Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Room was not ready and door had issue staying closed. Bed looked as if it was made but not cleaned based on stains on sheets.

TV doesn't face the bed. One chair to watch it. Water barely flows. Coffee was cold. Waffle maker was out of order. No place to put items in the bathroom. Will not be returning

The hotel has potential to be a really good stay; but fell short due to a few issues with the room and an unfriendly face at the front desk. It's new and up to date in look, but the lighting in the room was poor, there were leaves from outside on the carpet, and the key to the first room they gave me didn't work. I waited (exhausted after a long day and ready to fall over while holding all my bags) while the receptionist checked in two others and helped the couple who checked in before me get a new room (due to uncleanliness). I finally got my new room which ended up being on the first floor right near one of the floodlights that lights up the building at night. It was almost bright enough in the room all night to read with the room lights off! To top it all off, I did not even get a response from the same receptionist in the morning as I told her good morning and thank you while leaving my key on the way out.

The first room they put me in had a wet mattress (which the cleaning lady admits they knew about but when they 'checked' it they didn't feel anything so they made the bed and let me in anyway. Within the first 5 minutes I knew it was totally wet which is GROSS). Second room my key cards didn't work. Then 1 worked. Then the next day neither worked (fixed and didn't work again later that day).

We did like the price but you get what you pay for. The room was the size of a closet. The refrigerator made a HORRIBLE noise. The breakfast was free but disappointing. Not any good choices. The walls are paper THIN. We could hear people sneezing in the room next to us, hear their conversation and even hear their cellphone ring. I dont think that our bed was a queen, felt more like a full. The sitting area outside of the elevator was awful. It needs lots of interior updates.

Too loud. Walls too thin. Breakfast was weak. Coffee was cold.

Had to move to another room upon check-in because the first room was smelly and the shower head was on a cracked wall with rust around it and the bedding wasn’t clean. The next room we stayed in wasn’t cleaned daily...hair remained on the floor in the bathroom; toilet not cleaned; cigarette hole in blanket; needed new sheets, those were dingy and not changed; none of the shelves, counter was wiped off!! The elevator stopped running Saturday and was still not repaired when we checked out on the following Tuesday and during that time frame we had to walk up and down the stairs; which was difficult for me due to my health!!

Clean room. Nice location for shopping and dinning

Hotel was dirty, the room smelled of stale cigarettes, carpets were stained, and the bed was very uncomfortable. I won’t be stay there ever again.

We checked in fine, got to our room but it wasn't ready. The beds weren't made, the trash wasn't emptied, the bathroom wasn't cleaned. I think they may have given our room to another guest who checked in before us and were staying later.

Really clean and friendly. Room was one we requested.

We stayed because was close to hospital. We were very surprised at how clean and comfortable the room was. We were more comfortable here than we have been in past at more expensive motels. I will recommend it to everyone.

Torrence Chapel Rd Cornelius NC

Hotel highlights

  • Walking distance to Lake Norman
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi in public areas
  • Free parking

Lake Norman is a short stroll from Microtel Inn by Wyndham Cornelius/Lake Norman, and other popular attractions like Davidson College are within a few miles (5 km). This 60-room hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like free self parking and a 24-hour business center.


Dining

Free continental breakfast is offered each morning.


Rooms

All of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Cornelius/Lake Norman's 60 air-conditioned rooms provide microwaves, refrigerators, and free long-distance calls. 42-inch TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with WiFi. Beds are dressed in premium bedding and bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries. Other amenities include free local calls, safes, and ironing boards.


Property features

Guests of Microtel Inn by Wyndham Cornelius/Lake Norman enjoy access to free WiFi in public areas, a 24-hour business center, and coffee in a common area. If you plan to drive, free parking is available. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with luggage storage, access to locker space, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a microwave in a common area, a refrigerator in a common area, and a computer station.

Room options

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

1 Queen Bed | Sleeps 2

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Non Smoking

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Guest reviews for Microtel Inn by Wyndham Cornelius/Lake Norman

Everyone (10) Couples (1) Family (4)
2
Family

Room was not ready and door had issue staying closed. Bed looked as if it was made but not cleaned based on stains on sheets.

By on Jan 4, 2020

Review comment responded on Jan 6, 2020

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thank you for letting us know.

4
Everyone

By on Dec 23, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 24, 2019

Thank you for your feedback! Our goal is to best serve you! Your feedback is greatly appreciated!

2
Everyone

TV doesn't face the bed. One chair to watch it. Water barely flows. Coffee was cold. Waffle maker was out of order. No place to put items in the bathroom. Will not be returning

By on Dec 6, 2019

Review comment responded on Dec 9, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thank you for letting us know.

2
Family

The hotel has potential to be a really good stay; but fell short due to a few issues with the room and an unfriendly face at the front desk. It's new and up to date in look, but the lighting in the room was poor, there were leaves from outside on the carpet, and the key to the first room they gave me didn't work. I waited (exhausted after a long day and ready to fall over while holding all my bags) while the receptionist checked in two others and helped the couple who checked in before me get a new room (due to uncleanliness). I finally got my new room which ended up being on the first floor right near one of the floodlights that lights up the building at night. It was almost bright enough in the room all night to read with the room lights off! To top it all off, I did not even get a response from the same receptionist in the morning as I told her good morning and thank you while leaving my key on the way out.

By on Oct 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Oct 29, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

2
Business Business

The first room they put me in had a wet mattress (which the cleaning lady admits they knew about but when they 'checked' it they didn't feel anything so they made the bed and let me in anyway. Within the first 5 minutes I knew it was totally wet which is GROSS). Second room my key cards didn't work. Then 1 worked. Then the next day neither worked (fixed and didn't work again later that day).

By on Sep 11, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 18, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

2
Everyone

By on Jul 20, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 21, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

2
Partner Couples

We did like the price but you get what you pay for. The room was the size of a closet. The refrigerator made a HORRIBLE noise. The breakfast was free but disappointing. Not any good choices. The walls are paper THIN. We could hear people sneezing in the room next to us, hear their conversation and even hear their cellphone ring. I dont think that our bed was a queen, felt more like a full. The sitting area outside of the elevator was awful. It needs lots of interior updates.

By on Jul 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 21, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

4
Business Business

Too loud. Walls too thin. Breakfast was weak. Coffee was cold.

By on Jun 28, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 1, 2019

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

1
Family Family

Had to move to another room upon check-in because the first room was smelly and the shower head was on a cracked wall with rust around it and the bedding wasn’t clean. The next room we stayed in wasn’t cleaned daily...hair remained on the floor in the bathroom; toilet not cleaned; cigarette hole in blanket; needed new sheets, those were dingy and not changed; none of the shelves, counter was wiped off!! The elevator stopped running Saturday and was still not repaired when we checked out on the following Tuesday and during that time frame we had to walk up and down the stairs; which was difficult for me due to my health!!

By on Jun 21, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 24, 2019

We're sorry you were unhappy - we'll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

5
Everyone

By on Jun 6, 2019

Review comment responded on Jun 6, 2019

Thank you for your feedback! Our goal is to best serve you! Your feedback is greatly appreciated!

Microtel Inn by Wyndham Cornelius/Lake Norman

20820 Torrence Chapel Rd, Cornelius, NC 28031
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Charlotte-Hotels-Microtel-Inn-by-Wyndham-Cornelius/Lake-Norman.h116557-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Charlotte-Hotels-Microtel-Inn-by-Wyndham-Cornelius/Lake-Norman.h116557-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspException: Problem accessing the absolute URL "https://www.orbitz.com/Charlotte-Hotels-Microtel-Inn-by-Wyndham-Cornelius/Lake-Norman.h116557-p2.Hotel-Reviews". java.io.FileNotFoundException: https://www.orbitz.com/Charlotte-Hotels-Microtel-Inn-by-Wyndham-Cornelius/Lake-Norman.h116557-p2.Hotel-Reviews