastic! Rustic, comfortable, updated and beautiful. Great free breakfast, ON THE LAKE.

Definitely one of my favorite places to be in Tahoe. The rooms are very nice and well maintained. Staff is great and very accommodating. Will definitely stay there again.

The first two nights we stayed it was very noisy. They decided to clean kitchen hood right below our room. Our dinner was not very good. We paid over a $100.00 for 3 scallops and the menu said it was a half of chicken and it looked like a small Cornish hen leg. It didn't taste good at all. The scallops were raw inside.

You can't beat Sunnyside Resort if you are staying on the West Shore of Lake Tahoe. You overlook the lake, the staff is very friendly and helpful, they have a delicious continental breakfast and afternoon tea with cookies. After you are done with your day activities, you don't need to get back in your car to have dinner, you can just walk downstairs to their lakefront restaurant.

I often stop here and have a couple drinks after skiing, but had never stayed. It was very nice. Clean, good food and a very friendly staff. Watching the sunset was great. The decor is a little dated, but it is Tahoe.

West Lake Blvd Tahoe City CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free in-room WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Sunnyside Restaurant & Lodge places you next to Lake Tahoe and within a 15-minute walk of Hurricane Bay. This 3-star hotel has 23 guestrooms and offers a marina, free in-room WiFi, and free self parking.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is included with your stay. Enjoy dining at one of 2 onsite restaurants including Lakeside Dining Room, which specializes in American cuisine. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room, or make new friends over drinks at the bar/lounge.


Rooms

All 23 recently renovated rooms provide furnished balconies, iPod docks, and refrigerators. Guests can expect to find free WiFi. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and down comforters, and bathrooms offer hair dryers and designer toiletries. Other amenities include free newspapers, ceiling fans, and safes.


Property features

Sunnyside Restaurant & Lodge features a marina, a meeting room, and a business center. You can take advantage of free parking if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to help with tours or tickets, and answer any questions about the area. Other amenities at this beach hotel include free newspapers, a terrace, and wedding services.

Room options

Lakefront Room, 2 Queen Beds, Balcony

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Lakefront Room, 1 King Bed, Balcony

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Partial Lake View

1 King Bed and 1 Queen Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Garden View 1 Bedroom Suite with Queen Bed and Queen Sofa bed

1 Queen Bed and 1 Queen Sofa Bed | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Sunnyside Restaurant & Lodge

Everyone (11) Couples (16) Business (1) Family (5) Other (2)
5
Everyone

By on Feb 7, 2021

Review comment responded on Mar 2, 2021

Hello, Thanks for being our guest. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards, Don Edelstein Lodge Manager

5
Family

Very nice location, the lake just right in front of our room, great service . do forget to order their food , very delicious food. excellent!

By on Dec 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Dec 29, 2020

Hello, Thanks so much for being our guest. We really appreciate your business. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Lake Tahoe. Kind Regards, Don Edelstein Lodge Manager

5
Everyone

By on Mar 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 3, 2019

Hello, Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your business. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Don Edelstein Lodge Manager

4
Everyone

By on Nov 5, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 8, 2018

Hello, Thank you your review. We really appreciate you letting others know about your stay. We hope to see you next time you are in Lake Tahoe. Kind Regards, Don Edelstein Lodge Manager

5
Everyone

Perfect location with a market/ deli nearby and beautiful view of Lake Tahoe.

By on Oct 23, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 24, 2018

Hello Cindy, Thank you very much for being our guest. We really appreciate your business. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you next time you are in Lake Tahoe. Kind Regards, Don Edelstein Lodge Manager

5
Everyone

We needed a handicap access room and was assured that is what we were getting. As it turned out it was not and made the stay not very comfortable. I expressed this to both Orbitz and Sunnyside. The management along with Orbitz immediately got to work to solve this issue. Don, the manager made sure we were compensated. Needless to say we are going back next month and looking forward to our stay. Sunnyside and Orbitz both get an A plus.

By on Aug 15, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 18, 2018

Hello Peggy, Thank you for writing such a kind review. I just wanted to let you know that handicap room here does not have a roll in shower. It is a tub with a bench. I hope that works. Don

2

major letdown on this lakefront property

Everyone

I've never written a bad review of a hotel but this hotel is in serious need of updating, cleaning, maintenance, etc. Was only there for one night but wasn't happy at all with it and notified Orbitz. Some of the issues that I had: broken tiles in the bathroom, grout falling out of tiles at bottom of bath tub, mold in tiles, carpets stained throughout, closet smelled like it had a dead animal in it, no towels - gave us bath mats, has a portable ac unit that doesn't cool the entire unit, etc. etc. I have no intentions of ever staying at this property again

By , from Indiana on Aug 5, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 29, 2018

Hello Kelly, I'm sorry for the late reply. We have looked at the room and addressed the issues you have brought to our attention. The downstairs rooms are set to be remodeled in the spring. We have refunded the remainder of your room stay through Orbitz. Kind Regards, Don Edelstein Lodge Manager

5
Everyone

We celebrate our anniversary every year at Sunnyside Lodge,It never disappoints.

By , from mariposa,ca on Jun 16, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 19, 2018

Thank you for the kind words and may you celebrate many more anniversaries with us in the years to come!

4

it's always sunny at sunnyside

Everyone

We lucked out with two beautiful, warm days in April so our visit was a guaranteed success. The grand lake front deck was, however, unavailable as they were sanding and varnishing all the deck furniture to be ready for the coming season - a minor disappointment. Everything else about our visit was great. Our room, although on the side of the building, had a very nice view of the lake. The bed was comfy and all was spotless. My wife tried the Elk platter at dinner and raved about it. Everyone else's meal was also done just right. What's not to like?

By , from Sacramento on May 1, 2018

Review comment responded on May 2, 2018

Hello Bart, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about the experience you enjoyed recently at Sunnyside. We strive to provide our guests with excellent service and we sincerely appreciate you letting others know about the positive experience you had. We hope to see you next time you are in Lake Tahoe. Kind Regards, Don Edelstein Lodge Manager

3

hotel is just old and outdated

Everyone

Looks charming from outside The rooms are old and awkwardly arranged The deck is a fun place to hang out but you are made to hurry up and eat fir the next customer. Overall, needs a new makeover and vibe

By on Aug 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 28, 2017

Hello, Thank you for being our guest. We really appreciate your business. I'm sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations. Kind Regards Don Edelstein Lodge Manager

Sunnyside Restaurant & Lodge

1850 West Lake Blvd, Tahoe City, CA 96145
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Lake-Tahoe-Hotels-Sunnyside-Restaurant-&-Lodge.h4351015-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Lake-Tahoe-Hotels-Sunnyside-Restaurant-&-Lodge.h4351015-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Lake-Tahoe-Hotels-Sunnyside-Restaurant-&-Lodge.h4351015-p2.Hotel-Reviews