Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Best Western Plus Carlton Suites

2.5 out of 5.0

Recent guest reviews

We have two children, and this hotel was the perfect place to stay for us. The room was clean, spacious and was laid out so kids could sleep well in the various parts of the room. If you are traveling with kids, this is well worth the stay.

I know in middle of remodel, but bed not comfortable and AC horrible moldy smell. Breakfast was nice.

I am very weary of hotels, and very aware of cleanliness when I stay. This is our 3rd stay at this hotel. The staff are always super nice and very professional. The rooms are always the same, no complaints, simple and clean! We also love the pool area, so clean and fun! I highly recommend this Best Western.

Friendly check-in. Smooth process and helpful staff. They are pet friendly, which was a plus and the rooms were right for the price. My iron wasn't working so the front desk changed it out on the spot no problem.

Came in for quick overnight stay. Needed to be in the rooms by 11am. I let them know when I booked and they were happy to accomodate us. Friendly staff...offered water bottles when we arrived. We had booked two rooms and they were next to each other. The workout center was clean and acceptable. Room nice and clean. Only other comments would be that the decor needs updating (but is clean and kept nice). The pull out bed was not in good shape but was usable. Nice to have the extra linens and pillow in the drawer so we didn't need to make a call. Would be good to have an extra blanket though. AC did a great job! Breakfast very good. Lots of choices hot and cold. Would be great if breakfast went to 10am though. Overall we would recommend this hotel.

In town getting my daughter set up at college. Had never used this hotel but the reviews were good so I gave it a try. Late check in...almost midnight...and staff was courteous and helpful. Room was clean and well maintained. Bathroom clean and nice hot water. Room set up so TV doesn't disturb neighboring rooms. Kudos! Bed clean and comfortable with lots of pillows. (Need carpet updates throughput the halls and room, but was not a detriment to the visit) Coffee, soaps, shampoo etc in the room, hair dryer and ironing board. Quiet for my stay and the breakfast buffet had good food: eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, gravy, grits on hot bar....the usual cold items drinks etc. Food was good and manager very nice. Will come again!

Just needed a quick play to stay for the night - the hotel was a perfect location right off the highway where we were able to hop right back on in the morning.

Friendly staff and nice hotel. was comfortable and clean. Nice place to stay.

I have never stayed at a Best Western before because of the pricing. But the pricing on this hotel was amazing! The room we had was a King w/ pull out bed which was great because our kiddo got his own bed and he was super excited! The room was clean and breakfast was delicious!! The staff was also very kind! I will definitely stay at the Birmingham Best Western again!

Excelent central location, near by shopping and eating establishments. The staff was friendly. Very appologetic regarding broken elevator. Room was clean. Did desire more choices for breakfast. Manager was very personable. Shower had good water pressure. Pool area was clean. Overall very good experience. Would stay again and reccomend to others.

We were pleasantly surprised. This was our first stay at this hotel and we couldn't have been more pleased. Conveniently located to everything, a very good seafood restaurant right across the street and the hotel gives you a coupon for a free appetizer there. The staff was very cordial and the manager roamed around and spoke to everyone in the morning at breakfast.We really enjoyed our stay and plan to come back. Be sure to see the McWane Science Center in Birmingham. It was awesome!

Arrived about nine thirty. Good service but the television only had one channel. They moved us promplty. Morning breakfast was good. Nothing special but for the money was OK.

Incredible staff! Breakfast was good and most importantly, it was hot and fresh. Room and hotel needed some maintainence. The shower wand holder was broken, so we had to hold it the whole time. The card reader on the exit closest to our room did not work, therefore, we had to walk half way around the hotel to get in. The above faults are pretty minor though, overall it was a great stay!

We were not here very long_ just came in late one night and out the next morning. The desk attendants were very friendly, the room was clean and roomy, and during breakfast, the manager came by to check on us. He was very professional and friendly as well. Overall, a very nice stay.

just got off 8 hours of driving...close to interstate and clean...good comfortable bed...food nearby

this was one of the cleanest and nicest hotels we have stayed in. great location in very nice part of birmingham with more dining than anywhere plus sams club

The hotel was pleasing but the parking entrances could be a little inconvenience.

This was the second time we have stayed here for a single night, but I believe it would be equally satisfactory for a longer stay. We selected it the first time because of the suite-style rooms (queen or double with a pull-out bed in the anteroom). Some rooms have a slide-out partition separating the pull-out bed from the main sleeping area. The pull-outs are not very comfortable, but it is an economical way to accommodate a family of three. The room noise would depend on your neighbors, but we have not had anything worse than the passing conversation in the hallway. With the easy access to interstate, free breakfast, and free wireless, you could spend a lot more money and not be any happier. From the freeway, turn right at the first light west of I-65, and turn right again, doubling back toward the freeway. It is next to Drury Inn, which is more visible from a distance.

Facilities are older, but nicely remodeled. Guest room was very roomy and comfortable. Breakfast room was crowded but offered a true hot breakfast. We would visit again. Fitness room equipment was in good shape and offered several options. Very competitively priced.

It was a very comfortable stay with a nice breakfast and great staff. Defintely would stay here again.

