Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

Recent guest reviews

Property is not kept up well, windows in rooms and pool are falling apart...rooms were nice. We booked a room because website says it had a hot tub. Got there and checked in to find out it does not have a hot tub.

Hotel was very nice and breakfast was delicious. Hotel was conveniently located to the interstate and shopping

Door separating suite was broken. Toilet seat did not work. Bed was average. I would not stay here again.

I had a good stay it was peaceful and pleasant the room was very clean. I had to get up early every day so the free buffet breakfast sped me along faster. Great place to stay.

The size of the room was nice but that was about it. After a long drive we had to change rooms three times because the TV did not work. Then we bought groceries and the refrigerator did not work. Had we known there were roaches in the room we would not have even bought any food. When we asked the front desk if they had any roach spray we were given wasp and Hornet killer and no apologies for the condition of the room. Had we not prepaid for the stay through Orbitz we would have left. Very disappointed.

We have two children, and this hotel was the perfect place to stay for us. The room was clean, spacious and was laid out so kids could sleep well in the various parts of the room. If you are traveling with kids, this is well worth the stay.

I know in middle of remodel, but bed not comfortable and AC horrible moldy smell. Breakfast was nice.

I am very weary of hotels, and very aware of cleanliness when I stay. This is our 3rd stay at this hotel. The staff are always super nice and very professional. The rooms are always the same, no complaints, simple and clean! We also love the pool area, so clean and fun! I highly recommend this Best Western.

Friendly check-in. Smooth process and helpful staff. They are pet friendly, which was a plus and the rooms were right for the price. My iron wasn't working so the front desk changed it out on the spot no problem.

Came in for quick overnight stay. Needed to be in the rooms by 11am. I let them know when I booked and they were happy to accomodate us. Friendly staff...offered water bottles when we arrived. We had booked two rooms and they were next to each other. The workout center was clean and acceptable. Room nice and clean. Only other comments would be that the decor needs updating (but is clean and kept nice). The pull out bed was not in good shape but was usable. Nice to have the extra linens and pillow in the drawer so we didn't need to make a call. Would be good to have an extra blanket though. AC did a great job! Breakfast very good. Lots of choices hot and cold. Would be great if breakfast went to 10am though. Overall we would recommend this hotel.

In town getting my daughter set up at college. Had never used this hotel but the reviews were good so I gave it a try. Late check in...almost midnight...and staff was courteous and helpful. Room was clean and well maintained. Bathroom clean and nice hot water. Room set up so TV doesn't disturb neighboring rooms. Kudos! Bed clean and comfortable with lots of pillows. (Need carpet updates throughput the halls and room, but was not a detriment to the visit) Coffee, soaps, shampoo etc in the room, hair dryer and ironing board. Quiet for my stay and the breakfast buffet had good food: eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, gravy, grits on hot bar....the usual cold items drinks etc. Food was good and manager very nice. Will come again!

Just needed a quick play to stay for the night - the hotel was a perfect location right off the highway where we were able to hop right back on in the morning.

Friendly staff and nice hotel. was comfortable and clean. Nice place to stay.

I have never stayed at a Best Western before because of the pricing. But the pricing on this hotel was amazing! The room we had was a King w/ pull out bed which was great because our kiddo got his own bed and he was super excited! The room was clean and breakfast was delicious!! The staff was also very kind! I will definitely stay at the Birmingham Best Western again!

Excelent central location, near by shopping and eating establishments. The staff was friendly. Very appologetic regarding broken elevator. Room was clean. Did desire more choices for breakfast. Manager was very personable. Shower had good water pressure. Pool area was clean. Overall very good experience. Would stay again and reccomend to others.

We were pleasantly surprised. This was our first stay at this hotel and we couldn't have been more pleased. Conveniently located to everything, a very good seafood restaurant right across the street and the hotel gives you a coupon for a free appetizer there. The staff was very cordial and the manager roamed around and spoke to everyone in the morning at breakfast.We really enjoyed our stay and plan to come back. Be sure to see the McWane Science Center in Birmingham. It was awesome!

Arrived about nine thirty. Good service but the television only had one channel. They moved us promplty. Morning breakfast was good. Nothing special but for the money was OK.

Incredible staff! Breakfast was good and most importantly, it was hot and fresh. Room and hotel needed some maintainence. The shower wand holder was broken, so we had to hold it the whole time. The card reader on the exit closest to our room did not work, therefore, we had to walk half way around the hotel to get in. The above faults are pretty minor though, overall it was a great stay!

We were not here very long_ just came in late one night and out the next morning. The desk attendants were very friendly, the room was clean and roomy, and during breakfast, the manager came by to check on us. He was very professional and friendly as well. Overall, a very nice stay.

State Farm Pkwy Birmingham AL

Hotel highlights

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free WiFi in rooms and public areas
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool

Best Western Plus Carlton Suites is located within a few miles (5 km) of Samford University and Alabama Men's Hall of Fame. This 100-room hotel has free breakfast along with conveniences like an indoor pool and free in-room WiFi.


Dining

Free buffet breakfast is included with your stay and awaits you each morning from 6 AM to 9 AM.


Rooms

Guests can expect to find free WiFi and 42-inch a flat-screen TV with cable channels. The bathroom offers hair dryers and free toiletries. Other standard amenities include a sofa bed, a refrigerator, and a microwave.


Property features

At Best Western Plus Carlton Suites, guests enjoy an indoor pool, a fitness center, and free WiFi in public areas. You can put free parking to good use if you drive. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day to help with dry cleaning/laundry and securing valuables. Additional amenities include a meeting room, a 24-hour business center, and coffee/tea in a common area.

Room options

Suite, 2 Double Beds, Non Smoking, Microwave (Third bed is a Sofabed)

Full 2 | Sleeps 4

Suite, 1 King Bed with Sofa bed, Non Smoking, Refrigerator & Microwave (with Sofabed)

King 1 | Sleeps 3

Presidential Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking, Jetted Tub

King 1 | Sleeps 2

Suite, 1 Queen Bed with Sofa bed, Accessible, Non Smoking (with Sofabed)

Queen 1 | Sleeps 2

Guest reviews for Best Western Plus Carlton Suites

Everyone (8) Couples (14) Business (2) Family (12) Friends (2) Other (1)
2
Family with small children

Property is not kept up well, windows in rooms and pool are falling apart...rooms were nice. We booked a room because website says it had a hot tub. Got there and checked in to find out it does not have a hot tub.

By on Jul 22, 2019

Review comment responded on Jul 22, 2019

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

1
Everyone

By on Apr 1, 2019

Review comment responded on Apr 3, 2019

Thank you for your feedback.

5
Everyone

Hotel was very nice and breakfast was delicious. Hotel was conveniently located to the interstate and shopping

By on Nov 6, 2018

Review comment responded on Nov 6, 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

2
Everyone

Door separating suite was broken. Toilet seat did not work. Bed was average. I would not stay here again.

By on May 13, 2018

Review comment responded on May 13, 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

4

peaceful, pleasant

Everyone

I had a good stay it was peaceful and pleasant the room was very clean. I had to get up early every day so the free buffet breakfast sped me along faster. Great place to stay.

By on Feb 12, 2018

Review comment responded on Feb 12, 2018

Thank you for the feedback.

1

avoid this hotel

Everyone

The size of the room was nice but that was about it. After a long drive we had to change rooms three times because the TV did not work. Then we bought groceries and the refrigerator did not work. Had we known there were roaches in the room we would not have even bought any food. When we asked the front desk if they had any roach spray we were given wasp and Hornet killer and no apologies for the condition of the room. Had we not prepaid for the stay through Orbitz we would have left. Very disappointed.

By , from Florida on Dec 18, 2017

Review comment responded on Dec 20, 2017

Thank you for your candid feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your stay at the hotel was not up to par. Please note that this information has been passed on to our concerned staff. Despite this, we hope to be able to welcome you back on a return visit.

4

great stay

Families

We have two children, and this hotel was the perfect place to stay for us. The room was clean, spacious and was laid out so kids could sleep well in the various parts of the room. If you are traveling with kids, this is well worth the stay.

By on Nov 2, 2017

Review comment responded on Nov 5, 2017

Dear Traveler. Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

4

nice

Everyone

I know in middle of remodel, but bed not comfortable and AC horrible moldy smell. Breakfast was nice.

By on Jun 2, 2017

5

absolutely love this place! 3rd time staying here.

Everyone

I am very weary of hotels, and very aware of cleanliness when I stay. This is our 3rd stay at this hotel. The staff are always super nice and very professional. The rooms are always the same, no complaints, simple and clean! We also love the pool area, so clean and fun! I highly recommend this Best Western.

By , from Oxford, AL on Apr 1, 2017

5

first visit to birmingham

Everyone

Friendly check-in. Smooth process and helpful staff. They are pet friendly, which was a plus and the rooms were right for the price. My iron wasn't working so the front desk changed it out on the spot no problem.

By on Mar 6, 2016

Review comment responded on Feb 9, 2017

Thank you for your stay. I'm so happy to hear that you had a warm greeting upon arrival, and that you had an overall wonderful visit! I do apologize that the iron was not working properly, but am happy to know that the front desk agent resolved the issue. Please come again soon! - Charlotte Bren

Best Western Plus Carlton Suites

140 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209
url importing https://www.orbitz.com/Birmingham-Hotels-Best-Western-Plus-Carlton-Suites.h50091-p2.Hotel-Reviews