Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Nice location

Excellent hotel and area. I will come back for dure

Great location. The building was built in late 1800s so it has unique character and charm. Rooms and bathroom are small though, and don't have enough closet space.

Nice bar and restaurant, fantastic location. Excellent hospitality!

The hotel had a beautiful view of Inverness Castle but the room needed some work. Some of our windows were painted shut and couldn’t be opened and their was no air conditioning or real airflow making the room feel stagnant. The portable fan didn’t really work. The bedding and decor were both nice. Not a fan of their breakfast buffet - it was somewhat limited and tasted a bit like cafeteria food. So so experience.

Nice hotel easy walking to all sites. Hotel looked very nice

We were checked in on July 8 around 3:45 by George, who went above and beyond to make our stay exceptional. The room was excellent and we received an unexpected upgrade to the Ness Suite for our 10 year anniversary. This hotel was built in 1881, and retains much of its historical charm while still having been updated. Sometimes the floors creek, as do the floors in any 100+ year old building. The room has 15 foot ceilings with original crown molding while the bathroom is quite modern and obviously renovated. If you don't like that, you can book any number of cookie cutter 4 and 5 star hotels down the road that look like every other hotel. The views of the river were amazing and we had no complaints. I would stay here again anytime. It's worth noting that one of the more impressive features of this hotel was George, who checked us in. He even let us see our room before booking. While in the lobby, I witnessed him helping two customers who spoke very little English. He helped them book their next accommodations in another city, checked them in for their airline flight, and printed their boarding passes. I'm not sure what they would have done had he not helped them. I stay in a lot of hotels all over the world, and you don't get service like that very often.

We had a three person room, right over the kitchen and trash bins, which were unloaded at all hours. When the hot water was turned on, it pulsated. Some of the staff wasn’t too friendly when asked what attractions there were to see.

Fine hotel right on River Ness. No onsite parking. Poor internet.

Great location! Sleep here! I don't know why the site thinks tins is an insult or profanity...

Hotel run down, small rooms, worn out mattress, floor uneven with broken floors, dining room chairs too filthy to sit on, tables fit for a dumpster, food barely edible, staff unprofessional, booked and got reservation confirmation for handicap accessible room only to discover upon arrival that all handicapped rooms were taken. Hotel should be rated for one star.

This older hotel has a lot of potential to be great, it just needs some work. The size of the property is fixed so I would suggest a much lighter brighter color scheme would help offset the fact that the rooms are small. And get rid of the wall to wall carpet as it is heavily worn. It seems that this hotel is frequented by large tour groups which would account for the wear and tear. the room and linens were clean. We did skip the breakfast on morning two as the breakfast the day prior had been sitting out a while and was unappealing. If you are lucky enough to get a room facing the water the experience may have differed. The staff were very pleasant. The doors need to be thicker as we could hear every footstep and whisper in the hallway and our door jiggled in the frame whenever another door was opened in the hallway. It a bad hotel, but not a great hotel.

Room was cold, especially bathroom gave a space heater! Breakfast was ok. Won't stay here again! Only good thing it was on the river great view if your room faced it, ours didn't.

This hotel is older and does not provide much in the way of comfort.

Outstanding. Bearing in mind how old the building is, (creaky floors, lots of corridors etc), the quality and comfort of the rooms was very good. Breakfast an evening meals were of high standard and reasonably priced. Large sitting rooms with views of river. Will certainly stay there again when next in Inverness.

My stay at this hotel was mostly great, but had a few weird quirks that could be ironed out. After a long conference in Glasgow, I headed to Inverness on a lark to get some solo time and explore. Getting to the hotel was easy and it was in a great location, the staff was pleasant, and I got to my room eventually. It was tricky, since it was up a ton of stairs, which couldn't even be avoided with the elevator, and also with tons of closed fire doors that were tough to navigate with my luggage. The room was spacious and comfortable, although the wifi was very very spotty and slow. Also, the bathroom was pretty cramped and the inability to leave the door open was a bit of a pain. Finally, when I checked out, the elevator wasn't working...not an ideal end to my stay. Overall though, the location and comfort was solid.

I liked the location and downstairs air conditioning. What I didn’t like was the service at front bar, didn’t get my beer only water, had to take my beer from the tap that was already poured but forgot to give us. Unfriendly front desk, not helpful, didn’t look up no smile. Dinner took 2 hours to serve which we paid for when we booked. No parking and hotel on the Main Street. The river and location to shops were great.

