Ameron Hotel Königshof Bonn4.0 out of 5.0
Recent guest reviews
I went to Bonn due to a business trip and I was accommodated in the Ameron Hotel. The staff has treated us very well. They were really friendly and persons who smile, when you request for something, and give you all that you need without conditions. I really recommend to go to this hotel.
I have stayed at this dream of an hotel several times. My last visit was disappointing, but a year has passed, and things have been tightened up. The cleanliness of the rooms (and how can you not gush over one with a Rhine view?) is exemplary, the bathroom is well-appointed, and the general atmosphere of the place is quiet and reassuring. Reception staff are efficient and helpful ( for example, just ask for a taxi, a button is pressed, and then there is your taxi within a single handful of minutes). The restaurant is comfortable and urbane in its service, and the choice at buffet breakfast-time is to die for. My only criticism is that there is no 24-hour room service, and the restaurant hours are not accommodating to anyone who has been to a cultural event in this fascinating city. But don't miss a stay in this beautiful hotel and its amazing location, with such a view over the Rhine towards the Siebengebirge.
I realise working in hotels is no walk in the park but the reception staff must surely win the European cup winners cup foe rudeness, and the manager who responded to my Booking.com review the prize for the worst kind of defensiveness and mansplaining. When I was asked to sign in I saw that the paper I was given to sign have a sum much higher than expected. The hotel had added on 2x breakfast @19 euros each which I had neither asked for, nor been offered. This is inertia selling. I asked for it to be removed before I signed and I was told that it could not - as long as we had no breakfast we would not be charged. When I tried to explain that asking someone to sign a paper which included goods that had not been asked for (and would not be taken) I was told ' we will not discuss this any more.' Although the room was good for the price it was scorching hot (almost 100 F). We closed the curtains, tried to adjust the temperature and told reception who clearly already knew that it was a problem. We asked for a fan and expected to find one in the room after we had had dinner in the restaurant. . After supper the room was even hotter. My husband again asked for a fan and a different graceless receptionist, after some grumbling that she would have to go to the store, gave him one to carry upstairs himself. In the morning I nentiobed these problems after I had paid. Far from an apology, the person on the desk simpy said that she had not been on duty so nothing to do with her, When I gently said that an apology would be helpful (by which I simply meant someone saying 'Oh sorry, this shouldn't have happened,' she curtly offered breakfast (which we didn't take). I'm not sure she grasped that the main reason people stay in a hotel is for a good night's sleep - impossible even with a fan. Complaints are not a request for compensation (though I felt like asking for our money back, particularly after reading the manager's response on Booking). Complaints, courteously made, should be seen as a free gift to hotels, and pointers to making improvements. There was no bike parking though we were able to leave them outside.
The location is fantastic. My room, which I didn't think cost very much although I've heard that Bonn is fairly cheap, had a great view over the Rhine, with the opposite bank lit up until 9pm at night (the flip side was harsh sun in the morning such that I needed to keep the blinds closed). It can be a bit of a walk from the station due to twists and turns but the roads are good and you can wheel a bag easily. The path that extends many kilometres each way along the Rhine is right outside but the hotel only has 2 bicycles to rent out and, if they’re gone, you’ll need to go back to the train station to the Radstation to rent bikes. The room was good and fairly large, with two very large single beds pushed together - one queen would have taken up less space - but there was still space for a chair and small table. The bathroom was good with a rainfall shower but low sink pressure. The door didn’t have a security chain and the staff could be overly eager and the do not disturb sign did not stay on the handle very well. The tv had a lot of channels, mostly German, but was recessed so I couldn’t even find a USB slot, let alone see if it would work. The wifi was all over the place, sometimes fast, sometimes slow or non-existent, and Germany’s censorship seemed very heavy yet it was hard to get VPNs working. If you don't have views from your room, there is a good riverside terrace on the lobby level plus the restaurant one level down - good for breakfast due to a lot of umbrellas. However, the breakfast cost €19, something I didn't find out about until check out. Trout for breakfast every morning was nice but otherwise it was a pretty mediocre breakfast for that price. On the flip side, the room minibar turned out to be free, including some beer and wine. I think if you understand its quirks, you can have a good experience by the river at a decent price.
The hotel is next to the Rhine overlooking it (outside terrace; some hotel rooms). It also is very close to the university and downtown, so perfect for both leisure and business. Try to get a room facing the river - I didn't have one and was annoyed by street musicians until 2300h. Staff was very professional and helpful; breakfast buffet plentiful.
Stayed here for a meeting that I attended. Had a lovely and quiet room overlooking the Rhine River on the 4th floor. Room was very clean, well appointed and had many of the usual amenities expected of a hotel of this classification. Breakfast (in the lower level restaurant) was quite good and had options, but except for cut fruits, mostly the same the three days I was there. Staff were very friendly, helpful and quite efficient. I truly felt very welcome. It is close to the main square and also the cruise boats. I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Bonn.
We arrived a couple of hours early but our room was ready and the staff welcomed us warmly. The hotel is situated in a quiet street close to the university, overlooking the Rhine, close to the Kennedy Bridge. It is perfectly placed to spend a few days in the beautiful city of Bonn. The room we had didn't overlook the Rhine, but that wasn't a problem. There's a terrace where you can sit and watch the river flowing by, should you wish. Everything was clean and tidy, although the bed was a little hard. The only little problem was that one of the bedside reading lamps didn't work and although I asked three times for it to be fixed, and assured that it would be, after five days it still didn't work. All it needed was a new bulb but the lamp remained dark so my overall rating has a mark subtracted for this reason. This is the kind of small attention to detail that separates the good hotels from the great hotels. There is a restaurant but we didn't avail ourselves of its charms. The breakfast, in my opinion, is vastly over-priced at 19 euros when there are lots of cafes and restaurants within a five minute walk where breakfast can be had for less than half the price. Overall, a very nice hotel, with very nice staff, in a great location. I would use it if ever I'm in Bonn again.
Had a very pleasant view of the Rhine River from the room. The river walk was steps away from the hotel door and the city about a ten minute walk away. He staff was very friendly and readily answered questions. The hotel was very clean and the food in the restaurant was great.
Stayed 2 nights.very nice location.clean rooms,friendly staff.restoration going on,bit noisy at daytime.nice restaurant inside.Room service was very efficient,leaving chocolates by the bed every night.
Nice located downtown Bonn just close to the river Rhein. Got the impression that the hotel has traditions and now they are updating the rooms to a new modern standard. Nice and welcoming staff in the reception. The check-in went well with some extra fill in on the document (as typically in Germany). The room i got was newly renovated and was really nice even if it was not so big, i.e. if you intend to stay for more than one night you should ask for a larger room. Very good bed which gave me a excellent night sleep. The bathroom is modern with all functionalities. The breakfast buffé is served downstairs but not in the cellar, you will come down to the terrace floor where you will enjoy your breakfast looking out over Rhein and even the Seven Mountains to the south. In the summer I can imagine that this terrace is lovely.
- Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
- Onsite dining
- Fitness center
Located in Old Town, Ameron Hotel Königshof Bonn is next to Alter Zoll and Rheinsteig. This 129-room, 4-star hotel has a restaurant along with conveniences like a full-service spa and free in-room WiFi. It's on a river and also a short walk from Bonn City Museum and Hofgarten.
Sit down for a leisurely bite to eat at the onsite restaurant, or enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Savor a meal from the comfort of your room with room service. For your convenience, a buffet breakfast is available for a fee.
All of Ameron Hotel Königshof Bonn's 129 rooms are individually furnished and have an array of amenities, including minibars, safes, and phones. Flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and free WiFi keeps guests connected. Bathrooms offer hair dryers and free toiletries, and beds are dressed in pillow menus.
Guests staying at Ameron Hotel Königshof Bonn enjoy access to a full-service spa, a fitness center, and a sauna. Self parking is available for EUR 15 per night. A multilingual staff is on hand to assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and luggage storage. Other amenities at this spa hotel include free WiFi in public areas, 7 meeting rooms, and conference space.
Reviews from Trip Advisor
75% of guests recommend this hotelTotal of 325 reviews