Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Mold was present in the shower and the front desk staff said they were unable to remedy the situation in any manner. Pictures were provided. Terrible experience at a dirty facility.

The room was not clean. There was hair in the tub that was black in color and my daughter and I have blonde hair. The bathroom floor was dirty and had black hair on it as well. Ask for the manager to call back and they never did. I will not stay there again.

Great clean well ran Motel. Less than an mike from Hermosa pier

didn’t like: mold around all the fixtures in the bathroom, hot tub closed, cold breakfast

Very clean. Nice on-the-go hot breakfast. Ample safe parking. Large room. Large counter in bathroom. Sizable closet. Dining nearby.

Very clean and Quiet property very large rooms

Bad customer service due to low staff. Could not do early check in.

do not stay here! this property is worse than a motel 6! it is a shame because it was a nice place that i have stayed many times in the last 20 years and it was a decent spot. i was there for 5 days at the end of june thru july 3rd and it was miserable! we checked in and there was barely any toilet paper on the roll when we asked for a new roll at the front desk they give you an attitude. no maid service! i understand during covid, but they are just taking advantage and being cheap. the pool was dirty and cloudy, and cold the hot tub was broken. i asked when it would be fixed and was told "i don't know" thats it. i will never stay at this place ever again. do yourself a favor and stay any other place. the floor was so dirty in our room you had to put towels down after you got out of the shower before you put your sandals no it was gross. my parents had a room a few down from us and the toilet would not flush, the clerk tried to hand my dad a plunger. when my dad explained that it just was not flushing the clerk came into the room with an attitude and rehooked a chain. he told us what he did and then left. we went into the bathroom and saw he had left the lid off the toilet. do not stay here you have been warned. best western los alomitos is nicer. best western westminster is nicer. this is a one star place at best. i travel twice monthly at least and this property will never get a dime of my money ever again! they limit the towels too! smh.

This hotel is definitely a place where 18 year olds have raging parties. This hotel is super seedy and I do not recommend it. When we arrived to our room there was only a sheet on the bed and no toilet paper. When we went to the front desk(which was also a horrible experience) to ask for a blanket they said they’d “try to find us something”. They handed us the most disgusting blanket you could imagine. When we asked about toilet paper we were given 1 roll(for a 5 day stay) and it felt like we were a burden. I do NOT recommend this place!! Spend a little extra for a better place!

Very busy hotel and with that comes some noise but other than that it was comfortable.

Staff was nice and friendly. Rooms were clean. This is an older property. Pool was green so we could not go swimming.

Very well kept and clean, although facility is aged. The mattress is way too soft and doesn't offer enough support for people with back issues.

The property was very nice in the room appeared to be newly redone which was nice... Thank you

staff was friendly bit the hotel had 10 crickets and 2 cockroaches and the heater airconditioner broke

It is just a place to sleep. The sheets were clean and rooms. Just not the best property

This property is more of a long stay motel than a place you should stay for vacation. Walls are thin and nonstop kids running around and jumping, sounds if they were coming through the sealing. Staff was not helpful when told about the problem. Towels had stains and trash in ice machine area. Overall outside appearance is not very good. I'd look elsewhere for a room if staying in HB.

Beach Boulevard Huntington Beach CA

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in public areas
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool

Located in Garfield, Best Western Surf City is within a few miles (5 km) of popular sights such as Huntington Beach Pier and Main Street. This hotel has 62 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an outdoor pool, and free self parking.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free continental breakfast offered each morning.


Rooms

Flat-screen TVs come with satellite channels. Bathrooms have hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee makers.


Property features

At Best Western Surf City, guests have access to an outdoor pool, free WiFi in public areas, and a spa tub. Free parking is available if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has multilingual staff ready to assist with sightseeing, directions, and local dining recommendations. Additional amenities include a business center, a meeting room, and laundry facilities.

Room options

Standard Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Refrigerator

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Jetted Tub

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave (with Sofabed)

1 King Bed and 1 Double Sofa Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Best Western Surf City

Everyone (18) Couples (6) Family (12)
1
Business Business

Mold was present in the shower and the front desk staff said they were unable to remedy the situation in any manner. Pictures were provided. Terrible experience at a dirty facility.