140 State Farm Pkwy Birmingham AL

Hotel highlights

  • Free hot/cold buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi and wired Internet in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool

Located in Homewood, Best Western Plus Carlton Suites is within a few miles (5 km) of sights such as Samford University and Alabama Men's Hall of Fame. This 100-room hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like an indoor pool and free in-room WiFi. Located centrally in Birmingham, it's also near Birmingham Ballet and Red Mountain Park.


Dining

Free hot/cold buffet breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 6 AM to 9 AM. For a nice break, mingle with other guests at the free manager's reception.


Rooms

All 100 recently renovated accommodations feature sitting areas. 42-inch flat-screen TVs come with cable channels, and guests can stay connected with free WiFi and wired Internet. Bathrooms offer deep soaking tubs, hair dryers, and free toiletries. Sofa beds, microwaves, and refrigerators are also standard.


Property features

At Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, guests enjoy an indoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. You can put free parking to good use if you drive. Front-desk staff can answer questions 24/7, and assist with dry cleaning/laundry, concierge services, and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a meeting room, a 24-hour business center, and a computer station.

Room options

Presidential Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Jetted Tub

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Suite, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking, Microwave (Third bed is a Sofabed)

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 Queen Bed with Sofa bed, Accessible, Non Smoking (with Sofabed)

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking, Jetted Tub (with Sofabed)

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Guest reviews for Best Western Plus Carlton Suites

Everyone (3) Couples (14) Business (2) Family (12) Friends (2) Other (1)
4

great stay

Families

We have two children, and this hotel was the perfect place to stay for us. The room was clean, spacious and was laid out so kids could sleep well in the various parts of the room. If you are traveling with kids, this is well worth the stay.

By on Nov 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 5, 2017

Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

4

nice

Everyone

I know in middle of remodel, but bed not comfortable and AC horrible moldy smell. Breakfast was nice.

By on Jun 2, 2017

5

absolutely love this place! 3rd time staying here.

Everyone

I am very weary of hotels, and very aware of cleanliness when I stay. This is our 3rd stay at this hotel. The staff are always super nice and very professional. The rooms are always the same, no complaints, simple and clean! We also love the pool area, so clean and fun! I highly recommend this Best Western.

By , from Oxford, AL on Apr 1, 2017

5

first visit to birmingham

Everyone

Friendly check-in. Smooth process and helpful staff. They are pet friendly, which was a plus and the rooms were right for the price. My iron wasn't working so the front desk changed it out on the spot no problem.

By on Mar 6, 2016

Review comment responded on Feb 9, 2017

Thank you for your stay. I'm so happy to hear that you had a warm greeting upon arrival, and that you had an overall wonderful visit! I do apologize that the iron was not working properly, but am happy to know that the front desk agent resolved the issue. Please come again soon! - Charlotte Bren

5

college visit

Families

Came in for quick overnight stay. Needed to be in the rooms by 11am. I let them know when I booked and they were happy to accomodate us. Friendly staff...offered water bottles when we arrived. We had booked two rooms and they were next to each other. The workout center was clean and acceptable. Room nice and clean. Only other comments would be that the decor needs updating (but is clean and kept nice). The pull out bed was not in good shape but was usable. Nice to have the extra linens and pillow in the drawer so we didn't need to make a call. Would be good to have an extra blanket though. AC did a great job! Breakfast very good. Lots of choices hot and cold. Would be great if breakfast went to 10am though. Overall we would recommend this hotel.

By on Sep 28, 2015

5

pleasantly surprised

Families

In town getting my daughter set up at college. Had never used this hotel but the reviews were good so I gave it a try. Late check in...almost midnight...and staff was courteous and helpful. Room was clean and well maintained. Bathroom clean and nice hot water. Room set up so TV doesn't disturb neighboring rooms. Kudos! Bed clean and comfortable with lots of pillows. (Need carpet updates throughput the halls and room, but was not a detriment to the visit) Coffee, soaps, shampoo etc in the room, hair dryer and ironing board. Quiet for my stay and the breakfast buffet had good food: eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, gravy, grits on hot bar....the usual cold items drinks etc. Food was good and manager very nice. Will come again!

By on Aug 11, 2015

4

right off highway

Couples

Just needed a quick play to stay for the night - the hotel was a perfect location right off the highway where we were able to hop right back on in the morning.

By on Jul 4, 2015

5

fun get-a-way

Families

Friendly staff and nice hotel. was comfortable and clean. Nice place to stay.

By on Jun 26, 2015

5

really nice!!

Couples

I have never stayed at a Best Western before because of the pricing. But the pricing on this hotel was amazing! The room we had was a King w/ pull out bed which was great because our kiddo got his own bed and he was super excited! The room was clean and breakfast was delicious!! The staff was also very kind! I will definitely stay at the Birmingham Best Western again!

By on Jun 17, 2015

4

birmingham best western

Couples

Excelent central location, near by shopping and eating establishments. The staff was friendly. Very appologetic regarding broken elevator. Room was clean. Did desire more choices for breakfast. Manager was very personable. Shower had good water pressure. Pool area was clean. Overall very good experience. Would stay again and reccomend to others.

By on Apr 30, 2015