Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

very nice accomidations...will stay there again very clean

Lots of bugs, not clean. The service is not good.

Quick checkin and decent amenities. Had a nice little mini convenience store that had several snacks and drinks which was very handy. Clean room—we would definitely stay again.

Besides the parking because there’s not a lot and when there’s trailers it’s difficult to back out it was great. Staff was pleasant. Room and common area was clean.

Nice place to stay when traveling. Allows pets for 10 bucks and nice breakfast.

It was clean and easily accessible to highway. The breakfast was mediocre and not properly stocked. The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable.

Rooms were nice. Enjoyed the amenities. The walls however, are thin. We heard a dog barking next door and in the morning the man in the adjoining room (not part of our party) kept trying to clear his throat for about 5 minutes. Not a pleasant sound particularly because it was easy to hear.

Very clean and professional looking. Very well worth the money to stay here. Also liked how quiet it was and had a nice pool/spa area to relax in

Front desk staff was unfriendly. Overall facility was clean and good location.

It was an “ok” hotel. If you’re looking for a place to sleep only, then this is perfect. The breakfast wasn’t very good and the rooms could use some updating.

View from outside of hotel had broken windows, etc. Rundown.

Very nice room-clean and comfortable. TV reception was not the best with a limited number of channels.

Pool was cloudy and the hot tub was cold.

Overall, the appearance of the hotel is clean and well maintained. However, in my room I found a candy wrapper on the night stand, a dental floss pick in the drawer of same night stand and dark hairs on the tray beneath the ice bucket. The bed skirts were extremely wrinkled. I checked out of the hotel about 9:30 a.m. and continued on to my destination. Upon my arrival a few hours later, I realized I had left my Tervis travel tumbler and my daughter's water bottle in my room's refrigerator. I called the motel immediately and they said they would set it back for me as I would be going back through the area in a week's time. When I returned to retrieve my items, they could not be found. I was told by the desk clerk that she had gone to the room after I called and they were not in the room. Well, by that time I would have expected housekeeping to have been in the room and turned the items into the lost and found. These were definitely items that you would not throw away. After calls to the head of housekeeping and manager, I was asked if I might have just misplaced the items! I know I did not walk out of the room with them! No apology or acknowledgement that they could be in the wrong was offered. In the week of my trip and since returning home, I have received no calls from the manager. I realize I am responsible for my own items but I also feel a fully customer focused facility would make an attempt to service their customers. I will not stay here again

They refused to take my tax exempt certificate and I was staying for a business trip. The front desk staff was not knowledgeable and seemed completely confused. She said she would check on it but my bill remained the same with the tax added. I probably will not stay here again for business.

A good place to stay. Rates are affordable. Staff is helpful. Will stay there again. Easy to get to from the freeway.

Hotel was good. Arrived to my destination and the customer service was good in answering my questions.

Great location, price, and experience. We used the pool and the free continental breakfast. Room was clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly. Right off I-90, easy to find, with restaurants right down the road.

Just a one night stay. The hotel was what you would expect, clean, comfortable, the usual amenities. Easy access from the interstate. Would stay there again.

E Hwy 16 Oacoma SD

Hotel highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool

Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites by Wyndham Oacoma places you within a 5-minute drive of South Dakota Hall Fame and within a 10-minute drive of Lewis and Clark Interpretive and Keelboat Center. This 50-room hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like an indoor pool and a 24-hour fitness center.


Dining

Start your day off right with a free continental breakfast, served each morning from 6:00 AM to 9:30 AM.


Rooms

The 50 rooms are air-conditioned and have an array of amenities, including microwaves, refrigerators, and coffee makers. 19-inch flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer jetted tubs, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Other amenities include free newspapers, ironing boards, and desks.


Property features

At Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites by Wyndham Oacoma, guests enjoy features like an indoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center, and a spa tub. Free parking is available if you drive. The 24-hour front desk has staff standing by to help with luggage storage, and answer any questions about the accommodations. Additional amenities include free WiFi in public areas, conference space, and a business center.

Room options

Room, 2 Queen Beds, Accessible, Non Smoking (Mobility)

2 Queen Beds | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking (One-Bedroom)

1 King Bed | Sleeps 4

Standard Room, 1 King Bed

1 King Bed | Sleeps 3

Studio Suite, Multiple Beds, Non Smoking

3 Queen Beds | Sleeps 6

Guest reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites by Wyndham Oacoma

Everyone (8) Couples (4) Business (2) Family (13)
4
Friends

very nice accomidations...will stay there again very clean

By , from Sturgis SD on Oct 30, 2020

Review comment responded on Nov 15, 2020

Hello Kim, Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay !

1
Everyone

Lots of bugs, not clean. The service is not good.

By , from LA on Aug 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Aug 28, 2020

Thanks for your comments Tony. I will address the staff with your issues. We pride ourselves on our helpful service, so that was disappointing to hear. I'm sorry about the bugs! Our town has been swarmed by crickets this past week! Hopefully they will be gone soon. Thanks again!

4
Family with small children

Quick checkin and decent amenities. Had a nice little mini convenience store that had several snacks and drinks which was very handy. Clean room—we would definitely stay again.

By , from Wisconsin on Jul 15, 2020

4
Partner Couples

Besides the parking because there’s not a lot and when there’s trailers it’s difficult to back out it was great. Staff was pleasant. Room and common area was clean.

By , from Massachusetts on Jun 28, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 28, 2020

Thanks for your feedback Helen. Have a great trip!

5
Everyone

By on Jun 23, 2020

Review comment responded on Jun 28, 2020

Thanks for your feedback! We hope you had a great stay.

4
Family

Nice place to stay when traveling. Allows pets for 10 bucks and nice breakfast.

By on Sep 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Sep 1, 2019

Hi, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay! We're happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. Have an amazing day and we hope to see you again!

5
Family

It was clean and easily accessible to highway. The breakfast was mediocre and not properly stocked. The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable.

By on Jul 7, 2019

4
Friends

Rooms were nice. Enjoyed the amenities. The walls however, are thin. We heard a dog barking next door and in the morning the man in the adjoining room (not part of our party) kept trying to clear his throat for about 5 minutes. Not a pleasant sound particularly because it was easy to hear.

By on Jun 24, 2019

4
Family

Very clean and professional looking. Very well worth the money to stay here. Also liked how quiet it was and had a nice pool/spa area to relax in

By on Jun 15, 2019

3
Family

Front desk staff was unfriendly. Overall facility was clean and good location.

By on Apr 1, 2019

Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites by Wyndham Oacoma

203 E Hwy 16, Oacoma, SD 57325
url importing http://www.orbitz.com/Chamberlain-Hotels-Howard-Johnson-Hotel-&-Suites-by-Wyndham-Oacoma.h62388-p2.Hotel-Reviews
There was an error importing /Chamberlain-Hotels-Howard-Johnson-Hotel-&-Suites-by-Wyndham-Oacoma.h62388-p2.Hotel-Reviews, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.orbitz.com/Chamberlain-Hotels-Howard-Johnson-Hotel-&-Suites-by-Wyndham-Oacoma.h62388-p2.Hotel-Reviews