By on May 16, 2022

Review comment responded on May 17, 2022

Thank you for your review. We apologize for not meeting your expectations during your visit. We immediately offered to enter your room and fix the issue as per our policy regarding addressing guest's issues, however this offer was refused. Our staff takes great care in addressing any concerns as quickly as possible, all concerns are documented and addressed immediately by our staff which are on-site 24/7. We hope you return to give us another chance!

1
Family

The room was not clean. There was hair in the tub that was black in color and my daughter and I have blonde hair. The bathroom floor was dirty and had black hair on it as well. Ask for the manager to call back and they never did. I will not stay there again.

By on Mar 3, 2022

Review comment responded on Mar 3, 2022

Hi Laura, thank you for your time to write this review, I apologize for this bad experience. I am very disappointed to hear that our housekeeping staff did not meet your expectations. I will see over our routines and find improvements. I hope you can give us another chance

5
Everyone

Great clean well ran Motel. Less than an mike from Hermosa pier

By on Dec 9, 2021

Review comment responded on Dec 14, 2021

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your response and hope to see you again soon :)

3
Family Business Business

didn’t like: mold around all the fixtures in the bathroom, hot tub closed, cold breakfast

By on Nov 9, 2021

Review comment responded on Nov 11, 2021

Hi Sherri, Sorry to hear that your stay didn't exceed your expecation. We will note the information provide and improve them. Thank you,

5
Everyone

Very clean. Nice on-the-go hot breakfast. Ample safe parking. Large room. Large counter in bathroom. Sizable closet. Dining nearby.

By on Sep 17, 2021

Review comment responded on Sep 17, 2021

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed our Grab N' Go breakfast and free self-parking. We hope to see you again soon.

5
Family

Very clean and Quiet property very large rooms

By on Jul 21, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 22, 2021

Thank You for your feedback!

2
Partner Couples

Bad customer service due to low staff. Could not do early check in.

By on Jul 17, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 19, 2021

Thank you for your review. Early check-in is not guaranteed and is subject to availability.

1
Family

do not stay here! this property is worse than a motel 6! it is a shame because it was a nice place that i have stayed many times in the last 20 years and it was a decent spot. i was there for 5 days at the end of june thru july 3rd and it was miserable! we checked in and there was barely any toilet paper on the roll when we asked for a new roll at the front desk they give you an attitude. no maid service! i understand during covid, but they are just taking advantage and being cheap. the pool was dirty and cloudy, and cold the hot tub was broken. i asked when it would be fixed and was told "i don't know" thats it. i will never stay at this place ever again. do yourself a favor and stay any other place. the floor was so dirty in our room you had to put towels down after you got out of the shower before you put your sandals no it was gross. my parents had a room a few down from us and the toilet would not flush, the clerk tried to hand my dad a plunger. when my dad explained that it just was not flushing the clerk came into the room with an attitude and rehooked a chain. he told us what he did and then left. we went into the bathroom and saw he had left the lid off the toilet. do not stay here you have been warned. best western los alomitos is nicer. best western westminster is nicer. this is a one star place at best. i travel twice monthly at least and this property will never get a dime of my money ever again! they limit the towels too! smh.

By on Jul 5, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 6, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. On behave of our entire team we apologize for any issue that you have experienced during your stay, due to current events we are doing our best to satisfy our guests.

5
Everyone

By on Jun 26, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 6, 2021

Thank you for your feedback!

1
Partner Couples

This hotel is definitely a place where 18 year olds have raging parties. This hotel is super seedy and I do not recommend it. When we arrived to our room there was only a sheet on the bed and no toilet paper. When we went to the front desk(which was also a horrible experience) to ask for a blanket they said they’d “try to find us something”. They handed us the most disgusting blanket you could imagine. When we asked about toilet paper we were given 1 roll(for a 5 day stay) and it felt like we were a burden. I do NOT recommend this place!! Spend a little extra for a better place!

By on Apr 26, 2021

Review comment responded on Apr 26, 2021

Thank you for your review. We encourage all guests to immediately contact us with noise complaints while on the hotel property.

url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Huntington-Beach-Hotels-Best-Western-Surf-City.h34094-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Huntington-Beach-Hotels-Best-Western-Surf-City.h34094-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Huntington-Beach-Hotels-Best-Western-Surf-City.h34094-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions