Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

The area around the pool and hot tub is particularly nice really pleasant to hang out and the hot tub was wonderful.What makes this place is the staff who were accommodating and friendly and when I thought I had lost my wedding ring tore up the room to help me find it. I can't say enough about how grateful I am.

Check-in was awesome. The young man working the front desk was articulate, efficient and informative… very professional and welcoming. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. My disappointment happened this morning. The sign at the front desk said the breakfast is at 6:30-9:30 instead of 6:00-9:00… a little late but tolerable. It is almost 7:00 and the lights are off and no one is at the front desk or the breakfast area. The door is locked. I don’t normally complain but missing breakfast makes me hangry! “Breakfast included” was one of the reasons I chose this place.

Yikes. The window was completely missing in our bathroom. When we asked for another room, the manager said he would fix it. He returned with two cans of beans and a piece of cardboard. Jammed them in the window. I thought he was kidding—he wasn’t. This place is a dump. Filthy and a total hole.

Parking spaces too small for modern vehicles. Carpet needed shampooing.

Nice room, friendly service, great breakfast and very convenient!

Room smelled funny, found old cherry tomatoes on floor next to bed

The check in was excruciatingly slow, rooms were not ready, front staff just left the desk, multiple people waiting and definitely not 6 ft distance from eachother and the room was gross dark and dirty the guests before me still had their used soap in the shower. Not worth the high price tag not clean. Super disappointing

Great stay- no issues really at all- Wi-Fi spotty but that’s minor

Great staff very friendly. Jacuzzi was just what we needed after long day skiing.

This is a motel so entrance to rooms is directly off the parking lot-there is less privacy, more noise and light from car and foot traffic. Pool/hot tub are warm and great for kids. Rooms have been modernized.

Too noisy, But choice of grab & go was ok. Would pick another place next time

Good place to hang out when passing through. Nothing fancy, Just comfortable and convenient. Grab and go breakfast was good. Pool and hot tub good.

Very clean. The hotel provided little boxes of breakfast items

Nothing unique about the property - standard acceptable corporate lodging.

This the only place we stay when we come to Durango! It’s our favorite place. My kids love the pool!!

It is an older property, but it was clean. The kids loved the pool, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

Room was very clean and in a very convenient area. Staff was friendly.

It was in a great location. It was very clean and the staff was very friendly

Clean rooms, great breakfast, good parking, good laundry and reasonable price.

Main Ave Durango CO

Hotel highlights

  • Free self-serve breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free uncovered self parking
  • Indoor pool

Animas Mountain Trailhead is within a 5-minute walk of Best Western Mountain Shadows while other popular sites like Durango Community Recreation Center are within a 15-minute stroll. This hotel has 65 rooms and welcomes guests with conveniences like free breakfast, an indoor pool, and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free self-serve breakfast, served each morning from 6:30 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

Best Western Mountain Shadows's 65 air-conditioned rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. Guests can expect to find free WiFi and cable TV. Beds sport down comforters. Free local calls and ironing boards are other standard amenities. Housekeeping is available on request.


Property features

At Best Western Mountain Shadows, guests have access to an indoor pool, a spa tub, and free WiFi in public areas. If you decide to drive, there's free parking. Other amenities at this hot springs hotel include coffee/tea in a common area, laundry facilities, and a fireplace in the lobby.

Room options

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Jetted Tub (Oversized Room)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Suite, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 6

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Accessible, Bathtub

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Microwave

1 King Bed | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Best Western Mountain Shadows

Everyone (20) Couples (6) Family (10)
4
Family Partner Couples

The area around the pool and hot tub is particularly nice really pleasant to hang out and the hot tub was wonderful.What makes this place is the staff who were accommodating and friendly and when I thought I had lost my wedding ring tore up the room to help me find it. I can't say enough about how grateful I am.

By on Oct 10, 2021

Review comment responded on Oct 11, 2021

Dear Margaret, we were happy to help your search for your ring and celebrate the happy ending! Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

2
Everyone

Check-in was awesome. The young man working the front desk was articulate, efficient and informative… very professional and welcoming. The room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. My disappointment happened this morning. The sign at the front desk said the breakfast is at 6:30-9:30 instead of 6:00-9:00… a little late but tolerable. It is almost 7:00 and the lights are off and no one is at the front desk or the breakfast area. The door is locked. I don’t normally complain but missing breakfast makes me hangry! “Breakfast included” was one of the reasons I chose this place.

By on Aug 13, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 13, 2021

Dear Anony, Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We're sorry you only had room coffee this morning. Unfortunately we had someone new busy preparing and they failed to open the door at coffee hour.

2
Family with small children

Yikes. The window was completely missing in our bathroom. When we asked for another room, the manager said he would fix it. He returned with two cans of beans and a piece of cardboard. Jammed them in the window. I thought he was kidding—he wasn’t. This place is a dump. Filthy and a total hole.

By on Aug 12, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 20, 2021

You refused a replacement room not once, but twice. It would have been an easy problem to remedy so we did what could do - the cardboard was obviously a very temporary fix and the cans anchored it in place nicely. We even took a picture to show off the innovation to others when they run across a guest that refuses to accept a replacement room.

3
Family

Parking spaces too small for modern vehicles. Carpet needed shampooing.

By on Aug 5, 2021

Review comment responded on Aug 8, 2021

Dear Anony, we're disappointed to hear that you were any less than delighted with your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

5
Family

Nice room, friendly service, great breakfast and very convenient!

By on Jul 23, 2021

Review comment responded on Jul 23, 2021

Thank you for taking time to write a review here. Entire staff appreciates the feedback!

2
Family with small children

Room smelled funny, found old cherry tomatoes on floor next to bed

By on Jul 9, 2021

1
Everyone

The check in was excruciatingly slow, rooms were not ready, front staff just left the desk, multiple people waiting and definitely not 6 ft distance from eachother and the room was gross dark and dirty the guests before me still had their used soap in the shower. Not worth the high price tag not clean. Super disappointing

By on Jun 21, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 24, 2021

We're sorry to hear of your disappointment - we encourage social distancing but are living free of mandates currently. Rooms should be ready - any condition otherwise is unacceptable - if you are willing to identify your room we would like to take disciplinary steps with the staff member(s) responsible.

5
Family

Great stay- no issues really at all- Wi-Fi spotty but that’s minor

By on Jun 20, 2021

Review comment responded on Jun 23, 2021

Thanks for rating your stay with us - we're delighted you had a great experience. We are working to scrub out the spots in our Wi-Fi coverage so next time you'll be online at full speed.

4
Family

Great staff very friendly. Jacuzzi was just what we needed after long day skiing.

By on Feb 19, 2021

Review comment responded on May 26, 2021

Thank you for your review of your stay. Staff appreciates hearing about the guest experiences!

4
Family

This is a motel so entrance to rooms is directly off the parking lot-there is less privacy, more noise and light from car and foot traffic. Pool/hot tub are warm and great for kids. Rooms have been modernized.

By , from Grand junction on Dec 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Apr 6, 2021

Dear Angela, thank you for taking the time to review our property. New owners are evaluating closing some of the open corridors to dampen the noise level from Main Ave - also the dome is undergoing renovations to bring back the waterfall feature and changing room. do keep us in mind for future visits to Durango!

Best Western Mountain Shadows

3255 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Durango-Hotels-Best-Western-Mountain-Shadows.h12205-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Durango-Hotels-Best-Western-Mountain-Shadows.h12205-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Durango-Hotels-Best-Western-Mountain-Shadows.h12205-p2.Hotel-Reviews

Frequently asked questions