7 Ness Walk Inverness Scotland

Hotel highlights

  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Onsite dining
  • Concierge services
  • Laundry facilities

Located in Inverness City Centre, Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality is next to Inverness Museum and Art Gallery and Inverness Castle. This 76-room, 3-star hotel has a restaurant and a bar/lounge, along with free in-room WiFi.


Dining

In addition to a restaurant onsite, there is also a bar where you can enjoy a drink. Savor a meal from the privacy of your room with 24-hour room service, or get a pick-me-up at the coffee shop/café. Cooked-to-order breakfast is offered for a fee each morning from 7 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

The 76 rooms have coffee makers. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and flat-screen TVs with satellite channels. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries.


Property features

Guests of Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality enjoy free WiFi in public areas, free newspapers, and laundry facilities. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with securing valuables, luggage storage, and concierge services.

Room options

Standard Single Room

1 Twin Bed | Sleeps 1

Executive Double Room, River View

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Triple Room

3 Twin Beds | Sleeps 3

Ness Suite

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality

Everyone (14) Couples (4)
5
Everyone

Nice location

By on Oct 16, 2021

5
Everyone

Excellent hotel and area. I will come back for dure

By on Jan 1, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 3, 2020

Thank you for the great review of Columba Hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

4
Partner Couples

Great location. The building was built in late 1800s so it has unique character and charm. Rooms and bathroom are small though, and don't have enough closet space.

By on Sep 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 26, 2019

Thank you for your feedback of Columba Hotel. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

5
Partner Couples

Nice bar and restaurant, fantastic location. Excellent hospitality!

By , from Boston on Aug 27, 2019

Review comment responded on Aug 28, 2019

Thank you for your wonderful feedback of The Columba Hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

5
Everyone

By on Nov 3, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 6, 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Columba Hotel

3
Everyone

The hotel had a beautiful view of Inverness Castle but the room needed some work. Some of our windows were painted shut and couldn’t be opened and their was no air conditioning or real airflow making the room feel stagnant. The portable fan didn’t really work. The bedding and decor were both nice. Not a fan of their breakfast buffet - it was somewhat limited and tasted a bit like cafeteria food. So so experience.

By on Oct 30, 2018

Review comment responded on Oct 31, 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. We are undergoing refurbishment at the moment. Disappointed that you didn't enjoy our breakfast. Kind regards Columba Hotel

5
Everyone

Nice hotel easy walking to all sites. Hotel looked very nice

By , from korea on Jul 18, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 20, 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Columba Hotel

5
Everyone

We were checked in on July 8 around 3:45 by George, who went above and beyond to make our stay exceptional. The room was excellent and we received an unexpected upgrade to the Ness Suite for our 10 year anniversary. This hotel was built in 1881, and retains much of its historical charm while still having been updated. Sometimes the floors creek, as do the floors in any 100+ year old building. The room has 15 foot ceilings with original crown molding while the bathroom is quite modern and obviously renovated. If you don't like that, you can book any number of cookie cutter 4 and 5 star hotels down the road that look like every other hotel. The views of the river were amazing and we had no complaints. I would stay here again anytime. It's worth noting that one of the more impressive features of this hotel was George, who checked us in. He even let us see our room before booking. While in the lobby, I witnessed him helping two customers who spoke very little English. He helped them book their next accommodations in another city, checked them in for their airline flight, and printed their boarding passes. I'm not sure what they would have done had he not helped them. I stay in a lot of hotels all over the world, and you don't get service like that very often.

By , from ohio on Jul 11, 2018

Review comment responded on Jul 17, 2018

thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that George was able to upgrade you for your anniversary.

3
Everyone

We had a three person room, right over the kitchen and trash bins, which were unloaded at all hours. When the hot water was turned on, it pulsated. Some of the staff wasn’t too friendly when asked what attractions there were to see.

By on Jun 27, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 27, 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We apologise for the noise disturbance caused by outside vehicles and a disappointing view. We will share your comments with our team. Our sincere apologies regarding our team not being so helpful with assisting with information. They should be as they are trained to be helpful and attentive. Kind regards Columba Hotel

4
Everyone

Fine hotel right on River Ness. No onsite parking. Poor internet.

By on May 28, 2018

Review comment responded on Jun 2, 2018

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. Kind regards Columba Hotel

Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality

7 Ness Walk, Inverness, Scotland IV3 5NF
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Inverness-Hotels-Columba-Hotel-Inverness-by-Compass-Hospitality.h1122556-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Inverness-Hotels-Columba-Hotel-Inverness-by-Compass-Hospitality.h1122556-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Inverness-Hotels-Columba-Hotel-Inverness-by-Compass-Hospitality.h1122556-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions