Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Sunnyside Restaurant & Lodge

3.0 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

Perfect location with a market/ deli nearby and beautiful view of Lake Tahoe.

We needed a handicap access room and was assured that is what we were getting. As it turned out it was not and made the stay not very comfortable. I expressed this to both Orbitz and Sunnyside. The management along with Orbitz immediately got to work to solve this issue. Don, the manager made sure we were compensated. Needless to say we are going back next month and looking forward to our stay. Sunnyside and Orbitz both get an A plus.

I've never written a bad review of a hotel but this hotel is in serious need of updating, cleaning, maintenance, etc. Was only there for one night but wasn't happy at all with it and notified Orbitz. Some of the issues that I had: broken tiles in the bathroom, grout falling out of tiles at bottom of bath tub, mold in tiles, carpets stained throughout, closet smelled like it had a dead animal in it, no towels - gave us bath mats, has a portable ac unit that doesn't cool the entire unit, etc. etc. I have no intentions of ever staying at this property again

We celebrate our anniversary every year at Sunnyside Lodge,It never disappoints.

We lucked out with two beautiful, warm days in April so our visit was a guaranteed success. The grand lake front deck was, however, unavailable as they were sanding and varnishing all the deck furniture to be ready for the coming season - a minor disappointment. Everything else about our visit was great. Our room, although on the side of the building, had a very nice view of the lake. The bed was comfy and all was spotless. My wife tried the Elk platter at dinner and raved about it. Everyone else's meal was also done just right. What's not to like?

Looks charming from outside The rooms are old and awkwardly arranged The deck is a fun place to hang out but you are made to hurry up and eat fir the next customer. Overall, needs a new makeover and vibe

Free parking and breakfast are good. But room has some smell. Staff are friendly.

Had a fantastic long weekend at lake Tahoe staying at Sunnyside Lodge. The room was very modern and the bed super cozy. Great views of the Lake from our room, the dining room and breakfast buffet. The hotel is also located minutes from Emerald Bay and Nevada for a relaxing visit!

The outside bar area was beautiful .. The restaurant was amazing everything was so good we cleaned out plates clean .. Would come again !!

We stayed at Sunnyside Resort in March during a short ski trip in northern Tahoe. It was a short drive away from a few of the ski resorts and on a quieter part of the lake (no nearby casinos). The resort seems to cater mostly to the summer crowds, so it was quiet during our stay. It's right on the shoreline and our room had a beautiful view of the lake and mountains. While enjoying the free breakfast I accidentally left my wallet behind in the dining area. 5 minutes later I received a call from the front desk to let me know that I could come pick it up. The room that we had was great and modern feeling. It had a tall ceiling with a large window that let in a lot of natural light. Perhaps a little too much light if you're wanting to sleep in. We ordered room service for dinner one evening, and it was pretty good. We will definitely swing by their restaurant for food the next time we're in northwest Tahoe. I think this location would be ideal for those looking to take in the lake and nearby trails during the summer months.

lake front room with balcony was perfect, close to restaurants and squaw valley

This hotel is Fantastic! Rustic, comfortable, updated and beautiful. Great free breakfast, ON THE LAKE.

Definitely one of my favorite places to be in Tahoe. The rooms are very nice and well maintained. Staff is great and very accommodating. Will definitely stay there again.

The first two nights we stayed it was very noisy. They decided to clean kitchen hood right below our room. Our dinner was not very good. We paid over a $100.00 for 3 scallops and the menu said it was a half of chicken and it looked like a small Cornish hen leg. It didn't taste good at all. The scallops were raw inside.

You can't beat Sunnyside Resort if you are staying on the West Shore of Lake Tahoe. You overlook the lake, the staff is very friendly and helpful, they have a delicious continental breakfast and afternoon tea with cookies. After you are done with your day activities, you don't need to get back in your car to have dinner, you can just walk downstairs to their lakefront restaurant.

I often stop here and have a couple drinks after skiing, but had never stayed. It was very nice. Clean, good food and a very friendly staff. Watching the sunset was great. The decor is a little dated, but it is Tahoe.

Air Conditioning/Heat: Thermostat for heat Bathroom: Poor lighting in shower. Additional vanity outside bathroom. Bedding: Bedding in adequate condition. Pillows and mattress not great quality quality. Breakfast: Egg dish. Pastries not terribly fresh. Check-In/Check-Out Process: Quick Cleanliness: Great Fitness Center: None Internet: Free wireless; Adequate speed Lighting: inadequate in bathroom. Neighborhood: Nice area Parking: Free and adequate Other guests: People in the room next door had a very loud fight throughout the night. Was very disruptive to our sleep. Kids running down the halls woke us both mornings. Price paid: $206.50/night Worth price paid: No

We return year after year because we continue to have an excellent experience. The staff is always warm, friendly, and accommodating. We enjoy the complimentary breakfast served in the "nook" and always meet really nice folks who are also staying at the hotel. The Lodge itself is clean, inviting, and in the perfect location for our needs. We find the value to be unparalleled for the area. Great job Sunnyside! Thank you!

1850 West Lake Blvd Tahoe City CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free in-room WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Onsite dining

Within a short walk of Hurricane Bay, Sunnyside Restaurant & Lodge is within a mile (2 km) of St. Nicholas Episcopal Church. This 23-room, 3-star hotel welcomes guests with 2 restaurants, a marina, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is included with your stay. Enjoy dining at one of 2 onsite restaurants including Lakeside Dining Room, which specializes in American cuisine. Order from room service to satisfy your hunger without leaving your room.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find free WiFi. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and down comforters, and the bathroom offers a hair dryer and designer toiletries. Other standard amenities include a furnished balcony, an iPod dock, and a refrigerator.


Property features

Guests of Sunnyside Restaurant & Lodge enjoy access to a marina, a meeting room, and free newspapers. You can put free parking to good use if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to help with tours or tickets, and answer any questions about the area. Other amenities at this beach hotel include a terrace, a picnic area, and a TV in a common area.

Room options

Lakefront Room, 2 Queen Beds, Balcony

Queen 2 | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Partial Lake View

King 1 | Sleeps 4

Garden View 1 Bedroom Suite with Queen Bed and Queen Sofa bed

Queen 1 | Sleeps 4

Lakefront Room, 1 King Bed, Balcony

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Sunnyside Restaurant & Lodge

Everyone (10) Couples (16) Business (1) Family (4) Other (2)
5
Everyone

By on Mar 19, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 3, 2019

Hello, Thanks for staying with us. We really appreciate your business. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Don Edelstein Lodge Manager

4
Everyone

By on Nov 5, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 8, 2018

Hello, Thank you your review. We really appreciate you letting others know about your stay. We hope to see you next time you are in Lake Tahoe. Kind Regards, Don Edelstein Lodge Manager

5
Everyone

Perfect location with a market/ deli nearby and beautiful view of Lake Tahoe.

By on Oct 23, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 24, 2018

Hello Cindy, Thank you very much for being our guest. We really appreciate your business. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you next time you are in Lake Tahoe. Kind Regards, Don Edelstein Lodge Manager

5
Everyone

We needed a handicap access room and was assured that is what we were getting. As it turned out it was not and made the stay not very comfortable. I expressed this to both Orbitz and Sunnyside. The management along with Orbitz immediately got to work to solve this issue. Don, the manager made sure we were compensated. Needless to say we are going back next month and looking forward to our stay. Sunnyside and Orbitz both get an A plus.

By on Aug 15, 2018

Review comment responded on Aug 18, 2018

Hello Peggy, Thank you for writing such a kind review. I just wanted to let you know that handicap room here does not have a roll in shower. It is a tub with a bench. I hope that works. Don

2

major letdown on this lakefront property

Everyone

I've never written a bad review of a hotel but this hotel is in serious need of updating, cleaning, maintenance, etc. Was only there for one night but wasn't happy at all with it and notified Orbitz. Some of the issues that I had: broken tiles in the bathroom, grout falling out of tiles at bottom of bath tub, mold in tiles, carpets stained throughout, closet smelled like it had a dead animal in it, no towels - gave us bath mats, has a portable ac unit that doesn't cool the entire unit, etc. etc. I have no intentions of ever staying at this property again

By , from Indiana on Aug 5, 2018

Review comment responded on Sep 29, 2018

Hello Kelly, I'm sorry for the late reply. We have looked at the room and addressed the issues you have brought to our attention. The downstairs rooms are set to be remodeled in the spring. We have refunded the remainder of your room stay through Orbitz. Kind Regards, Don Edelstein Lodge Manager

5
Everyone

We celebrate our anniversary every year at Sunnyside Lodge,It never disappoints.

By , from mariposa,ca on Jun 16, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 19, 2018

Thank you for the kind words and may you celebrate many more anniversaries with us in the years to come!

4

it's always sunny at sunnyside

Everyone

We lucked out with two beautiful, warm days in April so our visit was a guaranteed success. The grand lake front deck was, however, unavailable as they were sanding and varnishing all the deck furniture to be ready for the coming season - a minor disappointment. Everything else about our visit was great. Our room, although on the side of the building, had a very nice view of the lake. The bed was comfy and all was spotless. My wife tried the Elk platter at dinner and raved about it. Everyone else's meal was also done just right. What's not to like?

By , from Sacramento on May 1, 2018

Review comment responded on May 2, 2018

Hello Bart, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about the experience you enjoyed recently at Sunnyside. We strive to provide our guests with excellent service and we sincerely appreciate you letting others know about the positive experience you had. We hope to see you next time you are in Lake Tahoe. Kind Regards, Don Edelstein Lodge Manager

3

hotel is just old and outdated

Everyone

Looks charming from outside The rooms are old and awkwardly arranged The deck is a fun place to hang out but you are made to hurry up and eat fir the next customer. Overall, needs a new makeover and vibe

By on Aug 22, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 28, 2017

Hello, Thank you for being our guest. We really appreciate your business. I'm sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations. Kind Regards Don Edelstein Lodge Manager

4
Everyone

Free parking and breakfast are good. But room has some smell. Staff are friendly.

By on Aug 17, 2017

Review comment responded on Aug 28, 2017

Hello, Thank you for being our guest. We really appreciate your business. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry about the room smell. We will do a better job next time. Kind Regards, Don Edelstein Lodge Manager

5

wonderful place!

Everyone

Had a fantastic long weekend at lake Tahoe staying at Sunnyside Lodge. The room was very modern and the bed super cozy. Great views of the Lake from our room, the dining room and breakfast buffet. The hotel is also located minutes from Emerald Bay and Nevada for a relaxing visit!

By , from San Francisco on May 13, 2016

Sunnyside Restaurant & Lodge

1850 West Lake Blvd, Tahoe City, CA 96145